Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G750 Series G750JZ-DS71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 24GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 880M 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Extremely disappointed and frustrated
Pros: none yet as I cannot use the computer as it was shipped with European parts to be used in the USA by an American consumer??!
Cons: I purchased this computer 11/15/14 from my local Best Buy in USA for use in USA only to be shipped computer with European parts rendering unusable. ASUS support is extremely difficult to reach and I finally got someone in their Jamaica call center who said ASUS would send me out the correct USA AC/DC Adapter and US AC cord and that they would incur the costs and expedite shipping, BUT I first had to complete their RMA form and fax/email it to their center in California - the form asks for signatures all over it saying that you agree to pay processing and shipping fees and return shipping fees etc. - but the ASUS support guy said that he has everything in a letter attached to the RMA explaining they will take care of everything for me and that's what they'll read??!! Several days later and still no response from ASUS. I tried calling the California phone number on the RMA form only to be disconnected 3 times, and on the fourth time I got someone who took my name and number and said they would have to call me back - over 24hours and no phone call back. I went to ASUS north american customer center and entered the RMA number (supposed to be processed within 2 days) and it can't find my RMA. Called ASUS support again. They can't help as their computers are down all day and they need to access the info in the computers to help me. They promised to call me back if and when their computers were fixed, but still no call from ASUS. Makes you wonder about a computer company that can't keep their own computers up and running and is so difficult to reach for support and still hasn't resolved this issue! Why would you ship European parts to an American consumer in the first place??!! For a $2500 new computer purchase I expect more. If they can't even get me the parts that were supposed to come with my computer originally, what kind of support can I expect in the future if their are real problems with the computer when, if ever, I can actually turn it on??!!! Oh and did I mention that my ASUS warranty started the date I purchased it; even though I've yet to be able to use it!! This experience has been extremely frustrating and disappointing! I need the computer to read patient studies on, and I may have to return it if I don't get any response/solution soon, and my next computer will NOT be an ASUS then!
Reviewed By:cek333,11/21/2014 2:39:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GS70 2OD-229US Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 12GB Memory 500GB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 765M 2GB 17.3" Windows 8

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hardware Issues
Pros: Great laptop in many ways. ok for the cost of the product when it was offered (which was about $1100), but it does have many problems emanating from bad design (see cons)
Cons: Filled with bloatware on arrival
Comes partitioned, with the OS partition not being large enough for updating the operating system.

I've owned it for 6 months now, and the keyboard letter "s", "z" and the space bar don't work or double type about 60% of the time. MSI support is nonexistent, which is why I would NEVER recommend this laptop to anyone or any MSI product. why buy something cheap which you will have to spend money on later to fix.

STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Other Thoughts: STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reviewed By:Joethemachine,11/21/2014 12:12:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo Y50 (59426157) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Word of caution!
Pros: Price; Brand; Specs
Cons: Screen quality; Poor color spectrum
Other Thoughts: So I bought this model and theres a big problem with it In general a great laptop, but the SSD cache makes it really annoying to actually game on it. Few others and I noted a "screen lag" on this specific laptop. Basically, the screen stays frozen for 2-3 secs on a particular frame. After extensive research and playing around with the settings of the graphics card, antivirus programs, etc.... it basically came down to the hardware itself that was causing the problem.
I eventually returned that model and bought the 512gb SSD version like others did, and it works beautifully well.
Reviewed By:oneredice,11/20/2014 9:53:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751 Series G751JT-CH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Computer
Pros: It is really a good computer with nice price.
Cons: the transition is really slow.
Other Thoughts: When I buy a computer about $1500, you guys need to provide the best free transition!!!
Reviewed By:KANKE,11/20/2014 7:32:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo Y50 (59418222) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i5 4200H (2.80GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD 8GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid little laptop
Pros: Sleek design, zippy gaming, loads of space, hybrid drive, and decent sound.

I didn't realize how thin this laptop was until I pulled it out of the box. It's really thin and sleek. That said, it still seems like a durable design. The screen hinges are stout, and the overall quality feels real solid, which is impressive given how thin it is.

It is also very easy to open up for upgrades. 7 screws and 4 hidden clips, and you have access to the ENTIRE computer.

Innovative and effective cooling.

No optical drive! - yes, I consider this a pro. The only time I used the optical drive on my previous laptop was to accidentally eject it, then push it back in.
Cons: Windows 8. It's for tablets, not computers.

Many have cited the screen as being a con, and I cannot disagree, but it's not as terrible as some make it seem. Yes, it's best viewed straight on, so it's bad for multiple viewers, but from the optimal angle, it's a good picture.

Fingerprint city. If you want it to always look pristine, keep some wipes nearby. It's still sexy, even with the fingerprints, though.
Other Thoughts: I immediately replaced the 1TB hybrid drive with a solid state, and downgraded (read: upgraded) to Windows 7. I've been very happy with the performance of this laptop, especially given I got the dual-core model. Most games run quite well on medium-high settings.

I also do a lot of LAMP development, and C# development. Jetbrains and Microsoft IDE's are both very crisp and responsive on this machine.

NOTE: For those of you having issues with video drivers upon re-install of the operating system, you MUST install the Intel HD Graphics 4600 driver BEFORE the nVidia 860m driver. Also, the nVidia 3DVision driver component at the time of this writing is faulty and causes blue-screens whenever Chrome runs Adobe Flash (which is all the time). It probably has other issues as well, so opt for 'Custom Installation', and disclude the 3DVision driver when installing the nVidia drivers.

My overall feeling of this laptop is that I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a good machine in this price range. It multitasks well, and games well.

Newegg rocks.
The end.
Reviewed By:Ceiling Cat,11/20/2014 4:22:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE P27Gv2-CF1 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4810MQ (2.80GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB GDDR5 17.3" Windows 8.1

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice and easy upgradeable!!!
Pros: This is a Clevo W370SS Chassis that has been painted with that matte black rubber you see on mouses all the time now. Its nice. It has solid constructions. Above all else its really easy to configure and maintain. You can do a search on google and add the keyword "review" to the model and a ton of information will pop up. Mine came with 1TB drive, I have since replaced it with a 250GB boot drive and use the 1TB as a secondary drive. I also added 8GB of ram. This laptop comes with 1 8GB stick (located under keyboard) easy to access just need a good computer screw driver with the philips head. Also come with 2 M Sata slots not occupied.
Cons: Knew this before purchase so not a con for me but maybe for other - GTX 860M soldered on Mobo not upgradeable

Didn't know this - The middle empty hard drive slot comes with no hardware support like the other HD slot. So the HD only hangs off the SATA slot. I was given two small HD screws and some plastic to cover PCB and some thin foam but its still going to hang off the SATA slot with no real support.
Reviewed By:Tyler M.,11/20/2014 3:05:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG GL551 series GL551JM-DH71 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great laptop, just needed some "fixes"
Pros: - Fantastic i7 proc and love the 860M.
-Great performance as a whole.
-All components fully support Windows 7!!!!
-Very nice aesthetic look
-Moderately lightweight compared to other laptops of the same size and functionality. (I had a G74SX prior to this, and that was a tank...)
Cons: Windows 8... And the fact that there were no drivers available for download under the ASUS website. It isn't impossible to find the correct drivers for this laptop (Windows 7 or Windows 8) but it is a hassle. Keyboard backlighting is slightly DIM, and the aluminum top cover is a fingerprint supermagnet.
Other Thoughts: For starters, I purchased a new SSD and wanted to install Windows 7 on it. I had to do a little bit of digging to find the right drivers, but thankfully, every component in this laptop has a driver for Windows 7.

That was my first "thought". Second was that this screen is NOT IPS so it will darken/lighten depending on your view. It isn't horrendous though, and not enough to get rid of an egg. One of the major issues with almost any 1080p laptop and Windows 8, is the "fuzzy" appearance of icons and text. Upon installing windows 7, you will notice that this is all purely from Windows 8's GUI (Not the screen).

I am very happy with this laptop. I've owned many laptops in the past, and I'm just overall happiest with this one. After some "tweaking" through reinstalling a new OS and a new SSD, I couldn't be happier. I think that anyone who is looking into buying this laptop in particular, who is also looking to install a new OS, be very weary that you will need to do a little bit of hunting to find the right drivers. Also, this might have just been for me( doubt it though), but after installing Windows 7, my PC's performance increased by quite a bit - and this is on the exact same hard drive that the original Windows 8 install was on, prior to the SSD installation.
Reviewed By:PNxBWood,11/20/2014 12:25:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > Lenovo > Lenovo Y50 (59428531) Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4700HQ (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 860M 2GB 15.6" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Impressed!
Pros: This laptop is very powerful for the price. I replaced the HDD with an SSD to improve boot time. Currently my startup time is 15 seconds. Plays Dota 2 on max settings without a hiccup. Dual band WiFi is the reason I chose this laptop and also it supports 802.11ac which is the WiFi of the future. A lot of people complain about the screen but I have no issue with the screen...
Cons: Bloatware but take 5 minutes and you can remove most of it.

Probably should have waited for Black Friday but I don't see the price dropping very much after comparing the hardware specs with other gaming laptops.
Other Thoughts: Had to update the video card drivers right away to version 344 so Dota 2 could recognize the video card. After you apply the video card update perform a restart.
Reviewed By:Barrel,11/20/2014 7:48:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > ASUS > ASUS ROG G751 series G751JT-DH72 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970M 3GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Overall computer is Fast, Had some issues
Pros: When it works, it is a beast of a machine.
- Runs WoW, BF4, and D3 on max settings 70+fps.
- Design and Style
Cons: - Occasionally boots to black screen on start up and the only way to get to the desktop is to put the computer to sleep using function keyboard and turn it back on.
- Wireless card keeps failing while streaming videos.
- Speakers crackle when turned up to high volume levels. The high volume levels are needed in order to hear your movies because the speakers are a little on the quieter side.

After discussing my problem with ASUS, they requested I send it in to be fixed. I liked the computer enough to RMA it back to ASUS and have it looked at. The RMA process was simple and fast.
Other Thoughts: I participated in the free trial for Newegg Premier membership. I highly recommend you giving it a try when you make your purchase. The membership plus the new warehouse they opened in Indiana made shipping a breeze. Received my order next day.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 11:38:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Gaming Laptops > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 Dominator-892 Gaming Laptop Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 24GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce GTX 870M 6GB 17.3" Windows 8.1 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: no issues runs great now that I replaced Norton blotware with less intrusive AVG. This is the second one that I have purchased. !st one for my son and then one for me. My son's is 8 months old still running great
Cons: weight but this is more a desktop replacement for me
Reviewed By:N/A,11/19/2014 10:58:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.