Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N16 Wireless Router 802.11b/g/n up to 300Mbps DD-WRT Open Source support with USB Storage, Printer And Media Server

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Died just after 2 years
Pros: Fantastic router when it worked. I flashed it to open source and that was much better than stock. I never had to reboot it - it worked flawlessly till it died.
Cons: Died just after the warranty was over. This is the first router I've ever owned that just quit working. I'm considering buying another Asus, but they're kind of expensive and I'm not sure I want something that will just die unexpectedly again.
Other Thoughts: It's always had this weird flashing blue to the internal LEDs... Not sure if it was supposed to be this way or if I just got a weird one. It didn't seem to cause any problems, but was just annoying to look at.
Reviewed By:Ministress,10/24/2014 5:01:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK TL-WR841ND Wireless N300 Home Router, 300Mbps, IP QoS, WPS Button, 2 detachable antennas

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome router
Pros: First time buying a TP-link product and I am very satisfied, Especially for the price.

Have this router running for almost a year now and can't remember the last time I've touched it. Once I set it up and put it away in the cabinet I haven't had any problems. Very solid speeds and reliability. It doesn't seem to give off much heat either. Perfect router for the home. Range is pretty decent, I Get whole home coverage out to my driveway. Router is located in the center of the house ~ 2400sqft

My typical network load is live streaming uploading and downloading. haven't had any problems.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:i20ar,10/24/2014 4:18:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TEW-810DR AC750 Dual-Band Wireless Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Really good one
Pros: 1. At $26 it is good enough for a AC router.
2. setup is easy and many functions are very good(separated SSID setting, ipv6 support)
3. connection is fast and stable, much better than the router from Optimum.
4. I don't experience any automatic reboot or signal lost.
Cons: 1. The coverage of 5G signal is not good.
Only one wooden door makes my signal only 175mbps, not 433mbps as claimed. I've no idea how to improve it.
Other Thoughts: It is still a very good router at the price under 30 bucks.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/24/2014 3:51:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C2 AC750 Dual Band Wireless AC Gigabit Router, USB Port, IPv6, Guest Network

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great router for the price point
Pros: TLDR version - This is a highly recommended router if what you're looking for is a basic AC router with good, steady, reliable speeds.

The long version - I have to admit, I was impressed by this router. I didn't expect a whole lot at this price point, especially since I'm currently rolling with a NETGEAR R8000-100NAS Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wireless Router. This TP-LINK isn't quite as fast and doesn't have quite the same range, but my NETGEAR also costs 4x as much, so I wouldn't expect them to be on par. That said, I had greater than 10/100 speeds at a much longer distance than I expected. Even more surprising is that my file transfer tests were rock steady with very little fluctuation.

Other pros:
- No issues after a week of use. Granted, many network devices can take a few weeks to show their weaknesses.
- Security is enabled by default with the default password located on the bottom of the unit.
- You don't need to reboot when changing most settings (e.g., password changes). Changing various settings also happens extremely fast. My expensive NETGEAR takes forever and essentially reboots with every minor change.
- Guest network access can be limited (restricted access to LAN, USB, from every other guest) and also scheduled by day/time. Bandwidth control for guests is also available.
- Gigabit switch connections on the back. Some routers still have the slower 10/100 ports.
- Doesn't get hot after prolonged use.
- Useful and well written Help section after logging in to the router.
- Help section is somewhat colloquial at times. In the one section note if you choose to Enable WDS (for WDS bridging) it says "NOTE: If this checkbox is selected, you had better make sure the following settings are correct." Not professional, but gives me a chuckle and earns a +1 in my book.
Cons: - As some other reviewers note, this isn't as fully-featured as some other (more expensive) routers, but if you don't need those extra features then why pay for them? Skim the manual and see if this will do what you want it to.
- Not as fast as some (more expensive) AC routers.
- Only USB 2 for attached storage. I don't typically use the included USB storage on routers, but in today's day and age I really think USB 2 should be out of sight & out of mind.
- WPS is enabled by default. Depending on your physical location, you might want to turn this off due to security concerns. Google WPS security for more info.
- Ditto UPnP.
- The router doesn't automatically check for firmware updates by itself (this is a sticking point for me), it also doesn't have a direct link to the support page to check for yourself.
- Power plug is guaranteed to eat up at least one adjacent receptacle depending on your power strip.
Other Thoughts: - Administrative website is at tplinklogin.net - default username and password are both admin (I sometimes find it useful when someone puts this info in reviews, so I include it here).
- Some reviewers indicated that the USB drives they plugged into the router were formatted without any prompting. I plugged in an NTFS USB flash drive with some files on it and the drive was NOT formatted. Maybe the behavior was changed in a more recent firmware update? I usually also test to see if the USB port will power a USB-powered external drive, but the only drive I have that meets that criteria is currently in use. I didn't want to risk possibly losing data, so I didn't plug it in to test. Sorry :-(
- The part that matters most - speed tests! All tests were conducted in my 2200 sq. ft. townhouse with a ton of neighboring signals over mostly 2.4GHz with just a few 5GHz. I only tested the 5GHz AC signal because, let's face it, you're buying this for the AC signal. For my speed tests, I took the average of 3 runs of a Windows copy + paste of a 29GB Tron Legacy (2010) M2TS Blu-Ray rip from my gigabit-wired Windows 8.1 file server to my wireless Windows 8.1 laptop with a Linksys Dual-Band AC1200 Wireless USB 3.0 Adapter WUSB6300 attached. The router was in my drywall-ceiling-finished basement a few feet from the file server. Tests were conducted in the basement, my first floor (opposite side of the house from the router), and my second floor (opposite side of the house from the router). When viewing these speeds, remember that everybody's physical environment and computer hardware are different, so your mileage may vary.

-Same floor (basement) speeds - 26.3 MB/s (~210 mbps). Very steady throughput.
-First floor speeds - 16.6 MB/s (~132 mbps). Very steady throughput.
-Second floor speeds - 15.1 MB/s (~121 mbps). Very steady throughput.

As an FYI, you need a steady 7 MB/s or so to reliably stream a Blu-Ray movie over a network, so this router should fit the bill if that’s your goal.
Reviewed By:Justin B.,10/24/2014 1:02:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netis Systems > NETIS WF2471 Wireless N600 High Gain Dual Band Router Repeater Client All in One with Enhanced Four 5 dBi Antennas

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Repeater?
Pros: I can not make it function correctly as a repeater which is why I purchased it, so "NO Pros".
Cons: I bought this specifically for its ability to function as a repeater. I have not been able to get it to work correctly and have contacted their Tech Support TWICE with no response.
Other Thoughts: There are less expensive solutions advertised on Newegg to extend your Wi-Fi Range. I should have just bought the simplest solution.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/24/2014 9:33:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-LINK > TP-LINK Archer C7 v2 AC1750 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Easy Setup, Horrible Router
Pros: Easy firmware updates, extensive GUI
Cons: Everything, I lose wifi connectivity on average 5-8 times per day, I have to reset the router 3-4 times per day at least because my SSIDs disappear from the available connections on all my network devices. I tried using only 2.4Ghz or 5Ghz at one time as some other reviewers had stated (which also defeats the purpose of paying the purchase price of this router) and still saw no improvement. I've updated the firmware on this router every time they've had a new release hoping that it would resolve an issue, but it never has. I've contacted support 3 times and got no response. This is worse than even the cheapest netgear routers I've used in the past. I was skeptical about TP Link products and unfortunately my gut instinct seemed to be correct. Now I'm stuck with $100 loss and no router. I never write product reviews, but my terrible experience motivated me to warn others against buying this thing. Also, I read the manual from cover to cover and did not find a mention of there being a 2TB limit on USB HDDs plugged into this router, wasn't told that until I contact support.
Other Thoughts: V2 Archer C7 AC1750
I'm a technical support engineer, lots of technical/hardware/troubleshooting knowledge, this is just faulty hardware/firmware
Reviewed By:mcmac56,10/24/2014 9:09:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Xtreme Gigabit Router (DIR-655) Wireless N300, USB SharePort, Gigabit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far, so good
Pros: Great price from newegg, and quick shipping. I get strong signal in every room of the office and all the way out to my car.
Cons: Had a IP address issue when setting up. I contacted d-link technical support. My call wait time was surprisingly short and the technician easily helped me through my problem. She talked a little quiet and fast, but was polite and calm. Case number: C6566099 and my tech. support helper ID: AR004239
Other Thoughts: I think the antennas are cute ;)
Reviewed By:ChristieP,10/24/2014 8:14:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC52U Great-Value Dual-Band AC750 Wireless Router for Home and Cloud Use IEEE 802.11a, IEEE 802.11b, IEEE 802.11g, IEEE 802.11n, IEEE 802.11ac, IPv4, IPv6

