Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-LINK DIR-842 Wi-Fi AC1200 Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap n easy
Pros: Easy to install, no software needed. Just wait for the lights to turn solid and ure good to go. Works well so far
Cons: It could be cons… that i dont know about.
Reviewed By:N/A,6/24/2016 11:11:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Advance Router
Pros: Many advanced features. Adjustable antennas are removable if you want to upgrade them. The Asus firmware and software updates have been easy enough to install.

Fast & stable
Cons: The printer port / USB port have proven trouble some to use - Not Plug & Play. (-1 egg)

Unit does tend to run Hot as it uses about 10 watts of power.

Very Poor cooling design (like most routers) the Design team makes the case "stylish" rather than functional for natural cooling.
Other Thoughts: My Cooler Master case has a large fan on the top so ** I passively cool the Router, seems to improve reliability / stability.

Hey - ASUS - put a fan in your routers or add a grill on the top for natural convection to keep this 10 watt beast cool.

Your going to need to read up on the feature if IT networking is not your field - LOTS of great features - may overwhelm the casual user.
Reviewed By:James S.,6/24/2016 8:28:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC1900 Dual Band SMART Wi-Fi Gigabit Router (EA6900)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good for the money
Pros: The setup was easy, novices will find it a breeze to work with and advanced users will have no issues getting access to more advanced features
External antennas which help improve reception
USB 3.0 port
Gigabyte ethernet ports
Good range and power compared to other units at the same general price
Cons: I would have preferred 3 antennas, but this is not a huge drawback at the price point this router sits at.
Antenna did not have full range of motion, but this isn't an issue for most mounting options, just be aware of it
gets a bit hot
Other Thoughts: Vents are on the bottom so do make sure its sitting on a solid surface that allows for ventilation. Primary reason for these things to fail is heat. I think for the price this sells at it a good choice and has good hardware, but if you are looking for the fastest or the most range then there are better and also more expensive options you should look at
Reviewed By:Christopher D.,6/24/2016 6:47:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Belkin > BELKIN F9K1116 AC 750 DB Wi-Fi Dual-Band AC+ Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not worth ther price
Pros: Easy to setup most basic settings. The Gui worked well I didn't have any issues
Some of the more advanced features were not so easy to find, but I did manage to get to them
It includes most of the standard features you expect.
I would say that in comparison to others from a functionality pint of view its a good router overall.
It is very light and visually its not too gaudy or out of place sitting on a desk with other household items
The Gust account was nice for making setup easy
It includes some Basic parental controls to try and filter out sites
The LED brightness settings are very nice, some routers have crazy bright LEDs that can be annoying at night
Cons: Physical stability was an issue on the stand with wires of any weight and I have to assume this is why the included Cat5 cable was a bit lighter than others I use. I am not going to harp on the cable as it worked for its intended purpose
It has Internal antennas which some may find more visually pleasing when you are trying to hide this device among normal house hold items, but you take a performance hit for this and it was noticeable.
The ethernet ports are only 10/1000, I find this not acceptable in 2016, gigabit should have been available
The wifi range was lacking even among other units of similar design
Other Thoughts: My primary complaint is that a lot about this router screams reduce cost, yet the price is very high. If you want to build a router as cheap as can be so you can sell it for a very low price I can understand the thought process behind that, but this seemed liek an very cheap device sold for a very high price in comparison.
Reviewed By:Christopher D.,6/24/2016 6:26:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful AC2600 wifi router and additional good features
Pros: I had an old D-Link router and did not know the network performance can be much better with a robust router till I put in the Netgear R7800. I got a lot of boost on network response time as soon as I started to use this router. I also set up QoS to make sure that my video streaming has higher priority. Other benefits such as:

1. The wifi coverage is good. My cable modem is at one end of my house where I connect this router to. At the other end of house I still receive strong signal on 802.11AC band. My house is 1500ft. There is also an option to adjust the wifi transmission power, which helps in some cases to lower the power if there is interference.

2. Router comes with Gigabyte ethernet ports.

3. Router comes with USB 3.0 & eSATA. I hook up one of my external harddrive to a USB 3.0 port. The speed to read and write the data from the harddrive increases 3x.

4. Router supports Bridge mode. Although I do not have the chance to test this in some case bridge mode can be used as powerful wifi extender and I do not have to purchase another wifi extender.

5. You can bridge a static IP from the ISP to an LAN port.

6. Router supports DLNA. I have a storage that support DLNA. As soon as I connect that storage to the router, my computers and IPTV on the same router see the content on the storage and can play from storage.

7. Router has VPN server built-in. Not many people need this but It is useful to me. I used to have port-forwarding on my old router and VPN server installed on one of my computers so I can remote access my computers at home. Now I can use the router as my VPN server.

8. Login information is on the label underneath the router. I do not have to read the user guide to sete up the basic configurations.
Cons: 1. The web interface is always the same since I knew Netgear. Not really a problem but it can be better for user experience.

2. I wish the router is designed to be able to stand in vertical. Standing vertical takes less space in the cabinet.

3. Power button should be placed on the front.

4. Price is high although I receive this product from Netgear as part of the review and test program. If this router has better performance comparing to others Netgear should have addressed this on the marketing materials.
Other Thoughts: I have several Netgear routers before and I still have one Netgear wifi extender running in the house. Their product has been good quality as far as I can see. For this particular R7800 router, it is robust and wifi coverage has been good. There are some good features I found ver useful such as VPN server, wifi bridge mode, DLNA and USB3.0. I would recommend this router to friends who needs performance and additional features.
I received this product for free from Netgear as part of the review and test program. All of the reviews above are my unbias comments and feedback.
Reviewed By:Yuzen C.,6/23/2016 4:25:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 GREAT PRODUCT
Pros: The setup is so simple, a person who does not know how to install a router can install it. If you want to toy with it and customize it, that is a personal opinion but other then that, plug n play. Easy as that.

The features are amazing. Everything is organized, easy to navigate.

Performance. A++++ NO LAG WHATSOEVERRRR

Product has definitely met my satisfaction.

The price of the router, is most definitely worth it.

I recommend to this to anyone who has a lot of computers linked to a modem/router. This will definitely make a difference to whatever you are doing on the computer.
Cons: The con about this... not much but the wiring can be a bit longer.. but the range that this router gives, it's such a small inconvenience, that it doesn't seem like an inconvenience at all. haha
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2016 2:35:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-LINK DIR-842 Wi-Fi AC1200 Gigabit Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Observations
Pros: - No hardware problems that I'm aware of and everything seems to work.
- Home screen shows you how many devices are connected and gives you information about each device that is connected.
- You're able to see bandwidth used on each band and by Ethernet.
- Parental Control options per device.
Cons: - Security options are a odd or limited in what you can set. It is using PSK (TKIP-CCMP) when set for WPA-Personal (which is actually WPA+WPA2 in the current firmware) and you can't change this. D-Link hopes to resolve this according to an e-mail response.
- QoS options are limited. It lists currently connected devices and you drag them into highest/high/medium boxes. This is "user friendly" but I kind of wish it gave you an idea of what is actually happening or a bit more options for QoS.

Other Thoughts: - No WPA2 only option (currently seems to be a WPA+WPA2 at the same time option). Contacted D-Link and they said that having this is a good idea and that they hope to have this in a future firmware update (after 2.00).
- Signal even on high gain appears (to me) to be a bit weaker than I expected. The router is in the next room (about 10 feet) between myself and a single wall (nothing too thick, just a normal indoor wall). I get about -45 and -47 on 2.4 and 5 GHz. This room is at the center of the house. When the router was at one end of the house, the signal was between about -58 and -65 (5GHz was unusable from there). This could be normal and you want the router at a central location anyway.
- The GUI is mostly pretty basic and seems to be designed for users that don't need advanced options, but looks good.
- When 2.4 GHz band is set for N-Only, software is reporting that it's actually pushing a b,g,n signal.
- I haven't tested the Ethernet ports or speed of those ports.
- I'm using a cheap wireless adapter on my PC and it seems to be causing issues like randomly dropping from 50/11 to 0.5/1 which doesn't seem to be an issue with the router or modem (as other devices are fine). Get a good one with this router. Or have the router close by your main machine if possible and use the Ethernet port obviously. Likely worth a good internal wireless NIC.
- Laptop connection is stable and gets about 50/11 on 2.4 GHz band.
Reviewed By:Christopher G.,6/23/2016 3:57:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 8 Gigabit Ports and Seamless Roaming (EA9500)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent consumer grade router
Pros: + 3 Year warranty and tech-support

+ tri-band 5.3 Gbps

+ 8 external antennae

+ 4x4 MU-MIMO

+ Smart Connect band steering

+ Beamforming technology
Cons: - Not wall-mountable. Big device or not, the option would still be nice.

