Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E5-575G-55KK Intel Core i5 7th Gen 7200U (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 15.6" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good price, and that's about it.
Pros: Price, 940MX, 7th Gen i5
Cons: Right out of the box the system fan made a loud clicking noise like it was either unbalanced or a fan fin was bent/breaking.

The screen is disgusting on this, to the point it causes headaches. Viewing angles are junk, some text you have to move the screen back, some bring the screen up again...
Attempting to adjust color/brightness profiles in the settings came to either extremely low brightness but good colors or good brightness but a horridly washed out screen.

Fingerprint magnet!!! All over the trackpad area, and don't get me started on the junk trackpad, the QC on this laptop is just...no...

Upon unboxing you are met with a truckload of garbage apps and a slow loading Windows 10. I even tried to update drivers, uninstall all junkware, and still couldn't keep staring at this screen for more than 10 minutes without getting a splitting headache.
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend this? Oh heck no, I bought this for the price and dedicated GFX chip so I could lightly game while on the road and boy did it disappoint. I had to give it two stars because the price with dedicated GFX is unmatched, but good luck staring at that screen for any extended periods of time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/17/2017 7:45:59 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop Latitude E6530 Intel Core i7 3rd Gen 3720QM (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good and bad
Pros: Fast
Cons: Used
Other Thoughts: I will try here helping potential buyers of this machine.
If you want one fast and strong laptop for the fraction of price, and you could care less how it looks, go for this one.
You will have to understand the following :
First you will have to understand that what you think of "Refurbished" and what NewEgg and people who actually "refurbished" these machines (Joy Systems) think of it, are two entirely different things.
For the starters, you have to understand why NewEgg has some of these "graded" (B and C) and some are not. According to NewEgg if you don't see grading that means machine is "A" graded. So this one is supposed to be "A" graded.
I received this unit and the palm rest was covered with some lousy plastic. Almost like plastic that manufacturers cover brand new units for the protection. I took off that plastic only to find scratched (hard) plastic below that, with traces of old stickers (and of course glue). If anyone from Joy Systems is reading this : if you think that this job what you did is called "refurbishing", you are sadly mistaken. This would be same as painting the rusted spots on the car.
Screen on this unit was/is in perfect condition.
Another very important thing :
No matter how many times you read questions and answers on this laptop, you will end up confused when it comes to :
integral camera and what kind of graphics/resolution this laptop has. For this, I blame NewEgg. How can you sell something without full description ? Did you ever try buying car, where you MAY have 4 wheels, but you also MAY have 3 wheels ?
My laptop came with camera and mic, so I can install Skype and don't have to use external camera.
It also came with graphic card and high resolution screen (1920 X 1080) - and I am very happy about that.
Overall - for this price, it's hard to beat this laptop. If you can live with the garbage job on the plastics (cosmetic mess), and if you can pull the trigger on the crapshoot about camera and graphic card/screen.
Hence the 3 stars for this review.
Reviewed By:Sasha L.,1/17/2017 6:49:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop Precision M4700 Intel Core i7 3720QM (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 15.6" Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: WORKS AS STATED, FAST DELIVERY, SUPPORT TEAM VERY FRIENDLY AND WILLING TO SOLVE ANY PROBLEM
Cons: NON-
Other Thoughts: I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY
Reviewed By:Carl M.,1/16/2017 9:34:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X556UQ-NH71 Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7500U (2.70 GHz) 8 GB Memory 512 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Really good for the price, no issues so far
Pros: -Really good specs for the price.
-Boot up speed is very fast with SSD
-940mx is doesnt smoothly run things on high or ultra but for price its still nice to be able to play most games. I've only tried it with league of legends so far and had some issues the first time or two but then I downloaded updated drivers from nvidia and it has worked perfectly ever since. I keep it on mid settings while playing just in case.
-Screen is pretty good at a wide range viewing angles and is plenty bright for everything I've used it for.
Cons: -The battery life is pretty mediocre, it can last probably 3 hours on a full charge with the brightness most of the way up. This is really the only downside to this laptop considering everything else about it is so good.
-The screen is great for everyday use and has never bothered me, but i noticed in game that it was a good bit darker than my desktop monitor playing the same game.
Other Thoughts: I've had this for almost a month and I'm pretty happy overall. I wanted to wait a little while before writing a review so I could have time to really use it. The only downside is the battery but for being priced so well I can live with it, and you could probably get more life out of it by turning the brightness down.
Reviewed By:Michael E.,1/16/2017 4:35:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Grade A Laptop ThinkPad T410 Intel Core i5 1st Gen 560M (2.66 GHz) 4 GB Memory 250 GB HDD 14.1" Windows 7 Professional COA only

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1
Pros: Had no issues with the return
Cons: Would not turn on was a problem with the fan I had to return it
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/16/2017 2:16:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Grade A Laptop Latitude D630 Intel Core 2 Duo T7100 (1.80 GHz) 4 GB Memory 160 GB HDD 14.1" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DEFECTIVE-known error occurs in these older systems when upgraded to win10
Pros: None, once it turns into a paperweight.
Cons: DEFECTIVE-known error occurs in these older systems when upgraded to win10... the WLAN utility disappears, eliminating any WiFi connection access. Newegg definitely should be aware of this, as when I looked online for a possible fix, it is very common. The fix I found is somewhat tech-y and I didn't feel like spending weeks trying to fix it.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your money.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/16/2017 11:22:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E5-553G AMD A12-Series A12-9700P (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD 128 GB SSD AMD Radeon R8 M445DX 15.6" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good! A little weird!
Pros: Great value
Fast
SSD and HDD combo
Extra bay for when I buy another HDD or I can use one from my other laptop
Quiet, doesnt get hot
Windows boots very quickly
Cons: Bottom speakers arent a great idea imo
Pain to install Linux on
Other Thoughts: This is a very good laptop. I recoomend checkin it out in person to see if you're okay with the touchpad, screen, arrow keys, bottom speakers. It's weirdly designed but if you're okay with it, its a very good value.

