Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: Great deal, great product.
Cons: Great deal, great product.
Reviewed By:runting s.,6/22/2017 10:53:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Quiet drive, sometimes has trouble setting a steady read speed
Pros: I'm writing about the DRW-24B1ST J 1.01 version of this drive
Has made good burns so far on a few different brands/types of rewritables i had - with one exception -
Cons: Will not work properly with Imation DVD-RW's I have, they're 1x media, mid OPTODISCK001
The drive burns them at 2x, when it s done and tries to verify, it can't read the disk
Other Thoughts: Only other observation that bothers me a little, it takes quite a while to recognize a disk when it is inserted,
anywhere from 5 - 15 seconds. I have a Lite-on from 2004 on another PC and that is quicker than this
Reviewed By:David H.,6/21/2017 9:15:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > LG Electronics > LG Internal 24x Super Multi with M-DISC Support SATA Model GH24NSC0B

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk/ Loud junk
Pros: Looked cool? It was fairly cheap.
Cons: Constantly disappearing from device manager, made all kinds of noise like a drunk helicopter. Wouldn't fully open or close sometimes. I tried playing a disk on it and it gave me a region code error. After setting up the region, it never played a disk again.
Other Thoughts: Thought I would give LG a shot since I have been having bad luck with Asus drives as well but this thing didn't even last a day. I will be returning this and gambling on another brand I guess.
Reviewed By:Ricky F.,6/20/2017 6:00:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > SAMSUNG > Samsung Electronics 24X SATA Half Height DVD-Writer Internal Optical Drive Model SH-224FB/BSBE

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good when working but no longevity
Pros: -Writes at reasonable speed
-Black faceplate
Cons: -Loud when writing or reading
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend after it failed today since it was loud and made chirping sounds. It has failed after only 18 months while my previous one from a different manufacturer lasted almost 4 years. Save your money and buy a better quality one.
Reviewed By:Tony C.,6/19/2017 3:42:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS DVD-Writer 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24F1ST

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Safe bet
Pros: Works
Isn't too loud
Cons: Loudest part of my build
Other Thoughts: good and inexpensive, buy if that's what you're looking for
Reviewed By:Alexis C.,6/14/2017 8:31:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS 24X DVD Burner - Bulk 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works as expected
Pros: Reminiscent of the 90's. Will read, write and re-write anything you desire.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/14/2017 6:09:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > LG Electronics > LG Internal 24x SuperMulti DVD Rewriter with M-Disc Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Got 5 stars from previous owners
Pros: Works well and fast. I don't use cd/dvd burners much but when I saw the price and it being a LG I had to have it
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: If I have a problem within the allotted time Newegg will fix it no questions asked
Reviewed By:Charles B.,6/13/2017 5:57:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > ASUS > ASUS DVD Burner 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 24X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 24X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM Black SATA Model DRW-24B3ST/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Missing SATA cable and software
Pros: It's a DVD drive.
Cons: The software, literally the *only* reason I bought this drive instead of the OEM bare drive, was missing from the package. SATA cable was also missing from the package. The package looked like it was mangled all the way from China to the US. I doubt that I'm even going to risk using the drive at this point.
Other Thoughts: Chalk this one up as a lesson learned. From now on I will only buy the OEM drives.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Matthew,

Thank you for the feedback and making us aware of your ASUS product experience. Sorry to hear about the condition of the package you ordered from the International Seller "First From Asia". The drive will be automatically detected by your system for use and the ASUS Software Utilities can be downloaded from the link below. If you have additional questions or concerns, feel free to let me know at cc-eric@asus.com and i'll be happy to help.

https://www.asus.com/us/Optical-Drives-Storage/DRW24B3ST/HelpDesk_Download/


Best Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:Matthew C.,6/12/2017 3:04:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > Lite-On > Lite-On DVD Burner Black SATA Model iHAS124-14

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect
Pros: Arrived sooner than expected and worked perfect. Good price, free shipping!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended to anyone needing a inexpensive burner drive
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/12/2017 5:09:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > CD / DVD Burners > Silverstone > Silverstone CD/DVD Burners (RW Drives) 8X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 6X DVD+R DL 8X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW 8X DVD-ROM 24X CD-R 16X CD-RW 24X CD-ROM SATA Model SST-SOD03

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 A little odd
Pros: Slot-loading, which is a feature that isn't common and something I wanted for the low profile PC I had built.
Cons: Ejects through software only, so if you brick your laptop/PC, you'll need to plug it into another machine with OS if you want to get your disc back.

If you have this drive in a PC and the drive is oriented vertically, the disc is ejected very comically. It's reminiscent of a waffle coming out of the toaster at high velocity, so be ready to catch your disc.
Reviewed By:MICHELLE C.,6/9/2017 11:00:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.