Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Windows Win
Pros: Downloaded quick easy and without any issues. Daughter loves the new OS.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:happypappy,4/8/2016 2:28:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked well
Pros: Installed easily after downloading from microsoft site.
Cons: None.
Reviewed By:Joseph Y.,3/12/2016 3:03:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I just threw my money out the Windows on this one!
Pros: None, since I could not install it despite an undeserved amount of time troubleshooting. This product is not ready for sale to the public.
Cons: Paid for an OS that won't install. I tried to do a clean install on a new SSD drive. Something in my computer BIOS or hardware must not be compatible because the install freezes the minute the blue Windows splash appears and the boot disk will just keep reading for however long I let it. This isn't a tech forum so I will spare you all the troublehsooting details, just be warned that you roll the dice if you wanna purchase this one! No refunds.
Reviewed By:Nathaniel G.,3/8/2016 6:25:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Free Upgrade Didn't Work So Well
Pros: Booted faster than W7.
Cons: This is just a note of caution for those who are considering the free W10 upgrade (from W7 or W8/8.1).

After taking the upgrade from W7 to W10 on a Clevo notebook, I found that my LAN no longer worked. So I uninstalled the LAN driver and reinstalled it and it didn't solve the issue. I then found that some of my programs would no longer open. I contacted the seller and after spending about an hour with tech support they were unable to solve the problem and suggested I call Microsoft. So I phoned Microsoft and they finally offered that it was a driver issue and suggested I revert back to W7 until Clevo offered W10 drivers for my specific model.

Before I did that, I contacted Clevo and they told me they had no specific time frame for delivering W10 drivers for earlier models (mine is 8 months old).

After reverting to W7, the LAN worked fine but some of the programs opened VERY slow. So I uninstalled and reinstalled them and they still would not run properly.

Finally, I just wiped the OS drive and did a fresh install of W7 plus drivers and everything is back to normal.

(Note: I have a second older Clevo notebook (19 months old) and as a test I removed the OS drive, installed another one, did a fresh install of W7 and then did the free W10 upgrade -- and the same thing happened; the LAN would not work. Fortunately, all I had to do was reinsert the original drive.)

This issue may well be specific to Clevo products and their derivatives, but I am just passing this along to make people aware that the free W10 upgrade, on some computers, can cause problems.

That being said, W10 booted significantly faster than W7 (boot time went from 20 seconds to 14 on a Samsung 850 Pro SSD), and with my short experience, I believe I liked W10 a little better overall. I will try again when Clevo issues W10 drivers for their earlier notebooks.

Bottom line: If you plan to take the free W10 upgrade, I would strongly recommend creating a System Image backup prior to doing so, and/or -- clone your current OS drive and see how the W10 upgrade works on the cloned drive before installing it on your primary OS drive. As I stated earlier, my revision back to W7 did not turn out so well. It may also turn out that even with a fresh install from a W10 paid disc, your W7/W8 drivers may not be fully compatible with W10.
Reviewed By:Bruce C.,3/6/2016 4:24:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Surprisingly easy process
Pros: - Speed of installation
- Ease of installation
- Order process
Cons: - Start menu is not resolved until Classic Shell is installed
- Cortana
Other Thoughts: I waited to install this until the OS had been properly vetted; I was a beta tester and was not impressed. Now that the upgrades have been made to the system, I changed my mind first after buying a new laptop that had the consumer version - it was better than the beta and this convinced me to take that old beta system and to turn it into a Win 10 pro system - and then I upgraded two other laptops that had Win 8.1 on them - and did all three one at a time and still finished in less than five hours total time.

If you really want a start menu, download Classic Shell and you will have a real Windows 7 (or earlier type, your option) and you can still access the live tiles clicking on a link at the top of the left column of the new start menu.

I've found that disabling cortana is good and if you pay attention to the setup, you can resolve most of the privacy issues with Win 10 at that point.

Two of my computers had display driver issues but I found that these Dells worked well with the Vista driver from Dell's site using the service code to find the driver. Since they were the same models, once I had the driver for the first one, I installed quickly after Win 10 was installed.

I remember how long it used to take to install previous versions of Windows so this was one of the smoothest yet. I liked Windows 8.1 but found that there are no compelling reasons NOT TO UPGRADE given the actions to the caveats that I note above.
Reviewed By:Carroll P.,2/27/2016 10:29:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Best Windows yet by far
Pros: - No issues with install
- opens and runs apps super fast
- never seen a blue screen
- backwards compatible to a great extent, but obviously not all software
- when installing "old" software does so with ease
- have had minimal to no issues with installs
Cons: - only issue, and this so minor, is that when setting up my wifi printer had to correct it's IP address in order to it to print or fax
Other Thoughts: I noticed a lot of mixed reviews on this product, but I couldn't be happier. I have never been one to sing the praises of any Windows product, but this OS is impressive.

Ok, now lets address why the 4. The product is great but.....I ordered the "Full Version 32 & 64 Bit (Download)", well it isn't a full version. It is not a bootable version, which is a big deal if you're doing a clean install on a brand new system which has no software on it, i.e. you can't install the software, no way no how. Ok, web tech support and human tech at MS tells you that you can create a bootable disk, but not true. After spending a great deal of time following the instructions on the website and than more than an hour and 15 mins with a real live technician the conclusion was: "oh can't be done, you need to contact the parts department and have them send you a USB drive with the software that will be a bootable drive". So another $48 later MS sent me the drive. Yeah, neither Newegg nor MS would send me a bootable drive for the software I purchased. Software that was a "Full Version", yeah that's really pathetic. You heard right, $110 software cost me a $158. I didn't have a choice had to pay the extra $48 in order to get the software. So after all is said and done and write to customer service at Newegg and MS to voice my displeasure, and what was their response? Well Newegg got back to me and made the nice gesture to pay half my MS bill. MS - radio silence.
Reviewed By:Carmine P.,2/24/2016 11:52:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 8.1 (Full Version) - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awsome Upgrade
Pros: Works flawlessly and my 5 year old loves it on his PC. Child friendly.
Cons: No issues what so ever.
Other Thoughts: Upgraded to windows 10 Home edition now.
Reviewed By:Michael S.,2/17/2016 8:49:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not as bad as I expected
Pros: Runs seamlessly on my fresh gaming rig.
Downloaded and installed off flash drive perfectly.
Cons: I came from Windows 7 and this new layout is a bit challenging to navigate through. I'll get the hang of it soon enough.
Seems like now that I purchased it, Windows 10 is on sale everywhere.
Other Thoughts: I read so many reviews bashing Microsoft b/c of the built-in spyware, bloatware, etc. When you're installing the new OS, you can disable quite a bit of those things. For everything else, I just use DoNotSpy10--seems to work just fine. Overall, it's not a bad OS, just takes some getting used to for those of us who stuck with trusty Windows 7 for this long. Gotta keep up with the times I suppose.
Reviewed By:Alexis S.,2/16/2016 3:20:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Loaded with spyware, bandwidth hog.
Pros: None I can think of
Cons: Loaded with spyware and everything defaults to on. Some spyware is built in and cannot be turned off. This is why Microsoft gave this O.S. away - because they make more money when it is installed (a steady revenue stream from spyware data sale) than they would get from your one-time purchase.
Other Thoughts: Microsoft is gradually becoming obsolete anyway. Linux is far superior in nearly every way and 100% free software in most cases (ubuntu has some minimal spyware). If you're a gamer and your game is built for Microsoft, I guess Direct X upgrade makes this worth it to you.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/30/2016 6:30:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Operating Systems - Download > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows 10 Home - Full Version 32 & 64-Bit (Download)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 not as bad as people think
Pros: Easy install with MS media tool onto usb. Had windows up in...idk...30-40min? I was half asleep.
Cons: Takes a bit to get used to after switching from 7 but I have no complaints. Look into getting a clean install and say no to the built in spy stuff.
Other Thoughts: Do your homework and it's actually better.
Reviewed By:Kantouch,1/8/2016 4:20:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.