Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > All Tablets > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ Tablet (WiFi)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 One Year Later...
Pros: So, I've had my Shield for just about a year, and it has been really great...till about a week ago, more on that later. But first i love the size and screen ratio, netflix with the front facing speakers is good, They are not Bose 301's but hey, get's the job done. The few games i have on it run well, but the ads on some of them get old fast. The pen is cool too, I use that as much for 'dabbling' as the game thing. So, overall, not a bad rig.
Cons: So, about a week ago my shield got some kind of ground-hog-day thing, as every time it starts, i get the message "Unfortunately, the process com.android.phone has stopped." then pressing the OK button, it dims then the message comes right back. So...kinda annoying...since this is a 'tablet' and not a 'phone'. Google...if your reading this, don't you have an Android for tablets, and an Android for phones? cause it is gonna make me never buy an android tablet again. Nvidia, can you make a "Shield" with windows...they might work longer and better, but what do i know. So, i'm looking at my screen and it shows a dead android with a ! on it with "no command" underneath. not a great way to start the weekend.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 1:26:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Series 7 XE700T1A-A06US Intel Core i5 4GB Memory 128GB 11.6" Tablet PC with Docking Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective SD card reader and scratches
Pros: Decent performance
Cons: Defective SD reader (as soon as I insert it, the unit spits it out). Used condition (lots of scratches, unlike refurbished)
Other Thoughts: This one should be advertised as "USED".
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 1:16:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > ASUS > ASUS VIVOTAB M80TA (M80TA-C1-CA) Intel Atom 2GB Memory 64 GB EMMC 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet PC Windows 8.1 32-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 USB cable DOA
Pros: Tablet seems fine, but haven't had much chance to use it yet.
Cons: My Asus Vivo Tab was shipped quite haphazardly. The tablet was shifting all about under the shrink wrap and the the AC adapter and USB cable were just floating around in the box, free to smash into the tablet and around the box.

Thankfully, so far I have not noticed any lasting damage to the screen (a few scuffs that seemed to buff out), but the USB cable itself is dead. I plugged in the tablet last night to update and when I woke up it was dead. I switched to the cable for my phone and the tablet eventually turned on, but said it had 1% power. I tried plugging in the tablet's cable into my phone; no power. I tried plugging the cable into a different power source and then into my phone; no power. Cable is DOA. No idea about the ac adapter as of yet.

Additionally, the tablet itself is just dirty. Smudges and scuffs on the screen, and some sticky residue on the sides and back. Really? What is going on with this? I feel like I need to wash it before using...

So my experience so far tells me to just not buy any more refurbished products from Newegg. I'm not going to ship EVERYTHING back, just to get a working cable. I'd rather just buy a new one from some other unmentionable site.
Other Thoughts: Oh, I dunno, make sure things are secure when shipping? Also, maybe clean items that are refurbished?
Reviewed By:N/A,7/31/2015 7:44:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > vitalASC > VitalASC Air 10.1" Quad Core Tablet PC - 1GB RAM, 8GB Nand Flash, Bluetooth, Dual Cameras, HDMI 3D Game Supported, Android 4.4 KitKat

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice tablet
Pros: Nice tablet for the price. I bought for my daughter and she loves it!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 6:39:12 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Apple > Apple iPad 3 Apple A5X 1GB RAM Memory 64GB 9.7" iPad with WiFi / Verizon 4G 64GB - White iOS 5

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Amazing price for what you get.
Pros: Great price for this model, storage, image quality
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: I decided to take advantage of this sale which seemed to good to be true and it WAS.
This refurbished iPad is like new, had ios 8.3 installed. The retina display is amazing. It came faster than expected despite the delay due to the weather. I plan to use it overseas, I did not opened the sim card slot to install another one yet and am waiting to see if it works to add another egg. The packaging was a little strange but as long as it arrived not damaged it is ok.
What a great bargain from Newegg ( I am glad I get their emails).
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 11:37:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Microsoft > Microsoft Surface Pro 3 Intel Core i5 CPU 4GB RAM 128GB Storage 12.0” Tablet PC MQ2-00001

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Update Continued
Pros: Wife got a hold of Joyce at "Microsoft Surface Support" & she took care of the problem. Very impressive. I'm writing this from our notes so hope it makes sense to everybody. As I stated below we couldn't turn the tablet on. Absolutely nothing. Joyce told us (on speaker phone) she has a couple of steps that should fix the problem so we proceeded. 1. SHUT DOWN: Hold power button down for 30 seconds. Wait 10 seconds than push power button to turn on. Nothing. 2. FORCED SHUT DOWN: Hold power & volume buttons down at the same time for 15 seconds, wait 10 seconds than turn on. Worked fine. Joyce was excellent and we had no complaints at all. Very courteous and knew exactly what she was talking about.
Cons: See Below.
Other Thoughts: See Below.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/30/2015 11:03:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Galaxy Note 8.0 Samsung Exynos 2GB Memory 16GB 8.0" Touchscreen Tablet Android 4.1 (Jelly Bean)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Nightmares&Dreams
Pros: When it works its a dream machine.
Cons: When it doesn't it's a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: I got this tablet when it first came out for work. She loved it. First time she was actually happy with a piece of Tech. So when she called to tell me it fell and broke. I felt bad for her. So I thought I would just get her another one. The price had come down a lot. The reviews for the refurbished version seemed safe enough. Had it rushed over night. which actually took till tues from a weekend order. No biggy. When I got it the box was beat to heck. Fired it up everything seemed fine. Except the touch didn't work. Worked well with the S-pen but no fingers. RMA'd Ground shipping and a week later I got another. This one is working just fine. Hence the average 3 eggs. So for me it was a coin flip if it was going to be worth Refurb. Would I buy it again? Yes. Newegg is pretty good about making things right. So its a Nightmare turned dream.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 6:51:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Apple > Apple iPad 3 Apple A5X 1GB RAM Memory 64GB 9.7" iPad with WiFi / Verizon 4G 64GB - White iOS 5

