Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 4 Streaming Media Player 4K UHD (4400R) Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Refurbished Roku 4 Media Player (4400R) - Fast Loading, Good Color Saturation, Good Value
Pros: - Sale Price is Half of a New Unit.
- Refurbished Unit looked New (No scratches or signs of wear).
- CPU loads faster than a Roku 3.
- Color Saturation & Resolution on a Vizio M49i HDTV (1080p) is better than a Roku 3.
- More Themes for Screen Saver Function than a Roku 3.
- Power Save function to turn the Roku 4 off if not in use. - This feature Does Not Work Reliably - Be Cautious if you use this.
- Free Shipping from Newegg.com
- Packaging and shipping were excellent from Newegg.com
Cons: - Unit Size is much Larger than a Roku 3. Not Easily Portable for Travel.
- Unit gets Warm to the Touch under Load. I recommend that the unit be Located to have maximum Cooling Air Flow to Maximize Life. I have two of these Roku 4 units and both get very Warm.
- Optional SDXC card Does Not Increase Device Performance. I put in a 16GB SDXC card into the Roku 4 and it Does Nothing to decrease the loading time, reduce buffering time, or anything else to increase performance. This is also true of the Roku 3 units I have so I deducted no eggs for this.
- The Power Save function is new for the Roku 4. Unfortunately, when turned on, the Roku 4 will go into sleep mode and will not turn back on reliably unless a hard reset (unplug the power supply, wait 10 seconds, then plug the power supply back in) is done.
Other Thoughts: Newegg.com had refurbished Roku 4 (4400R) units on sale for US$59.99 which is the same price, or less, than a refurbished Roku 3. I was initially wary of the Roku 4 based on previous reviews which stated that the units got hot and were unreliable. While I agree that the units get warmer than a Roku 3, my experience is that they do Not get "too hot to touch" or anywhere close. I place my Roku 4 units in the open air with a small open stand underneath them so there is plenty of air circulation around for cooling. In those conditions, the Roku 4 is 100% reliable.

I found that the power save function on these Roku 4 devices is flaky. When the power save function is turned on in the menu, the unit will power down when not used for 30 minutes. I found that one of the units I own will never turn itself back on without a hard power down and reset. The other unit will turn back on about 50% of the time. It isn't worth the hassle to me so I disabled the power save function on these Roku 4 units and they work very reliably.

I was very surprised at the increase in visual clarity and color saturation I observed when comparing against a Roku 3 player on a Vizio M49i HDTV (1080p). the Roku 4 is supposed to make 4K videos look better on a 1080p or 720p display but it also seems to improve the apparent display quality of 1080p and 720p media too. I am not sure why this would be, I just report my observations. I do not have a 4K display to test the video playback quality of that media so I will leave that for others.

The size of the Roku 4 media player is much larger than that of Roku 3. It is about 15 cm X 15 cm (6" X 6") length X Width. Not very convienent to carry in your briefcase or carry-on luggage when traveling. If you travel with these, I still recommend the Roku 3 as the most compact and full featured unit for that.

In conclusion, I am satisfied with the Roku 4 media player and would recommend it to others if the power save feature is turned off and the unit is placed in a well ventilated location with good air circulation. The price at Newegg.com for the Refurbished unit made this a very good bargain.
Reviewed By:R T.,3/23/2017 3:54:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku SE Streaming Media Player 2710SE - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent Product! May purchase a second unit for my living-room HD TV.
Pros: Just purchased one from Newegg last week. Works great with AV cables on the old flat-screen Sony Trinitron CRT in my bedroom. Images on Netflix are DVD quality on an old CRT with AV cables! Runs the newest Roku OS 7.5 and is automatically updated. The best apps I like so far are Netflix and YouTube. Pandora is good also. There are tons of News, Movie and Cable TV station channels. Sky News is excellent and provides 24-hour live broadcasts from the UK.
Cons: No major complaints so far. May not be quite as fast as the newest Roku boxes but at this price who can complain. The SE OS firmware can be updated, but be aware the unit doesn't run the latest version of the Netflix app that supports multiple profiles for various family members. The weather station options could be much better. I found Weather Underground to be the simplest and best app for weather. Unfortunately the Spotify app will not activate with a free Spotify account. You must subscribe to the pay version of Spotify first. The Pandora app does, however, work with your free account. Finally I would suggest that Roku consider adding an app for the Napster(formerly Rhapsody) music streaming service. You will need to supply your own AV or HDMI cables as these are not included.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to a friend. I would purchase this unit again.
Reviewed By:Mr. D.,3/23/2017 10:42:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME 3-Tuner US CableTV with CableCARD Stream Premium Channels and Cut the Cord

