Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 500GB Mobile 7.00mm Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 2.5 Inch - WD5000LPVX

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Died after a year of usage in CCTV
Pros: - It lasted a year in a light 247 recording. Not amazing but couldve been worst.
Cons: - Died after a year, the CCTV was motion activated only with a single camera, thats not alot of data and cooling was adequate.... Truely a shame WD doesnt make good low end drives anymore.
Reviewed By:Amir J.,9/23/2016 12:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 3 DOA Hard Drives ?? Same SMART Imminent Failure Warning and Hard Drive 1 (301) Warning on Three (3!!) Separate Drives
Pros: No cost to ship back each drive
Cons: Bought a HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 drive from NewEgg a few weeks ago, got Hard Disk 1 (301) and Smart Hard Disk Error indicating imminent failure immediately upon start up. Sent back to NewEgg for replacement....and the replacement drive had the exact same warnings and I returned it for a refund.

I then purchased the same drive from another vendor, and AGAIN got the same warnings. After each DOA drive was removed I put back the original Hard Drive....a HGST Travelstar H2IK10003272SN (0S03563) and there were no errors or warnings. Contacted HGST / WD , and their reply was: "So strange to have 3 drives from different vendors to fail and with the same errors at that" ....and they then advised to return the drives to the respective vendor or to them for replacement.
Other Thoughts: Math isn't my strong suit, but even I figure the chances of getting the same error on three identical model hard drives from two different vendors is pretty unlikely?

Assuming the hard drives were all good and user error was the problem, does anyone have any idea what I might be doing wrong or what might be causing my issue? I got a suggestion that maybe the hard drive SATA cable that connects to the motherboard might be bad and I have a replacement on order, but then why would my original hard drive not get the error each time I reinstalled it using the same cable? I have a HP Pavilion M6 1035dx Laptop running Win 7 Home Premium 64 bit with 16GB RAM and a AMD A10-4600M Quad-Core 2.3GHz Processor.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/20/2016 2:58:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA MK6465GSX 640GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst hard drive ever - avoid at all cost
Pros: None
Cons: Regret buying a Toshiba laptop that came with this drive. Crashed after less than 2 years of light use . I now need to hire a data recovery service to retrieve the data. Never expected drive heads to crash so soon. This is my second Toshiba that crashed in less than 5 years. Will never buy Toshiba laptops again. Not reliable and poorly made - pure garbage
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend this drive. Avoid avoid avoid
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/19/2016 10:08:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good Idea ok drive
Pros: Great idea to put a full SSD on a full mechanical drive.
SSD is good at first
Cons: After about a year the drive started to have issues with read and write between the two drives
it also started to get extremely hot
Manufacturer Response:Hi Nic,
Thanks for bringing this matter to our concern. It is important to maintain the 1GB barrier between the SSD and HDD portions of the drive for proper operation. The SSD should only contain the OS and Program files, and should not exceed 118GB. All data, and any program files that may be too large to fit safely within the SSD portion should be stored on the 1TB HDD portion.

We would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns directly. You can contact us from the information below. Please mention this Newegg review as a point of reference with our support staff.

Need Help? Please follow the link below for further assistance or contact us at 1(800) 275-4932.
https://wdsupport.wdc.com/sfdc/case.aspx

Reviewed By:Nic W.,9/19/2016 1:11:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A WONDERFUL product!
Pros: Combined Storage of an SSD & a standard HDD in 1 physical footprint is FANTASTIC!

Speed (Read & Write) are within 5% tolerance of both drives standalone equivalent. Copy speed to/from the HDD to SSD and from SSD to HDD was exactly as expected.

Price is very fair (I got it when it was on sale for $150)

FIVE year warranty!! This is better than their Red NAS Drives.

Boot time is very respectable.
Cons: Packaging is very excessive. Almost 5 times the size of what is needed, but is used to show how proud they are of their product. Comes with a "USB" drive included that simply directs you to the WD Download page for the device (see next Con comment).

120GB SSD is recognized instantly via Windows driver database, but 1TB HDD requires an additional piece of software from WD. Have yet to be able to find a way to avoid this. --EDIT-- This was true under Windows 7 x64 Pro, refused to use Windows 8, the drive itself has native driver support for both SSD & HDD under both versions of Windows 10.

Formatting the SSD erases the HDD as well, at least in Windows 7, have not had a need to erase it yet under Windows 10.

