Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works great, but man, can be hard to set up
Pros: Fast and powerful. The NAT wizard got me up and going (see Cons about this as well). I had no problems connecting a network switch to it

It has a freaking command-line and is probably running a Linux variant
Cons: If you don't have the wizards, then it can be intimidating. I had to update to the latest. Firmware 1.20 or 1.2.x or so has a bug to where it's hard to update the firmware. Luckily, I could use WinSCP to upload the binary to the device. You also have to set 192.168.1.______ manually to get to the web config page.
Other Thoughts: After seeing me getting +300 mbit/sec faster than a direct connection, I had a huge grin on my face. I had an old "gigabit" router, and it had a limit on the WAN port. This (the ERLite-3) device really doesn't have a WAN port; it's more like a computer with multiple Ethernet ports. Definitely recommended more for advanced users, mostly ones that know how to jump through hoops to flash firmware. Also, having a 2nd computer to set this up with helps.
Reviewed By:Joseph P.,6/23/2017 9:34:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link SafeStream TL-R600VPN 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit Broadband VPN Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 120 mbit NAT speed :/
Pros: It's a good overall router, if your WAN connection is 120-160 mbit or under, but apparently this has a WAN limit of around 120 mbit
Cons: Plugging this into my modem to get bottlenecked by a 120 mbit speed
Reviewed By:Joseph P.,6/21/2017 9:53:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 For the sake of g o d, please do NOT buy them.
Pros: Supposed to have PoE
Cons: (Rant incoming with poor English due to anger)
I contacted Customer Service and they are only supposed to be for UniFi and AirMax, not for EdgeRouters. Waited for 30 mins to only get apologies instead of solutions. For an enterprise solution, you are MUCH better off getting the DD-WRT routers with WiFi features off. Interaction between different product lines are poor, not though out and require major infrastructure works.

For regular consumers, I am pretty sure most people won't be able to debug such a buggy and user unfriendly interface.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/4/2017 6:32:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 10 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER-8 Router 1 x RJ45 WAN Ports 8 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great Router, BUT!
Pros: Fast and very capable, almost enterprise level in what you can do.
Cons: There is ZERO support from Ubiquiti.
Other Thoughts: Don't buy this if you do not have quite a bit of experience with Networking and Routers. I am a networking guy and it took me 4 days to make it work right.
Reviewed By:Philip H.,6/3/2017 4:53:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link SafeStream TL-R600VPN 10/100/1000 Mbps Gigabit Broadband VPN Router

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 By sure to save screen capture of forwarding settings before upgrading firmware
Pros: Works, thruput fine if you don't have FIOS or killer ISP service, price is very affordable.
Cons: It lost all the forwarding ports when updating firmware. The restore of the settings .bin file failed, but it took the IP setting.
It also defaulted to factory IP after updating firmware. This is for V1 product
Other Thoughts: Perhaps V3 has improved. I can't say.
Reviewed By:Kenneth A.,5/31/2017 7:10:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Router
Pros: - 2 possible seperated networks with firewall rules between
- VPN with IPSEC
- Very fast throughput.
- No rebooting or lockups after ( 6 Mo. of use)
Cons: - Command line interface is sometimes the only way to do advanced things.
Other Thoughts: Installing this router was a noticeable increase in network throughput from a Netgear R6200 AC wifi router. On a 100Mbps internet connection, the fastest wired speed (@1Gig wirespeed) through the netgear was around 80Mbps. With the EdgeRouter Lite, internet speed test consistently tops out above 100Mbps, the same as if you were plugged directly into the modem.
We stream all our content, so typically have 5-10 devices playing video at once at any given time. This router handles the throughput seamlessly without hangups or rebooting needed (going on 5 months without reboot). We would have to reboot the Netgear unit at least daily.
Another nice feature is to be able to have two separate networks and create rules in firewall for connection. I put a NVR and IP cameras on a different physical network from the household network. Only certain devices can connect to the camera network from the household. All outgoing traffic from the camera network is blocked. Along with an encrypted VPN setup, the IP cam network is isolated from the internet or the Access point on the household network. A hacker would have a hard time getting through.. This was not possible with the Netgear and most other wifi routers. Well worth the sub $100 cost!!!
Reviewed By:Will H.,5/29/2017 8:37:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Cisco Systems, Inc. > RV345 Dual WAN Gigabit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 CISCO RV345 Router 4 STARS
Pros: I liked the familiar interface of the typical CISCO login and layout.
It was easy to setup, unlike the reason I came to this router.
I purchased a different brand that spec'd out very good, but I couldn't get it to configure my VLANS.
This unit handled all of my VLANS, DHCP, trunks, dynamic dns, and trunked to my wireless AP from a different brand.
So far it seems stable as well.
Cons: I have 2 NAS boxes running apps, that I port forward to, and a Minecraft server I need to port forward 25560-25570 range on VLAN 100 (10.1.100.0/24 actual device 10.1.100.170) for some reason I can't port forward to that device. It seems like a software issue that limits the amount of devices you can port forward to. My previous router did this flawlessly, and I was able to port forward to 2 separate NAS devices just fine. I understand HOW to do it, it simply will not do it even though it physically takes the settings. Again, on the server, nothing has changed from the old router, This router will take the config but not pass the port forwarding, where it will for the other NAS boxes. When I check from canyouseeme.org it shows port not open. No other firewalls blocking. Great device otherwise.

