Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad S Series Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8 GHz 4GB Memory 320GB HDD 12.5" Tablet PC Windows 8 Pro 64-bit S230u (33472YU)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great laptop with some faults
Pros: Got this laptop on a great door buster deal through manufacturer. Very responsive Core i3 along with SSD cache for hard drive to speed things up. Build quality is excellent. Very convenient to have a laptop and tablet all in one neat package. Screen is very responsive and sharp. Video and audio playback is excellent and the sound quality is impressive for a laptop or tablet.
Cons: There is a lot to love about the twist but there are a lot of little things that Lenovo should have corrected before releasing this ThinkPad Tablet PC.

Screen
The screen has a mind of it's own and will rotate when it wants to. At times when going from tablet back to laptop, the only way to get the screen to rotate back is to restart. The light sensor on the screen also works randomly to lighten and dim your screen even when the background light remains the same.

Software
The software that is installed can be very helpful but can also be very intrusive. I uninstalled the Intel Management software as it was slowing the system down. The Lenovo messenger gets annoying as it seems to have a message for you every hour. A lot of other software is not needed unless you are in a corporate environment and want to seamlessly manage updates and configuration changes. Other Lenovo software is not needed and just takes up too much memory and processor away from running tasks.

Lenovo also has software integrated to protect your hard drive from shock. While the software does protect your hard drive, each time you move the laptop/tablet around, the drive freezes for about 20 seconds and you have to sit and wait. You have the option of turning down the sensitivity or disabling Lenovo Airbag - setting to Low sensitivity makes it tolerable yet still offers some protection.
Other Thoughts: Ok, so I had a lot to gripe about. Lenovo created a really nice package with the Twist and I would not hesitate to purchase the Twist again. I am keeping my fingers crossed but after 3 bios updates and numerous system updates, the little annoyances have not been fixed.

It says a lot about the product when you have so many little gripes but still love the product. Lenovo built a nice machine that could have been an exceptional machine had they taken the time to fully test and fix the features.
Reviewed By:webkennection,12/3/2014 10:10:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkPad Yoga 11e Chromebook 20DU0008US 16 GB Tablet PC - 11.6" - In-plane Switching (IPS) Technology - Wireless LAN - Intel Celeron N2930 1.83 GHz - Graphite Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great New Chromebook
Pros: This is a great Chromebook. I have two older Chromebooks and this one runs circles around them. But is is expensive and heavy (3 lbs. 5 oz.). The screen is a touchscreen IPS and beautiful, the keyboard and touchpad are great and easy to see in poor light (I have one older Chromebook with white keys but the contrast between the key and the lettering is poor). It is more than twice as fast to fully download 4 windows with 26 total tabs as my older Chromebooks.

It has a very good PDF User Guide (62 pages) that you can download from Lenovo that shows the four positions that the keyboard can move to. When moving the keyboard about 190 degrees open, the keyboard and touchpad turn off and the screen image will go to 0, 90, 180, and 270 degrees depending on position. I like the "tent" position for viewing videos and playing touch games.

The User Guide says to "use the battery until the charge is completely depleted. - until the battery status indicator starts blinking orange." That is counter to all my other tablets. But even from a dead battery, it fully charges in about 2 hours.

It works with a 1 TB portable USB powered Hard Drive in USB 2.0 and 3.0 and flash drives and other Android tablets.
Cons: It is expensive and it is heavy (3 lbs. 5 oz.). And it is dull and boring.
Reviewed By:nuismer,11/11/2014 7:06:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Hewlett-Packard > HP EliteBook 2730P [Microsoft Authorized Recertified] 12.1" Notebook and Tablet PC with Intel Core 2 Duo 1.86Ghz, 2GB Memory, 80GB SSD, Windows 7 Home Premium 32-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replacement for Previous Refubished 2730p
Pros: The laptop came in excellent shape. I was able to swap the laptop drive with the drive from my other 2730p laptop quickly. Windows had no issues detecting the the hardware.
Cons: Do not install Windows 8 on this laptop. The stylus cannot reach the corners of the screen.
Other Thoughts: Event though the laptop specs mention an 80GB HDD. The one I ordered came with an SSD.

The previous EliteBook 2730p that I had was also a refurbished laptop from Newegg. I tripped on its power cord which caused it to stop charging.

I was able to install Mint Linux on it without any issues.
Reviewed By:MrMcKizzle,9/25/2014 1:22:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB Memory 160GB HDD 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X61

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Loud fan, and broken stylus
Pros: I love Thinkpads.
Cons: Very used appearance.
Loud (from age) cooling fan.
Broken stylus which is permanently in the clicked position.
Other Thoughts: In theory a nice machine for the price. I can forgive all it's other flaws except I need a working stylus!
Reviewed By:N/A,9/15/2014 7:59:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB Memory 160GB HDD 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X61

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not beautiful but worth it.
Pros: Cheap, powerful enough to run android, well more like over kill.
With a SSD and android the battery life not that good but its power full.
Might also be the oem battery, it says IBM on the battery so may by OEM battery.
If it is wow.
Cons: not touch screen, but i grew up with a stylist in my hands so not much of a big deal.
Other Thoughts: There is a problem with the fan, but i don't know if i will RMA it. Since I already have this unit in business production and I'm sure they wont do a advance replacement.
Reviewed By:ccp421.info,9/12/2014 8:45:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB Memory 160GB HDD 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X61

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Value
Pros: This ThinkPad is very versatile. The screen rotates and the flips down to be used as a tablet. Battery seems fine and supposedly has a 5 hour battery life according to old online reviews. This unit arrived promptly and in working condition with a fresh Windows 7 Pro 64 install. the mouse scroll button (red) on the keyboard works very nicely compared to touchpads. I wont really need a USB mouse.
Cons: None really other than it is an older machine that is used and refurbished -- there are minor wear marks from usage. There was no manual and the Lenovo website did not have a full owner's manual on this machine. This ThinkPad uses the old style stylus pen touchscreen.
Other Thoughts: New this unit was $2,100. This series was first made 6 years ago with Windows Vista factory installed. I thought is to be a very usable, quality machine for the price. I bought it for travel the flip screen looks nice to use for Kindle PC books I like the larger screen ... Trans Atlantic flights need battery lifetime I will get a second battery back up ;)
Reviewed By:Rockslammer,8/6/2014 6:42:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB Memory 160GB HDD 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X61

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Not Too Bad
Pros: - Windows 7 Pro 64 bit (Serial included)
- Good Condition
- Performance is better than expected for the age of the model
- Value
-PCMCIA Slot
Cons: - Runs a touch warm
- Processor
Other Thoughts: Overall been very happy with the purchase. Would buy again.
Reviewed By:Unpossible,7/30/2014 2:12:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad Intel Core 2 Duo 4GB Memory 160GB HDD 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet PC Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit X61

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Tablet PC not Touch Tablet
Pros: I love it, but this is not an iPad type tablet or the x230 tablet. It only uses the stylus.

A lot of the negative reviews are due to people not understanding what they are purchasing. I gave it 3-stars because it should either be 1-star or 5-stars. Either you will hate it, or you will love it. If you do not need a stylus DO NOT purchase this notebook. Period. Otherwise, it may be for you.

I have purchased two of these models from Newegg but from different vendors. Many of them were originally leased to schools, and some have a lot of wear. They are several years old and at least a generation behind in technology.

If you want a multi-touch screen (iPad-like), purchase something else. If you do not need a touch screen that uses a stylus, purchase something else. If you can afford something more expensive, weigh your options. If you only want a cheap notebook, purchase something else.

If you need a touch (stylus) screen, this is a cheap solution with limitations. It will run MS Office 2010 Student & Home version, and it is especially good for taking notes in OneNote. It could be used for some graphics software, but it is probably underpowered for Photoshop or AutoCAD.

This is not a Netbook. This is a full featured notebook with a touch (stylus) screen, and it can run any applications that any other notebook can run. The only limitation would be that the hardware may be underpowered due to its age.

The hardware is a lower end computer, but for most people it will run all the software applications they need. It is not a gaming machine, but it will run some games. You would need to check the specs. It will run Office and any financial or business software.

This is also a good way to tryout a stylus type notebook without spending a lot of money. I would not pay more than two hundred for one of these, and I caught them on sale for one hundred & seventy.

At the time, a new X230 was well out of my budget, and this was a bargain. I may buy another one of these as a spare before they are all gone.
Cons: The ones I purchased were used and had a lot of wear. For those, the seller did not refurbish them to the original condition. The first one was in fairly good condition, but the second was not as good.

For the second, the hinge is loose, but it still works. The closing latch is not as tight as when new, and I need to fiddle with it to get it to snap shut. The HDD would bootup, but it started having problems due to bad sectors. I saved the return shipping and put it towards an upgraded HDD instead. The battery lasted a few months, but it finally died.

This notebook is not an Open Box or Returned item. It is a highly used item, and this is to help you make an informed decision.

It is also a 4:3 screen ratio. For note taking, this is not the same ratio as a sheet of paper. A 16:10 or 16:9 widescreen is a better ratio.

The stylus can be used as a mouse, but it may take a while to get used to how it works.
Other Thoughts: My stepson had one in high school, and when he showed me what it could do, I wanted one. At the time, they were substantially more than this used one is.

He got his in 2008, and when he graduated, they returned them. The school was leasing the notebooks, and I suspect the company sold them. If so, his was fairly beat-up.

I got him one of the refurbished X61 Tablet for college, and many of his classmates were impressed that he could take notes by hand. When that one got stolen, I had to replace it, and when he got the X230 Tablet, I inherited the X61 Tablet.

It was my stepson's only computer, but it is not my primary computer. I use it for paper replacement applications. It is not as light as some of today's notebooks, but for the price/features, it is light enough.

Mine came with 2Gb of RAM and a 60Gb HDD. I increased the RAM to 4Gb, and I replaced the HDD with a 250Gb HDD. (There is a HDD limit for this notebook, and I think it is 260Gb. I think the motherboard RAM limit is 4Gb.) I also replaced the battery when it went bad. I may replace the closing latch, but that involves more parts than just the latch.

If you replace parts, you need to check the model numbers carefully. There can be substantial differences between the X61 and X61 Tablet. There are also hardware limitations, and it will not recognize RAM or HDD larger than a certain size. This is NOT a Windows X32 vs, X64 issue. It is a motherboard architecture issue.

Dell replacement parts are very expensive. You can get cheaper replacements, but you need to be careful. Some batteries will fit, but they do not have the rubber feet. They may not be as secure. My replacement was longer, but it has more cells for longer life. I used glue to transfer the rubber parts. The battery, RAM, and HDD are easy to replace.

The closing latch and hinge would be more difficult. When purchasing other parts, the sellers do not always understand that there are differences between the X61 and X61 Tablet. They will list a part as compatible for both when it is only for the X61.

If you are going to replace any internal parts, I would get the X61 parts list to compare. Also, you should be skeptical about photos. A lot of times it is a stick photo.

I think there are are some utilities on the Lenovo website. Mine came with a Windows 7 install CD, but it is only for refurbished computers. I do not know if this one comes with the CD, but Microsoft may have one for purchase. You should be able to burn a restore disk.

Windows 7 has Tablet PC utilities. These are very helpful, and there are also OCR features in Office. Other software also may have features to take advantage of the stylus. The "eraser" end works as an eraser.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/27/2014 9:26:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > Lenovo Thinkpad X61 12.1" Touchscreen Multimode Tablet With Intel Core 2 Duo L7500 1.60Ghz, 2GB DDR2 SDRAM, 100GB HDD, Intel GMA X3100, Digital Pen, Windows 7 Home 32 Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Really nice but....
Pros: Clean and functional
Cons: Better deals available...and it's through NEWEGG-ergo, I got taken
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome little computer for the price HOWEVER, I see now that Newegg is offering a core 2 duo with 4 gig ram and windows 7 pro for $30 less than what I paid for this thing. BTW-this one shipped with a Centrino vPro. Installed a Samsung SSD and upped the memory and this thing runs almost as good as one of my much more expensive laptops. Not a bad investment until you find out there's more for less. Thanks Newegg.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/26/2014 2:13:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Tablet PCs > Lenovo > ThinkPad S Series Intel Core i3 3217U 1.8 GHz 4GB Memory 320GB HDD 12.5" Tablet PC Windows 8 Pro 64-bit S230u (33472YU)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice machine - good choice!
Pros: Purchased this for my wife and she absolutely loves it. I have also used the machine several times and am impressed with the overall quality of it. Trained by Lenovo some years ago I have been a fan of their products ever since and so far this machine lives up to my high expectations. Twist feature works great, keyboard is friendly to use, we're both thoroughly impressed with the video quality. Overall this is a great machine!
Cons: It is a little bit sluggish compared to what I'm used to and even she said it's not quite as quick as she would have hoped. I did have to disable the auto-dim as others have noted - Lenovo seriously has to fix that!
Other Thoughts: For the price this is an excellent buy. My wife wanted a convertible PC/Tablet and after a couple of months of painstaking research this one rose to the surface...and we're glad we locked in on it.
Reviewed By:DFW Andy,7/6/2014 7:40:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.