Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 Pro Series MZ-7PD512BW 2.5" 512GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Short live span
Pros: This was an incredibly fast drive while it was alive.
Cons: I purchased the drive in April and it died in December. Very unfortunate. After looking on a couple other review sites. I saw this short life span was very common in fact.
Other Thoughts: I just filled out my XRA form on Samsung. I will update this review with information on their RMA service. I haven't heard good things, but i'll keep you informed.
Reviewed By:Disappointed Doug,1/30/2015 4:29:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 840 EVO MZ-7TE500BW 2.5" 500GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not as fast as I had hoped.
Pros: Small and lightweight.
Minimal improvement over my spinners.
Cons: Maybe it cut 10 seconds off my boot times, but once Windows 8.1 is loaded I do not notice any change in performance at all.
In fact, since the software recommended I turn off some features, indexing being one of them, that could harm the drive, now if I have to search for a file or folder, it takes 3-4 times as long to run a search.
Other Thoughts: From all the hype of these devices I had hoped for more, perhaps this P67 chipset doesn't work well with the SSDs.
I installed a different branded SSD into my son's Z68 chipset and his boots way faster and he is very happy with the speed boost, on mine, hardly a difference. YMMV
Reviewed By:Sobitthen,1/30/2015 4:02:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO-Series MZ-75E500B/AM 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent drive but using the encryption is tricky!
Pros: One of the fastest drives with one of the best warranties and good utility software.

Always encrypting your data on the fly making secure wipes instant and final!
Cons: absolutely no guide or help on how to utilize the encryption (SED) that is already happening to secure your computer.

To secure erase the drive you must run software from a bootable USB or CD and usually you have to unplug a running drive and plug it back in while the software is running. This can be difficult for some people and especially laptop users!
Other Thoughts: This drive is special because it has a feature called SED (self encrypting drive) it is ALWAYS encrypting your data with encryption keys that it stores in its ROM. If you use software to delete the keys the info is useless so no need to do a government style drive wipe that reduces SSDs lifespans.

The thing is that SED feature wasn't made for that. It was made so that if your laptop or even desktop got in the wrong hands the data would be useless.

There is no mention of HOW to setup the drive to do this.

Utilizing this feature means storing the encryption keys outside the drive and send the drive the key every time you start the computer. NO KEY NO DATA!

Well very few consumer boards (some asrock) can set an SED HD password in bios. The bios holds the keys and when you type a boot password it transmits the keys to your SSD unlocking the data.

You probably don't have that board so

Option 2

If you buy a version of windows or upgrade to one that has bitlocker bitlocker has a feature that can speak to the SED SSD.

You must install windows using UEFI. There are many advantages to installing in UEFI mode so I would recommend you do this no matter what!

If installed using UEFI use a guide to bitlocker to encrypt your drive. Use a USB thumb drive to store your keys and back them up somewhere else and put them in a safe or something.

If you do things correctly bitlocker WILL NOT inform you that it has to take time to encrypt the data in your drive. If bitlocker tells you this you are doing software encryption which is not as secure and it is slower.

Google bitlocker SED for more info
Reviewed By:Murph,1/30/2015 4:00:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY Optima SSD7SC240GOPT-RB 2.5" 240GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Died less than 30 days poor quaility!
Pros: price, but you get what you pay for!
Cons: died less than 30 days of use. wasted time having to reformat system. advise other solid state drives. crucial. Intel..etc..
Other Thoughts: buy a better name brand drive. have not had very good success with PNY products.
Reviewed By:Techman1957,1/30/2015 3:31:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Technology > OCZ VTX460-25SAT3-240G 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Flash Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great drive, no problems
Pros: Boots fast, programs start up fast, games have minimal load screens. Copy software allowed me to set this up as my boot drive with no hassle.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I happily await solid state drives becoming affordable enough that I can replace all of my old disk drives with them. I used to think they were just a nice convenience, but the performance differences I've noticed since putting this in my machine have me sold.
Reviewed By:red,1/30/2015 9:03:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO-Series MZ-75E120B/AM 2.5" 120GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 850 EVO
Pros: Makes my system boot up really fast, it works the way its supposed to!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:iJoMomma,1/30/2015 8:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO-Series MZ-75E250B/AM 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Race Car
Pros: This drive is fast, did my benchmarks and man this thing is like a race car compared to my old HD's.
Cons: Price for Size is still up in the clouds. I would like to run 2 x 1 TB SSD Drives but that's a lot of money
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 8:38:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel 730 Series SSDSC2BP480G4R5 2.5" 480GB SATA 6Gb/s MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 otustanding!
Pros: Intel + excellent deal.
Working ABSOLUTELY PERFECT! Beyond expectations + software provided makes it seamless with other Intel & MSi components. HIGHLY RECOMMEND (don't get to say that very often)
Cons: none. Absolutely none.
Other Thoughts: If only other companies could put out products that EXCEED promises.. not the other way around.
Reviewed By:KenWyn,1/30/2015 7:15:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow V300 Series SV300S37A/120G 2.5" 120GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Affordable, Speedy, Works Great!
Pros: Speedy drive, best bang for the buck for a name brand SSD. I put this into an ultra small form factor build I just did it's the third one of these drives I've used. Excellent price and performance. 3 Year Warranty is a plus.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 4:56:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Internal SSDs > Crucial > Crucial MX100 CT128MX100SSD1 2.5" 128GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent for The Money
Pros: Bought it to double the room from my 64GB SSD. Runs a bit faster in something but slower in others. This SSD is priced perfectly though for it's size.
Cons: Isn't as fast as it's larger counterparts, but that's normal for SSDs.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/30/2015 1:27:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.