- Not a big deal, but no Hairpin NAT translation support
Other Thoughts: This is the biggest consumer router I have ever seen!

The default network name and password are located at the bottom of the router, a typical standard. As well as on the back page of the included "Quick Start Guide".

There are 2 5Ghz bands that share an SSID, and this is where the band steering comes into play; router automatically connecting your device to whichever based on optimization. Of course, you can disable this and manually deal with the bands separately.

The range from this router in my house is really good! The router is positioned in the basement and I get great signal 2 stories up directly over the router. If I begin to walk away in the opposite direction on the second story, I lose signal. Every router I have have has this problem; there are just more floors/walls router has to deal with - perfect scenario for a repeater, no blame on any router.

This is the first Linksys router I have had that uses the current Linksys admin web UI. I have to admit, it was very easy to use and set up the router.

My original set-up includes a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter PoE level-3 router-switch and a single wireless AP Unifi Pro AC. I have over 30 connected devices at any one time, 13 wireless and 17 wired (15 VM guests on 1 VM network). The one thing that I noticed when I configured the Linksys to the same subnet (and among other things I configured) was that my guest VMs could not communicate with each other because this router doesn't support Hairpin NAT translation that I had already configured on my EdgeRouter. This wouldn't affect the majority of consumers, but was just something that I noticed right-off.

It's really nice to have a [consumer] router that sports 8 Ethernet ports. I have 6 wired devices currently that I had to branch-off to an unmanaged switch, though obviously, covered if I was using this router for my day-to-day.

The throughput for the wireless bands are quite nice, however, I only have 3x3 MIMO wireless client devices - and this router supports 4x4 MIMO. My Unifi AP only supports 3x3 MIMO so I would expect the Linksys to outperform the Unifi AP to some degree.

I transfered a 2GB file over the LAN 3 times and averaged:

84 Mbps on 2.4Ghz
281 Mbps on 5Ghz

This is quite impressive but pretty much on par with my Unifi wireless AP (however, again, I only have 3x3 MIMO clients to test with).

Very nice consumer router. Probably a little too powerful for most, but perfect if have many connected devices that are bandwidth-hungry.
Reviewed By:Travis M.,6/22/2016 8:17:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-Link Archer C5400 AC5400 Wireless Tri-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing Access Point/Router! (Was provided free via a Newegg social media giveaway)
Pros: -Great range (through an exterior wall I was getting well over 100 foot directional before dropping out on WIFI).
-Steady Wifi Signal, there was no dropping out of signal at all (tested via Nvidia Shield Portable and 4k Streaming to a TV, at the same time)
-Easy software to setup networks quickly
-Predone SSIDs and passwords in the box ready for you to change!
Cons: -Price, at 300-330 this would be hard to stomach the price on my own, but I am going to say it's worth the price for a home that has a lot of devices.
-More devices need to support MU-MIMO (not a true fault of the router per se)
Other Thoughts: For a router that you can get out of the box and get amazing Wifi within a half hour, this is an awesome router to get. Truly great range, and if you are into any sort of smooth streaming of any kind (Nvidia Shield products, 4k streaming, etc) then this is what you want. I haven't had to worry about any buffering issues whatsoever. Yes it is a bit expensive, but you are truly getting amazing performance.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2016 7:29:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N16 Wireless Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps DD-WRT Open Source support with USB Storage, Printer And Media Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Fast Quality Router
Pros: Great sleek design.

Fast up to 300Mbps
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Used this router for about a year now with zero issues, it is a quality router with a great sleek white design.
Reviewed By:Garrett G.,6/22/2016 6:03:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.