Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Shipping Destination: United Kingdom
  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon Dictate for Mac 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dragon for Mac
Pros: It does work, and without Vista, Win7 or Win8
Cons: It is pathetically slow and inept. Anyone accustomed to working with Dragon year after year on Windows machines will be disappointed. I have not used it twice in over a year, and it is the main reason I keep buying old Windows machines.
Other Thoughts: While Microsoft market share and stock prices have declined steadily beginning with Vista and the killing off of Office 2003 for its lame replacements, Apple share and stocks have risen in a mirror image. If Apple were to accommodate speech recognition with even 90% success, it would skyrocket
Reviewed By:jhenryphillips,9/26/2014 9:24:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No longer the current version
Pros: Stellar product but people should know that this is no longer the current version. Right now, Parallels is up to version 10.
Cons: The price of updates is quite expensive. Parallels has begun charging about 50% of the list price each year for updates. For that reason alone, I've been looking at other products.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/19/2014 5:30:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Unparalleled?
Pros: - Installs VERY easily.
- Can install in VM _OR_ use existing BootCamp partition.
- Quite configurable for the button pushers and ini file tweakers among us.
Cons: What I received was a "software" box that one might expect if a DVD was involved. All you really get is an activation code. Waste of resources. Should just be able to get activation code directly from Parallels.com.
Reviewed By:Nerlson,8/24/2014 2:42:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Works as advertised; Allows you to install a license for Windows (or other OS(s) - even more that one of them) on your MAC to run those "Windows Only" applications you need even though you otherwise only use a MAC. It slows your Mac down a little but only when you have it running The Windows products. If you purchase it now (Around August 2014) they will automatically later send you a free upgrade to Parallels 10 which is compatible with the upcoming Yosemite OS for MAC and seems to function smoother and better than version 9 on my Mavericks current OS.
Cons: Could be a little better documented for the user on how things work and how to use it. REMEMBER you STILL have to have a legally licensed copy of the OS you wish to install like Windows.
Other Thoughts: Getting to a place where I can theoretically go MAC if I wish. My home has several NAS file servers and MANY Windows devices. LOTS of shared file folders. Many heavily used common applications. We are thinking of converting a number of replacement desktop and or laptop machines to Macs( when their time comes) .

Parallels is making our test machine closer and closer to being able to make that leap.
Reviewed By:Louis T,8/24/2014 5:20:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image for Mac - 1 Mac

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Questionable product MAY NOT WORK on MACS
Pros: Acronis name and history as a great WINDOWS imaging product ( I own and use several versions and have always been able to rely on it. The MAC version should be great, but unfortunately it isn't.
Cons: Terrible MAC PRODUCT. BUY at your own risk. Acronis fails to list the very extensive set of systems on which it simply DOES NOT work. They list only a few cases on their BOX and online marketing information under which the product doesn't work. Unfortunately when you have problems, they disclose more systems it doesn't work on- but only after you buy and try it! Here is a direct cut and paste from Acronis:

Not Supported Environments
- Macs with Bootcamp.
- Macs with Fusion Drive.
- File Vault 2.

Notice that it does not mention MACS using RAID at all. Well after wasting a week trying to figure out what was wrong, and sending them very extensive diagnostic files, they finally sent me a note saying that their product cannot work on Raid drive setups. (My Mac uses 2 HDs with Raid 1 for speed) What a shame, and what a problem that you cannot even rely on their own list of system requirements to know what is supposed to work and what is not. .
Other Thoughts: New Egg says it is not responsible for refunds for downloaded softea=ware. I certainly hope that they stand behind such software when the marketing information is materially in error leading the customer to buy something that doesn't work.

Acronis on the other hand essentially has a product that ONLY works on a very narrow set of MAC machines. They should more thoroughly disclose this in all of their marketing information and help customers avoid buying non-working software from them. They border on deceptive advertising here They should and must do a much better job going forward.
Reviewed By:Lou T.,8/15/2014 4:22:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Perfect for those who love their Macs, but have to use Windows products (Internet Explorer) for certain classes and websites.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I had heard about Parallels from a co-worker, and at first wasn't sure if I needed it. Then as I got into school work and noticed I needed to use IE for certain sites, I decided to try out the product. Parallels 8 was fantastic, but 9 is even better, runs faster, more options and doesn't seem to eat up as much memory as the older version. I love the fact of being able to run OS Mavericks and Windows 7 on the same machine at the same time.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/13/2014 11:33:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Well Documented Software
Pros: The software appears to be very stable. Whenever I have a question, I can Google it and find the answer either in online documentation or forums. I only needed to use their other support once and response was excellent.
Cons: Haven't found any
Other Thoughts: In these days of software with almost no documentation, Parallels desktop is a refreshing change. It is well that it is. I am a Mac newbie and wanted to still be able to run some Windows programs on my MacBook Pro, so I bought Parallels immediately after receiving my Mac. This is a situation where if something doesn't work in Windows, you're not sure who to contact, Apple, Microsoft or Parallels. I found that typing my question into Google would almost always yield an answer either from the Parallels documentation or its forum, so I have had to rely on direct support only once. My Windows in Mac clothing has been doing all I have expected of it.
Reviewed By:Erwin Straehley,8/13/2014 8:35:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Parallels 9
Pros: Access to my work

My virtual machine runs as fast as a Windows laptop. With Parallels 9 I have all my OS X and Windows work with me all the time. All my windows programs work correctly, and moving files between OS X and Windows is seamless. Use this emulator for whatever you need to do and it should work.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/7/2014 6:48:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Parallels - works for me
Pros: Believe the performance was much better that VM on an aging Macbook Pro running Mavericks OS X 10.9
Cost less than upgrade needed for VM.
Cons: None so far.
Other Thoughts: So much better......

I had to make a choice because of the recent release of Apple's new OS - Mavericks. I had been a constant user of VMWare for years, but when I was forced to upgrade my virtual environment because the version of VM that I had would not work, I decided to do an evaluation. WOW!! Performance was much better and ease of use still there. Migration from my old VM to Parallels was a snap. Bottom line - glad I made the switch. Cost was lower as well!!
Reviewed By:jkpalmer,8/6/2014 11:06:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Software!!
Pros: I love Parallels, it lets me have access to my MAC and Windows OS without having to reboot. Due to work related issues I am unable to open some of the software we use in the MAC OS and with Parallels everything works great letting me run those programs in windows.
Cons: None found
Reviewed By:Indio,8/6/2014 9:32:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2014 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site. nassau