Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI GT Series GT70 2OLWS-683US Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA Quadro K4100M 17.3" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nothing But Issues
Pros: Spec'ed high but doesnt perform
Cons: Ever since I removed this computer from the box I have had issues with it. It says it comes with a 1TB HDD however it is actually a 1TB HDD which has been partitioned for absolutely no reason and it is incredible slow. I will typically turn on the laptop and wait for 20 minutes before using it because it is so slow to do so. I would have replaced the hard drive long ago however warrantly prevents you from opening the case and the customer service with MSI is abominable so waiting 2 months to get my computer back isn't an option either.
Other Thoughts: I would not buy this computer. Go for a more stable less expensive ASUS with a GTX card, would definitely suit way better.
Reviewed By:goose,1/20/2015 3:23:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > Hewlett-Packard > HP ZBook 15 G2 (F1M37UT#ABA) Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4810MQ (2.80GHz) 16GB Memory 256GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro K2100M 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit / Windows 8.1 Pro downgrade

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waiting for Replacement
Pros: Quick startup. Long battery life.
Cons: Hardware problems requiring motherboard replacement
Other Thoughts: I had this unit less than two weeks and had to reload Windows 7 due to a programming error on my part. Was unable to load again due to the fact that the unit wouldn't log in to the internet - not by wire or wifi. I was told that it was a hardware problem. HP informed me that I have an onsite warrantee. Upon contacting the HP tech, I was informed that the issue would be resolved with a new motherboard! That sounds like an extremely invasive thing to have to do after only two weeks of ownership. I have requested a replacement from Newegg. I have shopped with Newegg before and I am sure that they will make it right. I hope that the new unit doesn't have issues..
Reviewed By:Roger,12/28/2014 9:14:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > Hewlett-Packard > HP ZBook 15 G2 (F1M32UT#ABA) Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4710MQ (2.50GHz) 8GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA Quadro K1100M 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit / Windows 8.1 Pro downgrade

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for me
Pros: Awesome expansion capability, and very easy to upgrade. I purchased this HP for capturing, recording, viewing, and editing college football games for my archives. I have set it up to do everything that I planned so far except recording. It has performed flawlessly after I made a few upgrades. This laptop comes with Windows 7 64 bit installed, but it comes with a Wndows 8.1 64 bit disc. It is my unsderstanding that you can use either Os just not both. I have stuck with the Windows 7 OS for the most part. I need a 32 bit system to capture live and recorded TV from my cable box through the firewire port. So, I downloaded a windows 8.1 32 bit system from New Egg. It has worked great for my capturing needs. By the way, I have captured HD video through the thunderbolt port ( via an Apple thunderbolt to firewire adapter), the ExpressCard slot with a firewire add on card, and through USB with an Avermedia ExtremeCap device. I use VideoRedo to edit out the commercials.
To my surprise, I can edit video wirelessly over my network on this laptop.
I do not know how to officially measure anything, but it seems to run quietly , and it seems to have good ventillation.
Cons: The original mechanical hard drive is too sluggish for me, and I had to upgrade to SSD drives for the OSs. The initial set up for each OS is cumbersome. The driver installation was a freaking headache. Ther wireless adapter did not work the originally installed drivers so I had to use an ethernet cable to connect to the internet for driver updates that were not available by the HP installation discs. However, neither the wireless adapter nor the ethernet adapter worked after installation of the Windows 8.1 32 bit OS. I had to purchase a USB 3.0 Gigabit adapter to connect to the internet for driver updates. At some point I had to install updates from microsoft, hp, intel, and the installation discs that came with the purchase to get everything working. Also, dual boot did not work well for me so I had to load the two separate OSs on two different hard drives with only one installed at a time. I use the optical drive upgrade bay for this purpose using a Hard drive caddy purchased elsewhere.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, this is the first new computer that I have purchased in some time, but it's capabilities have thoroughly impressed me.
Reviewed By:1992lee,12/14/2014 8:07:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI WS60 2OJ 3K-004US Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4710HQ (2.50GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 256GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro K2100M 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Laptop
Pros: Better in person. Beautiful laptop, very well designed, built solid. I'm usually an ASUS fan but they didn't have any that could compare. Delivery of the laptop is also nice, lots of extras and cool vanity things.