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nice router, having trouble with Throughput
Pros: Nice GUI, Cheap AC access

This is a nice little router, the VPN client and server are very nice touches, I also like the QoS portion of this AP as well. I can use RDP on my server from work, I can also work from home and changing computers while doing so is easy thanks to the VPN client on this router.
Cons: No GigE port and slow throughput...

I am having a lot of trouble with AC throughput on this router. I am using Steam Stream with this, I have my gaming machine attached with eth and my laptop with an USB 3.0 AC adapter. I have a lot of trouble with "slow network" when trying to use Steam like this, obviously I am limited on the ethernet port at is it only 10/100, but the wireless connection (forcing AC on the usb adapter) has terrible throughput... even speedtests to my ISP are half what they should be, and I'm only 2 ft from my router. My Mac on 5ghz is great from the same place in my house. This is sort of a big deal for me and I am honestly a little angry about it, thinking of buying another router and I've only had this one for about 6 months.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if this router came with expansion ports for external antennas, with the option for me to buy some later on. It would also be great if this router had SSH access built in, I like Asus and they seem to be blooming into the sub-enterprise portion of the market, it would be nice if they made basic enterprise features available too.
Reviewed By:aaronb,10/24/2014 5:29:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > Buffalo Technology > BUFFALO WHR-300HP2D AirStation N300 Open Source DD-WRT Wireless Router IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice router made better by DD-WRT but lacking in hardware
Pros: - DD-WRT. Simply by default, DD-WRT makes a router that much more functional. Most other companies that write firmware for their lower-end routers don't include this much functionality. So to have something like this for sub-$50 router isn't too bad.

- Obvious benefits are OpenVPN, VLAN, command line access, VPN passthrough, QoS, WDS wireless bridging, DNS caching, wifi hotspot, RADIUS authentication, multiple SSIDs, firewall, iptable NAT, telnet and ssh root access.

- DDNS service has a lot of options and even a custom one, which is nice, in the event you use a DDNS service not listed in the drop down.

- Router offers PPTP VPN server and client as well as OpenVPN server and client.

- Hotspot portals include Sputnik, Hotspot System, Wifidog, and Chillispot.

- For parents, access restrictions allow you to set up policies that filter by PC, time/day, p2p protocols, website blocking through URLs and even website blocking by keyword.

- Router has the option for https web access (disabled on default), which is nice.

- Has router based Wake-On-LAN.

- Small form factor and does not generate much heat at all.
Cons: - I am not a fan of the physical switch on the back that determines either Auto, Router or Bridge functionality. Most people log in and setup the router through the administration page anyways.

- While no 5Ghz radio is offered and only 2.4Ghz is available, the range is lacking in general, especially compared to my ASUS RT-N56U, which also has no external antennas.

- 10/100. Who still uses 10/100? Most computers that you buy, even netbooks from years ago came with Gigabit network cards. Don't expect to add a NAS or see acceptable file transfer speeds across your internal LAN network with this router.
Other Thoughts: This is a budget router that has a great firmware base added on top of it to make up for the lack of good hardware. Just know what you're getting into when purchasing.

The size of the NAT table is unlisted. Not sure what will happen if you push the router with a load of high peer torrents and allow hundreds of incoming connections.

I am not sure if BUFFALO's spec sheet stated it anywhere, but the router houses a 600Mhz processor and 64MB of RAM.

Firmware included was DD-WRT v24SP2- (11/05/13) std (SVN revision 22750).
Reviewed By:milkmandan,10/24/2014 12:44:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Wireless Routers > D-Link > D-Link Xtreme Gigabit Router (DIR-655) Wireless N300, USB SharePort, Gigabit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 very good product
Pros: Used this router as a router for a while, now as a WAP/switch. Works flawlessly.
Cons: Only a minor detail, but might be worth noting - cannot configure frequency of ARP requests. No big deal, not enough to take an egg off for.
Reviewed By:hightechredneck,10/23/2014 5:49:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau