Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C201PA-DS02 Chromebook Rockchip RK3288C (1.80 GHz) 4 GB OnBoard Memory 16 GB eMMC SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love It!
Pros: For $200 this thing rocks!
Plenty of processing power and memory!
Can RDP, view .eml files, there is an app to do just about anything!
Cons: Not a knock on this Chromebook specifically (believe this is "Chromebook" related in general, and may be due to ChromeOS) but if you travel a bit, I did notice connecting to the wi-fi at some hotels could be difficult (this only happened on maybe 2 occasions, and I was able to connect with a Windows PC without any trouble. I generally only see it if there is a guest portal that is supposed to load to login, and it works just fine most of the time.
The 11.6" screen is just a touch small sometimes, but other times I'm glad for the size, weight and great battery life.
Reviewed By:Jason N.,5/25/2016 4:39:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP NE5-1198 C Grade Chromebook 11 Samsung Exynos 5250 (1.70 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Chromebook
Pros: Lightweight
Chrome OS
Low Price
Cons: Battery life is shorter than Most Chromebooks
Not a touch screen
Other Thoughts: Yes I recommend this product for students and for people that need to get online
I purchased this product to take with me to work.
A great deal for under $100
Reviewed By:Alan L.,5/22/2016 7:33:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 11 G4 (P0B78UT#ABA) 11.6" Chromebook - Intel Celeron N2840 2.16 GHz, 4 GB DDR3L, 16 GB eMMC, Intel HD Graphics - Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Met all expectations
Pros: Nice construction
Nice keyboard
Nice screen
Great price for the listed specs
Cons: honestly, no cons for this price range
Other Thoughts: grandson wanted this in lieu of Apple tablet. He loves it! Much more user friendly to use a "real" keyboard over the virtual keyboard. I have a similar Chromebook and use it 98% of the time for business.
Reviewed By:James S.,5/17/2016 6:24:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 11 G4 (P0B78UT#ABA) 11.6" Chromebook - Intel Celeron N2840 2.16 GHz, 4 GB DDR3L, 16 GB eMMC, Intel HD Graphics - Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Productive out of the box!
Pros: ~ As soon as I logged into my google account, I was up and running
- Great response on the touchpad
- Ease of using printers and removable media
- Great battery life
Cons: - Wish it came with a mobile power cord
Other Thoughts: - If you want more than a tablet but don't want the bulk of a large laptop, this is a great choice.
Reviewed By:Francis S.,5/15/2016 9:34:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Chromebook 11 G4 11.6" Chromebook - Intel Celeron N2840 Dual-core (2 Core) 2.16 GHz 2GB Memory 16GB eMMC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Exactly what I was looking for!
Pros: I am a owner of a Chromebook and It does everything I need a laptop to do. I bought this one for my mother, knowing that It too would cover all of her needs. With that being said I was pleasantry surprised with the build quality of this product, much better then my Chromebook, sturdy and ascetically pleasing. The viewing angles are much better then mine as well and for the same price.
Plus my mother loved it!
Cons: If you are buying this product expecting a windows or mac experience, you will be disappointed. With that said if you know the limitations of a Chromebook and don't plan on running Linux (This has a celeron processor, and 2GB of memory) there's no better bang for the buck.
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended.
Reviewed By:Michael M.,5/9/2016 6:11:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-531-C4A5 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 15.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Long battery life, light, quick internet, I have a solid refurb, large screen, speakers that can produce sound much better than my Dell laptop.
Pros: My title has the 'pros'.
Cons: About as functional as a dumbed down tablet.

ChromeOS itself is a major 'con':

1] By deliberate design decisions, ChromeOS does not support nonGoogle apps, such as those as those apps I've used in Linux and Androids 2.2 through 5.0.

2] This Acer has local storage, which storage is difficult to access (no traditional file manager save the weak built-in manager in ChromeOS - limited functions). That said, you had better be a big fan of Google Docs.

3] ChromeOS is not intended for any software outside of Google's (much like W10 not supporting any other browsers than Edge). I may come across as disappointed, and to be fair, I am not just a simple adherent, I am decidedly a nontraditional user.

With this Acer purchase, which will be my first and last Chromebook, I've learned that the whole Chrome thing just isn't for me.

As other reviewers attest, Facebook, email, maybe stream a movie, that's about it - ChromeOS is the limiting factor, not hardware.
Other Thoughts: I will never purchase a Chromebook ever again: my tablet is a bit more functional and more portable for 2/3rds the price and 1/3rd the volume.

If I could find a way, I'd rather have a lightweight Linux distro on this hardware.

The keyboard really should adhere to conventions established 30 years ago: function keys, insert, delete, page up/page down, upper case lettering on the keys, etc.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/1/2016 3:50:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP NE5-1198 C Grade Chromebook 11 Samsung Exynos 5250 (1.70 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works as Expected
Pros: First Chromebook I've owned, and it works just as I expected it to be. Definitely won't be a work horse computer, but it is a computer that needs to have an internet connection.

Being a refurbished device, I was a little worrisome about the condition, but the price was worth it. The small blemishes are nothing to worry about. A little smudge on the screen that wouldn't rub away entirely, and a few spots on the casing were all I found. Took a rag and some screen cleaner and wiped it down and it looks great.

Battery life is amazing. Used it all night and the next morning after fully charging it, and the battery didn't drop below 25%.
Cons: Small. I never knew how small an 11" computer would be until I had it in my hands. One of my hands nearly covers the screen, and you have to be very precise when typing.

Somewhat slow. Framerate issues when watching some online videos. Boots really fast, but takes a little time for apps to open and for the next screen or page to load. Not a network issue, because my Windows laptop loaded the same pages at the same time but much faster.

No expandable storage. Not like you would need to store much on a Chromebook, but just know it isn't there.
Other Thoughts: Will be great for use in my classroom. Great price, and with Google constantly updating Chrome OS and even expanding in Android support, I expect it will last a few years. So long as Newegg has them for sale at such a low price, you should make sure to buy them up while they're here.
Reviewed By:Charles D.,4/28/2016 9:18:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer CB3-111-C8UB Certified Refurbished Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16 GHz) 2 GB Memory 16 GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 completely died after a hour of use
Pros: Pluged it in to charge and it worked awesomely right out of the box it for about a hour
Cons: completely crashed after a hour of light use will not turn back on
Reviewed By:J MILLER,4/28/2016 9:01:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C710-2856 B Chromebook B Grade (Scratch Dent) Intel Celeron 847 (1.1GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Basically a brick
Pros: Nothing to recommend it...
Cons: When I got this, I tried to use it. But found out it was set up for one, and only one, OS: Windows XP. Unfortunately, this OS is no longer supported by MS, so the computer would not work; nor could I install any other OS. So, essentially, I bought a brick.
Since it would have cost me a 'restocking fee' (i.e.; they make their profit and get to resell it to some other sucker). So, I took the lose (caveat emptor) and parted it out for the usable components, and recycled the rest.
Reviewed By:John C.,4/27/2016 12:47:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C740-C4PE-US Chromebook Intel Celeron 3205U (1.50 GHz) 4 GB DDR3L Memory 16 GB eMMC Intel HD Graphics 11.6" 1366 x 768 Chrome OS 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 New Egg Won't allow me to use the adjectives I've chosen. You get what you pay for.
Pros: Cheap.
Cons: Cheap.
Other Thoughts: Purchased for my ten year old son with is birthday money. After three months of light use by a child, the SSD soiled the bed.
Reviewed By:James C.,4/21/2016 5:19:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.