Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop X550ZA-WH11(WX) AMD A10-Series A10-7400P (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 1 TB HDD AMD Radeon R6 Series 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works for about a year then it all goes downhill
Pros: it folds.
Cons: the screen is very fuzzy and dull, it's noticeable.
The usb/power/audio ports are awkward, they haven't been thought out well.
battery life is pretty low.
After a year the computer started getting extremely slow, it can't play the games it used to, it struggles with basic functions.
Other Thoughts: After 1 year of owning this my W key fell off, most likely from wear. I'm not sure how to replace it or repair it and I can't find any help on the asus website. I think I'll just get a seperate keyboard.
I'm very unhappy with this purchase, I was hoping I could get a couple years out of this computer but after 1 year everything is starting to break or slow down.
Reviewed By:Scott F.,5/26/2017 12:09:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Laptop T420 Intel Core i5 2520M (2.50 GHz) 8 GB Memory 128 GB SSD 14.0" Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great Product, easy to set up and use
Pros: Product was as described
Cons: None that I have found
Reviewed By:Stephen W.,5/26/2017 9:24:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > DELL Laptop Latitude E6530 Intel Core i7 3rd Gen 3720QM (2.60 GHz) 16 GB Memory 256 GB SSD 15.6" Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 I love this computer...I just wish its fan didn't sound like a Rumble Pak
Pros: -Built like a tank. Seriously. It's made of aluminum and weighs like ten pounds. I could kill a man.
-Beautiful, full, clicky keyboard. It's a dream to type on this machine. Screw chiclet keys.
-Windows 7!
-16 GB of RAM + SSD = super fast!
-Well-lit screen and really good speakers (for a laptop).
Cons: -Why, fans? Why are you so loud?
-Why, fans? Why won't you turn off?
-I guess some people might find the weight to be a problem?
-OH, fans were loud because they were DEFECTIVE. Mystery solved!
Other Thoughts: I bought this machine to replace my geriatric Latitude E5400. I purposefully seek out the older Latitude models for their extreme durability and their unusually excellent keyboards. I'm a huge klutz, and I am very hard on my laptops. I tend to drop them, sit on them, step on them, and worse. I ran my previous model over WITH A CAR, and once I replaced the shattered screen, it continued to function, albeit with a crushed DVD-ROM drive that wouldn't open. That laptop, mind you, is still perfectly functional, just old and very slow. I got this much nicer E6530 for my birthday. I was completely thrilled with it for most of my first day with it. I love the keyboard, I love how fast it is, I love the speakers, I love how it looks with its super classy brushed aluminum finish, I love the satisfying click of its lid latch. I could go on.

The reason I didn't give it a five is because of the fan. I started playing Path of Exile, and after about an hour, the fan got pretty loud. I figured I was just running the graphics settings to high, but this morning, when I booted up my new laptop, the fan started going immediately, and dang is it LOUD. Like a small airplane. It makes the keyboard vibrate slightly. I tried troubleshooting it myself on the software, to no avail. I'll probably have to call the service people on Monday to see what's up, because I'm afraid I'll void the warranty if I open him up to take a look at the hardware.

However, these are refurbished machines, so every one may have its own quirks. I did a lot of research before settling on this model. It was a really fancy computer several years ago, and with 16GB of RAM, it handles most tasks with ease. I did luck out by getting one with an NVIDIA graphics card, and while you're not going to be playing this year's games on this thing, it handles my moderate indie gaming needs with aplomb. I don't know how well the integrated Intel 4000 card handles, though.

In conclusion: buy one of these! Maybe yours won't come equipped with an industrial fan.

FIVE MONTHS LATER: I put up with the Fan of Loudness without much complaint because I loved the machine, and when I emailed JoySystems about it, they didn't seem too concerned. (My boyfriend certainly complained about the loud fan, though.)

A month or so in, however, the machine started blue-screening periodically, and it did so with greater frequency as the months wore on. I suspect it was an overheating problem brought on by defective fans. When I contacted JoySystems about it, they checked to ensure I was still within warranty, they sent me an empty box and a shipping label, I sent them my defective machine, and they shipped me a new machine back. While this process did take a couple of weeks, it was relatively painless.

My replacement is, as I suspected, slightly different. It has the same basic specs, but a much nicer matte finish and a nicer keyboard (the previous machine had the keyboard letters printed on textured stickers that were stuck to the keys; this one has the keys printed directly on the keys, like a normal, not crazy keyboard). The fans are so far blessedly silent. I am a little grumpy that the last machine had an NVIDIA integrated graphics card while this one has an Intel HD 4000, but as I own a PS4 and a boyfriend with a fancy gaming PC, this is not the end of the world. Irritating, though.

I'm also out a sweet decal that I stuck on the back of the screen of the original machine.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/26/2017 2:19:08 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP Laptop EliteBook Folio 1020 G1 (T1B34UT#ABA) Intel Core M 5Y71 (1.20 GHz) 8 GB Memory 512 GB SSD Intel HD Graphics 5300 12.5" Touchscreen Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Laptop is good, ultra light-weight, however HP tech support is terrible
Pros: Laptop with light-weight, finger printer, large SSD hard drive
Cons: Laptop keyboard light could not stay on, also wireless speed extremely slow
Other Thoughts: After applied Microsoft patches and HP driver update laptop could not restart, and sometimes could not shutdown as well, have to press power to cool down, HP tech support is terrible could not provide any support then hang up the phone, no MORE HP!
Reviewed By:Tom Y.,5/25/2017 6:02:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Hewlett-Packard > HP C Grade Laptop 8460P Intel Core i5 2nd Gen 2410M (2.30 GHz) 4 GB Memory 250 GB HDD 14.0" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works fine last a long time
Pros: got a free CPU upgrade to 2.6ghz i5 instead of the 2.3ghz i ordered, 7200rpm hard drive, in "A" grade condition even though i payed for "C" grade
Cons: in the past i have even got the 1600 x 900 screen sometimes, but not this time, not really a con though, was the only thing i could think to say as a con.
Other Thoughts: def recomend, threw a $100.00 480gb SSD in it and it fly's. all the laptop 95% of the public needs.
also very easy to upgrade ram , cpu, hard drive, wireless card and so on, as the back is just one big quick release panel and you get all access to everything, I love it.
Reviewed By:THOMAS B.,5/25/2017 8:36:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Acer America > Acer Laptop Aspire E E5-575G-55KK Intel Core i5 7th Gen 7200U (2.50 GHz) 8 GB DDR4 Memory 1 TB HDD NVIDIA GeForce 940MX 15.6" Windows 10 Home

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Budget Laptop
Pros: -Been buying Acers for years and they take abuse
-Video card is darn decent for the price
-Cheap and snappy
Cons: -Internal battery seems like a trendy thing these days - I'm stretching here
-Gets hot? I guess that's a problem for fat kids who wear shorts
Other Thoughts: Been buying Acer laptops for years and working on them. Personally never had a problem. There seems to be a bug with the battery if you don't disconnect it before installing RAM/SSD so it seems it will not charge past a certain %. This can be corrected by first disconnecting the internal battery from the board, then reconnecting when new hardware is in place. Buy an m2 like others suggested, and get some extra ram. No one should be complaining about anything here, this laptop is a great deal and a wonderful machine.
Reviewed By:Mike F.,5/24/2017 5:38:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > DELL > Dell Latitude E6420 Intel i5 Dual Core 2500MHz 250Gig Serial ATA 4096MB DVD ROM 14.0" WideScreen LCD Windows 10 Professional 64 Bit Laptop Notebook

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Product, Excellent Quality!
Pros: I've ordered over 20 machines and they've all arrived in excellent working condition.
Cons: I've found only a handful of minor issues with the machines that I've ordered, such as tighten up some screws here and there, such as screen hinges etc, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: An investment well worth the money.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/24/2017 5:46:22 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo Grade A Laptop ThinkPad T420S Intel Core i5 2nd Gen 2520M (2.50 GHz) 4 GB Memory 320 GB HDD 14.1" Windows 7 Professional

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Almost Grade A at a great price
Pros: Excellent buy for the price. Well packaged and in very good physical condition. No serious blemishes or excessive wear, with one exception (see Cons).

No dead pixels, original Lenovo battery at about 2/3d's lifespan, or about 3 hours of browsing using the wireless connection. Original 90w Lenovo AC adapter. Everything seems to be working well. I have not tested the VGA output or card reader at this point. Excellent keyboard feel, no flex. Only minor wear on surfaces, top cover looks almost perfect.
Cons: Mostly just picky stuff. Some keys are shiny, but perfectly legible and the keyboard functions perfectly. Exterior was nearly spotless, but the fan was dusty. I was able to clear it with canned air, no need to disassemble. Trackpad sticker was worn out making it almost unusable.Fortunately, the TrackPoint is like new, so I still had usable input. I bought a pack of 4 from another retailer for less than ten bucks and got a better surface than the original. Just peel the old one off and apply the new one. 4 GB ram as advertised. Hard drive was a dog slow recertified Toshiba. No problems with it, passed SMART testing. I used the existing SSD and 8 GB dual channel pair of RAM to replace them. Perfectly fast now.
Other Thoughts: Also came with a 3g card. I removed it.

Bought this because I had all the accessories like a multibay drive adapter, SSD and more ram from a different T420s that keeled over from old age, after two fans, a replacement keyboard and touchpad and years of hard use. Dropped them in, revalidated Windows 7 and I'm back up and running in 15 minutes. Very happy with this purchase. Not complaining at all at the price.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/23/2017 10:03:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > Lenovo > Lenovo FLEX 3 15 2-IN-1 15.6" (1920x1080) Touchscreen Notebook - Core i7-6500U 2.5GHz, 1TB 8GB BT, WIN10, Webcam, NVIDIA GeForce GT 940M 2048MB

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good price, decent performance, but lacking
Pros: FHD screen is super nice. Plenty of storage space and memory. The graphics are powerful enough for me to play games comfortably on low-mid settings when I'm out and about. Touch screen and flippy design are neat. I've found the keyboard surprisingly comfortable to type on once I got used to it (it's a bit smaller than my PC's keyboard).
Cons: The drive is slow. The battery is way small for what the power it consumes. The input from the keyboard and trackpad are severely limited. Seems to only allow two inputs at a time which makes playing games with the built-in keyboard essentially impossible. Like, really, a HDD? Cannot emphasize how much that degrades the experience of this machine. Gets real hot real fast when it's sitting on your lap. Semi-often will just go black. I believe that more than just the display is crashing but I don't think I can confirm that. Regardless, I have to hard shut it down when it happens and that's always an unpleasant experience. Especially, when I was in the middle of working on something.
Other Thoughts: Apart from the crashing, I can get over or work around most of the Cons. Definitely planning on replacing the drive soon so it doesn't crawl so much. If I had spent much more than I did ($529) on it, the Cons would definitely have pushed this to a 1 or 2 out of 5.
Reviewed By:MATTHEW S.,5/23/2017 7:44:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptops / Notebooks > ASUS > ASUS Laptop R Series R540LA-RS31 Intel Core i3 4th Gen 4005U (1.7 GHz) 4 GB DDR3 Memory 500 GB HDD Intel HD Graphics 4400 15.6" Windows 10 Home 64-Bit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Poor Performance
Pros: Nice size screen; lightweight
Cons: - Computer booted slowly and performed slowly otherwise
- Touchpad is weird...if you have two fingers on the pad the mouse pointer freezes up
Other Thoughts: - I actually just bought this computer for school..I wanted something cheap and simple and caught it on sale..but it performs as slow as my other computer that is approximately 6 years old and starting to die. Thus, I am returning this product, but others may find it suitable for simple use such as for college.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Kevin,

Thank you for the feedback and making us aware of your ASUS product experience. I'm sorry to hear about the technical difficulties you encountered and I apologize for any inconvenience. Please contact me directly at cc-eric@asus.com if there is anything I can assist you with and i'll be happy to help. I look forward to your e-mail so we can be sure to resolve your concerns as quickly as possible.


Best Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:Kevin P.,5/23/2017 7:10:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.