Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netis Systems > Netis Wireless AC1200 High Gain All-in-One Dual Band Gigabit Router Repeater Client with Four Enhanced 5 dBi Antennas (WF2780)

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Decent router, poor customer service
Pros: In ~2 weeks, router was stable w/ good speeds and no drops
Cons: -Changes did not always persist after router reboot
-Some clumsiness w/ manually assigning DHCP info
-Caused my Android phone to reboot randomly when connected to 5Ghz band
-Shipped w/ defective AC adapter (see below)
Other Thoughts: Newegg was great w/ their RMA & customer service processes. Newegg gets 5 eggs! Netis, not so much.

Plugged the router in and thought it was DOA, but using the adapter from my old router it fired up right away and worked without a hitch. Contacted Newegg to ask if they could replace the adapter or should I go through Netis? Newegg says go through Netis first, & if that doesn't work to contact Newegg again. That's what I expected; it's not Newegg's fault the adapter was defective, and I told them didn't want to send the whole thing back just because of the adapter.

I email Netis Feb 16 and get an automated reply stating that it is Chinese New Year and no one will be able to assist until Feb 27. Today I get a response saying "sorry, we can't do anything to help you, contact the retailer." Maybe I'm a jerk, but that rubbed me the wrong way. I get that things happen and a defective unit gets sent out from time to time. A new AC adapter would have made me happy and I would have gladly given the company and the product 4 eggs. Instead, I'm giving the company 0 eggs for really astoundingly lazy customer service, and will be avoiding their products in the future. The router itself rates 4 eggs.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 3:42:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6050-100PAS AC750 Dual Band WiFi Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Net Gear AC750
Pros: When it works it is just okay.
Cons: This dual band router can only use the 5g vs the 2.4g if you are virtually in the same room as the router.
When using this router with my HP desktop computer, it disconnected from my computer modem so frequently that I had to get a different router.
Other Thoughts: Buy a different model.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 1:14:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netis Systems > Netis Wireless AC1200 High Gain All-in-One Dual Band Gigabit Router Repeater Client with Four Enhanced 5 dBi Antennas (WF2780)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Eggcellent Router
Pros: Does everything with easy setup. Nice range with antennas, picks up WiFi signals from other router and extends with ease. Wps capable. Fully functional with the hassles.
Cons: It won't fetch me the paper or make me coffee!
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 12:57:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66R Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router –Asus Certified.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Major WIFI Upgrade
Pros: Fast Speed on AC
Easy Configuration with lots of options
Stable after firmware upgrade
Upgradeable antenna
Cons: Last years model
Large footprint
Needs older browser or Chrome
Other Thoughts: Fast with lots of configuration options. DHCP reservations are point and click (one button option). 866 speeds to most .11AC enabled equipment. Some .11N get 450. 300 for older .11N devices. Use Chrome or older IE to get best results.
Reviewed By:RetiredGI,2/27/2015 11:33:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC56U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1200 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Poor 2.4GHz performance
Pros: I haven't had any connectivity issues at all, however throughput on the 2.4GHz band has been frustrating at the least. Anything on 5GHz is rock solid and smokin fast.
Cons: You wont get more than 40 mb out of the 2.4GHz band with this router and that just stinks.
USB connected HD's are flaky, I moved mine off the router and onto my PI 2 and all the connectivity issues disappeared. I tried the USB3 and 2 ports, I reformatted, I disabled USB3, nothing alleviated the connection issues to the HD. The HD has its own power and I have never had an issue with it connected to any other machine.
Reviewed By:Robert R,2/27/2015 10:59:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Router (R7000)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seriously Powerful
Pros: Very fast
Killer range
Easy enough setup
Cons: Big and ugly
Other Thoughts: I bought this to replace my DIR-655. I moved to a townhouse and the DIR-655 wasn't cutting it to get wifi from the basement to the top floor. So in a pinch I got a Nighthawk R7000 and I'm extremely pleased with it. There isn't a place in the house (or on the porch) that I don't get full bars.

It's also crazy fast. I was concerned having always used ethernet, but my wireless-AC iMac is flying with this thing. Setup was easy enough for anyone who knows what they are doing.

