Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate BarraCuda ST4000DM005 4TB 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Drive
Pros: Its 4TB
Cons: Its not 10TB
Reviewed By:carl m.,3/24/2017 3:21:29 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Blue 1TB Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 64MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD10EZEX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's wd blue you can't go wrong
Pros: Can't go wrong with it
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2017 1:13:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Black 5TB Performance Desktop Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD5001FZWX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Terra bitezzzzzz
Pros: Big and Black. Just the way I like it... in my... Computer case!!!

Got two of these puppies in Raid1 for redundancy.
Lots of disk activity even when not copying.. but that's because Raid1 is always trying to mirror, so don't let this alarm you. It's normal. (for those putting these in Raid1's).

I've had all sorts of WD black drives over the years.
I don't bother with the hype of the blue, red, green, etc...
The black's not only perform better... but they have NO lifespan issues.

You get what you pay for!
Cons: They indeed get hot. Without a fan... they'd probably get alarmingly hot.
Other Thoughts: :D
Reviewed By:Mirsad R.,3/24/2017 1:09:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA DT01ACA100 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just another HDD.
Pros: -Not much to say about a decent HDD.
-Price is right.
-Easy to work with.
-Great for budget builds.
Cons: -None.
Other Thoughts: -Highly recommend for those budget builders.
-Would purchase again.
Reviewed By:Teddy L.,3/24/2017 12:37:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red Pro 6TB NAS Hard Disk Drive - 7200 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD6002FFWX

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 2 months running and very happy with a RAID1
Pros: speed, quality, no defects
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Tested a RAID1 rebuild with no errors and ran a data verification recently. Bought to create a redundant copy of data and combine data stored across many smaller drives that were getting old
Reviewed By:Andrew S.,3/24/2017 11:38:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Toshiba > TOSHIBA PH3200U-1I72 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Desktop Internal Hard Drive Retail Kit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Update After 3 1/2 Years
Pros: UPDATE 3-24-2017:
This drive which is used as a secondary storage drive has developed several bad sectors and slowed to a crawl after 3.5 years. Opening or copying any file stored on the drive has become a waiting game. Running Windows disk check utility (called "chkdsk") to locate and repair bad sectors has been unable to finish running - it stopped with an error message both times we tried it. After chkdsk failed once I opened the case and replaced the SATA cable and tried a different SATA port on the motherboard. Ran chkdsk a second time and it failed again. At this point I gave up and disconnected the drive. The data on it is backed up so no problem there.

Gave this exact model 2 thumbs up on 7/26/2013 when we used it in tandem with an SSD and an add-on SATA controller card to form a hybrid drive.
For the past year or more we've been using it on its own as a storage drive for our entire music collection ripped from CDs as well as for other stuff. We play a large variety of music almost every day, and i can report that the Toshiba 2TB remains fast and quiet.
The retail box version seems to have good packaging, whereas the bare drive version suffered from insecure packing by Newegg's warehouse a couple of years ago.
And, let's not forget the 3-year warranty. So many HDDs now have only a 1-year or 2-year warranty, it's nice to see Toshiba still backing this product with 3 years coverage.
Cons: FAILED after 3.5 years of use. Not an impressive lifespan!
Other Thoughts: We had a couple of old laptops with Toshiba drives in them. They weren't fast (4200 rpm) but they were reliable. This 3.5-inch desktop model has been totally reliable for over 2 years with no dropoff in performance. Let's hope it will keep it up for another 10 years!
Reviewed By:Andrew M.,3/24/2017 10:37:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Red 8TB NAS Hard Disk Drive - 5400 RPM Class SATA 6Gb/s 128MB Cache 3.5 Inch - WD80EFZX

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 2 out of 5 failed after 3 months
Pros: Large disks, speed is reasonable, no problems off the bat
Cons: Two our of the five I purchased failed after about 3 months
Have to go through WD support, as NewEgg doesn't offer replacement after the first month
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/24/2017 8:53:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Archive HDD v2 ST8000AS0002 8TB 5900 RPM 128MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive Bare Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for Backups and long term storage.
Pros: HUGE 8TB, low power in idle / standby. Solid build. All those platters have mass.
Speed is good for large backups.
Cons: missing middle screw hole along the lower sides, the photo is inaccurate. It does have 4 screw holes - one on each corner.
Not a con, just a photo mistake.
Other Thoughts: This is not a NAS drive, Game drive, or C: Drive. Archive Drives are for backups, and near line cold storage not readily needed.
IronWolf and Barracuda and Enterprise Drives are for the Live Data. I purchased this as a hot-pluggable backup for the system Drive. Full backups, only takes a few minutes a week. As the backup device, I want it to have the lease use and longest life.
Archive drives are also good for copying your projects to the drive and then storing it outside of the computer in a safe case.
Works perfectly as it is intended. People trying to use a backup drive for constant hot data should not expect a workhorse to fly like a seagull.
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER S.,3/24/2017 6:52:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > HGST > HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 HUS724030ALE641 (0F17731) 3TB 64MB Cache 7200RPM SATA III 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Enterprise Internal Hard Drive

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing drives for the price! I didn't like how they were shipped from newegg, but no issues with shock thus far
Pros: -3TB ENTERPRISE grade drives
-Much higher reliability. Hitachi Drives are top notch in the industry for data storage under all kinds of usage scenarios, and have super low failure rates
-buying from newegg. They don't reset the smart data on these refurbished drives, so you can gauge the use, and check for actual issues if there were any in the past
-only 64 bucks!!!!
-sustained data rates of 150 MB/s
Cons: -these drives are used, so expect around 3 years or less out of them. I can't say for sure if reliability is better than that in the past, as most drives now are being considered throw away items. You may get more as the build quality appears to be that of old drives, but just so you know what to expect. I have older drives that are turning 10 here soon, with no issues, but not in a 24/7 environment, but with high spin up counts, which means more overall wear. However, 24/7 environments can put much wear on a drive, especially in high use scenarios.
-Currently around 19000 hours of use on these drives (around 2.25 years). Manufactured in December 2012 for most. I got one that was made in august of 2013 with only 15000 hours of use so that one is looking really good.
-not an issue with the product, but newegg left open space in my package, so the drives were probably moving around! Luckily, no issues thus far. Even though the drives themselves were packaged well, due to this I am testing extensively
Other Thoughts: I ordered 5 drives for a raid z2 and all 5 appear to be in good working order. The smart data looks good on these, as no non-recoverable errors have occurred according to smart data.

To make sure, I am currently running these through HD Tune Pro, and will move on to a more extensive low level test to check the surface of the drive. (spinrite or mhdd works well). After that, they will be ran through a DoD 5222.2M disk wipe (7 pass wipe). This can be done with dban or nwipe on linux. Works in kali if you use that, just do a apt-get install nwipe.

I don't have expensive HD recovery hardware, so I think this should be sufficient in testing the drive to put into my 24/7 production VM server to use for backups and my VMs.

I will be posting a more up-to date info/review once these are in my production server.

Anything you want to know about these drives can be found here:

http://www.hgst.com/sites/default/files/resources/US7K4000_SATA_OEMSpec_v11i.pdf
Reviewed By:Stephen W.,3/24/2017 6:21:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop Internal Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate FireCuda Gaming SSHD 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive ST2000DX002

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 New SSHD way too slow for my tastes
Pros: quiet, passes all stress tests, no heat issues. Support was most helpful.
NOTE way too slow on new Kaby Lake H270M-ITX/AC ! Might be too slow all Gen 7. Caution!
We have returned the drive. Thank you Newegg!
Cons: Way too slow only 75. I worked with most helpful support but they could not get it to 150 which they claim is the normal speed.
Other Thoughts: You are probably better off buying the normal Seagate at 30% cheaper and if you need speed do raid 0 on a pair.
Only buy this very slow baby ( at least on my system ) if you can return it if too slow for your tastes on your system.
Reviewed By:Rosemary P.,3/23/2017 10:32:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.