Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No Complaints
Pros: - Works as advertised.
Cons: - None, after several weeks of use.
Other Thoughts: I bought this as a second drive for my laptop, which has 100's of gigs of Steam games installed. Using this drive for atypical data/apps in conjunction with an SSD for the OS (and commonly used apps) gives the perfect balance of speed, power savings, and storage capacity.
Reviewed By:3vi1,5/1/2015 2:48:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar H2IK10003272SN (0S03563) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Seems Like A Great Hard Drive
Pros: *Basic, but adequate packaging
*Straightforward Installation
*Excellent Performance & Capacity
*32 MB Cache
*Relatively High Areal Density For a Mobile 7200rpm HDD
*After 10 Days, SMART Shows Flawless Operation
Cons: *I Had Hoped That a 2TB 7200rpm Mobile HDD Would Be Available By Now.
Other Thoughts: All in all, I am quite pleased with my purchase, as the HDD has excellent performance and serves as a great secondary drive to my SSD. Time will tell if the HDD is indeed reliable, but as of now, it looks promising.
Reviewed By:N/A,5/1/2015 11:13:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus 7200.1 ST910021A 100GB 7200 RPM 8MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 / ATA-6 2.5" Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Arrived faster than expected. Made my job easier. Good price. Was as expected.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,5/1/2015 4:35:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Update Of Previous Review
Pros: In my previous review of the HGST 7K1000 (2/3/2015), I noted that most other brands of external/portable 2.5" hard drives were 5400 RPM while the HGST 7K1000 is 7200 RPM (I bought several to install in hard drive enclosures to use as very fast portable drives).

After making that statement, I realized the HGST Touro series portable hard drives are 7200 RPM.

So I called Hitachi and asked if the hard drive used in the 1 TB Touro was the 7K1000. They would not comment one way or another (which made me suspect it was not).

Out of curiosity, I purchased a 1 TB HSGT Touro to benchmark and compare it with the results I got for the 7K1000 in an ORICO external enclosure.

The results were interesting (at least to me). The 1 TB Touro, although 7200 RPM, benchmarked no better than the 5400 RPM Western Digital My Passport Ultra or the Seagate equivalent. Using ATTO I measured 122.814 MB/s Sequential Read, and 118.144 MB/s Sequential Write.

These figures are significantly below the Read/Write speeds I measured on the 1 TB HSGT 7K1000 in an ORICO USB 3.0 enclosure.

The access time on the 7K1000 also measured slightly lower than the Touro (lower access time is better).

The 1 TB Touro generally sells for $69.99 on Newegg as does the 7K1000. But Newegg frequently runs the HGST 7K1000 on sale for $59.99. If you can score one on sale, and add $12.99 for the ORICO enclosure, you will have a significantly faster portable drive for only about $3.00 more than the everyday price of the 1 TB Touro.

Alternatively, if you are simply going to install a 7K1000 as a replacement notebook OS drive, or use it in a game console, I have not measured a faster (non-flash cache) 2.5" hard drive. It's a bargain for the money.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: One final thing to consider (if you plan to install a 7K1000 in an external enclosure) -- the 7K1000 comes with a three year warranty while the Touro has a two year warranty.
Reviewed By:Bruce C.,4/30/2015 4:05:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LM021 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy installation
Pros: Easy installation, quiet, fast
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Perfect drive to upgrade Dell Latitude E6420 notebooks
Reviewed By:Merv W,4/30/2015 12:19:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus 7200.4 ST9320423AS 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive and is Reliable
Pros: I have had an Alienware M17x laptop for about 5 years with two of these drives running in Raid 0 and there have been no problems with these drives.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,4/30/2015 10:44:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus XT ST95005620AS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s with NCQ 2.5" Solid State Hybrid Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 What a piece of junk!!!
Pros: None.
Cons: Where do I start? First drive was not recognized by any system: Laptop, PCs, Netbook. RMAed and got new drive. Same thing. Never recognized. This was the biggest waste of money I have ever spent. Seagate will never get my business again. When I called the second time, it was past their window on RMAed items, so basically I was out of luck. Nothing to show for good money spent on a horrible product. Sad.
Reviewed By:Tim Parker,4/29/2015 5:30:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST500LM000 500GB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 HDD already failing
Pros: good price
Cons: After installing the HDD less than 6 mos ago, it has already crashed. When my PC tries to boot it will ask me to choose where I want to boot from and just keeps cycling through it.
Reviewed By:N/A,4/29/2015 8:45:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > FUJITSU - Storage/Hard Drive > Fujitsu MHW2060AT 60GB 4200 RPM 2MB Cache IDE Ultra ATA100 / ATA-6 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Product & Fast Shipping Too!
Pros: Had to order this drive for a client for their older laptop that had ata100. Drive is performing solid and price was very good too.
Cons: No cons here
Reviewed By:Rick,4/28/2015 12:42:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 An Original
Pros: Physically separate drives. Combined package. Feels like a sturdy build. Biggest spindle space I've seen on the market for a 2.5" disk.
Cons: Requires more power. To reset the drive back (in the event you want to repartition) back to factory specs, you need to write zeros to the device. WD has an article that tells you how to reset, see it in Other Thoughts. Since the drive is completely packed with storage and PCBs, you have two missing or omitted mounting screws on the underside of the drive. You have 2 out of 4 holes to screw into the bottom for mounting.
Other Thoughts: WD Support to reset/reinit the Black2 dual drive: http://wdc.custhelp.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/11403

The device is a very cool idea, an original. I bought them on shellshocker shortly after realizing this product *exists*. Still learning.
Reviewed By:Midnight Tech,4/28/2015 10:35:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.