Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Windows 8.1 Pro - x64bit, (Original Equipment Manufacturer")
Pros: Faster Boot Times, Stability, Security.
Cons: I Do Not Like Being Connected to the High Almighty (Microsoft) I perform my own system images, I do not need Microsoft retaining a copy of my settings. Windows Media Center is not included, but you are able to auto download and install the feature for a mere 9.99.

Both Windows 8 and 8.1 were designed for portable devices in mind. There are still issues with accessing certain features via a desktop and laptop. Why didn't Microsoft release two versions. One to cater to portable devices and one for Desktop and Laptops???? Could it be that Microsoft is running out of ideas???? Features that they have made apparent, were always available, even back to Windows 98.
Other Thoughts: I can not wait until the BETA release of Windows 9. My thoughts to Microsoft, STOP RUSHING, just to get the product out on the Retail shelves. You made royal mistakes in Windows Vista, and quite a few errors in Windows 7. Enough is enough.
Reviewed By:the_inspector_069,9/29/2014 8:14:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's windows
Pros: It boots fast
It runs most games really well
Easier to install than Arch Linux or Gentoo Linux
Cons: It's made by microsoft
It's windows
Much worse than any linux distro I've had experience with
More difficult to install than Ubuntu Linux or Linux Mint.
Other Thoughts: I really don't like windows or microsoft, so if you are a fan of microsoft, you probably won't want to pay attention to my review. If I wasn't getting a graphics card good enough for gaming at 4k I'd not bother getting windows, and I'd rate Windows 8.1 at 1 or 2 stars.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 9:17:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hate HATE windows 8
Pros: It's windows. It works.
Cons: If the best you can say is that it works, that's not a good thing. My keyboard and mouse have stopped working for no reason FOUR times since February. The only way to fix it is to roll back the computer to a previous date. I discovered that this occurs every single time windows 8 updates.

And the way to get it to roll back? Well, you can't access Safe Mode by pressing a single button during boot with windows 8. For some insane reason, they decided that windows should need to be loaded BEFORE you can enter safe mode.

This means that my keyboard and mouse won't work IN safe mode because I can't get TO safe mode since I need one of them to work in order to enter safe mode.

The only way to fix it is to get the disk out (glad I bought the disk and not the download) and force it back using the bios and telling it to boot from my DVD ROM, during which the keyboard and mouse work just fine.

There is no start menu. Whose insane idea was that?

Windows 8 still doesn't work with most programs. I should be just fine downloading and installing the gaming keyboard and mouse on my system. Nope. I can get the basic functions to work as though they are a generic keyboard and mouse, but apparently I can't install the drivers for the gaming functions unless my DVD ROM is unplugged. Yes, you read that right, UNPLUGGED. It cannot be plugged in (disabling it instead doesn't help) at the same time as I try to install logitech anything because there is a conflict and it will cause the system to freeze. All the research I have found points to this being a windows 8 problem as this does not happen with windows 7.

And that's with the correct windows 8 drivers from all the websites for each piece of hardware.

It's like they removed all the useful bits of windows and left us with some slightly-more-advanced-than-an-ereader garbage.
Other Thoughts: I don't dare let my computer update anything windows. Wish I had kept windows 7. Really hope they let me upgrade to 9 for free. With the complete waste of money that windows 8 is, I deserve it and so does everyone else.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/26/2014 5:59:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows 8.1 x64bit
Pros: It's not Apple. It's faster than Windows 8 or Windows 7. If you buy this you are up to date with the latest Microsoft has to offer.
Cons: Cons are Tile interface (Metro? UI) is useless to me. For $5 fee download Start8 by Stardock, which you can customize. You can shut off the Metro Tile Interface, set it to boot straight to your "REAL" desktop and disable all hot corners so Windows 8.1 behaves like the Windows everyone loves, and you get the satisfaction of knowing your up to date with current technology and don't have to hate your OS while doing so.
Other Thoughts: Windows 9 is rumored to come out in Fall 2015.
Reviewed By:Conan Of Rottingham,9/26/2014 7:01:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just Make the Move From 7
Pros: Lots faster than Windows 7 on my SSD. Only took 50 minutes from start to finish to install....(this included updates and installing a few drivers 8.1 Pro had most of them) After reading all the negative things about 8 I was reluctant to move on to 8.1. This OS is not half baked as the Windows haters would have you believe. I'm glad I waited for 8.1 though before I jumped in. Seems to me Microsoft got the kinks out.
Cons: Only one its a little funky so it will take some time to work a few things out I was used to in 7. Same as always when you move to a new OS.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/25/2014 4:49:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 An Excellent OS
Pros: It pays to know what you are doing and if you don't watch our.
Cons: Your hardware must be compadible with the os or you're out of luck. It pays to have the latest drivers for all of it.
Reviewed By:steinwks,9/25/2014 11:16:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Fast shipping as always from Newegg ��. Bought this to replace Vista on a old but very capable PC I acquired. Probably will be used mostly as a HTPC. Windows 8 doesn't include WMC and requires you to buy additional software to get it.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,9/23/2014 6:03:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - 64-bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I like it a lot!
Pros: Works well; very well.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Did not think I would like 8.1. Was using VISTA 64 Ultimate for the last few years. But I actually can't see going back to VISTA now.
Only thing that did not work out of the box was the scanner on my HP Deskjet 8500. The Windows 8.1 drivers from HP took care of that issue.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 10:20:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 64-bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 OEM garbage...
Pros: zero
Cons: OEM = 1 license copy... i.e. never ever buy this. Just get the regular copy JUST IN CASE you ever want to install more than 1 copy of it somewhere.

Sigh...
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 12:53:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Operating Systems > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 Pro - Full Version (32 & 64-bit)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Better than original 8
Pros: Right click on the Start Button (now a white flag) and you get most of the admin stuff you miss. OS makes more efficient use of SSDs, UFIE BIOS, and USB 3.0 devices.
Cons: Files are still a pain to find (yes that was part of the start menu on 7), Metro tiles are still running in the background (part of services)
Other Thoughts: I liked 98-XP-7, and now starting to like 8.1. If you dont use the start menu to get to your programs, then this will work great for you. Otherwise, you will have to download third party software to get that feature back in a different form.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/22/2014 12:46:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau