Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Ultimate 2015 - Unlimited Devices / 2 Years

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 To Good To Be True
Pros: None
Cons: A nightmare to install on more then one computer. AVG "Zen" system will not recognize multiple computers as having a license so it installs as the time limited freeware. Finally got that solved after numerous calls and emails with India. Then it automatically installs an upgrade on all the computers and, yes, its the time limited freeware again. It doesn't recognize my two year unlimited PC license. Uninstalling from all computers and will buy Norton or McAfee.
Reviewed By:NoNick,1/24/2015 8:53:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Multi-Device - 5 Devices

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Kaspecrap
Pros: free
Cons: missed a lot of malware and adware.......was free with a laptop - I7 I purchased. Had to rebuild laptop. Replaced it with Avast.
Reviewed By:AP,1/24/2015 12:23:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Malwarebytes > Malwarebytes Anti-Malware Premium 2.0 - 3 PCs / 1 Year

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good tool to use, of many.
Pros: It blocks bad websites for malware. Does updates and scans automatically. I recommend, install, and resell this on many of my customer's systems. This OEM version is good for 3 systems (at one site) for 1 year
Cons: Cost, can be bought online from the Malwarebytes site for $5 less. Only good for 3 systems for 1 year in the same household. When I resell this to a customer that only has one system, the other 2 uses go unused.

It doesn't offer a bootable media option to remove Rootkit issues. Need to use MBAR, and other bootable tools to get rid of malware that loads when the OS starts.
Other Thoughts: Miss the single system, lifetime version. Could install that on a system, and if the computer is replaced, could be uninstalled and reinstalled it on their new one.

This is just one of many utility programs I use when a customer brings a system in. I start out with Malwarebytes' TechBench to scan the system, and install Malwarebytes, but often have to use MBAR, Hitman Pro, and other tools to remove malware that this program doesn't always catch and clean. Once the system is clean, then I offer to resell this program with the service, or leave the free trial on for them to use.
Reviewed By:gbscs,1/23/2015 3:17:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Protection 2015 - Unlimited Devices / 2 Years (Internet Security)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 better than Free AV
Pros: My friend infected his PC. I tried MSFT SE first and it found one virus, but not the destructive one. I downloaded the free AVG and it offered the full version on trial. It removed 5 others MSFT didn't fine. I will cease the free AV and go for full versions. AVG did me fine so I bought iot
Cons: They do give you occasional pop ups for other products. Just click them away if you're not interested.
Other Thoughts: I was very happy as to the amount of time I save in not having to restore a PC.
Reviewed By:dmadesign,1/23/2015 10:49:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG AntiVirus 2015 - 3 PCs / 2 Years

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 trying to get the rebate for this is a joke
Pros: cheap IF you ever see the rebate.
Cons: stay away from any item with a rebateshq.com rebate attached to it. they have gone out of their way not to pay out this rebate. even admitted they received it and its valid. 2 months later, i'm still getting the run around. they even close chat sessions on you for no reason.
Reviewed By:rebateshq steals,1/23/2015 9:26:01 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Multi-Device - 5 Devices

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste og good moneyNo matter how cheap.
Pros: None, just a lot of extras you do not need and get in the way.
Cons: Eats your memory, processor, interferes with your software, Block your internet and especially Firefox at times.
Other Thoughts: I found a 90 day giveaway and thought cool. I still had about three months left on Eset which had become a pain.
A good trade off right. Created my account that did not work when I tried logging in because of problems. My key was not to be found. My software utilities which I know to be safe was found as malware. Etc. I loved KIS back in 2012. It is a big ole piece of junk now,
Reviewed By:davhag50,1/20/2015 12:34:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Multi-Device - 5 Devices

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best AV Software I've Used
Pros: * Fast
* Comprehensive
* Frequent updates
Cons: * I notice attempting to use the web immediately on startup doesn't work. Kapersky appropriately blocks it until it is running and able to secure the connection. This can feel awfully slow, though it probably adds less than a minute to startup.
Other Thoughts: I've used just about every AV software out there... From Disinfectant on a Mac years ago to several versions of Norton, to McAffee, etc. Kapersky is elegant, comprehensive, and introduces way less lag than anything else I've used (except perhaps Disinfectant, which no longer exists and which didn't do 1/10th of what modern AV software does.)

