Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Enterprise grade features for less than consumer grade price.
Pros: The ER-X is extremely versatile. Wizards are available for quick basic setups. Manual configuration is possible for more complex needs. With hardware NAT enabled the ER-X is capable of routing at gigabit speed. Stateful packet inspection allows for the creation of advanced firewall rules. The latest firmware allows for almost everything to be done in the GUI. CLI is available from the web interface as well as SSH. It does everything but make you breakfast.
Cons: Documentation is a little fractured, however the Ubiquiti community has is extremely helpful and most questions can be answered by searching the Ubiquiti forums. The ER-X is not as user friendly as a consumer router but if you need the enterprise features of this router, you should not expect it to be. Doesn't cook breakfast.
Other Thoughts: I am loving this router. Speed is great, setup is fairly straightforward. Great job Ubiquiti!
Reviewed By:George B.,2/20/2017 6:44:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Uptime = forever
Pros: Ubiquity advertises carrier grade reliability. So far, I can easily believe that.

This is perfect for situations where you just need a router and no fancy stuff. That said, it flexible enough to do the weird stuff eg maybe you want 2 LANs and a WAN. No problem. The GUI will let you easily set up the most common configurations. There's a shell you can drop to if you want to do something interesting.

There's convenient monitoring views in the GUI. CPU/Memory usage. Throughput. Connected Clients. No headaches.

Once you set it up, you can forget it's there and just let it faithfully run forever.

Performance has been great so far.

Aside from the "Unable to load configuration" problem which took me about 20 minutes to get around, set up took only about 5 minutes to configure 1 WAN port and a 4 port switch on LAN with UPnP enabled.

It's running some kind of linux so you can install more services on it if needed.
Cons: There's a bug in the GUI that requires you to kill your browser session after making some config changes. If you don't it might say "Unable to load configuration." and not let you log in. I knocked an egg off for this, because I ended up factory resetting the device a few times before I figured out what was happening. If it happens to you, just restart your browser and type the IP address in manually.

The Passive PoE is not very useful and you can't use a standard PoE injector to power this router. It does come with a DC adapter though, so not a big deal. I would rather pay a little more for standard PoE or a little less and just not have it at all.
Other Thoughts: If you don't know what eth0 means, this isn't for you.
Reviewed By:Owen J.,2/14/2017 12:01:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link SafeStream TL-R600VPN Gigabit Broadband VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 If you use a lot of data, STAY AWAY
Pros: I like the metal case of this product. It has a solid feel.
Cons: The throughput of this is only 120Mbps. If you are consuming a lot of data like we are (5 Apple TV's, 6 iPads, 3 computers, etc) you will find that your data gets bottlenecked.
Other Thoughts: After months of trying to figure out why our data is ridiculous on 60Mbps service, it finally dawned on me. Just ordered a Cisco router with 800Mbps of throughput. That should solve the problem.
Reviewed By:Joshua A.,2/6/2017 7:54:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works very well, but not very user friendly. Update the firmware if it ships with older than 1.91
Pros: - Smaller than I thought it would be.
- 3x Gigabit Ethernet ports that can be configured however you like
- Firmware 1.91 adds Wizards to easily set it up to work with your home Internet connection.
- TONS of options compared to SOHO wireless routers.
Cons: - The out-of-box firmware was very confusing and lacked the setup wizards, so I could not figure out how to get it to work with my cable Internet modem.

Firmware update kept failing until I did a factory reset.
Other Thoughts: It is imperative that you update the firmware if it arrives with an older version. The firmware that adds the Wizards and makes setup easier was only released in December 2016. Had I bought this router prior to that, I'd have probably returned it due to not having enough knowledge to manually configure everything.

Oh and this is a Bring-your-own hardware router as well. You'll need a switch if you plan to use it with more than two wired devices, and a wireless access point (an old SOHO Wi-Fi router set up as an AP will do) if you plan to connect wireless clients.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey B.,2/6/2017 6:38:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Complex configuration needs compared to auto-configure consumer grade routers.
Pros: Seems do to everything and more.
Cons: The instruction manual is a real issue for me. For a person with limited networking knowledge, the manual only give the steps to complete a task and not any pretext at teaching routing basics or the needed to complete several integrated tasks for to create workable VLANS, DCHP and firewall setups. I would pay extra for a specialized teaching manual for the ER-X.

If you don’t follow closely the setup at eth0 and then switch to eth1-4 for testing/use, you will get lost and seem locked out of the router. Additionally, the factory reset button is very particular about hold it in for a 10 count and observed LED blink sequence.
Reviewed By:Terrence M.,1/19/2017 2:46:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > TP-Link > TP-Link SafeStream TL-R600VPN Gigabit Broadband VPN Router 1 x 10/100/1000Mbps WAN Ports 4 x 10/100/1000Mbps LAN Ports

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Throughput is Bad
Pros: - Price
- Setup
- Features
Cons: - Routing performance, WAN to LAN is pitiful (300Mbps instead of anywhere near 1000)
Other Thoughts: For the price, the features and setup seem to be what you're buying. I wanted throughput and didn't get it. I have a gigabit connection that routinely sees 800Mbps router throughput on a cisco RV320, which happens to be twice as expensive... You get what you pay for.
Reviewed By:Daniel S.,1/19/2017 7:55:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect product for a home router with enterprise level configuration
Pros: To start, don't bother trying to configure this before updating the system image. Whatever computer's configuring this, make sure it has the latest file from their site first.

This product's exactly what I've been looking for. Small size, low electricity router that has a lot of configuration with good throughput that doesn't break the bank. This is replacing an old Cisco small business class router, and is by far superior in every way. Has all the options you'd expect, VPN, QoS, customizable firewall, etc.
Cons: The default firmware is pretty meh. Got a wan port and a lan switch configured, but would get odd behavior. Reset config and tried going through their wizards, with just as little success at getting everything to work as expected. Installed the latest firmware, reset settings to default, it asked if I wanted to configure a basic wan on eth0 and lan/switch on the rest, configured it and everything worked like you'd expect it to.
Other Thoughts: While the latest firmware makes it painless to get a connection working, a lot of stuff could use some tweaking and for anyone not familiar with enterprise level networking configurations, there may be a pretty steep learning curve.
Reviewed By:Clayton G.,1/16/2017 6:01:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERLite-3 Edgemax EdgeRouter Lite-3 3x Gigabit LAN Ports

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Replaced My Cisco RV180 with this Router
Pros: Solid router, not for the average home user.
Own an EdgeRouter X, and now an EdgeRouter Lite ER3, couldn't be happier.
Fast, and more secure than the average SOHO routers.
The price was right, and the delivery was amazing!
Cons: Nothing yet...
Other Thoughts: I would definitely buy from Newegg again. They didn't disappoint, and their Customer Services was great when I had a few questions about the device. Two Thumbs Up! Thank you Newegg....
Reviewed By:George D.,12/30/2016 7:11:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ER-X EdgeRouter X 5-Port Advanced Gigabit Ethernet Routers, 256MB Storage

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great little router and basic firewall. Nothing fancy. Works.
Pros: Easy to configure. Works well. Nothing fancy.
Cons: Nothing to report yet.
Other Thoughts: Been using these for probably a year now. So far they have been reliable.
Reviewed By:Stephen O.,12/21/2016 6:20:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wired Routers > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti ERPOE-5 EdgeRouter PoE Advanced 5-Port Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not for first time users
Pros: - High performance if properly configured.
- Separate WiFi and router (permits remote location of RF unit).
Cons: - Very difficult first-time configuration. My unit came with firmware 8 releases out of date (v1.2.0 vs current v1.9.0). No Wizards were available with this early version and it is VERY DIFFICULT to configure initially without the basic wizard.
- No CLI configuration command specification. Something this flexible should come with a language/API spec.
- Only 3 ports are hardware switched. Not sure what the use-case is for eth1 which is not hardware switched with eth2-eth4.
- As others have commented, this unit runs very hot. Should be mounted in area with good convective cooling.
Other Thoughts: - Not recommended for first-time SOHO router buyers. I had an existing D-Link router and thought I knew what to do here. But it still took me several days to get set up to my satisfaction with my ISP (Comcast).
- I bought this primarily for performance and compatibility with UniFi wireless access points. The router worked well so far for this requirement. I'm still a bit concerned about the heat dissipation and lack of good documentation.
Reviewed By:CARL C.,12/10/2016 10:59:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.