Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Webroot Software, Inc. > AntiVirus 2015 3 Device 1 Year PC - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Newegg used to be a reliable vendor
Pros: I've used webroot for a couple years now.. I choose it because it consumes negligible resources.
Cons: Not sure if the product works as I'm still waiting for Newegg to give me the product key.
Other Thoughts: This time I chose the digital download and I'm waiting for Newegg to give me the product key so I can install the product I bought yesterday. The key is not written on the invoice, though that would be a convenient place for it. And on the order history page, the product key is masked with asterisks *********. I'm waiting in a queue to chat with a "live" representative. I was #5 in the queue when I started. The robot service estimated 5 minutes and 46 seconds to wait. It has been over 20 minutes. Wasting my time in line simply because newegg doesn't staff their support center adequately to respond to their many mistakes apparently.. As one who has relied on Newegg for almost all my electronics purchases in the past 15 years, I'm disappointed that Newegg seems to have been taken over by greedy pigs who have no regard for their customers. Customer service was where they used to shine. I often paid a slightly higher price to buy from newegg because I knew I could count on them. Now they are just another lame website.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/29/2015 8:38:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2015 3 User - Download

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Wait until they change
Pros: does the job
Cons: Kaspersky Response to my complaint
I do apologize for the inconvenience that you're having issues with Kaspersky injecting scripts to Firefox and I understand how important it is for you to get this issue fixed. Rest assured that I am here to help you.

In order for Plugin-less technology to work, Kaspersky injects the corresponding main.js script into all webpages that are being browsed in three supported browsers (Chrome, Firefox, IE), this script is considered to be the "transport" between the browser and our product.

This is not really considered a bug, even though Bug 1137492 was submitted. Such behavior will likely be changed in 2016 MR1 (WebSocket will be used). Diagnostics are not required. We will keep you posted as soon as we release the patch.
This, obviously, caused some trouble to web developers, as the script sends Ajax GET requests every 2 seconds in every single browser tab that is open. The only work around to disable this is to pause protection completely and/or Exit K.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/28/2015 3:50:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Multi- Device 2015 5 User - Download

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Leap of faith
Pros: Seems promising with the broad platform it covers. Mac,Windows and android. Seems to do the job just fine.
Cons: One thing seems to bother me the most...the Scan. I'm running an i7 3770k with ssd and It take way to long for it to complete an entire scan. Might I mention I went from Norton to Kaspersky, Norton typical would take 15-30min for an entire scan. Also, the frustration with Pop ups for account registering!!!
Reviewed By:N/A,8/26/2015 8:32:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Trend Micro, Inc. > TREND MICRO Antivirus 2015 1 User 1 Year - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great AntiVirus!
Pros: Easy to install and use. So far, no problems at all. I would recommend to my friends.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 4:53:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Trend Micro, Inc. > TREND MICRO Antivirus 2015 1 User 1 Year - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Love it
Pros: Excellent software with great feature set. If someone asks for great protection, I always recommend Trent.
Cons: Software is kind of pricey.
Other Thoughts: Great choice if price is not a issue.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/23/2015 11:23:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Kaspersky Lab > Kaspersky Anti-Virus 2015 1 User - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Antivirus itself acts like a Virus
Pros: Used to be a fan of Kaspersky because of its simplicity, efficiency and lightweight resource usage.
Cons: Recently they have started doing some weird things like:

- Injecting their own SSL certificate globally on every browser, every page. So if you visit a secure site like https://bankofamerica.com, the certificate that shows up in the address bar is not of bankofamerica, but Kaspersky Antivirus.

- Doing so allows them to perform "Man in the middle" or MITM attack; and they inject a script on every page that you visit.

- You can trust them because they are "good" guys, right?

- The script injected "calls home" repeatedly, endlessly. Heavens forbid if you're paying for bandwidth, but even so, why would make a call 100 times a second for every tab you have open?

I reached out to their support and they had nothing to offer other than "we heard your feedback and we'll ponder on it. But we do not have a patch right now. So you can either live with or disable the protection."
Other Thoughts: As told by their support, I uninstalled Kaspersky and now am looking for a competitor probably Bitdefender or something.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/22/2015 2:38:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > Trend Micro, Inc. > TREND MICRO Maximum Security 2015 1 User 1 Year - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Trend Always Works!!!
Pros: Non-invasive, does not slow my system down except when scanning hard drives for viruses...
Cons: Only slow when it scans my computer doing a full scan - but not much...
Other Thoughts: Have used Trend Micro clear back when it was called PC-Cillin - will probably always use their products...
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 8:48:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > BitDefender > Bitdefender Anti-Virus 2015 3 PCs / 1 Year - Download

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: None
Cons: Despite what it says in the specifications this product will not install on Windows XP SP3.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/19/2015 2:56:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Ultimate 2015 Unlimited Devices / 2 Years - Download

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 It's a great deal for the price
Pros: I go this one a few weeks ago on special. It works, bottom line. I created my account with avg, downloaded the latest install file, it installed zen, internet security/av, tune-up, privacy fix, and web tuneup is left for you to install manually if you so choose. Key thing here is patience, just let it all install itself, then restart the computer, that's it! You can setup the features any way you'd like after that.

I have 3 PCs, 1 Laptop, 5 Cellphones, and 1 tablet linked all to the same account, I created. I am not sure how someone can mess this part up honestly.

Zen is akin to a very diluted network management system, like spiceworks or solarwinds, which I am fan of using, keeps the home devices for me and my family all connected in the zen gui and informs me of any errors or pending tasks for any of the devices listed. Again, it's a diluted version, so it will only keep tabs on the avg programs themselves, it won't tell you of anything else in the computer that might be wrong, but that's not their job, avg zen is meant to keep track of avg products and it delivers very well on that front.

The pc tuneup program is very agile and full featured. When performing disk cleanup and registry cleanup, it found things that CCleaner missed, which surprised me, so I checked each and every registry entry that avg found to make sure it wasn't a critical key and render the computer unable to boot or have to boot into safe mode to fix the issue. I did this on all 3 PCs and laptop, it was not a fun day, but I'm a stickler for thoroughness, especially when it comes to the registry. To say I was surprised is an understatement, when I verified that everything that avg found was legitimate and was overlooked by CCleaner, left me a bit speechless. I would still wholeheartedly recommend CCleaner, because at the end of the day, it's free and works, avg just works a bit better but with a price of course.

The Privacy fix is a neat addition, it checks your online presence and "market value" to ad business. For this I use ADB plus, but again, avg found things that could not be checked by ADB so not necessarily a mark on ADB, just that avg goes the extra mile. It checks your Facebook, Google, and browsing settings to make sure you are as secure as you'd like to be. How well does this work is beyond my scope of knowledge to be honest, but it does explain how the recommendations work.

For Mobile devices, it's a bit tricky to install, but still nothing overly complicated (read Cons and Other thoughts for more detail). I use Clean Master to clear out caches and free up memory on my personal cellphones, so I am not too sure on how well avg performs on that. Same with the anti virus, since no one else uses my phone, never had to deal with viruses or malware, so no real results their either. The anti-theft features seem to work as intended (camera trap and Anti-Theft Password Commands) have not tested remote wipe or sim lock out yet, for good reason.
Cons: A few things that I see as negatives in the whole process of setting all devices and features up.

1. The email sent to setup each new device has a download link for an install file, but it's a trial period install, so it will say you have 30 days to buy a license (view Other thoughts for detailed steps on install).

2. The anti-theft website does not accept special characters, I was unaware, neither was support, so it took about 2 weeks for them to reply back and inform me to make the password without special characters (I use password generators like Keepass, so that was easy enough). The password it's referring to is the password you create when creating your avg account to activate the software, keep that in mind to avoid confusion.

3. The Anti-Theft GPS locate option does not seem to work, out of 20 or so attempts with the various cellphones, it only located 1 phone once, all had their gps on, tried with the phones locked, with them unlocked, while using google maps, nothing seems to work. All the other options like alarm, camera, message, etc options work fine though. Still though, GPS Location is a huge letdown due to how useful that feature actually is compared to all the other ones.
Other Thoughts: Guide on installing on computers:
1st device:

1. go to avg site and activate key and register account

2. Just download AVG Internet Security for pc or AVG antivirus for mac, those are full install files, so they will install all other products for you as well.

3. when installing zen, login with your un/pw you used in step 1.

4. sit and wait for all features to auto install, you will get messages to restart or take action on certain features already, but ignore them all, wait until AV, TuneUp, Privacy fix, are all installed (the circle won't be filled up, you just want them to say they are installed is all).

5. Once you see all features installed, restart the computer and start configuring each software 1 at a time (don't perform a full scan and run Tuneup cleaning at the same time, that's how errors occur).

6. Once you finish running through each software again and followed the instructions from each one eg: restart again, then you are pretty much done, unless you know the Firewall or AV exceptions you may need to apply, but those are on a software by software basis.

Subsequent computer installs:
*Don't use the add devices button, pretty useless email is sent*

1. The install file you downloaded in the previous steps, put that on a usb for fastest deployment (unless you have a server, then just add it to a network folder share).

1a. If you don't have a usb, have your avg un/pw handy, because you'll be using it for each computer you install it on. Log on to avg account and download file from step 2 above.

2. Follow steps 3-6 from above

Optional Step: If you only want 1 computer or certain computers to have full view of the devices on the network, after each install, go to Zen and from your un select log out as administrator, the device stays on the network, but won't list all others.

Mobile Devices:

1. Download the AVG apps you plan to use

2. Once you have all of them on your phone, open up the AVG Antivirus app and log in with your un/pw from your avg account

3. All your avg apps will be upgraded to pro license

4. Go through each app to configure your settings

Check for completeness:

1. After each device is configured, check on your avg Zen to make sure it's on the network, this includes the phones

2. After that, check the phones show up listed in the avg anti-theft site for your account.

Not a big fan of AVs, but for the price ($20/2yr/unlim) I couldn't pass up the opportunity. Just because I don't like AVs doesn't mean my family doesn't like or need them, so always take that into account. I used AVG Free back in late 2000s before the bloating started, but seems like the paid version does away with most of that, or at least minimizes the system impact. If you read all of this, just get it, you obviously are interested enough to read a mini novel on it, also, here is an internet smile, wink, and thumbs up for sticking around this long on this review.
Reviewed By:N/A,8/9/2015 1:35:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Categories > Antivirus & Internet Security > AVG > AVG Ultimate 2015 Unlimited Devices / 1 Year - Download

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 No issues
Pros: Easy Installation on wide variety of devices. Downloaded on flash drive and used to install on several computers. when it comes to phone, tablet, there is a separate download. you visit the site via the device you want to install. create an AVG account and log in via the device. download and install.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:N/A,8/8/2015 1:32:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg International Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.