Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PF1000U Ultra Short Throw Full HD 1920 x 1080 LED Home Theater Projector Smart TV compatible Portable Size

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Blown away.
Pros: The size of this ultra-short throw projector makes it simply appealing as something easy, and it is a nice discrete out of the way device. In my situation it is placed on a TV stand positioned fifteen inches from the wall.

Ultra-short throw projectors aren’t all over the place so this is something I am particularly happy about. It’s packed with multiple useful ports including 2 HDMI ports, 2 USB 2.0, 1 fiber optic, a cable coax antenna, and more including composite/AV inputs.

The adjustable feet make finding the perfect setup easy. No more trying to balance a stand or use books to try and get that projector just right. On the other hand, if you decide to mount this from above it has a very simplistic setup for this as well as the ability to flip the image easily. Using the focus wheel is simple to adjust the image and easy to find the perfect adjustment.

The ability to plug directly in to your network is nice, but somewhat situational. If the home network is configured near it, I would say this is the optimal setup if applicable.

There is an IR receiver in both the front, and rear of the unit, these are in place to give awesome balance and control to the excellent LG Magic remote. I found using this remote was simple and easy. It is very steady while trying to use it.

The remote features an awesome scroll wheel, voice control features and other basic functions. The DLP/3D button is pretty self-explanatory if you have 3D glasses, sit back and enjoy some 3d movies or games!

Blue tooth connectivity in a projector of this caliber is something I expect, and it delivers. I use BOSE Smart Touch to provide the sound for the shows and games I play using the projector. It’s nice to be able to link up, have no large mess of cables, and provide high quality surround sound with ease (provided you have Bluetooth speakers.)

The unit appears to auto adjust perfectly depending on the amount of light with its perceived brightness. This makes watching in daylight, at night time, or with ambient lighting easy and acceptably fine in my opinion.

I was worried about the magic remote being easy to use, however it was very simplistic. It has such a nice balance and navigating with it in and out of apps is very simple and not overly intuitive. The layout, when you hit the home button, is an easy squared grid and simple to navigate. When I tested through its smart capabilities it was without using any of the user manuals. I wanted to see how simple it would be to ‘pick up and play’ and it is very simple. Great work LG.

While it’s a projector at its core it truly feels like a smart TV. While it has quite a range of features and functionality making it very awesome, go ahead and plug that Roku in, or FireStick. Or even a USB loaded with your own movies. I have streamed on it from the laptop also.
Cons: I had a lot of good to say about it (more than I even wrote, the list is huge, good job LG), I am excited about it. It is awesome but here’s the bad…. And even the bad truly isn’t that bad.

The bulb is 1000 Lumens, its great even in sunlight I can see what I want to watch but largely washed out. A more powerful bulb would be amazing, however 1000 lumens is nothing to turn the nose up at.

Next bad, Make a cover for the bulb/mirror! It’s a dust pit, it will cause problems over time. A little fitted cover for when it is not in use would be awesome. Maybe in future models one that automatically closes and opens with power.

Speaking of power, unless it is unplugged it is in perpetual standby mode. I am not a fan of that. Off should be off.

Quieter nicer fans exist, implement this and it’s a real winner. While it’s a smaller device it requires to be cooled, and the fans in this unit are LOUD. Luckily sound from the shows, or games, or what have you drown out the fans. SSO bearing fans are the way to go for quiet performance LG.

For a premium price (while still very affordable for what it is and can do) throw in an HDMI cable!
Other Thoughts: Very deserving of a red dot award, and five eggs on Newegg from me. The cons were not ‘con enough’ for me to take away anything from this awesome projector. The team that designed this, and implemented it did a very nice job.

Lots of very cool smart features, but will probably go largely unused, somewhat of a waste on projector, but very cool to have, not a good or bad thing, almost just right for the price. Great job, great product LG. I would highly recommend this for those seeking a projector.

