Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10J31X 1TB 5400 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Its Good
Pros: Good amount of space in a small package. Pretty good performance for a hard drive. I put this drive in my laptop and it doesn't really feel any faster than the standard drive that was in it. Boot up was maybe a little faster, and my common used programs might open a little faster. But the difference isn't huge, I saw a much better improvement with an SSD.

But still this is a great drive if you only have one spot in your computer.
Cons: No real cons to speak of, the drive performed well. I guess the only issue is it is 9mm, so it wouldn't fit in my ultrabook.
Other Thoughts: I don't think 8GB is big enough to really make a difference. I'd like to see at least 32GB.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/3/2015 2:13:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Hybrid Drives ST1000LM014 1TB MLC/8GB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s NCQ 2.5" Laptop SSHD -Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Bigger, Faster, as advertised
Pros: 1. Great company
2. Great Price (i paid ~$80 shipped)
3. Works
4. Lots of storage in a small space
5. Blazing fast
Cons: wasnt free?
no real cons yet but i have only owned it for 5 months, check in with me in 7 more
Other Thoughts: I bought it for my PS4 (for storage, got speed at a great price)
Worked out of the box, instantly knew it was faster than the original drive (were only talking a few seconds here)
only had it since march, august at time of review but i trust seagate (yes a lot of the ST3000's are bad, dont buy a hard drive if you dont expect it to fail at some point)
left one egg off because i didnt like the shipping. But thats just my paranoia, it really wasnt bad, i just overpack stuff
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 3:55:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black WD5000LPLX 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD Black WD5000LPLX 500GB
Pros: I have found this Hard Drive to be a great replacement for the OEM drive in an Aging Dell Laptop of one of my customers... It is Fast and Quiet and is working flawlessly... I would recommend this drive to anyone looking to upgrade and older laptop...
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 6:40:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LT032 500GB 5400 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Ultrathin Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Weird mounting holes
Pros: Seems like an OK drive--refurbished. Not noisy. Very thin.
Cons: Weird mounting holes. There are only holes on the edges of the drive, not the face; so I had to duct-tape it into the case. This would be a deal-breaker for many systems.
Other Thoughts: Using it as an in-case backup drive; not as my primary drive, which is SSD.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/2/2015 2:34:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 unusable in a lenovo
Pros: None. It doesn't work.
Cons: Takes Extensive Effort even for someone with 30 years working with pc's just to get a clone of an existing HD. After two weeks still cannot get it to boot.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 5:51:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD BLACK SERIES WD7500BPKX 750GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Pretty good drive for the bucks
Pros: 5 year warranty. WD has never let me down (only had to replace one under warranty out of over a dozen various WD Black drives).
Cons: Last one died about 1 year into the 5 year warranty. If not for that, would be 5 eggs.
Other Thoughts: This is my 2nd one of these (3rd, counting the warranty replacement). WD is very good about warranty returns, will even cross-ship. This one will be used as an external backup drive for a WD 750MB drive in a laptop. NE
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 12:38:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10J31X 1TB 5400 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SSHD is Advancing Well
Pros: SSD Speed for often-used applications, Large capacity, decent file transfer speeds, good price.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice improvement over the last generation of SSHD. I cloned my laptop's (Lenovo y50, i5, 8GB, GTX860m) Kingston 240GB SSDNow300 V to it, but before that I ran several benchmarks as a control on the SSD. Then I benchmarked the heck out of this SSHD, running each benchmark at least three times to see the improvement with each run -and it was significant. The Witcher 2 open improved from 33.8 seconds on first run to 26.1 seconds on the third run. Not much improvement past that, but the SSD in my main rig with a similar Core i5 takes 28.3 seconds... PC Mark Vantage (I know, kind of old) told a very interesting story: SSD score was 11,037. SSHD (1) 5892 (2) 6668 (3) 7227 (4) 7598 This drive improved the score 129% in four runs. While it never got close the the SSD, other tests were much more competitive. Shadow of Mordor built-in benchmark: SSD Max fps=81.39 Avg=38.33 SSHD (1) Max=87.32 Avg.=35.06 (2) Max.=72.69 Avg.=36.96 (3) Max.=113.07 Avg.=37.28 (4) Max.=96.51 Avg.=38.61 This test showed this SSHD besting my SSD in max and average framerates by the third and fourth run! Windows boot times were very average when it was first installed, but improved dramatically getting the final boot time down to 20 seconds to functioning desktop. The HDD that came with this laptop took a solid 45+ seconds to boot, but my SSD boots in around 13, so basically this SSHD is a very nice balance between storage and speed. It's important to remember that it will only improve the performance of programs that run multiple times because it has to cache the loading files to its little SSD portion. How it learns this is a mystery to me but it works! If you have a laptop with one drive bay you can't go wrong with this drive.

A note on large file transfers: I used a Samsung Portable SSD T1 to test this (USB3.0 drive and PC port.) A 1.5GB video file copied onto the SSHD at around 30MB/s, but the same file was able to write back to the SSD at a whopping 300MP/s for about half of the transfer, then it slowed and hovered around 100MB/s. Still extremely fast. Considering that pulling data off the drive whether opening a file or moving stuff to another drive is the most important part of a disk drive's performance to most people, this thing works perfectly.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/1/2015 12:04:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA Hybrid Drives MQ01ABD100H 1TB+8GB(NAND Flash) 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Won't buy Toshiba again!
Pros: Worked well until it didn't. Fast and quiet, lots of storage, good price point.
Cons: Without warning the drive died after 7 months of use. Now seeing if I can salvage my daughter's photos :(
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 3:09:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M8 ST1000LM024 (HN-M101MBB/EX2) 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Slowest piece of hardware I've used. EVER.
Pros: It didn't fail on me.Yet.
Cons: I got this with my SAMSUNG laptop pre-installed. I had to use this laptop for a year during a demanding Computer-Science College Preperatory course. I don't think I've ever seen anything slower. Its usage two thirds of the time is 100% and lag spikes are all over the place. I replaced it with a hybrid drive and the computer suddenly became actually GOOD. I really do think this HDD hindered my academic performance.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy it. Don't even think of it.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 1:07:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10J31X 1TB 5400 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop SSHD Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive
Pros: Small stature, great speed, nice size.

Using a drive speed utility I'm getting 160Mb/s in and 190Mb/s out.

When reading files that are small enough to fit in the drives 8GB of SSD memory (and nothing else on the drive) I'm getting speeds up to 320Mb/s in and 380Mb/s out.

Low energy usage, and high speed is a bonus in any battery fed device, a true champion of drives.

Not only a great primary drive, but a great secondary drive as well.
Cons: 9mm size, so no fitting it into a 7mm bay.
Other Thoughts: Comes as a bare drive, only expect the drive, no software, no cables, no instructions.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 8:03:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.