Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7310 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N300 Wireless Gigabit Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner and More

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works with Spectrum/Bright House
Pros: Simple activation with a 5 minute phone call to tech support, where you give them the model # and MAC address. WIFI is reliable, and covers my entire 180' x 90' yard. I have the 60 Mbps internet, and a wifi speed test on my phone yielded between 30-40 Mbps. Haven't had to reboot it at all.
Cons: None yet
Reviewed By:Jeffrey C.,5/25/2017 10:23:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6190 DOCSIS 3.0 Gigabit+ Cable Modem

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 2 year warranty
Pros: Fast when it works
Cons: I ran GRC's benchmark tool and this modem fails miserably. Check it yourself and do some research. In any case, Arriss's admission and acknowledgment of the Puma 6 chipset issue took far too long. I cannot recommend buying this on that alone, regardless of performance.
Other Thoughts: This modem has a TWO YEAR WARRANTY. Newegg lists the warranty incorrectly as ONE YEAR. I just talked to Arriss a little while ago and they told me that. I will hold off on the replacement for now, because the speed issues I'm having are an upstream issue right now with my cable provider, they acknowledged there are 2 tickets open and opened a third today. In my case the modem was working fine for a year and may still be fine, I will know after they fix this upstream issue.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2017 2:45:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Motorola > Motorola MG7315 8x4 343 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem Plus N450 Dual Band Gigabit Wireless Router Certified by Comcast XFINITY, Time Warner Cable, and Other Service Providers

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Big Disappointment
Pros: Looks good
Good LED status lights
holds lower speed connections well
Cons: Drops PC connection (Comcast/Xfinity) 95% of the time if PC is shut off, which means this 7315 must be rebooted almost every time I fire up my PC, which is a real pain in the a**! Big disappointment.
Other Thoughts: The only reason it deserves 2 eggs is that it doesn't drop my Internet phone service, though that is always on, or my Internet radio connection, and that is not on all the time. The only reason this didn't go back was because I bought it about two months prior to actually hooking it up due to a new location move. Motorola had been very good and dependable in the past, so I didn't feel I was taking a risk. Time to research new manufacturers.
Reviewed By:Michael F.,5/23/2017 8:05:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst
Pros: No
Cons: The built-in router is worst
Reviewed By:Thuc N.,5/21/2017 8:24:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR DM200 Broadband High-Speed DSL (VDSL / ADSL) Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works well
Pros: - Good for bridging-only setup
- Compact
- Debug shell (unrestricted Linux shell)
Cons: - Weird configuration interface & needs reconfiguration to switch between ADSL and VDSL
- Less DSL stats than most routers (but everything and more can be accessed through the shell for advanced users)
- Base not detachable
Other Thoughts: I'm taking off one star for the way the config interface is designed. I use the modem in bridging-only mode and I'm under the impression it's made to work with Netgear routers where the router's config is pushed to the DSL bridge. I can still configure it but I have to turn it into router mode, change the settings I want (but leave it half-configured as I don't want the PPPoE settings), then turn back in bridging mode. Once in bridge mode, all the settings are grayed out and cannot be changed (although still active), not even the router's IP.

*** NB: Many users report the modem does not work - most likely because it's connected to a Lucent Stinger DSLAM (there's still a lot of them on Bell networks) and those DSLAM use a non-standard VDSL implementation. Unless you *know* you're not on a Stinger you should look for a Stinger-compatible modem ***
Reviewed By:Thomas G.,5/19/2017 3:57:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SB6141 8x4 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Hey! It works!
Pros: Replaced my old Motorola 1st Gen DOCSIS 3.0 modem. Setup was quick and easy. Literally dummy proof: Screw the coax cable on, plug the Cat5 cable in to the router/computer, power it up, power up the router/computer, register with ISP, and done. Steady signal quality.
Cons: Two Cons: 1. It's bright white! (Black like the rest of my gear plz!!!) 2. No dimmer for the LEDs. The LEDs light up the whole room! I can see the light from outside with the shades drawn. The window glows BLUE! My neighbors joked that I have a nuke reactor in there (the LEDs glow nuclear electric blue!) I told them I have the Tesseract Cube in there. My neighbors stopped joking. Did I mention that the LEDs were bright blue?
Other Thoughts: Excellent quality product. Works as intended. Did I mention that the LEDs were bright blue?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/19/2017 11:32:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > Linksys > Linksys CM3016 16x4 686 Mbps DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very satisifed
Pros: I have been using this modem hassle free for about a month now with Cox Cable, Setup was a breeze. I connected my Cox cable to the modem and temporarily bypassed my router by plugging a PC directly into this modem via wired Ethernet and connecting with a web browser on the PC. I was instantly looking at the Cox modem self activation page. Unfortunately the modem wasn't one of the listed ones (but I knew it was supported because I had checked with Cox before ordering). Called Cox and read them the mac address over the phone and was activated in a couple of minutes (tip: when you call Cox chose "add new service" rather than "tech support" and somebody answers the phone right away).

After activation I successfully surfed the web for a minute and ran a speed test to make sure the modem was working well, Then I removed the Ethernet wire to the PC and plugged in my router. That was it, Nothing else to do. The modem has worked flawlessly. No drops or hang-ups so far.
Cons: Power cord is too short. Had to use an extension cord to get to my surge strip. My old Motorola modem's cord was twice as long. I'm also a not a fan of "power bricks" which this has, but it is a non-issue if you have to use an extension cord anyway.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/16/2017 7:53:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SURFboard SBG7580AC DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem / Wi-Fi AC1750 Router – Retail Packaging – Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I like it!
Pros: Cable modem works just like it should, no surprise there. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the WIFI worked. Reliable as an anvil and the range and signal strength is far superior to the ATT residential gateway it replaced. Easy set-up and was up and running on my existing network in 10-15 mins.
Cons: This unit is quite expensive and, while I can't compare it with anything other than what it replaced, at $150 it would have gotten 5 eggs.
Other Thoughts: If you need a modem like this and have the coin, I can recommend it highly.
Reviewed By:Joe A.,5/14/2017 8:41:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > ARRIS Group, Inc > ARRIS SBG6580 SURFboard Wireless Cable Modem Gateway - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to setup and use.
Pros: -The product came in good working condition
-No visible damage of any kind
-Paperwork was present in boxing
Cons: None currently
Other Thoughts: 5/5 works very well for the specs it has listed. Good performance per dollar ratio
$40 and bought a 1 year warranty replacement plan for a total of $44.98. Very satisfied.
Reviewed By:Artemio J.,5/13/2017 11:38:31 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Modems / Gateways > TP-Link > TP-Link TC-7610 DOCSIS 3.0 Cable Modem

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty happy overall.
Pros: Immediately jumped about 100 Mbps over my leased modem. Upgrade was very easy with TWC; hit them up on chat, gave them the MAC so they could register it, and off to the races! Up and running about 15 minutes after unboxing.
Cons: None so far, will update if anything goes wrong.
Other Thoughts: I'm on Time Warner in Los Angeles, on the Ultimate 200 plan. Was provided with a Scientific Atlantic (DPC2100 Series) on lease, which worked well enough -- had no real complaints. I was getting about 22 mbps down, and 1 up according to speedtest.

After upgrade, getting 118 down/10 up. Pretty marked improvement. This modem's rated for 343 down/143 up, and the Ultimate 200 package is maxed at 200 mbps down, so I'm not getting entirely what I've paid for, but I'm not inclined to blame the modem itself for this; probably has more to do with how far away I am from the station/node/whatever that I'm connecting with TWC.

So:
1) getting way more speed
2) activation's a cinch
3) modem's reasonable price vs. 8/month leasing fee means it pays for itself after 8 months.
4) It's got a 2 year warranty.

Very pleased, overall, worth the expense!

UPDATE: 2017-05-10
So after more than a year, this modem is functioning awesome. I'm still on Spectrum (formerly Time Warner in Los Angeles) Ultimate 200 plan, and my latest speed tests average about 230 Mbps down / 20 Mbps up. Very pleased with this product, and my decision to purchase. Looking forward to seeing how this will work with my new Synology +1515, will be nice to have a home server I can access anywhere quickly; I doubt it would have worked as well with the standard Spectrum modem.
Reviewed By:Martin M.,5/10/2017 10:49:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.