Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC88U Wireless AC3100 Dual-Band Gigabit Router, AiProtection with Trend Micro for Complete Network Security

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Device, INSECURE Firmware
Pros: FAST
Good Range
Easy To Use GUI
Cons: Firmware packages are very out of date. 3.0.0.4.380_3341 (Latest Firmware)
OpenSSL Version: OpenSSL 1.0.2d 9 Jul 2015 UGH FULL OF BADNESS See CVE... 1.0.2h is current.

SAMBA is old and relies of deprecated functions (you have to reduce security on a v4 client to make it work with a password.)
smbd version 3.0.37 Current is 4.4.4.

OpenVPN 2.3.2 Current is 2.3.11 Not bad, but could be better.



Other Thoughts: You should probably be using ASUSWRT-MERLIN firmware fork to ditch the ch(COUGH)ese government, never mind our own.

Two eggs off for lackluster security and package updating.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/29/2016 3:53:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Touch P5 Wireless AC1900 Touch Screen Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 All bells and whistles
Pros: External antennas.
Looks nice.
Cons: 1. Does not operate as desired/expected.
2. Slow connection time on PC login. My current router, a NETGEAR R6200-100PAS V1 Dual Band AC 1200 Gigabit Wireless Router, outperforms this and connects immediately.
3. Does not have offline software, my current router does.
4. Because this router does not have offline software, networks setup is slow and tedious because all settings need to be entered through a touch screen interface rather than a browser.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend this item to anyone else.
As stated in the title this product is "All bells and whistles". TPLink forgot to make sure that the router works as it should.
From now on I am going to start taking New Egg reviews with a grain of salt just like I do with movie reviews.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Thomas,

Thank you for your feedback.

The Touch P5 offers ease of use with its innovative touch screen interface. However, if you prefer to access the router using your web browser, this can easily be done as well. You can manage the router through the web-based management interface at http://tplinkwifi#31;.net or by its IP address, 192.168.0.1.

Our Support Team would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you to address any concerns you may have regarding the router's performance.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details along with a copy and paste of your review to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Your case reference number is 160729-019780.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Thomas B.,7/29/2016 10:18:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WPN824NAR RangeMax Wireless Router IEEE 802.11b/g

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Think I was just unlucky with this one.
Pros: Was free with my order; looks nice; works fine for a while.
Cons: Seems to be an issue with the firmware/internal software. It works fine for a while, but then it'll completely freeze up and won't respond to anything. All connected devices will lose connectivity, and I can't connect to the routers menu screen. The router has to be completely unplugged and remain that way for about 24 hours before it'll reset and start working again.
Other Thoughts: It was free and routers are a dime a dozen these days, so it doesn't bother me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/29/2016 9:07:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > Netgear WNR3500L-100NAR Wireless-N Router RangeMax Opensource with USB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Opensource capable, gigabit ethernet, affordable...win, win, win!
Pros: Functions flawlessly with greatly improved user interface when flashed to open source firmware.
Cons: Stock firmware is not intuitive and is crippled in configuration options unless the the router has internet access.
Other Thoughts: Easy to configure for beginning home network administrators and is a beast for more technical installations.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/28/2016 10:05:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C7 Wireless AC1750 Dual Band Gigabit Router, 450Mbps on 2.4GHz + 1300Mbps on 5Ghz, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Has died after 11 months of service.
Pros: It worked for a few months
Cons: And then it stopped working.
Other Thoughts: No. Not a long term reliable item
Manufacturer Response:Dear Nancy,

Thank you for your feedback.

Our Support Team would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you in order to properly address this concern. Your Archer C7 comes with a 2-year warranty, and if there's been a hardware failure in the unit, we'll gladly replace it for you.

At your earliest convenience, please send an e-mail including your contact details along with a copy and paste of your review to our Support Team at the address below so we may have a Support Agent follow up with you for assistance.

Your case reference number is 160729-019777.

We thank you again for your feedback and certainly hope this experience will not discourage you from checking out more of our great networking products in the future.

Best Regards,

TP-Link Support Team
(866) 225-8139
ussupportteam@tp-link.com

Reviewed By:Nancy S.,7/28/2016 6:34:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer C5400 AC5400 Wireless Tri-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth every penny!
Pros: -Super fast streaming to Apple TV or Fire Stick.
-Supports multiple devices without slowing down your connectiong (im running at 12+)
-Super fast download speeds: movies, music, etc.
Cons: None!
Other Thoughts: This product is nothing short of game changing as far as connectivity and speed. The price may SEEM a little steep but this product is worth every penny. Between my boyfriend and I we have 12 or more devices running on the same network at one time and we are always downloading and streaming movies and music. Prior to installing this router we were finding out internet crawling at something comparable to a DSL connect. I was trouble shooting with my ISP every other week at times and once a month at the very least. When you are paying your ISP upwards of 300 dollars a month for cable, phone and internet, I feel like these problems are not something a consumer should have to deal with. Unfortunately, that is not the case. This modem is perfect for not only businesses but homes like mine where we rely heavily on our gadgets and wifi. Between gaming and digitally streaming BluRay movies directly to our Apple TV or Fire Stick we are no longer experiencing the lag that we once were. We could not be happier with this product! I received this product for free as a member of a TP Link reviewer program in exchange for my honest and unbiased review.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/28/2016 10:17:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Talon AD7200 Multi-Band Wi-Fi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Easy-to-use, full featured router, but too many wireless disconnections and packets lost
Pros: As with most wireless routers now, the initial configuration is a snap: just connect a computer to the wired network, or to one of the wireless networks using the stickered PIN and SSIDs. The router's configuration is accessible at http://tplink.wifi.net or http://192.168.0.1 with the usual “admin / admin” username and password. The first time you connect to the router, it prompts you to create a new username and password, and walks you through the selection of internet connection type and wireless radio settings. TP-Link routers generally have an excellent user interface and this one is no exception. The default settings are sane and the SPI firewall is enabled by default. For enhanced security you may wish to disable WPS if you don't use it; this is buried under Advanced -> System Tools -> System Parameters.

There are separate status LEDs for each of the 2.4 GHz, 5 GHz, and 60 GHz frequency bands, although these LEDs do not indicate activity. There are also separate status LEDs for each of the two USB 3.0 ports. There is a feature called “Night Mode” that lets you set a start and end time for turning off all the status LEDs; this is nice if the router is located in a bedroom.

There is a real power switch on the back, and three momentary push-button switches on the front to toggle the wifi on and off, start a WPS connection, and turn the status LEDs on and off.

This router shipped with firmware version 1.0.6. The web interface supports an online firmware upgrade; it found version 1.0.9 and installed it. The upgrade went smoothly, and no settings were lost or changed as far as I could tell.

The two USB 3.0 ports can be used with storage devices (per the user guide, FAT32 or NTFS only) and/or printers. My printers have wireless built-in so I tested the router as a file server using an NTFS-formatted 32 GB USB 3.0 Kingston DataTraveler, with the router configured as a Samba server (aka “Network Neighborhood”) and FTP server. Once the router was configured to act as a file server, it immediately appeared in my Windows laptop's network neighborhood as an available drive. Performance was very good. When using the DataTraveler on a desktop computer's USB 3.0 port, I measured 10.9 MB/s write and 33 MB/s read. On the router as a Windows share, I measured 9.4 MB/s write and 28 MB/s read; as an FTP server, 9.8 MB/s write and 32 MB/s read. However, when I created a user/password pair and attempted to restrict access to that user only, the router would never let me authenticate to the Windows share, and there was nothing in the system log regarding these failed attempts. The credentials worked as expected with the FTP server.

One new feature is called “offline download,” the idea being that you tell the router to download something large, and you can take your computer offline while the router continues to download the file. At first I thought this would be of limited use, especially where broadband is fast and electricity is cheap, but I can see a security benefit – for example, I can download and share the latest Debian image by BitTorrent without exposing my computer to hundreds of random connections, and that can run 24/7 regardless of my computer's state. It supports download by BitTorrent, aMule, or http. I downloaded a Debian DVD image by BitTorrent and a Knoppix DVD image by http, and verified that the configurable bandwidth limits were respected. The interface is definitely bare-bones (no seeding ratio is shown, no peer details are available, and there's no legend for the icons it shows) and the download status doesn't update very often, sometimes seeming to hang and then jumping forward to catch up. However, by the next morning my files had been downloaded, so it did work.

The guest network access behaves as you'd expect, unlike the Linksys WRT1900ACS that required guests to authenticate using a web form. You just give someone the guest network's SSID and pre-shared key, and it works. You can separate the guest network from your main network, and you can separate guest clients from each other.
Cons: When I evaluate a new router's wireless performance, I always connect it in parallel with my existing router, apply updates and configure it to my liking, and then replace my existing router with the new one in the exact same physical location. This lets me perform a true apples-to-apples comparison of signal strength and transfer speed between the two routers, as measured at the same positions around my home. I use a fast computer with a gigabit wired connection as an iperf3 server, then measure the wireless throughput with a client running iperf3 at various location, repeating the test for each frequency band. (Since 802.11ad is so new – in fact, this is the only 802.11ad router currently for sale at Newegg – I have no 802.11ad client devices and thus no way to evaluate this router's performance in the 60 GHz frequency band.)

I've reviewed several routers over the past few years, and so far the D-Link DIR-868L has had the best wireless range and throughput, so that's the one I'm using for comparison. The measurement details are posted below under “Other Thoughts,” but in summary: this router bested the DIR-868L in wireless throughput in the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands in one location only, which was at the outer limit of the DIR-868L's range. At all other measurement locations, the DIR-868L had consistently better wireless throughput. With eight antennas on this router, and at over 3X the cost, I expected better or at least equal wireless performance.