One other thing, I thought I could use the usb ports to connect a storage device such as usb stick for sharing files over the network. It seems the usb ports can only be used for alternate wan devices (cell phone mifi) for backup network connections.

Also thought this unit came with 3 licenses for cisco any connect clients to use for vpn. Could not find that anywhere either. The unit has latest software/firmwear.
Other Thoughts: I would mostly recommend this device if I had to do it over again. My prior router did all of this and more, but I went with Cisco RV345 as my old router is over 10 years old, and they haven't upgraded it yet. I figured I didn't want to buy 10 year old technology even though it did the same thing at a lower cost. If I can get usb storage working and port forward to 25560-25570 ports, and free vpn, this router would match my previous router but be faster, and slightly easier to use. I have 2 other Cisco SG300 switches so it matches nicely in the rack. I didn't need the extra lan ports for that reason, but the lower model Cisco RV325 doesn't look like it should be in the RV lineup due to generic styling and ports in the back of the router. In my view, not very attractive at all. The RV345 is the styling I would expect of this brand range of routers in the small business series.
Reviewed By:Gavin G.,5/22/2017 3:22:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A great router, at this price it's a steal
Pros: + small
+ metal cabinet
+ wizards for easy setup
+ flexibility of an industrial grade product at a (low) home user price
+ really fast routing
+ commercial strength firewall
+ lots of other neat features including PoE support
Cons: - only 5 ports
- could be intimidating for non-technical users
- the users' guide that comes with the unit is for internet geeks, not mere mortals
Other Thoughts: For the price this router can't be beat. I'm now seeing network speeds about 10 times what I was getting with my old 10/100 router. And, it's flexible enough that I configured it to look just like the old router in terms of static IPs, DHCP range, and internet side MAC address. I literally just unplugged the enet cables from the old router and plugged then into this one and everything came back online as if nothing had changed, except it was all a whole lot faster.

The downsides are the small number of ports if you're migrating from an 8-port router like I am, and the steep learning curve you will have if you're not somewhat familiar with the details of IP networking. The first issue is easy to resolve, buy an inexpensive 8-port enet switch and connect it to one of the ER-X LAN ports. Poof, you've got a 8 + 3 port router! The router and the switch together will cost you a lot less than just about any 8 port router.

The second issue is more serious. You will need some general knowledge of how IP networking works, some patience and willingness to perhaps read a few blogs and watch some Youtube videos to better understand how to set up the ER-X. The instructions that come with the unit are written for networking geeks and will tell you nothing if you don't already know about this stuff. However, there are some good videos and blog discussions online that will help you if you don't panic and/or give up too easily.
Reviewed By:JAMES G.,5/17/2017 9:21:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast and flexible
Pros: If all you want is a single WAN port and 4 LAN ports, log into the GUI and skip ahead in the manual to the wizards section. Run the Basic Setup wizard. This will configure the ports so that the eth0 port is the WAN, the rest of the ports are a single LAN. When that's done, use the GUI to setup port forwarding, filtering, etc.

Nice solidly-built metal case.

This router easily exceeds our 50Mbs internet connection. Our old cheap TP-Link router maxxed out at around 22Mbs.
Cons: Shipped with an old firmware 1.7.1, can't update it. It runs out of storage trying to upload the latest firmware. The firmware that ships does everything I need, so I'll just stick with that and avoid the risks of updating.
Reviewed By:Peter W.,5/2/2017 2:41:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TW100-S4W1CA DSL/Cable Broadband Router 1 x 10/100Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Nearly perfect product EDIT
Pros: -easy to set up
-easy to follow directions
-relatively capable advanced options for packet forwarding and other "advanced" routing options
Cons: -software bugs prevent a 5/5
*Example* I cannot change the password. The default is username: admin password: admin. whenever I change the password, the device resets, but will not accept the new password, or the default passowd, effectively bricking the device until you factory reset it
Other Thoughts: I would like to see the the software updated to fix whatever bug causes this, but other than that it is perfect!


EDIT: after a few months of owning this, it began to drop my internet connection randomly, usually 2-3 times a day. once this happens I have to to a complete power cycle to get it to work again... I take back everything good I said about it.
Reviewed By:matthew t.,5/1/2017 3:15:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.