Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2844 (NX.SHEAA.004) Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 4GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Linux Machine!
Pros: - Snappy 64 Bit Intel dual core CPU allows this laptop to run any software you would want (even Windows, although not recommended). It's miles better than any Chromebooks with ARM SoC.
- It uses an SSD, meaning very fast boot and app launching times. (MUCH faster than typical Hard Drives). My Manjaro install boots up in about 7-8 seconds.
- The 4GB is plenty and allows for great multitasking.
- Excellent Battery Life. it charges very quickly too. (~2 hours)
- It's very quiet, even though it has active cooling.
- The display, although only 1368x768 in resolution, looks great in the 11.6' screen. I find colors to be fairly accurate and good looking. It's Matte too, so you won't have any glare.
- Usable Keyboard and track-pad, not amazing but I use them well.
- Chrome OS, although not meant for everything, can still power 90% of what you daily do with your computer. It's lightweight and very simple to use. It's perfect for elderly people, or anyone who has no knowledge in computers.
- It has an option for Coreboot with SeaBIOS, so you can boot Legacy storage through it. A MUST for anyone wanting to run Linux. I was able to boot a Manjaro live USB and install it.
- Price is unbeatable for these specs
Cons: - It has only 1 USB 3.0 and 1 USB 2.0 ports, which can be lacking if you use them up (I use the 3.0 port for additional storage and the 2.0 for a mouse occasionally).
- The screen isn't very bright, viewing in direct sunlight can be hard without cranking brightness to max. The viewing angles are pretty bad too.
- The whole Chromebook is made of plastic, giving it a cheap feeling. The touch-pad took getting used to and is a pain to get working in Linux.
- The webcam, although capable of HD video, shoots it in only 10 FPS which is disappointing. You can sacrifice resolution for FPS if you want to (in Linux at least). The quality is good enough for Google Hangouts/Skype.
- Only 16GB of internal storage means no real space for alot of video or music. You can upgrade to a bigger SSD (up to 256GB!) but you need to first buy one, and then open up the Chromebook to replace it with the old one. I personally use a 64GB USB 3.0 Flash disk for that.
Other Thoughts: I followed some guides on the internet for installing Linux distros on this Chroembook. The easy way is to use Crouton or Chrubuntu, while the slightly more technical way is to use the SeaBIOS (Although for both you need to turn your Chromebook into developer mode). I used the SeaBIOS method to install Manjaro 0.8.10 64bit (Note: I couldn't boot the 64bit 0.8.11 installer for some reason, 0.8.10 works though). Then, I updated the system, the kernel to 3.17.4 and added the standby and touch-pad fixes. Works like a charm now! Now I got the power of Linux to do anything, with the great hardware of the C720. Definitely recommend trying Manjaro out on your Chromebook.
Reviewed By:SirYar,12/17/2014 4:25:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG Chromebook 2 XE503C12-K01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 5 Octa 5420 1.90GHz 4GB Memory 16GB eMMC SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Returned Them Both
Pros: These are Ok if you just want to surf the internet in front of the TV or write a couple letters but other than that the Chromebook is far from a laptop
Cons: It should not be in the same category as a laptop or tablet. The experience is very limited to web surfing, GMail and Google apps. Other than that it's as useless as an Apple iPad
Reviewed By:N/A,12/12/2014 9:12:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 doesn't run on battery power
Pros: cheap, fast for lightweight use
Cons: doesn't run on battery, I've had it serviced by Acer twice under warranty and they, first, replaced the battery and, second, "repaired the mainboard". I unplug it and the display doesn't stay on for no more than 2 minutes.

clearly, Acer's repair department is clueless about how to fix their defective products.
Other Thoughts: yeah, I don't normally write reviews.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/6/2014 9:50:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 1.70GHz 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Folding plastic portfolio.
Pros: Its a Chromebook. Cheap. Decent screen. Portable. Battery life is great.
Cons: Its a Cromebook.
Pain to open when closed: you will need two hands to pry it open.Very top heavy: if you even so much as poke the screen it will fall over. Everything about it fells cheap. The keys, screen, ports, and touch pad all feel like what they are: cheap, low density plastic. The casing the monitor is in bends so much that if you arent carefull the screen will snap in half. Some models have a touch pad that dont dipress and act more like a touch screen. This makes it incredibly difficult to drag-and-drop things like moving documents and navigating maps. If you can at all afford a better one: quickly pass this one up.
Other Thoughts: Our school has orderd many of these and they have woroed very well for what we do. They are a pain to use thogh for said reasons.
Reviewed By:NuggetX3,12/4/2014 11:27:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat Low and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Chrome Book
Pros: *Light
*Fast
*Simple layout
*Runs great for surfacing web or school work
*Only 100$

You have to do things differently on this chrome book then you would normally but still gets job done.
Cons: *Does not support windows programs but thats to be expected.
*If you intend to use this to use photoshop or gaming then do not buy this laptop.
Reviewed By:N/A,12/3/2014 6:15:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great laptop for the price
Pros: Delivered for under $200 CDN.

