Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WZR-600DHP2D AirStation N600 Gigabit Dual Band Open Source DD-WRT Wireless Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Look closer for those having problems
Pros: Open Source. Works very well for those who know what they are buying.
Cons: Hard for those who won't read the pages of instructions that are available for the Open Source firmware/software that it comes loaded with
Other Thoughts: For those who are having problems look to the wiki information on the software...but not JUST wiki. Read the instructions on relevant pages on the BUILD of software not JUST the router model/name. There are more instructions than most people want to read but it is imperative you do so. Know what your buying and not just think you will plug it in and have no other responsibilities to make it work.
Reviewed By:hardwarebunny,10/21/2014 2:51:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC87U Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Work Great and Easy To use
Pros: -Fast
-Long Range
-Easy to use interface
-Features, features, features
-As future proof as you can get (for now)
-Work for both PC and Mac
Cons: -Expensive (but you get what you pay for)
-USB 3.0 port is on the front instead of the back, (good if you are plugging in and unplugging frequently but doesn't make a lot of sense and ugly for external storage)
-1 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 - I would expect that both USB ports should be USB 3.0. While the USB 2.0 is most likely for a printer on a top of the line product like this both ports should be USB 3.0
Other Thoughts: Hopefully this is obvious but to get the speed out of this you need to use with with other AC capable devices.

I was looking at this router for a long time trying to decide if it was worth the money and finally took the leap and am glad that I did. This router has more features and options than you are likely to need, but it has a great user interface that makes all the features easy to use and easy to figure out.

This router is bigger than most. I don't think it is a bad thing, but something to be aware of.

The router has setting specifically for using it for Time Machine with Macs.

I would like to see more ethernet ports on the high end routers like this. It has the standard 4 ports but I would love to see 6 or 8 just so that I will have extra.
Reviewed By:Kenneth N.,10/21/2014 1:36:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK SafeStream TL-ER604W Small Business Wireless Gigabit VPN Router, application control, Multi-SSID and guest network

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst Tech support ever!
Pros: Works sometimes!
Cons: I am a CCNA, I have configured many VPN routers, from Cisco, and Netgear. I decided to give TP-Link a try because of my client's budget, but the VPN does not work. I tried calling tech support several times, but the people who answer the phones, have no idea how to configure the router! Most times, no one even answers the calls. Stay away!
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 10:59:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Hawking Technology > HAWKING HAWNR1 Hi-Gain Wireless Router with Range Amplifier IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Poor product life
Pros: long range as advertised was nice when it worked.
Cons: product lasted one year and three months then pow on comes the wonkyness
Reviewed By:N/A,10/21/2014 9:10:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO AirStation N600 (300 + 300 Mbps) Dual Band Wireless Router - WHR-600D

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good, dependable router.
Pros: Dependable, dual-band Wi-Fi router. Flexible configuration; easy to convert to an access point.
This replaces a WNDR3700 which worked well for 3 years before getting flaky.
I made this a Wi-Fi access point and use a UTM as my primary router.
Cons: Only 100Mbps Ethernet ports. The WPS took several tries with Wi-Fi printers. I found it easier to just enter the KEY with some devices.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to anyone needing an inexpensive dual band router as long as the 100Mb ports are not an issue for you. This could be a great 5 Egg router with Gigabit ports.
Reviewed By:GARY L.,10/21/2014 7:43:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR AC1450 Dual Band Gigabit Smart WiFi Router Two (2) USB ports—one USB 3.0 and one USB 2.0 port IEEE 802.11 b/g/n 2.4 GHz IEEE 802.11 a/n/ac 5.0 GHz Five (5) 10/100/1000 (1 WAN and 4 LAN) Gigabit Ethernet ports with auto-sensing techn

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unmatched value
Pros: Fast over AC. Huge range on 5ghz and 2.4ghz. Awesome features. Stable
Cons: Need to trick the router into thinking it's a R6300v2 to update the firmware. Or you have to install DDWRT
Other Thoughts: The router is centrally placed in the house and I got a full 1300 AC link in the same room ~ 15 feet away through 1 obstacle to the AC 3x3 client. On 5ghz I couldn't go over 1000 anywhere in the house but it kept between 600-975. Smartphones stay at 433 in the same room and ~175-390 everywhere else in the house. 58-87 just outside the house and lower as I get to the mailbox. 5gN300 Tablet stays locked solid at 300 everywhere except the furthest rooms.

On 2.4ghz the signal is longer but the throughput drops off faster. At my mailbox I'm around 11mb and all the way to the end of the street I'm at 5mb, but it's pretty cool it goes that far from within the house.

The stock Netgear software/firmware, once updated to the R6300v2 is better than other companies firmware save maybe Asus, probably as useful as the TP Link firmware, but still nothing as good as DDWRT/Tomato.

I have an 2.4ghz E1200v1 (x.x.x.2)with DDWRT as a wireless ethernet client bridge to this on same subnet. It gets pretty much a full 2.4ghzN300 connection 2 rooms away. I also have an AP with an E2000(x.x.x.3) also with DDWRT going through a switch and a 50ft cable run under the house. The "R6300v2"(x.x.x.1) handles the DHCP and NAT for all devices wired and wireless. The DDWRT clients are true clients which pass everything on to the "R6300v2" for it to route and process. Throughput and linkrate has been a non issue.

It's had only 1 glaring issue with stock firmware which was when I was doing lots of file activity with small files to the connected USB3 hard drive. After unplugging the drive and plugging it back in it's been great. Still unsure about letting this serve as a true NAS because of that, but I'm giving it a second chance, otherwise I'm setting up a true NAS.
Reviewed By:mang,10/21/2014 4:00:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNR2000-100NAS Wireless-N Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps/ 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port x4

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eugene J.
Pros: EDIT TO PREVIOUS POST; Now working . Thanks Netgear. :-)
Cons: EDIT TO PREVIOUS POST; Now working . Thanks Netgear. :-)
Other Thoughts: EDIT TO PREVIOUS POST; Now working . Thanks Netgear. :-)
Reviewed By:MUDBONE,10/20/2014 7:50:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68U Wireless-AC1900 Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So much better than our old one
Pros: Well so far so good, super quick and easy. Before had an old Linksys which decided to die on us. This Asus actually working better than the old one so i'm loving it
Cons: Price but honestly u pay for what u get
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 6:23:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-812DRU V2 AC1750 Dual Band Wireless Router - 4 Gigabit port, DD-WRT Open Source support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome so far
Pros: Easy installation, fast dual band speeds, covers my entire two bedroom apartment in full strength coverage, small and not an eye sore.
Cons: none yet
Reviewed By:N/A,10/20/2014 4:19:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Xtreme Gigabit Router (DIR-655) Wireless N300, USB SharePort, Gigabit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 CRAPPED OUT AFTER 1 1/2 years
Pros: Worked alright
Cons: Died out after about a year and a half.
Reviewed By:Chris,10/20/2014 4:19:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau