Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551 series GL551JW-DS71 Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Beware Refurbished, Cannot Activate Windows!
Pros: It came on.
Cons: It will stop working after 30 days, since I cannot activate Windows.
Other Thoughts: This ASUS Certified Refurbished Product came with Windows 10. But, I cannot activate Windows 10. A note came with the laptop stating that the hard drive was completely wiped, including the recovery partition. I was given a Windows product key for Windows 8.1. My choices are now A) return the laptop, B) rewipe the hard drive Install Windows 8.1 and then upgrade to Windows 10, C) Buy Windows 10 for $130.
Reviewed By:Mr. B.,6/24/2016 12:51:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V15 V5-591G-56AS Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i5 6300HQ (2.30 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 2 GB GDDR3 15.6" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best value for money
Pros: Very nice screen.
Fast SSD for boot up.
Not a ton of bloatware.
Fast memory.
Most games run at med with some high settings at between 80-100 fps. Not shabby at all.
Very impressive battery life. 5+ hours (Rating battery life when gaming is irrelevant, you should always be on charger gaming.)
6th gen quad core processor. Worth every penny to get the quad-core over the 6th gen dual cores.
Cons: The only con for this laptop is the camera is horrible on both photos and video.
Other Thoughts: Not taking an egg off for the camera because honestly if you want hd quality photos/video then buy a hd webcam to use with this thing. For software, web, app development this laptop works extremely well. For the price it is almost impossible to find another laptop with the specs this one has. On a side note, download a free hard drive cloning software so that way you can copy the partitions from the SSD to the HDD. Once that is done you are all set, programs that involve emulation and such should be installed on the SSD, all other programs will be fine on the HDD for space saving. I would install all games on the HDD because honestly aside from the game loading it won't make a difference and shouldn't take up valuable SSD space. You are literally saving anywhere between 200-300 buy going with this over one with an i7 with a slightly faster gpu and no SSD. If you are looking for a laptop for school, business and want the ability to play some games when you aren't around your home computer, buy this immediately, you will not be disappointed.
Reviewed By:Jason W.,6/24/2016 11:30:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Predator G9-591-70XR Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB DDR4 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 4 GB 15.6" Full HD 1920 x 1080 HD Webcam Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great computer but very unstable
Pros: -Good screen, sound, graphics card. Plays most games at high settings.
Cons: -I've used this computer for 2-3 hours of gaming for about two weeks and it has gotten stuck on a blue-screen reboot loop for no obvious reason. First two times I used a restore point to fix it, while the last time the restore point was somehow deleted. I had to do a system restore from a disk image to get it to work again.

Never in my life had I had to deal with so many issues on either a desktop or laptop computer. Having this blue screen reboot loop three times in two weeks is unacceptable. I am not happy to have to contact customer support on top of the time I've invested trying to fix the issue myself and will probably be returning this laptop if given the option. I will update the rating depending on my experience with customer support.
Other Thoughts: -I would not recommend this computer to anyone.
Reviewed By:Roque O.,6/24/2016 9:21:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GL62 6QF-628 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i5 6300HQ (2.30 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit Multi-language

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never purchase MSI
Pros: Newegg has excellent return policy
Cons: Corrupted OS out of the box and would not load. Factory loaded image was corrupt as well and could not get system to not lock up and load properly. Contacted MSI tech support and refused to send CDs unless I paid $35 a cd to be able to format HDD and reload OS to try and be able to use system. Refused and advised would send it back. MSI tech stated, "thank you for choosing MSI and return system." Then disconnected call.
Other Thoughts: Worst tech support in the laptop industry. Will never recommend, use or purchase a MSI product again as this was my first and last for MSI.
Reviewed By:John S.,6/24/2016 8:46:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751JY-VS71(WX) Gaming Laptop 4th Gen Intel core i7 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M 4 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing!!!!
Pros: Its an Asus, nothing else to say! Usually purchase AMD processors but the Intel in this monster is lighting fast! Like the 16 GB of RAM and that it is expandable to 32GB. The GTX980M with 4 GB of video ram lets me play games like Battlefield 4 on high settings with no problems. Love the dedicated Steam key also. If you want to buy a gaming laptop this is the answer!
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Charles P.,6/23/2016 8:31:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT72S 6QF Dominator Pro G (Dragon edition) Gaming Laptop Configurator 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6820HK (2.70 GHz) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980 8 GB GDDR5

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Out of the box
Pros: It has nice enough hardware to run most VR games on high-max settings.
MSI tech support was knowledgeable and spoke CLEAR English.
Cons: Out of the box this notebook is a plethora of problems. Specifically the WiFi, bluetooth, and keyboard backlight drivers will magically stop working at random intervals and the only solution is to reinstall them over and over and over. After flashing the bios to the latest version, however, all seems fine.
Reviewed By:WESLEY M.,6/23/2016 2:26:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI PE60 6QE-031US Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent laptop
Pros: This laptop pretty much had everything I was looking for this price point. Latest i7 Skylake Quadcore, a graphics card (GTX 960M) which is great for all the graphics, video work, and gaming, and a back-lit keyboard. A great feature is the matrix display which allows you to connect to two external monitors directly. Again, great for activities that I just mentioned. The display isn't true IPS but it is still phenomenal and the true color/display profiles work really well. The build is pretty solid - I agree with another review that the display is slightly flimsier but no more than other laptops. Otherwise, the performance on this machine is great....has handled all Adobe apps with easy and can run most 3d games.
Cons: A con is the battery life (about 3 hrs tops) ...but seriously, for the hardware this is running, its not made to be that efficient...I expected this as I am replacing a desktop with this thing.

One thing that annoys me, and probably more with Windows 10 is that i have to manually connect to the network each time after hibernation. The network connection does not automatically establish itself.

At this price point. SSD would be nice. However, the stock 7200rpm drive is fast enough. Can convert the cd-rom to hold an ssd drive, which is what many have done.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend this laptop. MSi has always made solid products and gaming rigs.
Reviewed By:Alan T.,6/23/2016 12:50:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G752VT-DH74 Gaming Laptop 6th Generation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 24 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 6 GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 10 Home 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Amazing machine with one caveat...
Pros: - Great construction / build
- Looks sexy
- Great screen
- Speed
- Memory
- M.2 SSD
- THUNDERBULT
- Surplus of usb ports
- Light up key board

Basically everything you could ask for in a daily driver notebook.
Cons: The Intel® Dual Band Wireless-AC 7265 chipset....

Apparently this thing has a major design flaw so there are no amount of replacement laptops that will fix this issue. I was planning on using my logitech mx master in bluetooth mode rather than wasting one of the USB ports for the unifying receiver. From the moment I started using it the wireless was running like absolute garbage. Dropping packets all over the place in a location that all other devices work flawlessly. Eventually I switched to the 5ghz radio which seemed to alleviate the issue.

However once I got home I was forced back to 2.4hgz since I do not have a 5ghz ap at my house and the problems started all over again. Eventually I hooked up a wire to get online and downloaded the latest drivers for the card's bluetooth and wifi adapters. This seemed to fix it temporarily, however the problems soon started back up. Not quite as bad as the old driver but bad enough to notice and be a pain in the "keister".

After a bit of research I discovered that other users reported a problem with using the bluetooth and wireless simultaneously. I disabled my mx master bluetooth mouse and the problem went away immediately and did not return.

I am now using my mouse with the unifying receiver and not having any more problems but to be honest, this really sucks. I love this computer, and dont plan on returning it since I don't really have any other bluetooth devices I plan on using with this in foreseeable future, but its still very sad that this machine uses this chipset that has such a bad flaw.
Other Thoughts: I can only hope that by the time I need to use bluetooth again there will be a driver that works, or a firmware update that fixes the issue.

Would have been a 5 star, but I took one off for this, however for others I can see this as a total deal breaker, so buyer be ware of that chipset...
Reviewed By:Richard K.,6/23/2016 9:21:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Acer America > Acer Aspire V Nitro VN7-591G-792U Gaming Laptop 4th Generation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960M 2 GB GDDR5 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Happy with purchase
Pros: Strong Wifi! I get 1.5-2.0X DL/UL speeds than my previous laptops!
More than decent GPU and CPU for a laptop.
Plays games at ~mid, which is good for the price.
Cons: Battery life is okay and it runs hot (stereotypical comment about laptop temperatures), but other than that I don't see any other negatives so far.
Other Thoughts: Have only had it for ~1 month so far.
Reviewed By:David M.,6/23/2016 7:40:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551 Series GL551JM-EH74 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good laptop for gaming.
Pros: Sleek bezel.

Good packaging.

Loud speakers.
Cons: This is where this review gets to the blunt truth about this laptop.

This laptop is full of ASUS bloatware and constantly reminds you of that bloatware. The laptop also has a combined audio/microphone jack that will not work with most Headsets that use dedicated audio/microphone cables. Asus designed terrible heat dissipation with only 1 port for exhausting heat that creates a very very hot area around the left side of the laptop where all of the main ports are causing cables to receive excess amounts of heat, on the subject of heat I use this laptop with 2 monitors a keyboard and a mouse and if you don't position the laptop correctly hanging somewhat off of the table it will shutoff constantly due to the heating issue. Not enough USB ports to support a good amount of products, the laptop that I received shows 98% not charging while the charging cable is plugged in, I contacted ASUS about this and they wanted me to send it in, customer service was good with some troubleshooting tips but the issue remains, I did choose not to send it in as it doesn't actual go down. Sound is very distorted at even 75% volume from the speakers, constant Windows blue screen issues with a wide array of different issues.
Other Thoughts: I would not purchase another one of these laptops due to the terrible design elements as described above, this laptop gets insanely hot after only a few minutes of gaming.
Manufacturer Response:Hello Garrett,


Thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments on our product. I am sorry to hear that there are some issues with your laptop. I suggest a cooling pad if your device is stationary to keep your temps low. Please feel free to contact me if you are still experiencing errors. Just provide me with a detailed description of the issue so we can better collaborate. My email is cl-tom@asus.com and our 24/7 support line is posted below. Have a great day!


Thank you for choosing ASUS
Best Regards,
Tom
Asus Customer Loyalty US Support
http://www.asus.com/us/support/CallUs

Reviewed By:Garrett G.,6/22/2016 5:47:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.