Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop G50 (80E501G3US) Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 5500 15.6" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great buy
Pros: Specs. 5th gen i7. 16Gb of RAM. Great price.
Using it as a dev machine running Fedora 21 with 2 external monitors. Occasionally swithc back to windows to watch a movie.
Cons: None for me. But I would just nuke the existing windows install and drop a fresh one without all the bloatware.
Other Thoughts: Another minor thing is that they tried to fit a full size keyboard on... which is fine and all but if you are in text editor a lot you will end up hitting INS when trying to use the arrow keys.
Reviewed By:GG,5/5/2015 8:42:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop G710 (59421779) Intel Core i5 4210M (2.6GHz) 6GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4400 17.3" Windows 8.1

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good laptop
Pros: screen size
decent hdd space
good speakers
Cons: trackpad
bloatware
Other Thoughts: First thing you'll want to do is boot from USB and do a clean install of Windows 8 or whatever OS you want. Just download the drivers you need, or access them on the second drive of the laptop which includes all the drivers.

Also get a mouse because the trackpad is literally the worst.

Lack of backlit keyboard kinda sucks but I knew that before I bought it. I don't know why it isn't standard on all laptops.
Reviewed By:harvey,5/5/2015 7:54:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire V3-771G-9823 Intel Core i7 3630QM (2.40GHz) 12GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GT 730M 17.3" Windows 8

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Everything works great except the SSD
Pros: Good specs, it boots quickly, graphics are pretty decent for simple games, the HDD size is nice. Speakers are decent.
Cons: Firmware issue with SSD. Every time the battery get's low, we get the "No bootable device, hit any key" message. Occasionally I can get it started by moving around the boot order with F2 or sticking in a USB with a bootable version of ubuntu and restarting. Other times it just won't boot and we just pray that it boots up at some point.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 3:49:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X751MA-DH01TQ Intel Celeron N2930 (1.83GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD Intel HD Graphics 17.3" Touchscreen Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Some issues.
Pros: I love the touchscreen. Pretty fast processor. Good sound. Nice bright screen.
Cons: I wish it had come with directions of how to this computer and also how use Windows 8. I have no idea what I'm doing and am stumbling to do basic things. Where's Freecell? Spider Solitaire?
I don't know why the number pad is so tiny and tight since there is so much wasted space on the keyboard (and I am a woman with dainty fingers--that could be a real issue for men with bigger fingers). I hate having to look when I type numbers or letters. But it's just so tight.
But my biggest disappointment is that there is no volume dial on the machine. I bought this to watch movies and TV shows mostly, and it's a pain to only be able to use the function keys to move the volume up and down, and since the keyboard isn't backlit, you have to have the light on to be able to see the function keys.
I wish I could have tried it before I bought it. I probably would have passed on this model.
Other Thoughts: The non-backlit keyboard would not be an issue if only there were a volume dial. :(
Reviewed By:Bonzo,5/4/2015 3:45:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop G Series G50VT-X6 Intel Core 2 Duo P8700 (2.53GHz) 4GB Memory 320GB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 9800M GS 15.4" Windows Vista Home Premium

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cooling, reply to danwat1234
Pros: I purchased this laptop in July 2009, and it's now May 2015, so it's been six years of ownership. I noticed about four months ago that loading up Faster Than Light, or even just web browsing, my CPU temperature was hovering around 85 degrees Celsius. I browsed around the net and found a number of possible solutions:
*Try using 186.83 nVidia drivers, or use WHQL drivers, try one until you find lower temperatures; *Try undervolting your GPU by using the bundled software, but be careful, it could lead to an unstable system; *Open the laptop and remove all dust, disconnect the fan assembly from the CPU completely and remove the PWM cable, and remove all traces of dust from the fan, fan housing, vents, and chipset area; *install a new fan, the F8U5 unit available around the net. *some people say to remove the blockage from the circular air vent on the bottom, but it may negate the negative air pressure: I left mine blocked.
What I've done so far is cleaned out the internals thoroughly, bought the F8U5 fan and reinstalled it using quality CPU paste. I'm not sure if it was the paste, or the new fan, but my new temperatures are: CPU: 33C; ACPI CPU: 40C; GPU: 51C. In-game, GPU gets between 75C and 85C in Torchlight 2 at max resolution with AA (better than the previous 105)
So recommendations going forward for those of you who want to continue using the G50V and want to have lower idle temps: remove the stock fan assembly from the CPU, clean off both CPU blocks and the heatsinks, remove the blue thermal pad, and apply good cpu paste, then put it all back together. If that didn't solve the problem, consider buying the F8U5 fan unit to replace the stock fan. And don't forget to plug the fan back in!
Cons: Limited upgrade path. It's possible to replace the 9800GS with a 280 IIRC, but it may not work. Like danwat1234 said, there are a number of CPUs you can upgrade to. Swap out the old HDD for an SSD for lower temperatures and better performance.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 3:39:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop ProBook 650-G1 Intel Core i7 4610M (3.00GHz) 8GB Memory 500GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4600 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Misleading
Pros: Very light.
When loaded as HP Describes its worth it.
Cons: CD/DVD Tray - Not Included
Fingerprint Reader - As in picture Not Included.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 2:06:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Laptop Tecra R840-00K Intel Core i5 2520M (2.50GHz) 4GB Memory 320GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 3000 14.0" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Faulty laptop
Pros: Other than the keyboard, the laptop works fine.
Cons: The keyboard doesn't work properly, while I'm typing the cursor jumps back so I end up writing in the middle of a paragraph. At first I thought it was user error, but now I'm sure something is wrong. Course now it just slipped by my 90 day warranty, so it's looking unlikely I will get help with this.

I'm still hopeful though, would love to be able to update this review to a more positive one!
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 1:43:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop Z70 Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GT 840M 17.3" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Lenovo Laptop Z70 Intel Core i7 5500U (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GT 840M 17.3" Windows 8.1
Pros: Super fast (I was abbe to run 3 VMs simultaneously), Super quite, boots very fast. great value for the price
Cons: A lot of unnecessary software and demos included. Keyboard layout could be better since its a 17" machine and there is lots of space to better lay out the keys
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 10:48:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer TravelMate P645-MG TMP645-MG-74508G25tkk 14" LED (In-plane Switching (IPS) Technology) Notebook - Intel Core i7 i7-4500U 1.80 GHz

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good laptop with few quirks
Pros: Good screen, good touchpad, thin, lightweight, powerful
Cons: Win 7 has a serious flaw. The iastora.sys driver makes the system unstable right out of the box. Need to remove this driver.
Win 8 has serious problem too. The synaptics touchpad does not allow disabling charms bar. Win 8 is unusable on this. poor keyboard
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 5:18:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop ThinkPad T430s (2355-A12) Intel Core i5 3320M (2.60GHz) 4GB Memory 320GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4000 14.0" Windows 7 Professional 32-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Lenovo T430S
Pros: Performance definitely better than T61. 4th Gen I-5. Accepts 2x4Gb GSkill DDR3-1600L RAM, no errors. Original date 2010-12. Condition like new. Very good value when sold with promo code. S version lighter than standard T430.
Cons: 1. First offered as having 64 bit Windows 7 Prof. That was an error by Newegg. Came with 32 bit, which is OK if acceptable to buyer. Needs more RAM to run 64 bit.
2. 16x9 screen seems a bit small after T61 widescreen.
Reviewed By:Nemo,5/4/2015 3:24:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.