The picture is the best I've ever seen with the super high resolution. Natively I'm running two monitors plus the laptop screen without Thunderbolt. However this is one of the very few workstations that can run quad monitors or a 4k monitor. RAID M2's read/write at 670MB/s. No problems at all with anything. Everything works solid. Win 7!
Cons: Not really a con but the Windows boot-up screen has been replaced with an MSI boot up screen, kinda cheesy but easy enough to change or replace the picture. Really I just pointed that out to put something in the con field. It really is a nice laptop.
Other Thoughts: I could list a ton more pro's but really I would just be listing the specs. There is no stock docking station and good luck buying an MSI AC adapter to have a spare on hand. Universal docking stations work fine through the USB 3.0 interface but you lose some performance in video there.
Reviewed By:Strickt,11/19/2014 2:17:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > Hewlett-Packard > HP EliteBook Mobile Workstation 8470W (D0T70US#ABA) Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 3720QM (2.60GHz) 8GB Memory 500GB HDD AMD FirePro M2000 14.0" Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 EGGcellent
Pros: Sturdy and durable - feels strong
Works fast!
Simple and functional design.
Long Battery Life.
Cons: Needed RAM upgrade.
Has no DVD/CD drive
Other Thoughts: Replaced Hard drive with 500GB SSD
System now is faster than any previous machine and all of it's peers.
Get one. ;-)
Reviewed By:FixMyCPU,11/3/2014 8:29:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI GT Series GT60 2OKWS-674US Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD 128GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro K3100M 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 incompatable programs!
Pros: Great soundcard, It's heavy enough to remind you, you have it with you. Lots of memory, beautiful SteelSeries keyboard.
Cons: The InterActual player is incompatible with the windows 7 operating system. so the Blu-ray drive won't play Blu-ray disks. The InterActual technologies website (recommended by microsoft to solve the problem) seems to be gone.
Other Thoughts: I hoping there is an update, a better driver or program to fix the TSST Corp. BDDVD SN506BB SCSI CDROM\Device. software issue.
Reviewed By:Walt,10/30/2014 8:47:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > MSI > MSI GT70 2OLWS-1614US Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4810MQ (2.80GHz) 16GB Memory 1TB HDD NVIDIA Quadro K4100M 17.3" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: nice specs on paper
Cons: freezes
crashes
BSOD
Other Thoughts: I got this laptop specifically for using Solidworks. It worked great for about a week and now it crashes, freezes or gets a BSOD multiple times a day. Very disappointed with my purchase. For $3000 you would think you'd get a computer that is usable.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued Customer,
Based on the symptom you reported, we suggest you checking following steps below since many reasons can cause the situation like this ,
1. Check ensure you have update drivers and EC firmware provided from our website http://www.msi.com/support/workstation/GT702OL_Workstation.html#support_download
2. If you need further assistant, please feel free to contact our technical support department directly at our toll free number 888-447-6564 from M to F, 6am to 6pm Pacific standard Time.

Best Regards,
MSI Review Team | usreview@msi.com

Reviewed By:N/A,10/19/2014 8:05:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > Lenovo > ThinkPad W540 (20BG0011US) Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 8GB Memory 500GB HDD NVIDIA Quadro K1100M 15.6" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great laptop, with a numerous flaws
Pros: -Sufficiently sturdy construction
-2 USB 3.0 ports, one on each side of the laptop
-Great battery life
-Powerful CPU
-Reasonably good Quadro K1100M
-High quality keyboard is easy to type with.
-Keyboard layout is mostly normal, with a few oddities such as a Print Screen button and the FN key outside of CTRL.
Cons: -Product keys for Windows 8 are no longer printed on the laptop. This is a MASSIVE step backwards and it does not automatically activate Windows, it ONLY works with the Lenovo recovery disks.
-Absolute NIGHTMARE to reinstall. Took 4.5 hours on a Samsung EVO SSD using Lenovo system recovery disks. Installing Windows 8.1 from Microsoft's disk took 12 minutes.
-Neither one installed all the drivers necessary for operation.
-Sound card regularly makes loud popping sounds on startup, resuming from standby, and after a period of time when no sound is being produced. Poor quality audio codec installed, does not even have noise cancellation for the built in microphone!
-No MIC IN. Literally WHY?
-1080p Display is not great. Feels like a cheap TN panel, sharp but low color quality (even lower than my previous laptops' glossy TN panel). Gives me a headache when using the laptop for more than an hour.
-Poor touchpad design, entire touchpad is depressed when clicking, and there is lots of failures to detect the intended press (left or right). On top of that, there is no option to automatically disable the touchpad when a mouse is plugged in, so you have to disable it in Device Manager every time you plug in a mouse.
-Touchpad is not centered on the laptop, so your left hand is the only option when using it.
Reviewed By:Jivix,8/31/2014 12:43:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > DELL > DELL Precision M4800 (730-7575) Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4800MQ (2.70GHz) 8GB Memory 256GB SSD NVIDIA Quadro K1100M 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 M4x00 Not the best build
Pros: These machines are good value for money on the compute side. I use this as a programmers workstation and it does very well at this task.

SSD appears to be of good quality and has retained low latencies even after some time of use

Graphics are good with the Display port support. When using a Docking station I can get two HD+ large monitors working with the Laptop Screen. Very useful. One of the monitors is an old IPS HP Monitor that requires an active converter from the HDMI port on the docking station but does work well.
Cons: The display to one of my recent Samsung monitors does not return after resuming from power saving sleep of the machine.

The USB ports have started physically falling apart and two are no longer usable.

It is very heavy.
Other Thoughts: The build quality was bad enough that I could see the machine becoming unusable pretty quickly if you were unlucky. The quality of the machine is not good enough for me to consider buying a new Dell when the time comes. I may try the new Razer Blade Pro.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2014 9:08:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mobile Workstations > Hewlett-Packard > HP ZBook 17 F1J74UT#ABA Mobile Workstation Intel Core i7 4700MQ (2.40GHz) 16GB Memory 750GB HDD 32GB Flash Cache SSD NVIDIA Quadro K3100M 17.3" Windows 7 Professional 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent mobile workstation
Pros: Fingerprint reader
ExpressCard slot
SmartCard reader
All USBs are 3.0 SS except for one
Nice screen, good color reproduction
Expandable; Extra 2.5" HDD/SDD slot (onboard RAID), also extra RAM slots available; can upgrade to 32GB, m.2 SATA port available (for extra flashcache or use as a SDD
FlashCache 32GB (mSATA, can be upgraded to larger mSATA drive or disabled as flashcache and used as a 32GB SDD; settings through Intel Rapid Storage Technology program)is very handy, boots from sleep instantly (may lag a little when requiring fingerprint for log in security, but only a couple seconds either way)
VGA, DisplayPort, and Thunderbolt port
Dedicated graphics card (set up through NVIDIA Control Panel, set to use dedicated graphics card for better performance)
backlit keyboard (can be turned of with FN keys or adjust brightness)
Number Pad
definitely built for security, and with the help of HP Client Security you can also encrypt the hard drive set drive access by time and user. Also has a password manager (works with IE not Chrome) which you can then log in with your fingerprint.
Cons: no HDMI port, not worth deducting an egg though

no extra HDD cage (with lever lock) to add a second HDD/SDD, also no egg deduction. seems IF I COULD FIND ONE, that it wouldn't be too expensive.
Other Thoughts: obviously a little heavier because of the size, but that was to be expected.

easy access to upgrade slots, bottom cover slides off after unlocking (slide lock by battery) all open slots are right there on the bottom.

bought the extra warranty just in case, but to me it's not needed i COULD fix it if it broke, but don't want to void the warranties :)
Reviewed By:oneko,8/22/2014 9:58:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.