Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk Ultra II 2.5" 480GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SDSSDHII-480G-G25

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted 7 months
Pros: fast, easy to install.
Cons: Failed after seven months. Turned PC on and it was like it wasnt in the PC - completely unrecognized. I hooked it up to another PC via usb and it recognized it as a removable drive, but with 'No media." I had a smaller OWC SSD laying around, it was recognized immediately. THere are several other early failure reviews, all from purchases around the same time frame. This drive was heavily discounted at the time -- was there a reason?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2016 4:02:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ TRION 150 2.5" 960GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) TRN150-25SAT3-960G

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Windows Would Not Install but It Works Great as a Second Drive
Pros: It appears quite well made, with nice smooth paint, no rattles, and precise assembly. It looks nice.

The packaging is both compact and secure.

The pricing is great; you get a lot of speedy storage for the price.

I performed some real-world tests of transfer speed. I compared the 1TB OCZ Trion 150 SSD to a 128GB SanDisk Ultra Plus SSD. I didn’t use any benchmarking software; I simply transferred files from one place to another and wrote down how long it took. I tried both directions (reading and writing) and I tried two types of transfers (one giant HD video file vs thousands of tiny e-book files). The OCZ was faster in all tests, ranging from only 2.6% faster when reading the large video to 27.5% faster when reading many e-books. A 480GB Mushkin ECO3 SSD with Windows 7 was used as the other end for all three tests.
Cons: I could not install Windows 7 or 8.1 to this drive. I strongly suspect it was due to having an old model motherboard. Windows could not recognize the OCZ SSD during installation.

I had absolutely no problem installing Windows to a different SSD in the same computer using the same cables and settings.

The problem appeared to be an incompatible SATA controller driver. SATA controller drivers are supposed to be supplied by the motherboard manufacturer. My motherboard manufacturer has not updated their SATA controller driver since 2013. I tried the 2013 driver; Windows still could not see the SSD during installation. I tried various other fixes and settings but never could get Windows to recognize it during installation. My motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-Z68A-D3H-B3 from 2012. I gave it a few evenings of troubleshooting; will call OCZ support if I need to use it as an OS drive. It works absolutely great as a second drive.
Other Thoughts: I’m an EggXpert Reviewer. Newegg’s vendors send me items to review. I get to keep the items as long as I write an honest review in a reasonable amount of time. Sometimes the items come with updated firmware or letters from the company explaining their products and thanking me for writing a review. It kind of bugs me, because I want to review the exact same item any consumer would get. In this case, I only got a tiny slip of paper thanking me for reviewing. I didn’t see any reason to think it had special firmware or other special treatments.
Reviewed By:ANDREW H.,5/26/2016 2:56:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY CS1311 2.5" 120GB SATA-III (6 Gb/s) TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SSD7CS1311-120-RB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked well for my purposes and definitly decreased boot time.
Pros: Comes with cloning software
Cons: None so far
Other Thoughts: I bought four of these drives and one has been in service a couple months now. I have had no problems.
To use the cloning software you need to find a way to access the new drive while booted to the original drive. The instructions recommend a USB to SATA drive adapter but I see no reason why you couldn't use an extra SATA port on your motherboard if you have one.
Reviewed By:Lex W.,5/26/2016 2:14:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Mushkin Enhanced > Mushkin Enhanced ECO3 2.5" 240GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MKNSSDE3240GB

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I Was Mistaken But.....
Pros: I bought 2 of these and the one I installed in my fiancé's laptop with Windows 10 works fine.Mushkin customer support is second to none.I received a refund for the drive that would not work with my old MB and the friendly and timely service is greatly appreciated.I would NOT hesitate to purchase one of these for a system that doesn't have the ASUS Nvidia 6-7 series Vid chips.
Cons: The one drive would not work with my old P5N-D ASUS 750i chipset.Even after loading the Micro(doesn't givea)soft ATA drivers.
Other Thoughts: I am sure that the big problem is with the NVidia chip and the ASUS board as I have heard good things about the ATA drivers fixing other brands of MB's with same chip.I love the MB but,it is unfortunate that ASUS didn't release a fix for this.Thank you Newegg and Mushkin for the great customer service.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,5/26/2016 2:12:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > HyperX > HyperX Predator M.2 2280 240GB PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SHPM2280P2/240G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent
Pros: - Backup Software key included
- Nice space for SSD
- Relatively affordable
Cons: Nothing
Reviewed By:Brian L.,5/26/2016 12:32:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > OCZ Storage Solutions > OCZ Vertex 4 2.5" 128GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) VTX4-25SAT3-128G

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good!
Pros: Been Running Strong for over 3 years
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Joshua B.,5/26/2016 11:53:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY CS1311 2.5" 240GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SSD7CS1311-240-RB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid SSD
Pros: Performs as well as any Samsung SSD at 1/2 the cost.
Looks Nice in the Case
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Save your money and go PNY. Samsung makes a quality product, but so does PNY and a much lower cost. I have no complaints and glad i saved some cash on this fantastic SSD.
Reviewed By:Chad W.,5/26/2016 11:42:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk Ultra II 2.5" 480GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SDSSDHII-480G-G25

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Avoid: Dead before 6 months
Pros: Purchase during Black Friday 2015. Ran well when working . The SSD died within 6 months. Sent in for a replacement under warranty.
Cons: The SSD died within 6 months. Had to wait for replacement SSD, and then had to install OS, Programs, etc.
Recommend avoiding.
Other Thoughts: Recommend avoiding. New SSD died within 6 months!
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2016 11:20:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Silicon Power > Silicon Power Slim S60 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SP240GBSS3S60S25

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Temporary Fix
Pros: It's inexpensive, and does help to speed your system up. However that's where it stops.
Cons: Started to develop issues where it causes Windows 8.1 to throw up the DPC_WATCHDOG_VIOLATION BSoD (Blue Screen of Death). Did a bit of research, and realized that it's because the SSD's firmware is ancient! So I tried to download the firmware updater, and it just puked out that the firmware is way too old and cannot be updated. And that was with their own software!
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend this drive? Sure, if you (a) just want to see if SSD's would help your system, and (b) if you are on a budget. But I'd recommend saving up and buying a drive from a reputable, well-known manufacturer. Do your research and don't just buy it because it's inexpensive.

I give it 2 eggs because, while it does prove that SSD's can make even my old system faster, the inexpensive nature of these drives puts them in the "lesson learned" category.
Reviewed By:Thomas K.,5/26/2016 10:27:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 512GB PCI-Express 3.0 x4 Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-V5P512BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Insane Speeds - Acceptable Price
Pros: FAST!! Great for gaming if you are not a fan of loading screens. -- I happened to get this thing on a whim, and I'm glad i did. it is so much faster than anything I've put in a consumer grade PC thus far. Make sure you have the correct connection and OS to get this to go. (see below)
Cons: I hear it runs hot. I haven't had this issue with my case layout but I will report back if anything changes.
Other Thoughts: if you aren't sure if your MOBO connection for this thing, do yourself a favor and pick up a PCI express card. I can confirm this one below gets the speed it advertises. (For me at least) Also, make sure you are trying to install in on anything windows 8 or above.

Card: (I'd link to the exact one, but I ended up buying the card somewhere else for shipping reasons)
Lycom DT-120 M.2 PCIe to PCIe 3.0 x4 Adapter (Support M.2 PCIe 2280, 2260, 2242)
Reviewed By:Jason M.,5/26/2016 9:40:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.