Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link DIR-890L/R Wireless AC3200 Ultra Tri-Band Gigabit Router, AC Smartbeam technology

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 i love this prodoct
Pros: ar004620 c6673294 rec. from a friend
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 2:19:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Wireless 8-Port Router (DIR-632), N300, Fast Ethernet, USB SharePort

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk
Pros: Good switch, plenty of features in the stock firmware for business etc.
Cons: Where do I start?

First I work as a technician at AT&T and I see this router in many peoples homes so it must be very popular. However, every single person with this router complains about the wireless dropping off and having to constantly reset the router.

I am the systems admin at a medium size business (25+ PC's) and this switch was purchased by one of the bosses and worked for a year as just a switch. When we put wireless in the building all (5) devices on this router were constantly disconnecting and reconnecting all day.
Other Thoughts: I am flashing DDWRT on this right as I type this. I gave this router a 1 star because out of the box it is so unreliable that it should have never been on the store shelves in the first place.
Hopefully the new firmware resolves the issues with this router.

I highly recommend ASUS 5Ghz routers with Wizard firmware for small businesses.
Reviewed By:Spywell,5/5/2015 12:46:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNR2000-100NAS Wireless-N Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps/ 10/100 Mbps Ethernet Port x4

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died unexpectedly
Pros: The unit worked great for a few months. When it was functional, it had few issues -- but I was using it in a very un-demanding environment (only a few devices in a small apartment), so I didn't expect much
Cons: The unit unexpectedly died after a few months of use. It's completely useless now. I seem to be having the same issues some of the other reviewers are having -- the power light remains amber, there's no wireless signal, and I can't even log in to the unit's control panel. Netgear has agreed to replace the unit but they're making me pay the cost of shipping, which ended up being over half the price of the unit!
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 12:41:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band AC3200 Wireless Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 second review
Pros: Range
Cons: Default configuration
Other Thoughts: Ok. This is my second review. I never review anything so I don't know how to edit my first. But I am drastically changing my review and will explain.
I buy a lot of asus products for the hardware. It has been he11 to deal with this router innitally. Customer service is not a strong point at asus. It's pretty much doesn't exist. However, I know this and have known this for years and still buy asus. This is because there hardware is great. Including this router.

My first review was a 1 star. This review is a 5 star. I hope this helps people understand why there is a such a range in reviews for this router.

First, when this router came out, it badly needed a firmware update. This is nothing new these days. Asus did provide one rather quick, however, you really do need to get it from the site and upload it to your router. Innitally, automatic checking wasn't wlrking. I believe a few firmware updates ago that was fixed but I still do it manually.
Smart connect. I wish I could get it to work right but I cannot. And I still give this a 5 star. I will explain later.
Default settings. This is the biggest problem. Worst yet, when I got this router and began to have issues, when I called customer support they didn't know they sold this router. :) Again, not the greatest customer support but they are friendly. I would rather talk to a friendly cs agent that is reading from a book than an a hole. :)

Ok. So first, upgrade fIrmware. do it manally.
Next, depending on your needs, turn off smart connect. This was an innitally issue. I do not know if it is an issue any longer after the last few firmware updates because it is actually something I didn't need. But, just remember, and this is important, if you use it, there is a distance difference between 2.4 and 5. It will decide the best to connect to but if your device is mobile, depending on syrength, it may adjust. This will not cause "drops" per say but will make u feel like there are delays sometimes.
Next, check the channels around u that are being used. No, it shouldn't interfere with your router. Fair enough, say whatever you want. But it can. Whether it's this router or another router. Be proactive. But this step isn't as important.
Very important in my case. Change the dang key rotation to 0. It never occurred to me and it should have. The key rotation along with signal strength is the cause of the dropped connections. For me atleast.

A few things to remember. Range. You are bouncing. It can go up and down. That's why you can probably walk behind your neighbors house and still have a strong signal. But signals can interfere.

So from 1 to 5 because I buy asus for the hardware. And if I can adjust the software or just change settings as I did, it's not the router. This is my opinion. If you don't agree. Fine. Hopefully someone finds this helpful and others see why there is such a range in reviews.
Reviewed By:Justin,5/5/2015 12:26:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Wireless AC1750 Dual Band Gigabit Cloud Router (DIR-868L)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 terrible range.
Pros: it's a router and it does it's job, read cons.
Cons: this router has terrible range. I can't even go into the next room without it being disconnected and I live in a small apartment.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/5/2015 12:23:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N10P Wireless N150 Router IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent value for the cost!
Pros: Easy to set up. Well engineered, Strong signal throughout my entire 3br ranch home.
Cons: Can't think of any since I bought it on Black Friday 2014.
Other Thoughts: It takes a licking and keeps on ticking! (Just like my old Timex watch) I just bought another one for my cabin up north.
Reviewed By:Hellotou2,5/5/2015 11:18:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C5 AC1200 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, 2.4GHz 300Mbps+5Ghz 867Mbps, 2 USB Ports, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Don't Waste your Money
Pros: Wireless connections perform well
Cons: Ethernet connections are horrible. My main computer, backup server and NAS are all attached to Ethernet ports, and this router drops those connections at least once every day. Most days I have to reset the connections three or four times. I had a Linksys router for six years and it never dropped a connection. Unless you're going to use this router exclusively for wireless, don't waste your money.
Reviewed By:Gerry,5/5/2015 7:17:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC68W Dual-Band Wireless-AC1900 Gigabit Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 So far it is a good router
Pros: 1. Good price with the promotion code.
2. Well built and feature rich software.
3. Strong range on 2.4Ghz but average on 5 Ghz.
Cons: 1. Average on 5 Ghz.
Other Thoughts: I am a Cisco network engineer and work with network equipment all the time. I like this router. Not only it looks great but it also working good so far. I updated the latest firmware right after I received the router from Newegg. So far it did not drop any connectivity, either 2.4G or 5G. I will leave it run for couple months before I would install open source software. I will give update on this review.
Reviewed By:oboy,5/4/2015 12:54:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys WRT54GL Wireless Broadband Router 802.11b/g up to 54Mbps/ Compatible with Open Source DD-WRT (not pre-load)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: bad Ethernet cable, but otherwise works great, and is compatible with my ChromeCast
Cons: bad Ethernet cable, but I had a spare
Reviewed By:MikeV,5/4/2015 12:04:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC3200 Tri-Band AC3200 Wireless Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Router!
Pros: Extensive stock feature set, good range, easy setup.
Cons: Need to have done research before installation and setup. Needs a couple of settings changed from default to work well.
Other Thoughts: This router replaced a Linksys WRT1900AC. The Linky was constantly dropping connections and spontaneously rebooting. The Asus has been rock-solid so far...stable and reliable, even under heavy load (multiple HD video streams and gaming). Two important things to note, as some others have said...the Smart Connect implementation is new and not really production environment stable at this point. I turned it off and manually assigned clients to radios. Also, set network key rotation time to 0 instead of the default 3600 seconds, or clients will momentarily disconnect every hour when the key changes. Setting key rotation to 0 disables the feature and the client disconnects. With these two changes, I currently have 45 connected devices, stable and fast connections. In a large house, I also have excellent range...even on the 5Ghz bands. So far, I am very impressed with my Asus RT-AC3200 router.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/4/2015 8:03:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.