Skip to: |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

  • Wish List
  • Feedback
  • Help
Search all
Search
Home
Home - United Kingdom > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 Unlimited - 1 Device

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Acronis To The Rescue
Pros: Acronis has a great set of tools to image, clone, or restore boot drives.
Seagate and Western Digital both offer free versions of Acronis with limited features.
That is an excellent endorsement of Acronis True Image.
Cons: Restoring an image or even making a backup will infrequently cause the system to not boot. That happens with all the imaging products I have tried.
Other Thoughts: I have used Acronis since version 11, pre 2009 name, after Norton gave up the Ghost....
Acronis is very reliable, but not perfect. It is essential that you have the os installer disk or make the repair disk to solve unexpected boot issues. Since Windows 8, UEFI, and GPT have become the norm for new systems, all the system imaging programs have been challenged to keep up with all the variables associated with Microsoft's Secure Boot technology. This has made it hard for the OEMs to keep up with the changes to the motherboard, MBR, and Bios. I have had unexpected boot failures while resizing Windows partitions using Windows built in tools.
If you are imaging PCs made for Windows 8 or newer you should be prepared with alternative live CD or USB boot devices and/or the repair disk or installer disk for your OS.
Reviewed By:dleippe,3/31/2015 1:04:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 w/ Disk Director 12 Bundle

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 A Bridge TOO FAR!!
Pros: None.
Cons: As mentioned by other users, the 2015 edition is completely non-intuitive and many important feature ( e.g. ability to add a date to the file name) have disappeared. I have been using Acronis TI for years and it has saved me innumerable times, but I uninstalled 2015 and reinstalled 2014. What is wrong with their development team that they put out such drek !?

There are MANY who HATE the WIN 8 GUI and do not even use it. Why emulate it in the new 2015 product?

One other thing: Why, when you start a restore from within the program do they insist on permanently changing your BIOS startup setting? I have to change the entire BIOS startup priority each time I make the mistake of restoring from within the Windows program GUI. To avoid this, place Acronis Recovery Disk in your CD/DVD drive, restart, Press F9 repeatedly immediately when computer begins to reboot, and boot from the drive that contains the Recovery Disk ,then follow onscreen instructions. Makes things a lot easier, especially if you have no idea how to deal with your BIOS. If you call Acronis with the BIOS issue, they will swear that it was not their program that changed everything and offer no help. After a lot of frustrating problem solving, it IS THEIR PROGRAM'S PROBLEM!
Reviewed By:Frustrated,3/31/2015 11:18:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 Unlimited - 1 Device

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Acronis booting problems
Pros: Excellent tool for creating image backups
Cons: Not always as easy to restore as you might like
Other Thoughts: This is primarily a response to the one star review from a user who claims they are unable to boot their machine after recovery. I have used Acronis frequently over several years and I agree that this is sometimes an issue. I am aware of certain conditions that create the problem but almost always the fix is quite easy. Simply put in a copy of the OS disk (eg Windows 7 disk) after recovery. Boot from the CD and do a disk repair. You will have to do the disk repair twice but after the second time your image will most likely boot. It is a bit tedious and rather annoying but has worked for me well over 90% of the time when I run into problems.
Reviewed By:pmckenna,3/31/2015 8:34:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product more than 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2015 - 1 PC (DVD Case)

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Some Problems
Pros: The disc that you get won't load, or play. You have to download the program and use the code on the disc in order to get the program. Seems to work ok, just seems cheesy to send a non functioning disc. I wish you could be more selective about what you automatically back up.
Cons: Non working disc
Reviewed By:Toejam,3/29/2015 1:11:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Pro - 1 PC - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A useful tool with alot of marketing hype
Pros: Recommended by HowToGeek. Several good posts from them where they talk about this product made me check it out. It's a very useful tool for sifting through the junk on our machines.

I got this at an insanely low price. Look for a sale. That full retail price is too much. You can find a lightweight version of this product as a free download if you want to try it out. For me it was worth buying the full product.
Cons: It's not a miracle cure to all of my ills, like the marketing may lead me to believe. I don't believe that it makes my machine significantly faster or anything. Deleting things like internet cache and image thumbnail cache actually makes the machine slower when it needs to rebuild them. But a periodic cleaning is a very good idea. This is a very useful tool for tasks like this.
Other Thoughts: This tool helped me to get a handle on all the cookies, fragments of garbage left behind by incomplete uninstalls and alot of other stuff that I had been ignorant about collecting on my computer. Now I have put together lists of cookies for it to keep (because some of them are good) and can periodically clean out invalid references in the registry (be careful with that part of the tool though.) . I don't use it on startup like it wants and I don't want it nagging me all the time (monitoring) but I have it run daily on a schedule to keep certain things which I have defined in order. It's a pretty powerful tool for automating this stuff.
Reviewed By:Randall H.,3/29/2015 1:22:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is Somewhat High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > AVG > AVG Performance 2015 - Unlimited Devices / 2 Years

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A necessary evil good discount
Pros: Does what it says it does.
cleans registries and broken links
checks for bad settings in system setup
discount and rebate made product free.
Cons: It discounts windows defrag and suggests AVG defrag product.
It discounts windows firewall and favors AVG firewall product
It turns off windows fade and transparency options for lesser cards, though they can perform function, making Windows 7 look like windows 95. all to save a couple windows resources.
Other Thoughts: used product on acer one ao722 and gateway fx6840-01e i7, 8GB, 1GB radeon 5570 video card.
while it fixes directories, in optimization, it turns off windows features to give more resources to card, but since I only do video intensive things in full screen mode the optimization is moot, and had to be undone in control panel.
I recommend the product for free. who wouldn't?
Reviewed By:RJ,3/25/2015 10:57:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Acronis Inc. > Acronis True Image 2014 - 1 PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works for me
Pros: does cloning and scheme backups with scheduling
and has done it for years
Cons: none so far.
Other Thoughts: when it comes to scheduling and recovery it only works with the same backup scheme (i,e. incremental will only recover incremental) ect, ect,
i made this mistake for along time and thought something was wrong with the software, but it was me...so if you backup with a differential backup you must recover that, not backing-up a scheduled incremental and try to recover from a differential or visa versa...it will fail constantly,acronis true image 2014 is pretty stable i have them on all 4 of my pc's with no problems for years and i do schedule backups twice a week.
Reviewed By:228rod,3/24/2015 6:46:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Professional – Unlimited Home Use

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simply the best!!!!!!
Pros: This is the best software on the market to keep your PC nice and tidy. Cleans temp files, browser leftovers, and plenty of other fragments left behind.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:SR-71 Blackbird,3/23/2015 8:06:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > NUANCE > NUANCE Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 Home Voice Recognition Software

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like this functionality
Pros: Gets the speech to the page. This tool is helping me to create more natural dialog elements in my young adult fiction novel.
Cons: It is a bit challenging for the application to learn "new" words. I'm creating a fictional world with fictional names, and the "learning" tool isn't recognizing my made up dictionary. I can live with that, tho.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad it was on sale for $19 when I purchased it, otherwise I still wouldn't have it.
Reviewed By:worthim,3/20/2015 8:12:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Categories > Utility & Backup > Piriform Ltd > Piriform CCleaner Professional – Unlimited Home Use

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No change
Pros: I don't know
Cons: If it helped my system in any way I can't see it, at least in performance.
I paid for it, at the discounted price, but I did pay for it.
Other Thoughts: Now the free download of "Defraggler" decreased my start up time from 4-5 min. to 1-2 min.! Download it from the same site that makes CCleaner!
Reviewed By:Clint,3/17/2015 7:56:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
Shop by Region: United States | Canada | China | Taiwan
VeriSign Click for the BBB Business Review of this Computers - Supplies & Parts in Whittier CAThis site protected by Trustwave's Trusted Commerce program Inc500
Policy & Agreement | Privacy Policy  © 2000-2015 Newegg Inc.  All rights reserved.
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.