Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG SM951 M.2 256GB Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Ungodly fast.
Pros: Stupid fast... I installed windows 10 in literally 5 minutes... Usually, I make a 7 course meal and go on vacation for a week, but this was just insane... Well worth the price.
Cons: Need MOAR capacity! Seriously, it's idiotically fast, now I just wish I could load everything on it...
Other Thoughts: Fast....
Reviewed By:Linda N.,8/26/2016 4:27:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Kingston Technology Corp. > Kingston SSDNow UV400 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SUV400S37/120G

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Mine died right after I installed Win10 on it
Pros: I usually use Adata SP550 but went for this one instead.
It died on day 1 after I did a Win 10 install on it.
Cons: Defect rate? I found a defective one.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2016 2:56:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > PNY Technologies, Inc. > PNY CS1311 2.5" 480GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SSD7CS1311-480-RB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked ok while it lasted. dead after 3 months.
Pros: good performance. much faster than the HDD it replaced.
Cons: Died after 3 months of light to moderate use.
UPDATE: terrible RMA Process. SLOWWWWWW and bad service.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 other PNY drives and am now terrified they will die like this one did.

Was not used heavily. Was not near capacity. should not have died.

Tried replacing the SATA cable, power cable, and switching SATA ports. no luck.

PNY tech support phone number hung up on me once, then just rang and rang after I called back.

Submitted an RMA request on their website. thankfully still have the receipt. May update with those results. Will likely have to pay shipping to get a replacement in 2-4 weeks (pretty standard with electronics RMA's I imagine). so either way I am not pleased. will be a month without a replacement.

wouldn't it be great if I could just swap out the dead one at BEST BUY? no, that would be convenient. can't be having none of that business.

UPDATE: Have returned unit per their RMA process and it has been "received and in process" for something like 2 weeks. this is absolutely ridiculous. PNY has permanently lost a customer and I will be letting everyone I talk to about computers know to avoid ALL of their products.

I understand that in mass manufacturing, sometimes you get a lemon. But how you handle the lemon is what makes your company worth dealing with or not. PNY is not worth dealing with.
Reviewed By:Jason R.,8/26/2016 11:44:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk SD8SB8U-1T00-1122 X400 SATA 2.5" Internal SSD - 1TB

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Relatively fast TLC drive, priced competitively
Pros: -reviews show this SSD is one of the fastest TLC SSDs for its price
-excellent write endurance: 320TB for this SSD compared to 220TB for another closely-competing SSD
-low price per GB
-Sandisk SSD Dashboard software (need to download from SanDisk's website) is easy to use for firmware updates, performance/temperature monitoring and TRIM
-includes promotional (single-use) copy of Apricorn EZ GIG IV drive cloning software
Cons: -significantly slower than the more expensive high-performance TLC drives
-does not come with SATA cable or 2.5" drive bay adapter, just the drive in a box
Other Thoughts: -like most new SSDs, you will need to initialize and then format the drive manually using your operating system's drive management utility ("Disk Management" in Windows)
Reviewed By:Paul S.,8/26/2016 9:53:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 750 EVO 2.5" 500GB SATA III Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-750500BW

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Woah...
Pros: Speed! Blows my OCZ 256 SSD out of the water almost 2x speeds.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Great product. A little more $ then others in same category but worth it if your looking for benchmarks
Reviewed By:Blake B.,8/26/2016 9:09:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 250GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E250B/AM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great SSD
Pros: -Fast, like really fast
-Good warranty
Cons: -none
Other Thoughts: I use it too boot windows and whatever games I'm currently playing. Cuts load times considerably.
Reviewed By:Michael T.,8/26/2016 5:35:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Intel > Intel 750 Series HHHL (CEM2.0) 400GB PCIe NVMe 3.0 x4 MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SSDPEDMW400G4R5

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wow! 1.5 years in use and still counting
Pros: See what I have this installed with below. This thing is amazing. Have had it for about 1.5 years. Not a single issue. I use this computer to play Games, VR, encode 4K video from my drone, and program. RAID can't touch this thing. Below I listed a general over view of my hardware inside of computer that this SSD is installed to. PCIe SSD is the only way to go, it takes full advantage of the true speed of SSD. SATA ports are used for storage drives.
My board PCIe set up is like this
x16 gtx970
x16 gtx970
x4 Intel750

I can pull out one of the 970s and push this up into x16, but honestly, you really can't tell the difference. Sure, there are jobs I could run where it might make a difference, but I'm not using this computer to calculate crazy Physics problems for blast radius of warheads. Like I said, playing games, encoding videos/music, and programming. Photoshop does not slow down ever.
Cons: Expensive and only 400GB
Other Thoughts: Current System
ASUS ROG Rampage V Extreme
Intel Core i7-5930K
Cooler Master V8 GTS
2x EVGA GTX 970 04G-P4-3978-KR 4GB FTW+ ACX 2.0
32GB G.Skill Ripjaws 4 Series DDR4-3000
Intel 750 400GB PCI NVMe 3.0 SSD
1200watt Cooler Master Gold PSU
Cosmos 2 case
Vive VR in use
Lots of other goodies and every SATA slot used.
Windows 10 pro (barf sometimes but better than 8)
Computer name is Shockwave from Transformers
Reviewed By:Jason M.,8/25/2016 11:46:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 4 TB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E4T0B/AM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 4TB: as can be expected from Samsung.
Pros: The below results are for the 4TB drive. Formatted NTFS, it shows 3.63 TB free.

Benchmarks are below:

4TB 850 evo over Startech USB 3.1 dock (with 3.1 cable):
----------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64
Sequential Read: 498 MB/s
Sequential Write: 485 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB: 38 MB/s
Random Write 4KiB: 125 MB/s
Sequential Read: 508 MB/s
Sequential Write: 504 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB: 34 MB/s
Random Write 4KiB: 97 MB/s


4TB 850 evo over SATA connection:
----------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64
Sequential Read: 538 MB/s
Sequential Write: 503 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB: 291 MB/s
Random Write 4KiB: 181 MB/s
Sequential Read: 500 MB/s
Sequential Write: 475 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB: 36 MB/s
Random Write 4KiB: 67 MB/s

Samsung Magician gives this a 540/533 read-write rating


And for reference, here is my 1TB 850 evo version over SATA connection:
----------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 4.0.3 x64
Sequential Read: 561 MB/s
Sequential Write: 532 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB: 262 MB/s
Random Write 4KiB: 240 MB/s
Sequential Read: 519 MB/s
Sequential Write: 508 MB/s
Random Read 4KiB: 41 MB/s
Random Write 4KiB: 97 MB/s

...making the 1TB 850 version a very un-scientific 6% faster, all-around.
(Samsung Magician gives this a 553/532 read-write rating)
Cons: 4TB not at speed spot, yet.
Other Thoughts: It should be the higher the GB, the cheaper per byte. The industry has the pricing model favoring 500GB drives. When PCI-e SS drives become cheaper/more popular, the bottlenecked speed of the SATA connection will drop the price of the larger sizes. And it's about time. We need to be able to use SSDs for storage drives.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,8/25/2016 4:17:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > SanDisk > SanDisk SSD PLUS 2.5" 240GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) SDSSDA-240G-G26

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Check the specs before you buy
Pros: It works
Cons: In a rush to place my order I overlooked the specs on this drive. Don't make the same mistake I did.
Reviewed By:Jim D.,8/25/2016 3:15:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Internal SSDs > Toshiba > Toshiba Q300 2.5" 120GB SATA III TLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) HDTS712XZSTA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dead after 8 months
Pros: None
Cons: SSD only lasted 8 months. I had this running on a mini server on 24/7 only running the OS.
Reviewed By:Juan F.,8/25/2016 2:49:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.