Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Predator G9-791-735A Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB DDR4 Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Don't hesitate
Pros: Great hardware at a great price, lovely case and design, exceptional functionality and a decent battery for what this rig is. The ssd offers very fast boot times and even running many programs at once this machine is yet to bog down. The vinyl or vinylish case is nice too and doesn't leave a lot of fingerprints
Cons: The only things I can list as cons are the thickness and weight of this rig. It is quite thick and heavy. I wanted a 17" screen so by no means did I expect it to be small but when compared to other laptops with the same hardware it is noticeably bulkier. Also I was a little disappointed that I couldn't customize the LED keyboard but Id rather sacrifice that for reliability and functionality. One last thing is acer doesnt exactly explain how to use or program the custom keys on the left hand side. Oh well not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: Great laptop for the price. Most affordable and effective in its class. No error messages, no crashing, no wireless lan issues, no BSOD when i play games. Just works. Don't hesitate to buy.
Reviewed By:Brent B.,2/12/2016 8:17:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire VN7-792G-797V Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Love this laptop!
Pros: I've had this machine for around 4 months now and I absolutely love it. I'm a programmer by day, gamer by night and it handles anything I can throw at it. It is a beautifully designed laptop, light, incredibly fast and have had no issues with the hardware. It has a gorgeous screen that doesn't blind me with glare when I take it outdoors.
Cons: I can't argue that the machine gets a bit warm while gaming but it does not seem to affect performance in any way. The power button and delete key could have been positioned better but I rarely go without my external keyboard so not a big deal to me at all. Would be nice to be able to change the colors of the key back-light but red was certainly a good choice.
Other Thoughts: My last laptop was an Alienware, never thought i could get much better than that but this laptop blows my old one way in every aspect. I'm an Acer customer for life, nearly top of the line specs while remaining incredibly affordable.
Reviewed By:Theresa S.,2/11/2016 7:24:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GE Series GE72 Apache Pro-003 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nothing short of a Lamborghini or Supercar
Pros: -The look of the laptop is amazing
-Excellent Performance
-Value for the Tech Warrior
-Well built, does not feel cheap
Cons: -None really
-Wish it was less expensive, but this is what you have to pay to ride the exotic
-Boot Time is a bit slow, but that's because I do not have a SSD on this model
Other Thoughts: The feel of the laptop is so nice... Great quality on the finish and the screen looks amazing.
Too early to judge, but it could be the best laptop I have ever owned
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/11/2016 1:43:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire VN7-792G-797V Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Another Acer Winner
Pros: Fast, beautiful screen, latest technology, feels great with the rubberized exterior, nice thin screen, looks great
Cons: I cannot find a thunderbolt cord that works with the thunderbolt slot on this unit.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the best laptops I have owned. I have had very good luck with Acer laptops and notebooks over the years and this is another great one.
Reviewed By:Zen W.,2/11/2016 12:42:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS X550ZE-DB10 Gaming Laptop AMD A-Series A10-7400P (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD Dual AMD Radeon R7 M265DX 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great computer
Pros: Really nice layout, the keyboard is quiet and nicely organized, love the fast start up, runs most games that are popular (the game empyrion is a little fps laggy due to the higher graphics the game has, runs about 12-15fps, not great but it's fine to play with (it is a high graphic game so that's really nice that it can support the details)) the upgradable ram to 16gb is nice, not needed if your gaming but is a nice feature if you are doing streams or rendering.
Cons: The only problems I have had with this laptop is the mouse pad is one solid touch pad including the buttons, so having both hands or two fingers on the mouse pad is buggy. I personally use a mouse so I don't deal with it much but it is nice to have if I go mobile. The keyboard over time does deteriorate from the slight bumpy texture to a smooth panel on the keys you use the most. Ex: wasd keys. I looked online and found replacement keyboards for 25$ so it's a cheap fix but still bothers me. gave this a 5 star review because it's a great computer despite the mouse pad and keyboard that in my own opinion are defects.
Reviewed By:mmcARC,2/11/2016 10:56:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT72S DominatorProGDragon-004 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7-6820HK (2.7 GHz) 32 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 8 GB GDDR5 17.3" IPS Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Gaming Machine!
Pros: The specs on this beast speak for themselves. Unlocked Skylake i7? Check! Desktop class GTX 980? You betcha! G-Sync IPS screen? Yes, please! RAID0 NVM-E solid state drive? I'll have it! Then of coarse you have a Blu-Ray burner, Steel Series backlit keyboard, Dynaudio 2.1 sound, 32gb DDR4, 1tb 7200rpm hard drive, and a very slick and well made backpack to lug around your new barn burner in.

Honestly, I couldn't be more happy with this beast. It absolutely kills anything you throw at at, it pulled down a Fire Strike score of 11,452 right out of the box on stock clock settings. I haven't really messed around with overclocking it yet, but that should be interesting. Also, this thing has a fantastic cooling system. It remains relatively quiet even while gaming and it does a great job of keeping all of that hot hardware in check, I haven't even felt the need to re-paste the CPU and GPU yet. It's also nice that you can crank the fans to maximum at the push of a button if you think you need the extra cooling.
Cons: There's nothing I could personally say is a con in my book. Some people would say that it's too big and too heavy, but if you didn't know that going into it, that's your own fault. You're not going to get this level of hardware crammed into a portable machine without it being pretty bulky, that's all there is to it. This rig is ideal for someone looking for a machine to take to LAN parties or have their gaming while traveling.

I'm not a huge fan of the red aluminum lid or the red dragon design on the palm rest area, I would have preferred something a bit more subdued, but I knew this going into it so I can't say it's a surprise.
Other Thoughts: I've owned a few seriously high-end gaming notebooks: Alienware M18XR2 with SLI cards, Alienware M17X, Asus ROG G750, and an older MSI GT70 Dominator. All of them have had their ups and downs and I've enjoyed them thoroughly, but so far this new Dragon Edition GT72S is by far my favorite. I think it's a perfect balance hardware and function, it just seems to excel in all aspects.

I noticed a couple of reviewers saying that the machine was unstable and gave them headaches with the software. I'm guessing they're both running the OS as is from the factory. When you get a machine like this, there's always going to be bloatware that needs to be removed and tweaking that needs to be done to Windows. I personally recommend doing a fresh install of Windows 10 using the Windows 10 Media Creation app to create a bootable disc or flash drive. From there, install the most recent revisions of the system drivers and utilities, leaving out all of the unnecessary garbage. If you just recover from the factory image, you're going to get the same disjointed OS installation. I realize this isn't something most people want to do, but anyone who has ever bought a pre-packaged PC knows it's something you'll have to do to ensure the best experience.

As usual, Newegg was fantastic!. I ordered the unit on a Friday, it shipped on Monday, and I received it on Wednesday... and that was with the free shipping option!
Reviewed By:Jason F.,2/11/2016 10:53:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GS Series GS72 Stealth-042 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 965M 2 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Multi-language

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My 1st MSI Laptop is a Winner
Pros: Great Design, Top Specs, Stable, Fast, Best Screen & Audio in the industry
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Battery life will be short as configured by default (balanced power settings). If you change the settings for battery to economy (screen brightness, backlight, Intel graphics, CPU max power, turn on battery saver), you can milk 5 hours out of it.

It is listed on website as IPS level panel. Not sure if that translates to a true IPS panel, but the screen viewing angles are great up & down, left & right.

My only problem is getting used to slightly different keyboard layout from previous Asus causes me to hit the very edge of the spacebar occasionally & it doesn't always register the keystroke, but I am experiencing this less & less every day.

I've been buying Asus & Lenovo laptops for years & overall quality has gone downhill with both recently (see other reviews for the Lenovo Y700 as an example) & MSI is well rated.
Reviewed By:EDWARD G.,2/11/2016 7:09:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL752VW-DH74 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Laptop, HORRIBLE OPERATING SYSTEM
Pros: the hardware on this laptop is hard to beat for the price
Cons: Windows 10 and its bugs
Bloatware
Other Thoughts: I hate knocking off a star for something that Asus did not have anything to do with but it took me hours after the first boot up to fix the winsock bug in windows 10
Reviewed By:Rick L.,2/11/2016 1:21:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire VN7-792G-797V Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 No problems
Pros: I haven't seen any issues described in other reviews EXCEPT the video driver crashing on occasion when hitting certain websites on FireFox. It recovers gracefully and I figure future driver updates will solve it. Any games I've ran on Steam have ran perfectly. I'm in and out of Photoshop all day without issue. The fans work fine and it doesn't run any hotter than other high performance laptops I've owned.
Cons: It does seem to be built out of plastic... Not the most sturdy design, but I'm guessing they had to scrimp somewhere to keep the price where it is. I haven't any hardware issues.
Reviewed By:Wrinkle,2/10/2016 10:56:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > CyberpowerPC > CyberpowerPC Fangbook III HX6-266 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4710MQ (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 4 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Wonderful gaming laptop
Pros: good price for the performance of this machine
aesthetically pleasing
very good specs
red leds
Cons: none so far
Other Thoughts: keyboard layout may get a little while to get used to but if you're using a USB keyboard it shouldn't be an issue
didn't realize the function keys toggled webcam and keyboard LEDS, took me a little to figure out lol
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/10/2016 9:22:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.