To make matters worse, while using this router my wireless clients would regularly drop connections on the 2.4 GHz band. While running performance tests on this router with iperf3, I observed several periods of 1 to 4 seconds with zero throughput, and this occurred on both the 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands. I tried multiple client devices, enabling and disabling various radio features, moving the router to a different location, and performing a factory reset: these intermittent drop-outs persisted. The router's system log showed nothing at all during these events. I wrote to ussupportteam@tp-link.com and received a case number, then held this review for a week to see if they would follow up in that time. They did not.

This router is wall-mountable, but the documentation says that a horizonal orientation is preferred, presumably because of the orientation of the antennas. I think a vertical mounting would work if the antennas could open 180 degrees, but they can only open to 90 degrees.
Other Thoughts: The router provides a feature TP-Link calls “Mu-MIMO” which is supposed to allow for point-to-point communication with up to 3 clients, providing greater throughput. This is enabled by default. With no more than two clients at a time, I didn't see a difference in my measurements with this feature enabled or disabled.

Measured signal strength and throughput at various locations, vs. D-Link DIR-868L:
Adjacent to the router, for maximum performance:
2.4 GHz: -20 dBm, 67.9 Mbit/s
5 GHz: -28 dBm, 187 Mbit/s
Five feet away from the router:
2.4 GHz: -30 dBm, 20.1 to 41.7 Mbit/s (DIR-868L: -38 dBm, 45.8 Mbit/s)
5 GHz: -49 dBm, 135 to 169 Mbit/s (DIR-868L: -49 dBm, 186 Mbit/s)
Two rooms away from the router:
2.4 GHz: -70 dBm , 14.9 to 19.5 Mbit/s (DIR-868L: -67 dBm, 25 Mbit/s)
5 GHz: -74 dBm, 43 to 65 Mbit/s (DIR-868L: -76 dBm, 90 to 118 Mbit/s)
A near outbuilding, approximately equivalent to 4-5 rooms away:
2.4 GHz: -78 dBm, 8.6 to 11.1 Mbit/s (DIR-868L: -79 dBm, 1.1 to 16 Mbit/s)
5 GHz: -76 dBm, 7.2 to 12.1 Mbit/s (DIR-868L : -86 dBm, 1.7 to 5.7 Mbit/s)

The router and power adapter stayed cool to the touch. I measured 7 W and 17 VA power consumption at the outlet.
Reviewed By:Kevin R.,7/28/2016 8:48:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer C5400 AC5400 Wireless Tri-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great signal strength, but average speed
Pros: -Increased signal signal in entire household - 5 bars everywhere!
-Small indicator lights. Can also be turned off via menu interface
-MU-MIMO technology, share bandwidth more efficiently.
-User-friendly interface menu options
Cons: -Small decrease in speeds in comparison with the TP-LINK AC1900
-Had issues with setup with Windows 10 (Windows socket registry was removed when I switched routers???)
-Could not run printer connected to USB port. Printer Controller Utility not available for this model when this review was written.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend if you need a router that gives a great signal throughout your home. In regards to speed, it is compatible with my AC1900. It was actually a bit slower when I ran speed tests.

24/7 support and 2-year warranty.

Product sample review.
Reviewed By:Zulma J.,7/28/2016 6:46:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router for Families
Pros: The Netgear R7800 Has a ton of features like VPN, DoS protection and a bunch of other features that can be useful. The router offers gigabit over the 5Ghz network. The Router is also fast enough with the bottleneck in my testing to be my ISP. The Router did not need to be setup I was able to plug and play which for a router meant for gaming is a good thing. The Router also features 2 USB 3.0 Ports allowing for storage or printing devices to be hooked to the network, it also has an eSATA port again to allow for adding storage to the network. The Mobile app is a great way to interface with the router aswell.
Cons: The Interface is not sleek, and in fact feels like a UI from a couple years ago. There is no customization for the DoS protection its either on or off. Some menus are also hard to find for instance instead of port forwarding being under internet setup or security its under status/administration.

Other Thoughts: If your a gamer or streamer or just have a decent sizes amount of people in your household, this is a good product. Its a bit overpriced and the User Interface could be better but the router does what it needs to and more.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/27/2016 9:30:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66R Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support -Asus Certified

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Thought I'd give Refurbished a try, it bit me in the...
Pros: Quick, was able to broadcast my 300 down/80 Up internet with a decent range.
Cons: Stopped working 4 months into using it.
Other Thoughts: Bought this for a small apartment and it could cover the whole area pretty well, despite a pretty inopportune location. Problem is, after a few months my SSID and Password would be reset, as well as all the settings and login credentials for the router itself. This only happened after a day or 2 of constantly dropping coverage (for wired connections, as well).

After Updating firmware and resetting all my settings, I ran into the same issue a week later.

Avoid at all costs, should have just spent the extra money and bought a brand new one.
Reviewed By:Jacob K.,7/27/2016 9:19:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.