Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK 4 x 2.5 SSD to 5.25 Drive Bay Hot Swap Backplane Cage Mobile Rack Comparable to Tray-less Design - ExpressCage MB324SP-B

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great bay, though poor quality control
Pros: Easy to install
Hotswap bays

Honestly, mostly what you'd expect out of this.
Cons: The unit shipped missing one of the bottom left screws, which made it difficult to slide cage 2 back into its bay. Easy fix though since the included screws that you're given to screw in the hdd/ssd to the swap bays are the same size as the screws holding the unit together.
Other Thoughts: Some people probably won't bother even checking the fanspeed jumper, so it might be best to ship the units with it set to smart control instead of low.
Reviewed By:Olline H.,7/19/2017 1:15:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK 5.25 Inch Hot Swap Drive Caddy / Docking for 2.5 Inch & 3.5 Inch SATA Hard Drive/SSD - DuoSwap MB971SP-B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy install and setup. No loss of speed on HDD.
Pros: This is exactly what I was looking for. Super easy to mount in bay, plug in cables, changed BIOS settings to hot swap enabled, and it works great.
The power buttons and eject buttons work as they should. Green power light and amber "in use" light work.
I did a disk read/write test for both 2.5"HDD and 3.5"HDD, tested both in hot swap bay and plugged straight to MOBO, no loss of speed in this docks's connections.
The flat black color matches most other flat blacks; looks great in my case.
Cons: Having only one 2.5 bay, it wouldn't make cloning a 2.5 to a 2.5 any easier, in case you're upgrading your laptop; but generally I recommend clean installs anyways, i've never wanted to clone a disk, so is not a Con for me. If you're looking for easy Cloning, pick a different product.
The user manual was a couple of nonhelpful pictures; but if you're the kind of person buying this, i presume you can figure out installing. Just remember which SATA ports you're plugging into on MOBO and enable hot swap in the BIOS.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend.
Reviewed By:Nicholas F.,7/19/2017 9:24:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Syba > SYBA SY-MRA25023 Back Panel Slot Mount Mobile Rack for 2.5" Laptop Size SATA HDD / SSD

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 SYBA SY-MRA25023 Back Panel Slot Mount Mobile Rack for 2.5"
Pros: Very good product, good price. Not a single problem in 3 years use. Makes good use of filling the bare spaces in a server with unused back panel slots. Can also be used up front, easy to modify.
Cons: EDITED: one of the two that I bought in 2013, just over 4 years ago had one of the sata connectors supplied with this unit burn up, looks like the 12 volt line inside the connector arched, melted the copper traces and a small spot of the plastic connector the traces are bonded in. This connector might only have been moved a couple of times in 4 years. Molded sata power connector seem to be time bombs waiting to go off.
Other Thoughts: I have 2 of these in a server and I modified a 3rd one to fit in a slim CD drive opening in a Sophos firewall. Wanted my SSD to be removable without opening up the small ISK300-150 case.
EDITED: product is good, cable keep an eye on it, you should smell the burn before you see it. I did not see it until I started a server rebuild. Everything was still working so that made it hard to find.
Reviewed By:Gerhard M.,7/18/2017 8:32:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech SAT32M225 M.2 NGFF SSD to 2.5in SATA Adapter Converter

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 M.2 NGFF Adapter
Pros: Works exactly as designed.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: This adapter is made for NGFF Sata socket and will not work with higher speed M.2 NVMe. Clearly stated in product description. Used this to add an extra drive in laptop via optical drive caddy. Love how simple this device made use of an old M.2 drive.
Reviewed By:Rodney H.,7/17/2017 3:32:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK Tray-less 3 x 3.5" HDD in 2 x 5.25" Bay SAS / SATA Hot Swap Rack / Cage / Module - FlexCage MB973SP-1B

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not the quality I was expecting
Pros: Nice that it is trayless. I really like the "standard" fan on the back. If and when the fan fails it will be easy to find a replacement.
Cons: "THE" first drive I plugged into it, as a test, broke the pin mount off the door pulling the rod that "ejects" the drive. There is a lot of stress when the door adds leverage to "pull" the ejection rod. When the drive is "stuck" . . . POP! Weak pin mounts of the door failed.
Other Thoughts: Would I recommend this product to others . . . NO! Am I disappointed . . . yes. I was expecting a better quality based on the name brand. I have other Icy Dock products and they are fine so far.
Reviewed By:Robert W.,7/17/2017 1:47:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is average and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Nippon Labs > Nippon Labs HDB-250 2.5" HDD/SS Metal Bracket Black Color

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Cheap. Works great.
Pros: Cheap. Works great.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:CHRISTOPHER B.,7/16/2017 4:07:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Enermax > Enermax Mobile Rack EMK5102 - 5.25" drive bay designed for a single 3.5 HDD/SSD. SATA 6.0G (SATA III) hard drives compatible

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product! Does exactly what it says
Pros: Converts a 5.25" drive bay into an easy access 3.5" HDD/SSD bay
Very easy to install and use
Came with a nice wire adapter that made installation even easier!
Cons: Only available in black (not really a con, just preference. At least black goes with everything).
Other Thoughts: I would totally buy more of these if I had the need for them. For now, one is enough.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/16/2017 12:32:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > Phanteks Company > Phanteks PH-HDDKT_02 Modular HDD Bracket Specific for Evolv ATX, Pro M case upgraded

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A must-buy if you purchase a Phanteks Case!
Pros: Fantastic build quality
Easy To Install
Allows lots of expansion to the case that only contains 2 3.5inch bays
Cons: The case doesn't come with these
Other Thoughts: Absolutely necessary if you buy a phanteks case and you use hard drives. I use both SSDs and HDDs but the phanteks case I purchased only had 2 3.5inch bays and I ran out of Hard Drive space. Bought one of these, I could make this case hold up to 6 3.5 inch hard drives if I wanted to!
Reviewed By:William M.,7/14/2017 2:05:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK Tool-less Dual 2.5 to 3.5 HDD Drive Bay SSD Mount / Kit / Bracket / Adapter - EZ-Fit Lite MB290SP-B

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Fit
Pros: This was a good fit to my SSD and casing.
SSD slides in and out easily
Cons: Bought it for around $5 should be cheaper... its just plastic
Reviewed By:Syed N.,7/14/2017 8:47:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > SSD / HDD Accessories > STARTECH > StarTech.com 5.25in Trayless Hot Swap Mobile Rack for 3.5in Hard Drive - Internal SATA Backplane Enclosure (HSB100SATBK)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple, simply great
Pros: Metal where it counts and is bright plated steel, not aluminum, no sharp edges; rubber shock mounts on the side brackets; top and bottom totally open; sturdy ejection design; a disk light (but see below); spring loading on door for the disk; low cost.
Cons: SATA pass-through connector, plastic of course, bolts onto the rear thus not as sturdy as other designs. Having a disk in it when connecting or disconnecting the mobo cable would help stabilize it from breakage, and to be very careful when doing so. This is a good trade-off, the simplicity driven by the low price.
Other Thoughts: The insert/eject mechanism is clever and very sturdy, all metal except for the door. Insertion can by a bit catchy which is due to any bumps/slots on the rear of the disk or its case if 2.5 inch (ie an Icy Dock "Open air"). A good idea is to reach around the door, toward its hinge, when ejecting a disk, since the door is plastic. The disk light does not connect into the SATA (simplicity/low cost) so it has a long (30 inch) cable with a 2 pin female connector, ie to the mobo. But you will need to obtain/build a splitter if you want to see activity on this disk also.
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,7/12/2017 12:39:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.