Finally, it's big and ugly, but I don't really care because it's doing what I need it to do well.
Reviewed By:Lothar,2/27/2015 10:41:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Rosewill > Rosewill RNX-AC750RT - Dual Band Wireless AC750 Wi-Fi Router with Two (2) High Power Antennae - IEEE802.11AC, b/11g/11n - Wireless Data Rates Up to 433 Mbps (5.0GHz) + 300 Mbps (2.4GHz)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 OK budget router, slower wireless N than expected
Pros: Gigabit ethernet, hardware NAT support, inexpensive, concurrent dual-band, wireless AC support (but I don't have any AC devices to test it out)
Cons: I could only get 150Mbps max on 5 GHz with wireless N. Latency (as measured with ping) is 2-3x slower than old Linksys WRT54G router.
Other Thoughts: I presume there is only 1 spatial stream available on 5 GHz band (so max bandwidth will be 450 Mbps using AC or 150 Mbps with N.) Before buying, I thought two external antenna = two streams. On the 2.4 GHz band, maybe there are two streams available, but the best performance I have seen is around 60 Mbps with wireless N (this is while using wireless G devices on that frequency.) This is a relatively new router and only one version of the firmware is available on the web site, but it isn't clear based on version numbers if the router I have uses that version.
Reviewed By:N/A,2/27/2015 8:23:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N16 Wireless Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps DD-WRT Open Source support with USB Storage, Printer And Media Server

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Disappointed in quality & support
Pros: * DD-WRT (open source friendly) & decent LAN (hard-wired) speeds... when it worked.
Cons: * This router was primarily used for LAN connections (because wifi was horrible) and that worked fine for over a year, but then quickly turned south in that I experienced frequent and what seemed to be random reboots that required a power cycle (even using LAN only, no Wifi.) After trying to resolve the issues myself I reached out for support at ASUS and was told my product is out of warranty. I verified with my Newegg invoice that I was IN warranty (by 2 months) and yet tech support refused to support this product stating that his system was reporting I'm out of warranty and can’t be helped without additional fees. I provided the invoice with purchase date and yet that changed nothing. Customer service then direct me to 'escalate' the case using a web-form and that someone will review the issue as long as I provide a copy of the invoice and time of purchase, which I did. After waiting over a month, I received NO reply... This router is worthless at this point and I went out and purchased a new NETGEAR router because of this horrible experience with ASUS.

* Received terrible wireless connection and range. As low as 2 MB and unstable as can be. Also, unable to use more than one Wifi device at the same time without the router freezing/crashing. With new NETGEAR (R7000) router the SAME wireless devices are connected at a constant 100MB plus speeds without the slightest issue.
Other Thoughts: * I wanted to continue using ASUS and it’s understandable that equipment needs upgraded at some point, but when comparing the NETGEAR R7000 Nighthawk Vs. ASUS RT-AC68U for that upgrade it was an easy choice based on this experience.
Reviewed By:DJ,2/27/2015 6:22:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Powerful
Pros: Easy setup and really good range. I have it placed in the stairway of a building. Building is solid brick and concrete and stairway has 12 inch thick concrete floors. Putting it on the 2nd floor stairway I get good service up to the 4th floor. Other routers that I have tried couldn't do it.
Cons: Flimsy power connector, I have this set up high on a wall and don't plan on unplugging too often. I wish there were better wall mounting options.
Other Thoughts: I set this up as an access point. Very flexible software. Very fast shipping from NJ to NYC.
Reviewed By:bob47,2/27/2015 5:57:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys E2500-RM Advanced Simultaneous Dual-Band Wireless-N Router IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great value, missing some features
Pros: Got this router because it was cheap. It's performed very well for day-to-day use in the last year and a half. Even though it's shoved away into the corner of our main room, the antenna is strong enough to reach the whole (2000 sq. ft) house on the N band. With that setup it delivers about 2.0MB/s download speed to all my bedrooms. It's compatible with dd-wrt so I was able to upgrade the firmware and get access to a lot more features that aren't available in the stock configuration. I have my server behind it and configuring the network is very straightforward.
Cons: - NO GIGABIT!
- When I had family over for Christmas and everyone connected their phones and stuff to this AP, it started dropping a lot of connections. I'd guess there were about 6 to 8 wireless devices connected at that time. This was with the stock firmware on a mixed-BG network configuration, so I don't know if dd-wrt or wireless-N mode offers any benefit.

By the way, you can't make a mixed N+G network. It's either B+G or N-only
Other Thoughts: It's not a problem with the router itself, but dd-wrt currently cannot support the 5ghz antenna for this model, so for now I'm stuck with 2.4ghz.
Reviewed By:Logan,2/26/2015 4:02:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.