I use both the "Kapersky Internet Security" and their "Pure 3.0" product (due to pricng and multi-computer deals at the time). I prefer "Internet Security" as it covers the need without adding bloat. Though either one is actually very good.
Reviewed By:HumanJHawkins,1/20/2015 9:01:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Protection 2015 - Unlimited Devices / 1 Year (Internet Security)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great AVG Protection!
Pros: I have had this program on my Samsung Galaxy S4 (Downloaded from Goolge Play) for a couple of months now and I absolutely love it. I have had the trial version of this program and decided to upgrade. The interface of the program is very well set up and manageable. The security works great. For it has removed a couple of harmful programs that I did not even know I had on my desktop.
Cons: The only Con I have found is that it blocks some of the files that I know are safe but want to download. I just have to turn off the internet security part of the program then turn it back on after. But this is to be expected.
Reviewed By:4230MT,1/20/2015 6:45:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Total Defense > Total Defense Premium Internet Security - 5 User

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 do rebate accurately; make sure you don't get burned
Pros: used it 1 year and did not get infected (as claimed by it and by mcafee which I just installed after subscription ended)--then again, I'm careful about where I go. It did detect a nuisance joke program that I knew I had backed up from another machine--one of those move the mouse around things so it was a legitimate joke program but not necessarily desired
Cons: rebate process. I'll admit I bought it cause it was free after rebate. But they tried to deny the rebate like they apparently do for lots of others. claimed I didn't send copy of invoice. They'll send a link to rebate status, make sure you read it and that they aren't denying cause if you don't do it in time, they'll use it against you also. Mine claimed I did not send copy of invoice. Clicking on link clearly showed the invoice scanned by them. I responded to the email, they didn't respond back for several days so I called and got it resolved. You do have to activate pretty much immediately to get rebate (annoying if your current AV is still active) and give a credit card (more annoying but after getting rebate I immediately turned off the renewal and then wiped out credit card info)
install: box version installed but then when checked for updates, seemed to just get new version and tried to install over which made 2 copies and broke it--scans would not work--support staff seems to always want to remote onto your machine even before listening to you--could have just told me to uninstall all copies. They basically gave me a link to install the "online" version--that seemed to work and is what I used for other machines
chrome plugin gets disabled cause it's not acknowledged in google store--when I told them this, this seemed to be a suprise and they didn't believe me. Again wanted to remote to my machine. Clicked everywhere, then put me on with some other guy who installed a bunch of other things and claimed I had registry issues and wanted credit card number. When I asked why, he said it was for an extended support plan. I promptly refused saying my problems are with your product not supporting chrome and not any registry problems. When they sent email about satisfaction with support and I said "no", got another call and email wanting to connect again to my machine--I told them they've done it enough, I don't need to test your issues with chrome, your plugin gets disabled by chrome and you can test it for yourself, it happened on every machine with different versions of windows. Send me email when you fix it, I don't need to test it for you. They never sent email and don't think they fixed it. Chrome tells you why they disabled it so fix it.
When I eventually did uninstall it on the machine that gave me problems, it again caused issues. Left service entries that no longer have the program left (causes error messages in logs), plus filter driver references (more error messages--and those I blasted using regedit--not something casual user would know how to do). I could see their problems, some paths had "CA", some "Total Defense" others "TotalDefense" so parts of program haven't been updated from computer associates, others shove spaces in paths, etc. So uninstall sometimes looks in the wrong places for some things.
I would have used free rebate for junk machine but bet they'd deny rebate as I got it last year knowing the
Other Thoughts: if you generally are careful where you go online, this probably will work for you. Make sure you do your rebate timely and watch for notifications. Save copies of everything you send them cause they seem to like to deny you--guess that's how they get around free copies. Turn off auto renewal and zap your credit card when you get rebate
Reviewed By:jd,1/20/2015 2:39:33 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Ultimate 2015 - Unlimited Devices / 2 Years

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 OUTRIGHT FRAUD
Pros: PC desktop Internet Security installed fine
Cons: Antivirus Pro for Android requires additional payment, absolutely the worst technical support, hung up, spent 2 hours, still can't install PRO version before paying. If I spend anymore time to try to install, I would loose money.
Other Thoughts: Like so many companies, the thought of overseas paid support saves money for companies, but in reality, cost so much more time and aggravation on the consumers, and loyalty. When will these companies learn....... when they have no more customers?? Has greed gotten this bad
Reviewed By:N/A,1/19/2015 2:20:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.