Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-3404 Chromebook Intel Core I3 4005U (1.7GHz) 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hey...
Pros: Lightweight, quiet, LONG battery life, quick, fun.

installing Chrubuntu was easy... mostly.

This is a great little computer for anyone who needs something simple to use for browsing the internet, social media, and everyday use. ChromeOS feels snappy and quick with the i3 processor and 4 gigs of RAM.
Cons: cramped keyboard, small display, small hard drive

my Audioquest Dragonfly USB DAC did not work in ChromeOS :(
Other Thoughts: I installed Chrubuntu alongside Chromeos. It was rather simple... unfortunately the track pad did not work at first. I plugged in a USB mouse, connected to my Wi-Fi and updated the kernel to 3.17. Everything works now! My DAC is usable in Chrubuntu so I am happy. I keep my media files on an 1TB external hard drive... good to go!
Reviewed By:Damien,1/30/2015 6:00:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Toshiba > TOSHIBA CB35-B3330 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Overheating issue
Pros: Wonderful laptop, did what I wanted it to, browse the internet and watch Youtube videos, and help me with College work
Cons: After about 5 weeks of owning it, it overheated and melted the top left of the screen, and this is after Mild usage since Christmas 2014. Refused to turn on afterword.
Other Thoughts: Seeing as I didn't expect this to overheat and melt the screen, I threw away the retail box it came in, unfortunately as far as I know, this means I can't return it and get it replaced, which isn't good since I need this badly for College.
Reviewed By:Jack,1/27/2015 7:12:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing, great for linux
Pros: Great for mobile and around the house,
Great linux support forms, this is by far the best chromebook to be used with linux, you can download builds that are ready to go out of the box.
With that said at time I do run out of ram and the computer becomes really slugish, but that just means it's time to close a few tabs.
For development it's great, has everything you could possibly want from a computer.
Cons: odd placement of the moust track, I still have to get use to it,
since I'm using it for linux I'm missing the windows keyboard button, but thats ok
Other Thoughts: Great linux laptop!!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,1/26/2015 12:02:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Chromebook 2 XE500C12-K01US Chromebook Intel Celeron N2840 (2.16GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very nice, but delicate power connector and I hate trackpads
Pros: Very nice keyboard. Bay Trail Celeron plenty fast, has no fan. ChromeOS surprisingly usable even when no internet available. I run in developer mode with Ubuntu 14.4 under Crouton, easily switches between ChromeOS and Crouton using a comon Linux kernel. Very nice! Stable enough that can simply shut the lid to suspend, don't see the "scary" power-on developer mode screen for weeks. Celeron processor means many apps easily available under Ubuntu (ARM is still gaining traction). Cool MacBook Air styling if you're into that. Considered getting a new MSWin Netbook and dual booting, but ChromOS+Crouton has been a much better experience.
Cons: Macbook air styling brings compromises: a small power connector and no access to the battery. Power connector barrel is a dainty 2.5mm diameter, versus 5.5mm on my old Acer netbook. My connector failed out of the box (intermittent, even when fully inserted), asked Samsung to replace the power supply rather than return entire purchase. My old Nokia 770 had a similar connector, worked for years.
Default trackpad configuration is unusable when touch typing, a slight brush with the palm brings the usual calamity. Can turn off tap-to-click and use the mechanical switch in the lower half of the trackpad under ChromeOS (use ALT key for right-click), but cannot turn off touch scrolling. In fact, can't configure much of anything about the trackpad under ChromeOS. Cannot shut down the trackpad when a USB mouse is plugged in. I am happy enough with the trackpad now.
Using Ubuntu 14.4 under Crouton, can disable touch-to-click and touch scrolling, press the lower right corner of the touchpad for a right click. (This right-click method does not work under Ubuntu 12.4.)
Other Thoughts: I spent an hour typing up a review, hit submit and got dumped back into the login screen. Had to reenter. I am suddenly very grumpy.
Reviewed By:linuxrules,1/25/2015 10:31:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer Chromebook C720-2848 Intel Celeron 2955U 2GB RAM 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Trackpad issues
Pros: Long battery life, stays cool
Cons: When connected to some power outlets the trackpad stops functioning properly --due maybe to electro-magnetic interference--reducing the chromebook to a paperweight. The only solutions I've found is to only use it when charged (if I know I'm going somewhere that causes this issue), or to use a usb mouse.
Other Thoughts: Everything should have a backlit keyboard, this doesn't.
Reviewed By:N/A,1/20/2015 1:55:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice little web book
Pros: Lightweight, instant on when you open the lid, long battery life of about 8 hours
I appreciate the higher speed "n" wireless adapter as it greatly increases the speed of browsing the web.
Cons: Slower than most laptops, small storage space, and not enough apps to replace a full laptop
Other Thoughts: It does what it is supposed to do...namely get you on the web to view web pages. However, do not think that you will be able to do all the things you might be able to do on a full laptop, because it will not do it.
Reviewed By:Smith Computers,1/19/2015 9:36:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > ASUS > ASUS C300MA-DB01 Chromebook Intel Celeron N2830 (2.16GHz) 2GB DDR3 Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 13.3" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It is a good tablet for the price.
Pros: Screen not too small or too large.
It is much faster than the previous models of Chromebooks including some of the earlier Samsung Chromebooks when it comes to speed and weight.
No issues so far so good.
Cons: The display is more like the old LCD models that where a bit more grainy when compared to a samsung Chromebook which is more clear.
It is more matte which probably helps with glare but I do like a crisp and clear screen!
Also, keyboard is not lit like some of the other keyboards when compared to Samsung Chromebook which makes it harder to find the keys when in dim light.
Other Thoughts: For the price, functionality, speed and weight it is it your average good functional Chromebook.
Reviewed By:Mr Obvious,1/18/2015 7:29:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > Samsung XE303C12-A01US 11.6" LED backlight Chromebook, Exynos 5 Dual Processor 1.70GHz, 2GB DDR3, 16GB SSD, Google Chrome OS.

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Chromebook
Pros: Light, fast, non-windows anti-virus target, google docs and drive
Cons: non-windows, small storage on board
Other Thoughts: present was compared to tablet (I pad) and phone
Reviewed By:Bill,1/17/2015 11:30:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP 14-x010nr (J9M84UA#ABA) Chromebook NVIDIA Tegra K1 2.3GHz 2GB DDR3L Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 14.0" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worth it
Pros: This Chromebook is remarkable good for this price. It is the ideal laptop for university students. Very long battery life. Very fast boot up and smooth running. Nicely designed, looks like an expensive laptop similar to Mac Book air
Cons: Some of the cons are : the OS is still in his primitive form. Sometimes, it will due stupid thing such as forcing to download the file from Google drive to your chromebook in order to read it. Very low storage (9.1 Gb left when it's empty) on the computer so it's a better to have a portable hard drive or flash drive. The white skin will show some signs of dirtiness but it can be easily removed with some water and soap. Google will push their services on your neck.
Other Thoughts: More storage would be highly appreciated as well the reappearance of a right click button on the mouse pad. At the end of the day, it's worth it. Best chromebook until now.
Reviewed By:Superdebator,1/16/2015 7:18:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > Samsung XE303C12-A01US 11.6" LED backlight Chromebook, Exynos 5 Dual Processor 1.70GHz, 2GB DDR3, 16GB SSD, Google Chrome OS.

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Battery bad out of box.
Pros: Unit works really well as long as you have the charger/power supply plugged into it.
Cons: Battery bad. Would not charge.
Other Thoughts: Don't they check these things????
Reviewed By:JoeS,1/15/2015 1:43:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.