Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue WD10JPVX 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hot & slow
Pros: Inexpensive
Cons: run slow and hot
Other Thoughts: It is kind much slower than I have expected.

And, even worse, running for one hour, and the laptop becomes very hot.

Is it normal for this model of hard drive? or I have a defect one?
Reviewed By:opus11,9/30/2014 5:01:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black² Dual Drive 2.5" 120 GB SSD + 1 TB HDD Kit WD1001X06XDTL

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I'll NEVER buy western digital again
Pros: A couple hundred dollar lesson, probably saved me quite a bit in the long run.
Cons: See Earlier review: SSD is slow, and then bricked. I'm stuck with a standard hard drive, that treats itself like a solid state. I was excited when the western digital rep commented on my last review, telling me how to go about getting a replacement. Instead, they linked an out-dated, offline site. I found their current site, and got the run around so hard, I'm dizzy from it. I'm all done with Western Digital anything. Time to check out Hitachi or Seagate.
Other Thoughts: If a company doesn't care, I wish they'd just say it. Not redirect, deflect, and bounce around a customer. If they'd just said "Go away, you already bought the product, have a nice life," I'd respect them quite a bit more.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/30/2014 4:01:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Travelstar 7K1000 HTS721010A9E630 (0J22423) 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great value
Pros: Fast, quick delivery, no problem on install and reimaging and it boots faster than it did brand new, even after all the bloatware was removed. It is the 32mb cache and the 7200 rpm speed making the difference. I may get the 3 year extended warranty. This is my third identical drive, the first two have been running awhile now with no issues.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:steve,9/30/2014 11:57:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Blue WD3200BEVT 320GB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still working great.
Pros: Still working, does what I need it to, Doesn't make any noise.
Cons: None that I can think of besides the space on it haha.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 9:57:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Black wd5000bpkt 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD support
Pros: Other than Newegg does not support RMA after 30 days from purchase and the dead drive itself, the service on the Western Digital 800 support line was excellent.

I just spoke to the WD support guy and he RMA'd the drive immediately and also included UPS shipping, so no cost to me other than some lost productivity.

Added a couple of eggs for that.
Cons: died too soon. boo.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 5:47:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Black wd5000bpkt 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works until it dies too soon
Pros: Fast, quiet, low power consumption, easy installation
Cons: It died an early death.

Purchased in Dec 2012 and installed in a Dell 1525 laptop to replace a Seagate 120GB drive (which was used heavily for more than three years and still works swell). As for the WD, I probably only got a true 6 months of use out of this device. Very very disappointing. Fortunately, I back up regularly to an external HD, so I didn't lose too many valuable docs.

I put the Seagate 120 back in the laptop, so at least I can continue to work, although I consider my machine crippled with the tiny HD.
Other Thoughts: Back up your stuff, people. You don't think losing your stuff could happen to you, but it will, and almost always at the wrong time.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 5:04:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > Western Digital > Western Digital Scorpio Black wd5000bpkt 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 fairly quick while it lasted
Pros: was a great drive that was almost snappy like a ssd,
Cons: had this in my work laptop that replaced an old WD black, only lasted almost a year today before it started failing.
smart says ok but drive test and read/writes failed, couldnt even clone this drive so i now have to reload everything

already requested an RMA
Reviewed By:06yfz450ridr,9/29/2014 11:36:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M8 ST1000LM024(HN-M101MBB) 1TB 5400 RPM 8MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't last and slow
Pros: 1TB Price
Cons: Bad sectors started after 16 months, finally died a week later. Drive was really slow as well. I would not buy one of these again.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/29/2014 7:14:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great in my small media PC!
Pros: I recently put together a media server that we use to download and play TV directly from. We were using an external USB 2.0 hard drive, but as I found out that doesn't cut it for some of the media we were watching - video artifacts would appear presumably because the data transfer rate couldn't keep up. And that's where this guy saved us. The media server only has room for one 3.5" HDD bay, but with an adapter, this 2TB 2.5" drive stacks nicely against another 2.5" solid-state for quick booting. I now got plenty of storage for my media server, and no video artifacts or annoying standby spin-up times.

Power efficiency is a concern since this computer is on 24/7, but this drive didn't seem to affect it at all. In fact, it seems to take less than the USB enclosure did even in standby!

It's also much quieter than the external drive it's replaced!
Cons: It doesn't perform nearly as well as an SSD or other 3.5" HDDs I have, but it's not designed to. I wouldn't use it for data-intensive applications, but it's more than enough for my media server.
Other Thoughts: I'm quite happy I got this! It took care of some minor annoyances I didn't even realize I had until they were gone.

Get 3.5" to 2.5" adapter and you can stack a few of these into a very tight space!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/28/2014 3:05:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Laptop Hard Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Spinpoint M9T ST2000LM003 2TB 5400 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 2.5" Internal Notebook Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Good Drive
Pros: This drive was packaged using completely recyclable materials.
I wanted to see if I could use this 2.5" notebook hard drive on my desktop computer. I was very happy with the results. My computer case is a Thermaltake Level 10 GT. The drive fit very nicely on the mounting tray, and as soon as I pushed it in place, my system recognized the drive instantly and from there I was able to format it and assign a drive letter. I also wanted to see if I could use this drive in an external enclosure. I slid it into an Orico 6518SUS3-BK Docking Station Enclosure and it was recognized when I used either an eSATA cable or USB 3.0 cable. This drive is extremely fast and I am very pleased with it as it has exceeded all of my expectations.
Cons: No mounting screws were included with this drive.
Other Thoughts: From what I can see, Samsung gives a 3 year warranty where Seagate and Western Digital offer 2 year warranties on comparable 2.5" drives.
Reviewed By:SMT,9/27/2014 10:28:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau