Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECESATA254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm eSATA II Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As advertised
Pros: Plugged it into my Linux laptop, and instantly two 3GB/s SATA ports appear. Works fine with all my external drives.
Cons: As mentioned in the instructions, you have to be careful plugging in the cable because the insertion force will push the card in enough to cause it to be ejected. That's bad news if you had operations in progress on the other drive. I don't see any easy way to avoid that problem on a flush mount card, though. And, it's not SATA III, but was never claimed to be.
Other Thoughts: Why the heck is an Express/34 filler/adapter included with an Express/54 card? That's just weird.
Reviewed By:Robert N.,8/11/2016 3:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Transcend > Transcend PCMCIA ATA Adapter. Convert CompactFlash CF Card to PCMCIA slot. Model TS0MCF2PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extremely compatible, reliable, and rugged
Pros: See my title! I've got quite a few of these units and have yet to have a failure. They spend their time in some pretty harsh conditions and they just work. What more could you ask for
Cons: They don't fly to our field sites on their own. Other than that, perfect.
Other Thoughts: We use these to record data from fairly antiquated equipment that we can't support any other way. Not all brands work for what we are doing but the Transcend brand has been extremely reliable for us. We will continue to buy these as long as we have the equipment to use them. Now if I could just find a PCMCIA to SD card that is as reliable.....
Reviewed By:James F.,7/11/2016 5:13:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Transcend > Transcend PCMCIA ATA Adapter. Convert CompactFlash CF Card to PCMCIA slot. Model TS0MCF2PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked fine in an Allegro CX handheld field PC (along with a 4GB CF card)
Pros: works
Cons: Only used for a day, but no cons noticed.
Reviewed By:Karl B.,5/15/2016 7:03:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very reasonable upgrade for older machines.
Pros: USB 3 on an older laptop
Flushmount
Cons: Unseats when you detach drives (and pretty much anything else). Holding the edges of the expresscard while removing cables takes care of this.
Other Thoughts: Works on a 2010 Alienware M15x using Windows 10
W10 Microsoft driver does the job
Has enough power to drive a conventional slim external drive (tested 500GB Lacie Rikki) without using the aux power cable
Doesn't come with a power supply, just an adapter cable
Reviewed By:Craig H.,4/7/2016 6:11:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech EC13942A2 2 Port ExpressCard 1394a FireWire Laptop Adapter Card - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1394a Firewire ExpressCard Review
Pros: Excellent quality, worked flawlessly for my needs. It's nice that it came with a cable to transition from a 6 Pin to a 4 Pin. :-)
Cons: Have none, :-)
Other Thoughts: Wish they offered a card with both Firewire 400 and 800 in one card.
Reviewed By:Christopher W.,12/31/2015 1:30:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Brings life to older laptop!
Pros: - Flush USB sockets
- Plug 'n' play indeed (on Windows 10 Pro-64)
- True USB 3.0
Cons: - None
Other Thoughts: Highly recommend this product to others. I purchased this Expresscard to give some USB 3.0 life to my older laptop running Windows 10 Pro-64 bit . . . and indeed it did! Connecting a USB 3.0 external drive more than doubled the backup speed. Though some may not like the flush USB sockets, it works best for me w/o getting in the way of other items on my desk. I have used a USB 3.0 right angle adapter and connected my USB 3.0 hubs to this - terrific! The great price and super-speed shipping of Newegg puts this right at the top. Have a terrific holiday!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/23/2015 9:29:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-608 ExpressCard to CardBus Adapter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Adapter Review
Pros: It worked without issue. I had an acer laptop and needed to use it for some xbox modding back in the day. The size was a perfect fit and the device gave me zero issues whenever I used it. Literally is what it says it is.
Cons: I mean it never gave me an issue. The shipping was decent for the time (ordered in 2010) and it came a day before it said it would. Maybe if I was a stickler for timing.
Other Thoughts: The device worked properly and fit. It accomplished all i wanted from it
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2015 4:29:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3
Pros: Turns my Expansion slot into 2 additional USB 3.0 Ports
Cons: Did not install easily. Took over an hour of communication with technician to properly install drivers.
Does not provide adequate amounts of power to the USB 3.0 port for power-hungry devices (Microscope camera)
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2015 1:01:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech.com 1 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works occasionally for USB 2, or slow device charger.
Pros: Good idea, I bought this originally for my Lenovo T510 to add USB 3 since I have several USB 3 flash drives. When it works the speed is excellent and fairly close to the built-in ports on my desktop (100mbps seq read). Sits flush with side of laptop. Has port to supply extra power.
Cons: When inserting a usb connector it pushes the card in and then makes it want to pop out. When removing a flash drive it will rip the card out of the expresscard slot. 90% I can't even get a flash drive to be detected by this card even though the card is displaying in device manager with no problems and latest firmware and driver. I think this is a physical issue though.

The port is really tight and the outside is basically just like the edges of some sheet metal. It is nearly impossible to get most of my devices to plug in, though my phone cable slides in easier.

Also, though this is not terribly accurate, I tried using included cable to provide more power. My phone did not show that it was getting anymore power when I had the USB A connector of the auxiliary power cable plugged into my computers USB port. It showed about 100mA. Then I tried plugging it into a USB phone charger-no change.
Other Thoughts: I basically have never used this card since I had never really been able to get it to work. I purchased it so it would be flush with the side of my laptop and I could leave it in. Now I wish I would have bought a 2 port card. Despite adding the extra bulk, I think it would actually work due to having the extra plastic to keep the card from popping out when inserting a device and it would allow you to hold onto something when removing. Oh, I have also tried using it in my T430 to add a third USB 3 port with the same results. Get the two port and plug it in when you need it--at least it will work.
Reviewed By:N/A,10/29/2015 8:10:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-EXP15005 1x Serial Port ExpressCard - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than a USB serial adapter
Pros: works on the machines and PLC's that the USB didn't want to. I wish laptops still came with serial, only programmers and controls engineers like me still need this outdated tech.
Cons: Can't think of any so far
Reviewed By:N/A,9/16/2015 8:54:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.