Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External DVD-Writer Model SDRW-08U5S-U/SIL/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does the job with no hassle
Pros: Cracked this open, ignored the directions. Hooked it up to a new iMac with the included USB cable, popped the drawer button and dropped in a Win 7 DVD, closed the drawer and fired up Parallels to install a Win 7 VM. It worked flawlessly. In other words it reminds me a lot of what America used to be. Been a while since I bought any piece of tech equipment that didn't involve a hassle and if there is an expert in this area I am it. 30+ years in Wintel from the screen to the metal as a user and developer, I've seen and done it all and I know when I see quality.
Cons: none. none whatsoever. Jaw dropping in fact.
Other Thoughts: The best programs and the best hardware devices have a quality of invisibility. You don't think about them. They just work. This qualifies.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/23/2014 10:26:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 2.0 External DVD Drive Model eTDU108-32

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 both, good and bad
Pros: small, light, cheap, storage place on the bottom for the USB cable so you dont loose it.
Cons: short cord, cheap, ROM only. It will read to both CD's and DVD's, but does not write or burn disks.
Other Thoughts: The cord that came with it is only about 8" long, from tip to tip. It is really short. On a positive note, they have a place for you to store that cable on the underneath of the ROM. It is a CD/DVD player only. It does not burn disks. It is built decent enough to work, but dont drop it too many times or it will break. It is cheaply made, but for the price I paid, I cant complain. If it cost more, i would have taken and extra star off. It has some light noise while it is running, meaning there is some there, but not very loud. It is not extremely quiet, but if doing something like listening to music, you will not notice it. I have heard other ROM's that were much louder then this one.

As for the cable, it does use a generic type of end, so finding a longer cable will be easy if you want to. But be warned of one thing. the size of the wire that it came with was 28/24 gauge, 2 channel each. that means there is 2 wires that are 28 gauge and 2 that are 24 gauge. Most cables come with 28/28, meaning all 2 wires are 28 gauge. The 24 gauge ones are the ones that power the device. If you try a cheap replacement cable that is 28/28, it probably will not work. a 24 gauge wire is about 60% thicker, and can handle 4 times the power of a thinner 28 gauge. 28 gauge can handle about .5 amps, or half an amp, while a 24 gauge wire can handle 2 amps, or 4 times the power. a 28/26 should work fine too, as I have tried it. Most wires are 28/28, so if you try a different wire and it does not work with it., that is most likely your problem.

Overall, i mainly bought this to hook up to computers that the ROM's may not work in them. So for me, this is fine. Since it is light weight, and small, it is very good for someone traveling too as it does not take up much space. For a cheap backup ROM, or for someone that travels, or someone who uses one of these occasionally, I do recommend it if you can get it cheap, mean 10-15, but it is not worth anything more then that. If you are going to use it a lot, buy something better.
Reviewed By:Kaniki,10/19/2014 4:29:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 2.0 External DVD Drive Model eTDU108-32

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 not MAC compatible
Pros: compact ; cheap
Cons: It's not working with my iMac. Box states that it's only Windows compatible. do not buy if you're looking to use it with MAC. It doesn't work with MAC. Did I mention, NOT MAC COMPATIBLE DESPITE DESCRIPTION. I'd return it but not worth the effort.
Other Thoughts: It's not working with my iMac. Box states that it's only Windows compatible. do not buy if you're looking to use it with MAC. It doesn't work with MAC. Did I mention, NOT MAC COMPATIBLE DESPITE DESCRIPTION. I'd return it but not worth the effort.
Reviewed By:kk,10/19/2014 11:50:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 2.0 External DVD Drive Model eTDU108-32

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 USB dvd player
Pros: None
Cons: Lousy DVD player - extensively slow even just to see the Catalog of the DVD...
Paid $10 ... product not worth anything to me.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/18/2014 1:38:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Rosewill > Rosewill USB 2.0 Slim8x DVD Writer External Optical Drive for PC Model ROD-EX003-R Gloss Red

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Did not last the warranty period
Pros: The red and black color was a great addition to my Mac Mini setup.
Cons: Did not read discs well and rejected most major brands of discs.
Other Thoughts: I should have selected a better brand as an all-in-one USB writer.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Thank you very much for purchasing this unit.
We strive to provide the most reliable and highest quality products to our customers.

Thanks for the feedback we will pass it along to our QA and Design teams.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com

We look forward to hearing from you.

Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:techguru80,10/18/2014 8:09:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Ultra Slim External DVDRW Model GP60NB50

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Will not use it
Pros: inexpensive, convenient
Cons: installs unwanted software without recourse... checks for upgrades every time you start your system. Created conflict with other installed software.
Other Thoughts: If I had not damaged the box, I would have returned it...
Reviewed By:Ron,10/18/2014 8:06:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 2.0 Super-Multi Portable DVD Rewriter with M-DISC Model GP50NB40

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't last long
Pros: Compact, light, transportable. I bought it to save space and remove it quickly from my small desk when not in use.
Cons: Didn't last 2 weeks. I missed the USB 2.0, I only have 3.0 external ports. It worked fine for a few CD spins, then would randomly skip, now it's a toss-up if it will even play a CD. I never got to writing, but I only wanted the player. LG support suggested a different media player but that won't fix a HW issue.
Reviewed By:Arf,10/15/2014 5:10:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > LITE-ON USB 2.0 External DVD Drive Model eTDU108-32

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple solution to tablet software installation
Pros: I love this simple read-only drive. It saves me a lot of hassle of creating image file each time I want to install software from CD. It is very compact with a USB connection to your computer. I paid $10 w/ discount code and it is worth every penny.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:N/A,10/14/2014 9:46:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD WriterModel SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 samsung ext dvd
Pros: Low cost. Very portable, light weight. Works OK.
Cons: It seems to be somewhat delicate so I will be very careful in using it. I have only used it a couple of times, but it worked. It is not blue ray, but also cost less than a blue ray.
Reviewed By:pd77,10/14/2014 3:30:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG USB 2.0 (3.0 Compatible) External DVD WriterModel SE-208GB/RSBD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product!
Pros: Reads and Writes DVDs and CDs without any flaws. It can be used with the 2014 MacBook Pro. It can also be used with the Microsoft Surface Pro 3 (but requires more power to play or write DVDs).
For the Microsoft Surface Pro 3:
Switched out the single USB cable for a dual USB A to mini B y-cable. Got a USB extension cable for the short USB power connection on the y-cable to connect to the extra USB power connection on the power brick of the Microsoft Surface Pro 3.
Cons: None - I already knew that the USB connection on the Microsoft Surface Pro 3 limits power. - solved by USB y-cable
Reviewed By:Nick,10/14/2014 6:35:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau