Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming K4 AM4 AMD Promontory B350 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easy to setup, check for memory compatibility!
Pros: Looks nice, well made board, lots of options.
Cons: Memory compatibility, running a 3200mhz set @ 2400, make sure you ram is on the QVL! Bios feels incomplete...
Reviewed By:Jason S.,3/28/2017 5:05:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE AORUS GA-AX370-Gaming K7 (rev. 1.0) AM4 AMD X370 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 HDMI ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great while it worked, Edit back to working after cmos clear by battery removal
Pros: Relatively issue free when it worked as far as ram and bios were concerned. Actually managed to get my ram running stable at 3200 unlike most other boards currently without needing to modify the base clock frequency. As a note, the beta bios (f3b) caused my memory overclock to become unstable, so I'd recommend testing f2 for ram over clocks before using the bios f3b.
Cons: Update from prior issue about the board dying with nothing lighting up.
Turns out the board's bios was the cause. For anyone else who has their board refuse to light up when hitting the power button, disconnect your psu, take out the battery, and hold down the power button for about a minute to make sure it discharges completely(30s didn't work for some reason).

On a side note, the vrm cooling seems like it could use a heat pipe to aid with cooling at this price point. I often see my vrm reach temperatures in the upper 90's during stress tests(cpu is overclocked to 1.32v). When I upped the BCLK to 105 and vsoc to 1.0v, the vrm reached 98c after 50 minutes of stress testing.
Other Thoughts: The internal USB 3.0 header seemed to have a bad connection since my flash drive kept connecting and disconnecting. I'm unsure if this was due to the board or a bad connection on my case.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/28/2017 4:43:13 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI 970A GAMING PRO CARBON AM3+/AM3 AMD 970 & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Proving the 970 can still hang with the best
Pros: -This board looks clean inside the case with a nice touch of LED glow. Nothing too flashy (leave that for the LEDs using MSI's mystic lights
-I had plenty of room between the CPU cooler and the RAM sticks
-Booted with no issues and the UEFI BIOS was easy to use even for beginners. I was able to quickly up voltages and perform overclocking on the whole system
-Audio is downright amazing
-I was surprised at everything I got for the price. Great deal
Cons: -Non as of yet
Other Thoughts: Overall a board with this many features at this price point is a great deal. If you properly install this board you should have no issues.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,3/28/2017 2:54:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI X370 GAMING PRO CARBON AM4 AMD X370 SATA 6Gb/s HDMI ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works perfectly. Haters gonna hate.
Pros: Color Scheme is on point. ALL BLACK is what I like. White isn't good. I accidentally assumed the MSI x370 Titanium was white, but its silver, I should have got it based on color scheme, but w/e.

Installed an 1800x, DDR4 3600 ram, 390x, everything worked right out of the box first boot.

Ram is running XMP DDR4 3200 no issues. (8gb x2)

Bios updates are quick and easy via the option to upgrade bios in the bios itself (reboots to do so)
Cons: None, it works exactly as it should.
Other Thoughts: If I had the choice, I would probably have gotten the Titanium (hindsight is 20/20) but this board has worked flawlessly since day 1. I have build 2 computers using this motherboard, both use the same 1800x and RAM and both run flawlessly. Its quite nice. Many of the day 1 guys with other brands had memory issues, this board seems to have the least of the problems of all (asus having the worst issues right now)
Reviewed By:Steven T.,3/28/2017 2:39:38 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock X370 Killer SLI/ac AM4 AMD Promontory X370 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Problems - No Post ! Fix!
Pros: Not sure as of now.
Cons: Build 2 systems with this board and both would not post. Read other
Other Thoughts: Here's how I got the 2 boards to post. Clear the CMOS !! After I did that it took about 45sec to post, after the first post it will post fast like a champ. There are many other problems with this board and I will update my review in the future. But as of now, It's running fine stocked with no overclocking as of yet. Hope this help you.
Reviewed By:Kathleen F.,3/28/2017 2:27:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > ASRock > ASRock AB350 Pro4 AM4 AMD Promontory B350 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI ATX Motherboards - AMD - Retail

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 For a sub $100 AM4 motherboard, this has no competition
Pros: Better power delivery and heat management that you would normally expect from a board this cheap.
Once the BIOS is updated, it's pretty stable, though some options still need some work (XMP profiles for memory appearing that are not supported being one).

Because of the reliable power delivery, OC's on the CPU are a breeze and pretty stable. 1700 is stable for all of the following
3.7 all cores @ 1.25V (this is my 24/7 OC because of how cool it stays)
3.8 all cores @ 1.275V
3.9 all cores @ 1.3375V (things are getting toasty at this point, though)
Cons: Just because an XMP profile appears in the BIOS, that doesn't mean that the board supports it. I plugged a pair of 16GB TridentZ DDR4-3000 from an older Intel machine into the board and XMP profile pops right up for 2933 MHz. I was suprised, so I enabled it. The machine absolutely will not boot with the XMP profile enabled. It boots just fine at 2133, and that's all I really expected, but don't expect the displayed XMP to work, even if the memory *does* work at those specs in an Intel system.

No bclk tweak available. It remains locked at 99.8, so all you have options to adjust is the stepping and the voltage.

If you do OC the CPU, you must disable the Cool-n-Quiet manually. CPU BIOS overclocks will not work with CnQ enabled, but using the Ryzen Master app *will* work for overclocking with CnQ enabled.
Other Thoughts: Even with all of that in the "Cons" section, I would absolutely recommend this board. Treat the "Cons" as a fair warning section. It's a sub $100 MB, not some elite enthusiast board, and it's the king of its little castle.
Reviewed By:Jason C.,3/28/2017 2:08:14 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-AB350-GAMING 3 (rev. 1.0) AM4 AMD B350 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 HDMI ATX Motherboards - AMD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Pretty dang great entry into new AM4 arch.
Pros: -Handles OC'ing the ram 3200 mhz w/ 14-14-14-34. F4-3000C14D-16GTZ .
-LOVE the audio amplifier!
Cons: -I didn't think so, but I actually do need more fan headers.
-Wish I sprang for the x370 to get the headphone amp for the front header as well, this thing is awesome!
Other Thoughts: Gigabyte hit it out of the park on this. Good low price for entry into AM4 and aweseome specs. Will buy Gigabyte if I upgrade again soon.
Reviewed By:Justin M.,3/28/2017 1:41:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-78LMT-USB3 (rev. 6.0) AM3+ AMD 760G + SB710 USB 3.0 HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective right out of box
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Reviewed By:Marion T.,3/28/2017 12:58:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > MSI > MSI MSI Gaming 990FXA-GAMING AM3+/ AM3 AMD 990FX & SB950 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product
Pros: Worked with very little Issues
Cons: For some reason in order to start the motherboard I had to first unplug the 8 pin Power for the cpu, turn it on, then off, plug back the 8 pin in just to get the motherboard to turn on. Seemed risky but worked for the last AM3+ I used too.
Other Thoughts: Overall MSI is the greatest product I have used yet, I get at least 3-5 years out of a Board, where everyone else seems 6 months to 2 years. Ive gone through, Biostar, ASRock, Gigabyte and about 6 ASUS Boards. I would rank Gigabyte second, but MSI is #1!!!
Reviewed By:Chad M.,3/28/2017 12:35:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > AMD Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE GA-990X-Gaming SLI (rev. 1.0) AM3+/AM3 AMD 990X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.1 USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not very versatile with storage
Pros: As long as you use the M2 then it's great
Cons: lack of options for hard drives
Other Thoughts: because there is only one specialized controller for storage, which is for the M2, your options with RAID become very limiting, vs. a UD3 or UD5 (with the UD5 you could actually have 3 separate arrays if you wanted, and with the UD3, 2)

What happens if you want to use RAID AND still have other drives gets you into trouble. There are 6 internal SATA3 ports. Sounds good. BUT, it's the configuration of these ports that gives problems. With the first 4, you can set them to RAID. If you do that, then the other 2 ports can be configured seperately, BUT, only to set them the same as the first 4 (meaning they'd be part of the RAID), or you set them to IDE. IDE, IDE. What does that mean? No AHCI. Yes, no AHCI on the last 2 ports unless you set the first 4 to AHCI. So, if you want to have a RAID on the first 4 drives, but want to plug in another HDD or SSD on the last 2 ports, you can't have AHCI, so that eliminates putting in SSD and having proper support, and it eliminates have a drive over 2 TB. Also, since there are no back connections for SATA, there is no way to overcome the issue.

SO, if you want to use this for a gaming system, in the year 2017 because you want to save money, then that's OK other than the fact you are losing performance over a modern system when it comes to overall performance since you have slower buses and can't have anything better than an AMD FX in it, UNLESS you plug in an FX-9xxx, pay the extra cost for water cooling and overclock the CPU substantially. Plus, pay higher electric bills for cooling your room and adding about 100 watts to your system and honestly I've read too many reviews with people plugging in FX-9xxxx's where the board didn't last a long time to even want to do that (plus NOW you're getting up in cost to a better system anyway). So, doesn't that really eliminate the cost saving debate? After all less expensive RyZEN CPUs are going to be on the market very soon, but in all honesty buying the 1700 is FAR better than buying an FX-9xxx (91 watts compared to 220 and much better CPU), but not a big cost difference.

To me, this is a dead board in real life terms now. I can do MUCH better for just slightly higher costs when it comes to gaming, and since it's not versatile with drive configs, it keeps me away from using it for a multi functional PC. Dead zone. For better functionality get a UD3 if you want to stick with Gigabyte, and if you're thinking about buying it for gaming NOW, why? To make it perform well, you have to add cost and push it so that life expectancy isn't worth the risk or money. Best get a new platform.
Reviewed By:David B.,3/28/2017 11:33:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.