Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Mac Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon Dictate for Mac 4.0 - Academic

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Love the software BUT.....
Pros: I love the Dragon Dictation software. Easy to setup and master. I would def. recommend this to someone.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Ordered this through Newegg and arrived beat up and the box smashed. I was afraid the headphones were damaged by the amount of damage done to the box itself but luckily it wasn't....I'd still be cautious ordering through them now
Reviewed By:Wes,1/16/2015 11:34:57 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac - CD Sleeve

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Can't Encrypt hard drive
Pros: It's a good VM for running your OS.
Cons: Can't encrypt your hard drive and run this program. This is an "Oh by the way" if your hard drive is encrypted it won't work because the OS won't see the new boot partition because it's encrypted.
Other Thoughts: You need to decide if you want to secure your data or run this program because you can't have it both ways.
Reviewed By:Mac,12/21/2014 8:28:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image for Mac - 1 Mac

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Redundant Software
Pros: - Duplicates Time Machine functionality.
- "Backup your Parallels virtual machine while it is running"
- Came bundled with other software.
Cons: - Perhaps I am ignorant, but I personally see absolutely no reason to buy or install this software. All functions covered by this software could also be done by Time Machine for free. To me, installing this software only wastes valuable disk space on my Mac.
Other Thoughts: - Save your money, buy an external hard drive and back up with the Time Machine.
Reviewed By:MrTichy,12/6/2014 3:43:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Greatly enjoying this product
Pros: Works extremely well! Integrates smoothly with Yosemite 10.10.1 including the "Coherence" integration with the dock and desktop. Runs Windows 8.1 and app effortlessly. This product has allowed me to get rid of my remaining Windows 7 desktop, move to Windows 8.1, yet retain a few key apps that are critical to me such as Quicken Windows and Office 2010 Pro. My goal was to simplify my computing world and after some investment of time, it has done that. Cut-and-paste works seamlessly between Windows and Mac apps.
Cons: Took quite a bit of fiddling to get the settings to work just as desired. Coherence (the integration with the dock) works very well, but some of the settings are buried in some confusing menus - you have to hunt around a bit. It's not suitable for a computer newbie, but with a modicum of ability you can make the product work extremely well. Some of the Windows-to-Mac process transfers don't work, but that's to be expected given their different mechanisms. So far, I've found simple workarounds.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I am very happy with Parallels Desktop. My goal was to eliminate a standalone Windows desktop, and that's exactly what I've been able to do. I did not try out the migration process, because I already knew that the Windows 7 and the Microsoft Office 2010 activations would not work on the new device, so I've bought new and installed clean.

You can quickly and easily switch between Coherence (integration with the Dock and Desktop) and traditional full-screen VM window. I find it helpful to use the full-screen when I do a lot of work with Windows-only structures, and it's great to switch back and forth.

I highly recommend Parallels if your goal is to focus on productivity, getting things done, and enjoying the power of Windows and other OS's within the stability and security of the Mac world.
Reviewed By:Ed C.,11/23/2014 7:06:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy as Pie!
Pros: I'm traditionally a Windows person, and I'm a Windows developer primarily, but recently I've come to appreciate the dark side. I've got a mac mini and love using it! I like the tools available to me and it's not Linux and the confusion that comes with which distro, how do I do that, blah blah. But, I do want to use Visual Studio. And that's not possible on a Mac (not just yet any way) so in the meantime, a KVM has been doing me, but I wanted something more integrated.

Parallels provides that. I've been using it for several hours, it was quick to set up and I even installed Windows of the DVD from my Windows PC! Flawless. And when it runs full screen, you wouldn't know I was on a Mac! I have never seen or used Parallels before.
Cons: I would love to be able to install this on multiple machines, I'd happily pay a *little* more to have a multi machine and be able to share the image.

Coherence mode (having the windows appear like any other mac window) really punished my system ( I was installing so will try again) not a big con.
Other Thoughts: Does exactly what I was aiming to do, and makes it easy.
Reviewed By:Terry,11/14/2014 8:49:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac - CD Sleeve

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will work with Yosemite but slower than v. 10.
Pros: - Will work with Yosemite.
- Comes bundled with another software title.
Cons: - Contrary to previous review, there will be no free upgrades to version 10 unless you made a purchase between 08/01/2014 and 10/15/2014.
- Missing some new features found in version 10.
- Slower than version 10.
Other Thoughts: - If you plan on running Yosemite, you should buy verion 10.
Reviewed By:MrTichy,11/7/2014 11:56:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac - CD Sleeve

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Yay! for Free Upgrade
Pros: Great Price at $24.99 and a free upgrade to v10! Can't be beat.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,10/26/2014 12:11:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 10 for Mac

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Horrible Support
Pros: None that I know of -- I couldn't get it installed.
Cons: Horrible customer support. I had a problem installing it. Called Customer Support. The person I "talked" to had such a thick accent I had great difficulty understanding. She evidently had the same problem as her line of questions made absolutely no sense. "What version of OS X do you have?" "Snow Leopard" "We don't support that." "OK, what if I upgrade to Mavericks?" "We only support Snow Leopard Server" For 38 minutes we went around and around, returning to "What version of OS X" several times. When I asked to speak to her supervisor she ignored the request, as if I hadn't said it. When I asked again a bit later she simply hung up.
Reviewed By:RI_Al,10/12/2014 9:51:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon Dictate for Mac 3.0

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dragon for Mac
Pros: It does work, and without Vista, Win7 or Win8
Cons: It is pathetically slow and inept. Anyone accustomed to working with Dragon year after year on Windows machines will be disappointed. I have not used it twice in over a year, and it is the main reason I keep buying old Windows machines.
Other Thoughts: While Microsoft market share and stock prices have declined steadily beginning with Vista and the killing off of Office 2003 for its lame replacements, Apple share and stocks have risen in a mirror image. If Apple were to accommodate speech recognition with even 90% success, it would skyrocket
Reviewed By:jhenryphillips,9/26/2014 9:24:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Mac Software > Parallels > Parallels Desktop 9 for Mac

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 No longer the current version
Pros: Stellar product but people should know that this is no longer the current version. Right now, Parallels is up to version 10.
Cons: The price of updates is quite expensive. Parallels has begun charging about 50% of the list price each year for updates. For that reason alone, I've been looking at other products.
Reviewed By:N/A,9/19/2014 5:30:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.