I wasn't expecting much for this price, as this will only be used as an email and web browsing machine for my 12 year old, but it has happily exceeded my expectations. It starts up in seconds, is very snappy and loads pages fast, and provides excellent 720p playback of Netflix, Youtube, etc.

The Haswell-series Celeron processor is a marvel in this machine: it is for the most part silent and amazingly cool - even after watching Netflix for 30 minutes the machine is barely warm. My 2011 Macbook Pro would be hot as an oven after a similar period. No surprise that battery life is excellent (we are getting 7+ hours). The 2GB of RAM is more than sufficient to perform all of the functions of a Chromebook. This can't/won't be used for video editing, gaming, etc. We use Microsoft Office online for access to cloud-based office productivity - more than enough for us.

WiFi works no problem. Good range throughout the house, comparable to all of our other devices.

The case is solid but overall very light and thin. The keyboard is well designed and feels good.

This was a refurbished model but there were no signs of wear or use.
Cons: The only con I have with chromebooks is that there is no way to print via USB. This stands to reason as there is no driver software on ChromeOS. You have to print to the Google Cloud, which then prints to a web-accessed printer.

We will likely buy a Google-Cloud enabled printer to resolve this. Another option is to wipe the OS and install Ubuntu - but that is a whole new kettle of fish.
Other Thoughts: I would buy one of these again. Much more useful than a tablet and for $200, all in, the price can't be better.
Reviewed By:Mike from Oakville,12/3/2014 4:51:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Chromebook 14 (F7W51UA#ABA) Chromebook Intel Celeron 4GB Memory 32GB SSD 14.0" Chrome OS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great web computer
Pros: Fast browsing, fast startup, nice screen and keyboard, card slot, 3 usb ports, hdmi out.
Cons: lack of apps, low storage, non-standard keyboard, no cd/dvd.
Other Thoughts: The lack of caps lock and delete keys was a bit surprising, as was the lack of traditional function keys, but these are easily adjusted to and not a real problem. There is a lack of apps for ChromeOS, but I'm pretty sure that will be remedied, and everything on the web runs great on this computer. I'm quite impressed with the super quick startup (<5secs).
Reviewed By:kmoffat,12/3/2014 6:11:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > SAMSUNG > SAMSUNG XE303C12-A01US Chromebook Samsung Exynos 1.70GHz 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Google Chrome OS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Love it, but speakers are horrible
Pros: LIght, compact, functional
Cons: Speakers
Other Thoughts: This is my first Chromebook. Love everything about it except the speakers. Speakers failed in less than a year. Previous to failing, they were very hard to hear when you are using on your lap (non-hard surface). Because they did not work well on lap, I used headphones so I could hear. This isn't a big deal, but it was a pain to always have to put in headphones all the time, and had to bring them with me everywhere. I also couldn't show people videos w/o having to attach a portable speaker, or even listen to music. Seems like a small thing if the speakers are the only problem, but it's a pretty important part of the overall usefulness of the product.
Reviewed By:hawk,11/28/2014 7:31:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Acer America > Acer C720-2827 Chromebook Intel Celeron 2955U (1.40GHz) 2GB Memory 16GB SSD 11.6" Chrome OS

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Couple of Scratches
Pros: Great little Chromebook. This specific model has a ton of great reviews from all different sources. Like other's have said, know what a Chromebook is before purchasing.
Cons: Couple of scratches on outside and interior. Does not come in factory box. Lots of dust and debris inside book.
Other Thoughts: First time purchasing a refurbished product from Newegg. I can't say I'm disappointed as the product works as advertised but I was not expecting to see signs of wear and tear. Maybe my expectations were too high for a refurbished product.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/24/2014 4:30:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Chromebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Chromebook 14-q070nr - Intel Celeron 2955U(1.4GHz) 14" 4GB Memory 16GB SSD Intel HD Graphics

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed 3 times in 12 months
Pros: The 14" display and large keyboard are nice.
Cons: Bought for daughter last Christmas. Completely died in 2nd month. Refurb provided. Touchpaid stopped working 2 months later and it took some severe pressure to get a replacement instead of a repair. Now, at 10 months, the screen looks like half a broken glass..

I have bought $20k of HP products in the last 10 years and thinking of going back to Dell for all my consulting, friend, and family needs.
Reviewed By:IT Pro,11/22/2014 10:33:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.