Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WT72 6QK-099US Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M3000M 17.3" Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great Computer; Needs Larger SSD
Pros: -Fast
-Lots of data storage
-Very reputable brand name
Cons: -The boot drive (128GB ssd) is too small
- MSI added a second "\" key next to the spacebar, which pushes everything to the right one key. To make up for the space, they put the right arrow key where the left of the of "0" key is on the numpad. I always press the "0" on it's left side, so it gets very annoying now that the right arrow key is there. The added "\" is highly unnecessary as I always use the one above the enter key.
Other Thoughts: I bought this workstation because I am new engineering student that needs a computer capable of running design programs such as AutoCAD and Solidworks. I am also a big MSI fan. So I thought it was a win-win. The computer meets all of the specifications of the programs I intended to install. What I didn't know is that the majority of these programs need to be on the boot drive. If you intend to use one of Autodesk's design suites, you'll likely have your SSD over 75% full (that's with installing what I could on the data drive).
Reviewed By:Caleb M.,5/15/2016 8:29:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WT72 6QI-654US Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M1000M 17.3" Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Laptop
Pros: Purchased for one of my engineers who works out in the field. Yes, it is huge but provides mobile computing with CAD and exceptionally large spreadsheets.
Cons: AutoCAD complains that it doesn't contain a certified video card despite MSI saying it's a certified laptop. Not sure who to believe but so far no performance issues.
Other Thoughts: Not for a traveler but very good for someone who needs a lot of power but can't be tied to the office.
Reviewed By:N/A,3/30/2016 6:59:26 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > Hewlett-Packard > HP ZBook 15 G2 (F1M30UT#ABA) Mobile Workstation - Intel Core i5 4210M (2.6 GHz) 8 GB DDR3L 500 GB HDD NVIDIA Quadro K610M 15.6" FHD 1920 x 1080 720p HD Webcam Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Sturdy Laptop with high end security.
Pros: This is a very sturdy well made laptop, casing feels like metal. Also has features not found in lower end laptops like a TPM chip so you can use Microsoft's Bitlocker. Very fast, great business laptop. I recommend upgrading it to Windows 10 Pro as soon as you get it out of the box, this provides higher end features not found in Win 7 Pro, like Bitlocker.
Cons: A little on the heavy side, may not be a favorite for people who travel a lot. The 500 GB hard drive a bit small for todays standards; however, the Hard Drive bay can easily accommodate larger 1TB drives.
Reviewed By:John M.,3/7/2016 2:32:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WS72 6QJ-008US Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M2000M 17.3" Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 All that power comes with a price
Pros: It's so nice to be up and going in a mater of seconds. Great resolution. Not as heavy as I thought it might be. Nice looking sturdy body. All in all a great purchase.
Cons: The price for all the power seems to be the battery life. Only get 2-3 hrs with constant use or video playing.
Other Thoughts: I haven't really put it through a good 3D design use yet.
Reviewed By:Bill G.,2/22/2016 7:51:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WS60 6QJ-025 Laptop Intel Xeon E3-1505M v5 (2.80 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M2000M 15.6" 4K Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good machine for the price
Pros: The 4k display looks great.
The Super Raid SSD setup is fast.
The extra 1TB gives you more significantly more space than other laptops in this price bracket.
The CPU performs well and never feels like it's under load.
The RAM is fast and handles multiple applications across multiple desktops well.
The discrete GPU does its job well.
Cons: Battery life is short (This was expected, given the hardware involved)

Track-pad is terrible. I have it permanently disabled and always use a mouse.

Laptop gets VERY hot.

I've had an issue with the laptop waking up from sleep mode while closed and in its case. This resulted in the laptop getting hot enough to burn skin. This is one issue I've considered calling MSI about, but haven't because I haven't had the time. My solution has been to always shut down the laptop before transporting, although this is a bit of a bother for me to have to relaunch all my applications when I relocate. (I dropped a star for this)

Body looks nice, but feels kind of cheap. I treat it with care because I'm afraid to break it. When making my decision purchase, the two competitors were the Surfacebook and the Macbook Pro; which both have sturdy bodies. I upgraded from a Macbook Pro, and one thing I miss about the Macbook Pro is the piece of mind I got from knowing that it is not going to break, even if I toss it around a bit. (I dropped a star for this).
Other Thoughts: It comes with a fitted case for just the laptop itself. If the case had room for the battery pack + a mouse I would consider it a Pro.
It also comes with an embroidered cleaning cloth.

I had some problems with application performance and the display at first, but after uninstalling the Nahimic application and updating the drivers I had no problem. (When I bought this there were no driver updates, I had to wait a couple weeks).

Not all applications have 4k display support. Which is a shame, because the 4k display looks great. I generally use an external display with this machine, so my resolution is usually 1920x1080. The 4k resolution is probably unnecessary on a display this size, but as I have no other 4k displays, this was my entry into 4k.

The keyboard is not the quietest, but I really enjoy the typing experience when I'm not at my DAS keyboard.

If you need a portable workstation, and not a mobile computer, then the short battery life should not be an issue. I haven't been in a situation where I was away from a power plug long enough to keep track of how long the battery lasts, but I would guess about 2 hours.

This machine will play most games, but it is NOT a gaming laptop. Some games play great (e.g. FIFA 16, Payday 2) and some games play terrible (e.g. RUST, WRC 4). I've accepted this and moved back to my desktop for all gaming and I use this strictly as a workstation now.

TL;DR
This machine does what it's made to do. Be careful of heating problems and take care when handling it.
Reviewed By:John R.,12/25/2015 10:25:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WT72 2OM-1047 Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4720HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro K2200M 17.3" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For 3 months, all features have performed admirably.
Pros: This was a gift to someone who is not a gamer. For clear font display, video, fast floating calcs in complex spreadsheets, performance is excellent.
Cons: Delivery was slower than the 4-7 days indicated.
Battery life is very short. A more capable battery would drive up the cost somewhat, so MSI gambles that most users will use
such a large laptop plugged in.
Other Thoughts: I chose an MSI laptop without SSD. The user rarely turns it off, so boot time isn't an issue. And it appears to be plenty fast without an SSD since there is sufficient ram for most usage. The user doesn't particularly care for the touch of the kbd, which is one reason why
I chose it. Tastes differ.
Reviewed By:james b.,12/21/2015 6:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WS60 6QJ-024 Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M2000M 15.6" Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 MSI WorkStation Series WS60 6QJ-024 Review
Pros: Powerful and fast - I have no issues running multiple programs at once. The main programs that I use are, Adobe Dreamweaver, Adobe photoshop, Adobe Premiere, Microsoft office, LaTex, Capstone, Starry night..

Portable - It is very light and thin, so its easy to carry.

Quiet - The fan is quiet and the laptop never got hot.
Cons: Battery life - The battery life on saver mode only lasts on average approximately 1 hour and 50 minutes. Keep in mind I am running Adobe Dreamweaver, Adobe Photoshop, Word, and LaTex. I am using a wireless connection that is approximately 9 feet away

Sound - Sounds doesn't sound clear and full.
Other Thoughts: Screen - Sometime images and videos are not sharp as they should be.

Crashes - When I first started using the laptop it would occasionally crash. After a major operating system update it seems to have resolved the issue.

Keyboard - You can arrange multiple colors to be emitted from the keyboard, but there are no led lights to tell you when the num or caps lock are on.

I expected a longer battery life since this is using Intel Skylake chip.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,12/20/2015 7:33:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WS60 6QJ-025 Laptop Intel Xeon E3-1505M v5 (2.80 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 256 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M2000M 15.6" 4K Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Previous Generation faster?
Pros: It's a nice machine overall.
Cons: Left shift, left control, and backspace keys have a squeak when pressed.
Other Thoughts: For my application that I use, the previous model (MSI WS60 2OJ 4K-061US Win7, and WT60 4k) both run my simulation FASTER than this machine. (3 hours vs 4.5 hours). I'm not sure if it is Win10 vs 7 issue, or DDR3 vs DDR4. I have disabled all services on this machine in Win10. Disabling NahimicMSIUILauncher actually led to a speed increase in my application. The other startup services did not have any noticeable difference.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/27/2015 12:51:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WT72 6QK-099US Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M3000M 17.3" Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not necessarily a workstation
Pros: Top of the line components, upgradable, good keyboard feel, and nice screen. Seemed peppy for the little bit of time I spent on it, never installed any software.
Cons: Poor quality control. The red LED's on the right keyboard section were stuck on and the CD door required me to tap the case to get it to pop open.

Size, this thing very thick.

The keyboard is small, like they stuffed a 15" keyboard on a 17" laptop. Lettering on keyboard is too large and irregular key sizes.

Customer service is a maze to get too and not necessaryily helpful when you get there. The website is full of dead ends. No driver support for the 6th gen products even though their selling them.
Other Thoughts: This is not a business class workstation. It has the unnecessary, and useless features that you would find in a gamers laptop. I don't need three colors of led's on the keyboard to model in SolidWorks. This extra fluff just adds to the number of failure points. The gawdy fluff, poor build quality, poor website and confusing customer service led me to return this and look into more reputable brands. I need solid performance, no fluff, spot on service/support and reliabilty.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Seth,
Thank you for the feedback, however I do see that you're not a "Verified Owner". Do you have the system in your possession if you have any questions or concerns regarding the product, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at usreview@msi.com or at our toll free number 888-447-6564 M-F 6AM to 6PM PST. and we will be more than happy to assist you, thank you.

Thanks for choosing MSI

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:N/A,11/18/2015 8:50:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WorkStation Series WS60 6QI-001US Laptop Intel Core i7 6700HQ (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro M1000M 15.6" Windows 10 Pro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Happy with this laptop
Pros: The performance of this laptop is as advertised. the speed of the processor and the DD4 RAM is amazing. Rendering video or multi-tasking is not a problem and the screen is beautiful. Very thin and sleek.
Cons: The SSD drive could be bigger. and not having a built in drive is a little bit of a problem, but the USB3 allows for fast transfer to an external drive. I have had Blue screen of death a few times and a few issues with staying in sleep mode, but I think those are associated with Windows 10
Other Thoughts: Would recommend. I use this as a mobile workstation for business and do a lot of multi-tasking, video editing, and photo editing.
Reviewed By:N/A,11/15/2015 8:32:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.