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Price
Pros: 64gb Capacity
Retina display - HD display
Verizon
Condition is very good but do NOT expect it to be perfect. Screen and backside is very clean which is what matters the most to me. No scratches that I could see on back and front. So far so good with only 1hr of use. I just updated iOS to 8.4 with no issues and currently is restoring from my iCloud account. If it lasts me a few years it will be a good deal, fingers crossed. See CONS.
Cons: 3 out of 4 corners were dinged. Not huge but it does appear to have been dropped. Not enough for my OCD to get me bent out of shape but do not expect a like new product. I would rate this ipad as a 8.5/10 due to the dings. The screen is good which is what matters. I will update this review or make a new review if it turns out to have issues.
Other Thoughts: If you want like new then check out Apple's website for certified refurbished items(look near the bottom of their website to find refurbished link). Prices aren't as good but you get 1yr warranty through Apple and the 2 items I received in the past were very much 10/10 in like new rating. I would HIGHLY recommend Apple certified refurbs if the price is right for you. Basically it's a new product with the same 1yr warranty as their new items. Newegg refurb is cheaper though but more risk of lesser condition and functionality with only 60day warranty. Time will tell if this was a good buy. Can't beat $215 shipped though for all the PROS I listed.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/29/2015 5:41:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Toshiba > Toshiba Encore Mini WT7-C16 PDW0EU-001001 - 7.0-Inch 16 GB Tablet (Factory-Refurbished)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 It is what I expected for the price.
Pros: The main pro is the low price for a Windows 8.1 tablet.
Runs full 32bit windows desktop applications.
Decent performance when for everyday operations such as browsing the internet, media playback, and navigating the operating system.
Screen is bright with good contrast.*
Solid construction.*

*See additional cons for more info.
Cons: 16GB Storage: Windows 8.1 is far too large of an OS to fit comfortably on this small drive and updates only worsen the situation. After updates I was left with approximately 3GB of free space before installing any other applications.

Battery Life: The battery life on this device might come close to the 7.3 hours stated if I don't use it at all. With as many power saving options I could enable and the screen brightness as low as possible under normal use of just browsing the internet I would get about 4 hours before requiring a charge. Media playback would shorten it's run time to 2.5-3 hours, enough to watch most movies.

Screen: Native resolution of 1024x600 is too low to run Windows 8.1 apps so the tablet renders at 1280x768 and scales it down to fit the native screen resolution resulting in a slightly fuzzy image.

Construction: A bit heavy compared to most Android tablets I have used of the same size. Something seems to be packed too tightly behind the screen as even the lightest of pressure against the back of the tablet causes the LCD to deform/discolor at one location near the center of the screen, possibly the battery.

Charging: Back of tablet gets warm during charge, I assume it's the battery heating up. Didn't come with an AC adapter and tablet specs list 5V 1.5A power source required to charge, of which I had none. Tablet will charge slowly on another computer's USB 2.0 or 3.0 ports if powered off or not in use. My 1A charger for my phone would charge it even while in use but agonizingly slow. I purchased a 2A USB AC adapter and it charges much more reasonably now.

Touch: Tapping controls at the edges of the screen is near impossible as it will either not sense the touch or register the touch a small distance away from the edge. This makes using most of desktop applications slightly frustrating. Running the windows touch calibration utility does not fix the issue as it seems to be a hardware limitation.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this mostly out of curiosity, as I wanted to see how it stacked up against similarly priced Android tablets and for converting later into a print server & touch interface for my RepRap 3D printer.

Recommendations for anyone looking at these inexpensive Windows 8.1 tablets to do anything more than browse the internet, social networking, and/or streaming media. Look for at least 32GB storage space and a screen with a native resolution of at least 1280x800.

Individuals looking for looking for a cheap tablet to browse the internet, social network, stream media, or casual gaming are probably best served buying an Android tablet as opposed to the Encore Mini. In my experience an Android tablet at this price you typically end up with more free storage space for media, better battery life, more features(E.g. HDMI out), a better selection of apps, and comparable performance.

Upgrading to Windows 10? This is a little tricky given how little free storage space available but can be done. You will require a micro SD card with at least 9GB of free space and as much free space on the Windows C drive as possible. I recommend resetting the tablet back to factory default and not installing any Windows updates to give you the most free space during upgrade. The upgrade took a couple of hours for me so make sure you have the tablet plugged into a power source.
Reviewed By:Box0Doughnuts,7/29/2015 10:14:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > All Tablets > Hewlett-Packard > HP O10-5600US Intel Atom Z3770 2GB Memory 32GB 10.1" Tablet Windows 8.1 32-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Do not buy this unless you want hours of frustration
Pros: Windows 8
Cons: The touchscreen repeatedly stops working and doing a fresh install only fixes it for a few hours. There is obviously a very buggy driver that has not been fixed.
Other Thoughts: The old Microsoft tablet OS was a thing of beauty. Windows 8 on s tablet is a superior experience to Android. But this particular tablet should not be sold.
Reviewed By:N/A,7/28/2015 8:28:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.