The screen isnt that badl, I think people are being picky. Look at it head on like youre supposed to.
The touchpad is a bit, off. Has a bit of a rubbery feel to it, but I dont use the touchpad intensely so its alright. You get used to it anyway.
The speakers are very good! but for some confounded reason they put them on the bottom, so the sound is always muffled. You can prop it up when youre watching something or just live with it. Wouldve liked to see them on the top but whhhhhatever.

It was a real hastle to install Linux on. Main issues being UEFI junk and issues with the dual GPU. the UEFI part youll have with any recent laptop, Thanks Windows. I had to add custom boot entries with UEFI shell when installing Arch Linux. Also, for now, the amdgpu drivers are wonky. Lots of wierd kernel errors with 4.4 kernel, having to use the bleeding edge 4.8 kernel for now until thats fixed. Also, had some issues with the HDD going to sleep too often, due to power saving set too agressively. Can be fixed with ``sudo hdparm -B 128 -S 60 /dev/sda `` so, if youre a Linux beginner I probably wouldnt recommend it for that, for now at least. but if you know your way around, it can be done!

Windows 10 isn't that bad, just watch out. They're spying on you.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/15/2017 7:46:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop Latitude 3150 Intel Pentium N3540 (2.16 GHz) 4 GB Memory 128 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 11.6" Windows 8.1 Pro

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Value! Perfect for College Students
Pros: I already have this laptop (with the 500gb Sata) and I love it!
I use this laptop daily as a nice machine to watch Netflix on while I was my dishes.
I also take this laptop with me everywhere I go in a small bag.
I am a computer tech that regularly supports clients remotely, this works great for that.


Very light

Loud Speakers

Spillproof Keyboard

Fast(enough) processor - Quad Core Intel
Cons: - Speakers glitched on me once, I uninstalled the driver and reinstalled it. Working fine for months after.
Other Thoughts: I purchased my first one from Dell Outlet, and just bought another one from Newegg
Reviewed By:CyberSecurity T.,1/15/2017 10:35:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X556UQ-NH71 Intel Core i7 7th Gen 7500U (2.70 GHz) 8 GB Memory 512 GB SSD NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Useless WiFi
Pros: Good all around machine for the price, except for one HUGE issue (see Cons).
Cons: WiFi barely works! I've tried many different things and nothing is fixing the issue. I am getting less than 2Mbps download speed! Useless
Other Thoughts: If there's a fix to the WiFi issue, I'd be happy to hear about it, otherwise this machine probably needs to go back after spending weeks transferring all of my files to it.
Reviewed By:Robert Marx,1/15/2017 7:41:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop Latitude E6530 Intel Core i7 3rd Gen 3720QM (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 15.6" Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I love this computer...I just wish its fan didn't sound like a Rumble Pak
Pros: -Built like a tank. Seriously. It's made of aluminum and weighs like ten pounds. I could kill a man.
-Beautiful, full, clicky keyboard. It's a dream to type on this machine. Screw chiclet keys.
-Windows 7!
-16 GB of RAM + SSD = super fast!
-Well-lit screen and really good speakers (for a laptop).
Cons: -Why, fans? Why are you so loud?
-Why, fans? Why won't you turn off?
-I guess some people might find the weight to be a problem?
Other Thoughts: I bought this machine to replace my geriatric Latitude E5400. I purposefully seek out the older Latitude models for their extreme durability and their unusually excellent keyboards. I'm a huge klutz, and I am very hard on my laptops. I tend to drop them, sit on them, step on them, and worse. I ran my previous model over WITH A CAR, and once I replaced the shattered screen, it continued to function, albeit with a crushed DVD-ROM drive that wouldn't open. That laptop, mind you, is still perfectly functional, just old and very slow. I got this much nicer E6530 for my birthday. I was completely thrilled with it for most of my first day with it. I love the keyboard, I love how fast it is, I love the speakers, I love how it looks with its super classy brushed aluminum finish, I love the satisfying click of its lid latch. I could go on.

The reason I didn't give it a five is because of the fan. I started playing Path of Exile, and after about an hour, the fan got pretty loud. I figured I was just running the graphics settings to high, but this morning, when I booted up my new laptop, the fan started going immediately, and dang is it LOUD. Like a small airplane. It makes the keyboard vibrate slightly. I tried troubleshooting it myself on the software, to no avail. I'll probably have to call the service people on Monday to see what's up, because I'm afraid I'll void the warranty if I open him up to take a look at the hardware.

However, these are refurbished machines, so every one may have its own quirks. I did a lot of research before settling on this model. It was a really fancy computer several years ago, and with 16GB of RAM, it handles most tasks with ease. I did luck out by getting one with an NVIDIA graphics card, and while you're not going to be playing this year's games on this thing, it handles my moderate indie gaming needs with aplomb. I don't know how well the integrated Intel 4000 card handles, though.

In conclusion: buy one of these! Maybe yours won't come equipped with an industrial fan.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/15/2017 1:57:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.