I would not fault it for the built in speaker quality, it’s a very nice addition to this already excellent product. I would however say, if you are going to add one, with the way sound technology is, maybe make it a little more grandiose. A small thing (and most anyone who gets this device won’t use the built in anyways) that goes a long way, like using SSO bearing fans for a more quiet performance.
Reviewed By:Matthew C.,5/3/2016 5:22:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H5380BD 720p HD Ready, 3000 Lumens, HDMI/MHL Port, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great projector...
Pros: Giant, 110" tv screen! Good resolution, bright picture
Cons: A few weeks ago the bulb went BOOM after 3,846 hours (that vast majority of those hours were in Eco mode). Literally heard a loud pop, and found the bulb to be in a million shards of glass inside and outside the unit. Poor black levels (this may or may not be negated by using a screen versus the wall I am currently projecting on). The setting that controls overscan always comes up on Auto, which cuts off the edges of my hopper dvr, so I have to manually change it to underscan every time I power up. Fan noise is fairly loud when you are not in Eco mode. Eco mode often has a slight flicker to it.
Other Thoughts: I bought this instead of a new led tv, just to see how it'd work out as a regular every day tv. It works great! The black levels as I mentioned aren't great, but you get used to it after a bit and then don't notice so much, 90% of the time. When watching a colorful show it looks like a gigantic plasma television. For the price you can't beat it. As to whether or not this works out as a cost effective replacement for a large tv, we'll see. I was able to buy 2 replacement bulbs on a prominent online retailer's site for under $100, so provided the projector itself continues to work, I should get a few more years out of it. Then, the big 75+ inch LED tv's might be in my price range.
Reviewed By:Chad L.,4/27/2016 5:59:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > ACER H7530D Full HD 1080P 1920x1080 2000 ANSI Lumens Home Theater DLP Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Overheating Issues
Pros: Really great for the cost, it worked well for the most part, very bright, good colors.
Cons: - As of now, it's basically unfunctional. It will turn on, but 15-20 minutes later it will get incredibly hot and shut down. I have tried improving the ventilation, placing it near an additional fan - and that will get it running for a bit longer
- I had issues with colors getting stuck on one channel, and white vertical scan lines showing up. Replacing the lamp didn't help much.
Other Thoughts: Ultimately, I regret this purchase. It was my first experience with a high resolution projector, but the constant heating issues, color problems, and periodically I'd get vertical white scan lines that would only go away with a sharp tap to the top of the device made it a frustrating experience. Considering the cost compared to other projectors though, I suppose it was fine.

I do not recommend purchasing this device though, I imagine that there are much better devices available for less money that have fewer issues.
Reviewed By:Jaden C.,4/6/2016 3:58:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > BenQ > BenQ HT2050 Full HD 1920 x 1080, 2200 ANSI Lumens, Dual HDMI / MHL inputs, Lens Shift, 6X RGBRGB Color wheel, Optional Wireless HDMI Connectivity, 10W Speakers, 3D Ready, Whisper Quiet operation, DLP

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than a 70+ inch 1080p TV
Pros: Looks great on 135" screen. Keystone correction gives minimal distortion. Fan is pretty quiet. Rainbow effects are minimal. It works great for gaming with no noticeable input lag.
Cons: Pain in the urethra to set up, but that is to be expected with wall-mounted projectors
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/27/2016 9:28:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Epson America > EPSON V11H475020 1280 x 800 LCD PowerLite Home Cinema 710HD Home Theater Projector 2800 lumens 3000:1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great value
Pros: Great projector for the price
720p resolution
Bright enough (for a projector)
Decent bulb life -- I got 4300 hours over 3 years. New bulbs are cheap.
Throw ratio was perfect for my needs -- I had some trouble finding one with this ratio. GIves a screen slightly over 100" at 12'
Cons: Not 1080p
Can't watch in full sunlight
Bulb life a bit below expectation
Other Thoughts: I bought this as my living room TV in a small apartment. It's freakin AWESOME. You do have to pull the curtains if you want to watch in the middle of the day, but that's to be expected with a projector. At night it's great; early morning it's dim but watchable -- YMMV depending on which directions your windows face. I don't have a proper screen either (just a white wall) so that could help as well. It's not 1080p but it looks great at 720, and it was cheaper and is far easier to deal with than a large TV (I paid $550). In my apartment it's projecting a distance of about 12 feet and the screen is a bit over a hundred inches at the largest setting.

So I've owned this for three and a half years now, and had to do my first bulb replacement a couple months back. Which was fine -- I watch a few hours per day and occasionally fall asleep with it running so three years was more than I expected. I bought an off-brand replacement for $35 which is working just fine. But here's the biggest problem I have with the projector: apparently they expect the bulb to last around 5000 hours. Mine burned out after 4300 hours (in "eco mode"). Which is fine, but I didn't realize I needed to reset the usage counter, so now 600 hours after replacing the bulb it's popping up a warning every time I boot it up saying the bulb needs replaced soon. So either I deal with that warning every time, or I reset the bulb life counter now and lose track of how long I've had the new bulb in. After three and a half years, THAT is my biggest complaint. This thing is awesome.

Oh, and it does have a USB port, but I've never gotten it to do anything so I don't know what that's for. If you want to control it from your PC (particularly if that's a Linux PC), I suggest using IR.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/12/2016 10:39:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD Full HD 1920x1080, 3000 Lumens, 2x HDMI Ports, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This was waaaaaaaaay worth the money. Awesome piece of equipment. It literally turns my wall into a home theater eclipsing anything a TV could do as far as size vs price is concerned.
Pros: Huge crisp projection. Love love love it!
Cons: None that I can think of.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/10/2016 10:04:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PW800 1280 x 800 WXGA 800 ANSI Lumens, DTV Tuner, WiDi/Miracast, HDMI/USB Inputs, Built in Speakers, 3D Ready Portable LED Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great product, except...
Pros: Excellent image quality even when it's not really dark in the room.
Lots of connection options, can use USB drives, HDMI, A/V IN, & RGB to hook connect lots of different devices.
Compact & light
Cons: I bought this to project art subjects on canvas to help when transferring outlines of subjects to paint. I discovered after, that still images from a USB source will only display for about 5 mins before idle timeout switches the projector to stand by mode. There are no settings to change the idle timeout times. You can't disable it or extend it, which seems ridiculous. That should be a basic option.

Another potential issue is this projector is not supported in Canada. It's a USA product only. LG Canada has nothing to do with it or any knowledge about it if you need support. You'll have to contact LG USA for any warranty or technical support. You cannot return it to Newegg for a refund...exchanges only for 30 days.

It should be way more configurable. Artograph rebrands this exact projector & adds new software options that give many art related features such as displaying still photos for as long as you want, among many others. They also charge $400+ more for the same projector. Guess that'll teach me to try & save a little.
It's also very expensive. There are much cheaper options available.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't recommend buying it unless it was much cheaper & from some place with better support & return policies.
Reviewed By:Shane L.,3/8/2016 12:57:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD Full HD 1920x1080, 3000 Lumens, 2x HDMI Ports, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great picture, reasonable noise levels, short life
Pros: -1080p image is crisp (much better than "diamond pixel" 720 projectors from Acer), relatively uniform (low color/brightness shift across the image)
-Fan isn't too loud, especially in ECO mode, which is plenty bright for most instances
-Price is really good
Cons: -After <200 hours of use the picture began flickering on all inputs (HDMI1, 2, DB15)
-Acer warranty replaced the main board inside to solve the flickering issue
-Replacement board began failing in exactly the same way after <5 hours of use (projector now beyond its 1 year warranty)
Other Thoughts: -If projector had worked after first warranty replacement board I would be able to recommend it
-Being 0 for 2 on projectors and now out of warranty with a failing projector, it is difficult to recommend this unit
-If you do purchase one of these, be sure to rack up lots of hours on it while in the warranty period to make sure you don't have bad solder joints on your main board
Reviewed By:David G.,3/5/2016 9:20:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > LG Electronics > LG PB63U WXGA 1280x800 Built-In TV Tuner & Wifi Ready 500 ANSI Lumens (100” Display Size) 3D Portable LED Projector

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good while it lasted
Pros: - throws a clear 8' wide image in a dark room
- pretty quiet and efficient
Cons: - after less than 2 years everything is turning slightly yellow. the one guide i saw online involves a "donor projector".
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/22/2016 5:01:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Home Theater Projectors > Acer America > Acer H6510BD Full HD 1920x1080, 3000 Lumens, 2x HDMI Ports, 2W Speaker, 3D Ready, DLP Home Theater Projector

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 At least it *STILL* works
Pros: It works as advertised. I've owned this for a short time, but I can certainly agree with most of the great reviews. I've used this product every day since receiving it and have had no problems. My expectations were certainly met.

*UPDATE*: 14 Months and 3200 hours later, it still works. Zero problems related directly to the projector. It has performed its job. Value-wise, I paid less than I have seen it since other than a Newegg via *online auction place that I cannot mention* that sold them about 60 dollars less than I paid.
Cons: A year from now, I might be able to give this product 5 eggs. But for now, here is my issue with the product. The box sent to me had security stickers placed over the original factory tape. The box had obviously been opened before being sent. The contents appeared new except for the smudge on the bulb. I'm just not sure if I received a "new in box" product.

*UPDATE*: About 2500 hours in I started noticing some discoloration in the corners. Within days after that the brightness seemed to diminish. The bulb reportedly has a 4000 hour life but shows its age long before actually failing. It is possible that this is typical and should be expected, I honestly do not know.

As others have said, the fan is loud. To be fair I should mention I sit within 10 feet of it.
Other Thoughts: I bought the extra warranty instead of returning it. Fingers crossed. It's also worth noting that the projector was shipped in its retail box. Newegg verified via email that is how they are sent.

*UPDATE*: Projector is wall mounted about 15 feet away from wall/screen. I'm using a 144 inch screen. Worked out well for a roughly 15x15 room.
Reviewed By:Kari T.,2/19/2016 8:38:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.