Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600 Smart WiFi MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 NETGEAR R7800 Nighthawk X4S AC2600
Pros: Easy setup. Attach the antennas, connect to broadband, connect to Ethernet (or WiFi), open a browser to get started. The Netgear Genie (setup wizard) starts up automatically upon first connection. The firmware update detects automatically and installs within a couple of minutes. MIMO WiFi allows for continuous simultaneous streaming between all wireless devices. I like the on/off button, this is much more preferred than having to unplug the adapter to power cycle. The admin GUI is very nicely designed. I love the bold colors and images. It makes navigating very easy and quick. Two modes, basic and advanced. The home page displays realtime statuses of every type of connection. There is pretty much nothing you can't do with this router: Connect up to two USB 3.0 storage devices and one eSATA storage device, to be shared among all devices connected to the network. Awesome parental controls can be downloaded and configured. The WiFi range is top-notch due to the amplification.
Cons: None. You get what you pay for, and you get a lot with this router.
Other Thoughts: The Nighthawk X4S router is highly recommended for home use. The range is excellent and it’s made for many devices to be connected at one time. This day and age, everything is wireless and continuous streaming is the norm. It's easy and quick to set up and configure so no one should have any problems getting it up and running. I have very high praise for the Nighthawk X4S and would recommend it to anyone who wants the best in home routers.
Reviewed By:Gentry B.,8/24/2016 9:21:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link Archer C3200 AC3200 Wireless Tri-Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac/n/a 5GHz IEEE 802.11b/g/n 2.4GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup and use!
Pros: -great wireless speeds into my HTPC's TP-LINK T9E AC1900
-simply interface, no clutter for the home user
Cons: -may not offer enough customization for hardcore users
Other Thoughts: -would recommend this for home users who just want things to work, because this thing just works.
Reviewed By:Calvin L.,8/24/2016 3:02:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WR1043ND Ultimate Wireless N300 Router, Gigabit, 300Mbps, USB port, 3 Detachable Antennas / IP QoS/ QSS Button

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked good for first month
Pros: - First month was good. Stable and good speed
Cons: - From 2nd month, drops speed, loses connection etc.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,8/24/2016 12:28:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R8000-100NAS Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great paperweight!
Pros: When it worked it was rather average.
Cons: -Dropped signals
-Constant need to reboot
-Poor reach
-Very short range for 5g
-Lousy support
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't buy this at all. When I first purchased it, it was great but really didn't like the range but thought I would just deal with it. About 1 month into using it the router had to be rebooted to get a wifi signal working again. Lan connected devices were fine but anything on wifi sucked. Contact support and they said that I was lucky to reach them within the 90 tech support time limit. Really? 90 days? Fast forward to 10 months later and still within my 1 year warranty and asked for a replacement since wifi ssid would disappear and couldn't connect. Nothing heard from netgear since then. If you read this netgear my case number is: 26637145. Either way I got an Asrock G10 and didn't have anymore issues.

Like I said it was an expensive paperweight and never buying a netgear product again. Wasted my money on this purchase, lesson learned.
Reviewed By:Noritaka S.,8/24/2016 9:15:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC56U AC1200 Dual-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great little router, horrible wifi.
Pros: I buy these because I can install AdvancedTomato on them and get awesome features including USB printer or file server support from the router. Small, multiple network ports.
Cons: The built in wifi is sub-par and the current Tomato actually can't work the 2.4 GHz due to a bug, but I never use the wifi in a router - I use extra dedicated WAP's in my home.
Other Thoughts: Bought specifically as a router (not wifi) and to run Tomato. Does both perfectly.
Reviewed By:Tony M.,8/24/2016 8:21:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R8000-100NAS Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DEAD after about a month
Pros: It had great range when it worked.
Cons: After about a month of use, I could smell it burning and it just quit working. Unfortunately for me, I threw away the box and Newegg would not accept the return. I'm out $300 plus the extra I paid for the extended plan. It's just a dust collector now.
Reviewed By:Justin S.,8/24/2016 7:55:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N12/D1 Wireless-N300 3-in-1 Router/AP/Range Extender IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 asus s/n faiadq002442
Pros: not much to say cheap,,, blue leds,,
Cons: will not stay hooked up to internet..stay on about 15 mins then no internet have to id ,,password,,reboot,,reset ,,power off.reset,,power off,,id ,,password,,i've had enough ,,i've read other reviews it cost more to ship it back than it worth..
not going to ask for rma. i'm just going to trash it,, and don't apologies asus..
Other Thoughts: recommend NO it not worth the gold that in it..
Reviewed By:steven p.,8/24/2016 6:18:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N12/D1 Wireless-N300 3-in-1 Router/AP/Range Extender IEEE 802.3/3u, IEEE 802.11b/g/n manufactured recertified

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 asus rt-nt2 wireless n router s/nfaiadq002442
Pros: not much to say it a cheap router
Cons: will not stay hooked up to internet.it stay on about 15 min then no internet.reset,,reset,,power off,,reset,,power off,sign in,,password,,reset,etc, had enough,
Other Thoughts: recommend no .it aint worth the gold thats in it
Reviewed By:steven p.,8/24/2016 5:31:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great product!
Pros: - easy to set up! just plugged the power in and my browser was prompted to set up the network! and even updated the firmware after it got going!
- fast speeds! upgraded from the cable provider wifi box and it is night and day difference. hello 1080p streams
- looks great! i personally love the styling of the device. stealthy and sleek.
- great range!
Cons: - none that i can think of.
Other Thoughts: - i did run into a weird problem when trying to log into the router settings thru my browser. i was asked to put in my asus router account, which i dont remember setting up but i do rememebr setting a password for the router. the user name was already filled in and it was the wrong one. it came up as username: ASUS and had a password already keyed in, im assuming from my browser settings and it took me forever to find out that the user is admin and the password is the one i choose. hope that helps anyone out. keep in mind i still had wired and wireless internet access, i just couldn't look at the control panel.
Reviewed By:Alan A.,8/24/2016 2:29:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC66U Dual-Band Wireless-AC1750 Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11ac, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab manufactured recertified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Home-Grade Router or AP!
Pros: - AsusWRT more stable in 2016 than it was in 2014 when I purchased mine.
- MerlinWRT is a nice upgrade from AsusWRT without losing the UI familiarity.
- Decent wireless range for price point.
- Very stable operation, mine has always been consistent and only need rebooted for firmware upgrades.
- Easy to work with in AsusWRT UI, easy to button your network down.
- Decent firewall, gets better options to manage in Merlin.
- Mutliple SSID's can be hosted. Handy for guest or hidden networks.
- In AP mode, you can continue to use the switch ports 1-4 for other network devices as you would if it were in Router mode.
Cons: - AsusWRT from 2014 had WAN DHCP issues with my Charter Cable service that required Merlin to resolve.
- No top ventilation, leaves the unit running kinda hot.
- I can get a $70 AP that has internal antennas that has better range and signal quality than this unit with 3 external antennas. This wins if you need a DHCP/DNS server, Firewall and routing though. Keep that in mind.
Other Thoughts: - I would recommend this for many home users or small business users (though you should really have a higher-grade firewall/router for business use). It is easy to setup, plenty of documentation out there and the device is stable.
Reviewed By:Sean L.,8/23/2016 6:56:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.