Drive is missing the 2 rear physical mounting screw holes on the rear of the drive. Not a huge deal but it made mounting it in a laptop a bit tricky.
Other Thoughts: I have an Acer TimelineX Laptop that originally came with a 500GB WD HDD. I use this laptop on a daily basis and it sees more work on average than my edit rig or my gaming rig. I originally didnt want an HDD and this was when SSDs were becoming more and more affordable, but a 500+ SSD would still carry a pricetag higher than the laptop itself. But I didnt want to sacrifice a higher capacity of storage for the convenience and speed of an SSD. So to remedy this I decided to remove the optical drive and replace it with a 2nd HDD Adapter Caddy ($10 average price) and place a 1TB WD HDD in it and then use a 120 GB SSD where the original HDD was located. This allowed me the speed and convenience of a boot SSD and the availability of a standard HDD for large capacity storage. This was the optimal setup until a few situations arose that I needed my SSD, HDD AND optical drive all at the same time. This happened on more than one occasion, and on 2 separate occasions impacted me to the point that it cost me income when out working with a client. So, when WD Released the Black2 Dual Drive that allowed me to have my 120GB SDD Boot drive, my 1TB HDD for mass storage AND recover usage of my Optical drive, it was a no brainer for me. The price was originally $300 but I found it on sale around Christmas on Newegg for $150 which made it even more of a no brainer. If you want to breathe new life into an older laptop, combine SSD & HDD into one footprint, or simply want to avoid having to choose between an SSD or HDD in a laptop, then THIS is the product for you.
Reviewed By:Rhett O.,9/19/2016 12:26:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Laptop Thin ST500LT012 500GB 5400 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Make yoursefl a favour, Don't buy that.
Pros: None
Cons: Having this in a all in one from Acer. The computer have been always slow. CPU and Memory wasn't really solicited but the HDD always hit 100% of use. After 9 months the computer start to randomly freeze. I replace it with a SSD and now it's a decent computer. I understand 5400 rpm can't compete a SSD but why selling these if it's just can't handle windows 8 \ 10 data flow.
Other Thoughts: No excessive heat and no major shock. This drive should have done a couple of years.
Reviewed By:Mathieu C.,9/16/2016 9:12:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 500GB Performance Laptop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6 Gb/s 32MB Cache 2.5" - WD5000LPLX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Installed on a Dell Vostro 3450
Pros: Even though its thinner than the orig drive the bracket took care of that and it lined up exactly. Loaded windows 7 then the drivers and it works fast and no issues.
Cons: None yet....see below "other"
Other Thoughts: Now this is the "Other" how long will it last ? The orig was the same drive a WD Black and it lasted 4 years so not the best longevity but ok.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,9/15/2016 8:17:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Momentus STBD1000100 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache 2.5" SATA 3.0Gb/s Internal Notebook Hard Drive -Retail kit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Box states is SATAIII, supposedly backwards compatible, but is not
Pros: Wouldn't know, couldn't get it to work.
Cons: I have an older machine that only supports up to SATA II, which is specifically why I got this drive. The box states that it is actually SATA III (6 Gb/s) and backwards compatible to SATA II (3 Gb/s), but doesn't appear to work on a SATA II interface.
Reviewed By:Ryan M.,9/10/2016 12:14:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate ST500LM000 500GB 5400 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Laptop Thin SSHD Bare Drive

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Impressed with price/performance for the capacity
Pros: I purchased a new HP laptop for a good sale price knowing that I would replace it with an SSD (ended up getting 52GB SSD) since I'm an SSD snob and we all know that booting a drive off the old school spinning disk is entirely unusable :) and at this point old spinning disks are only suitable for capacity/storage of your data.

What I didn't realize realize is that my new HP laptop came with this hybrid drive so I decided to leave it in there for a while. I was really impressed with the performance booting and loading some common apps that are used all the time (web browser, office apps, etc.). These apps make hier way into the SSD cache where data is accessed quickly at SSD like speeds. It really did speed this up over a traditional spinning disk and made a noticeable improvement. I would even say that the performance was totally fine for an average user so I would recommend this as a cost effective upgrade over traditional disk if you can't spend a little over 2x for an SSD of about this capacity.

However, since I purchased the new Crucial MX300 SSD along with the new laptop after a few days I put in the SSD and it was faster but you pay for it. Still the performance this hybrid drive delivered is entirely acceptable.
Cons: Still uses spinning disk technology at its core which is susceptible to data loss if you drop or bump your laptop too much. If you access some data that is not used frequently then things are slow since its going to spinning disk to retrieve the data but this is expected and by design. This can happen with editing large video files for example or if you decide to play a game that you have not played for a while.
Other Thoughts: I think this hybrid drive made more scene a couple of years ago when SSD prices were still challenging for a lot of average users. Now that you can get a 500GB SSD drive for about 120-160 I would probably just spend the extra money and get the full SSD that is much more durable when it comes to bumping or dropping your laptop and is faster overall for all data on it.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/10/2016 6:09:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive (Standard model) Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great PS4 Drive
Pros: Bought it in april, and added a lot of space on my PS4. No problem so far (5 months old) using it almost 2-5 hours a day since then.

A little faster than the stock PS4 drive, but the difference in loading time is minimal.
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: I recommend it for PS4. It's good, efficient and fast.
Reviewed By:Jean-Francois P.,9/9/2016 9:56:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.