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Finally, a replacement for my Centon tuner!
Pros: Been stuck on Win7x64 forever since Microsoft decided to kill Windows Media Center. Was waiting for this to support DRM channels via Cable TV. Finally they got it implemented. I can now "stream" HD Cable TV to all my devices in the home - my HTPC and my two Google Nexus Players. No more need to pay monthly fee to cable company for their stupid boxes!
Cons: Software a bit buggy still - although improvements are rapidly being pushed out.
Can't use the DVR unless you pay a yearly fee
Can't watch DVR on different devices (EG: record on HTPC, no way to playback on Nexus Player devices - have to watch locally)
Reviewed By:Michael C.,3/23/2017 7:06:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ TV | Streaming Media Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great quality system
Pros: The only Android TV device, that isn't a FireTV that includes A->Z Instant Video. Very high quality graphics and sound. Access to exclusive game store that are not available to other Android TV devices. I have an A->Z FireTV (not box), a Mibox3 and this to compare.
Cons: Insane price compared to others.
Remote came with 2 dead batteries already installed.
Other Thoughts: Comparing FireTV to Mibox 3 to The Sheild.

Shield - Best quality picture, best processor has access to both Ultraviolet and A->Z videos. Hate the AV remote
FireTV - Great quality, but if you have Vudu movies or other Ultraviolet, it's a pain to watch. Has the best AV remote
MiBox3 - Great quality as well, but no access to A->Z movies. Game selection isn't great.
Reviewed By:Nicholas S.,3/22/2017 2:25:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > NVIDIA > NVIDIA® SHIELD™ TV | Streaming Media Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very good!
Pros: -Price point is pretty good for what you get
-Flawless streaming
-Plays games well
-Comes with a controller and a remote
Cons: -Remote double clicks ( i don't know if its just my remote but it seems to double click frequently.
Other Thoughts: I have a streaming PC hooked up to my TV to watch Netflix, HBO Now, A* Prime. Started to see some issues with streaming quality. Was going to do a PC upgrade but figured would try "Shield" instead. Man am i glad i did. This thing streams movies and shows like a champ. It supports most of the popular streaming apps out there. Vudu, Netflix, HBO Now, Sling, A* Prime, Youtube/Google movies are the ones I use the most. For the price and what I wanted, you can't beat this. PC Upgrade or a new mini PC would have cost much more.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/20/2017 5:32:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku SE Streaming Media Player 2710SE - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not good
Pros: Price
Cons: To old...doesn't work the way it's supposed to...even when installing it read....if you want a full experience getc roku 3..it have a great price but as an advise pay a litle more an get a product up to date
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/18/2017 9:02:34 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku 4 Streaming Media Player 4K UHD (4400R) Refurbished

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great Don't know what I did without one!!!
Pros: I liked the features and all the channels to chose from.
Cons: Even the free channels you need to have a cable or satellite subscription.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't do this but you could use a friends or family members information for the free channels.
Reviewed By:Albert B.,3/16/2017 5:20:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Ematic > Ematic AT103B CONVERTER BOX with LED Display and Recording Capabilities

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Features as described Work...
Pros: The receiver sensitivity is actually better than all my TV's that have a builtin tuner. DVR feature is nice where I can pause programs, or schedule it to record. Has a full size remote that takes two AAA batteries. Can use either a USB thumb drive or USB drive for recording
Cons: Setup of channels is autoprogram only, great if your using an omni directional antenna or cable provider, not so great for over the air using a directional antenna with rotor control. The lack of adding individual channels means that with a directional antenna on a rotor, you have to use auto program each time you move the antenna. NO CEC communication over HDMI so your TV will not switch automatically to the HDMI port when unit is turned on, and you can not use your TV remote to control the tuner box (major fail man error). No analog tuner, so if you are using a analog modulator for security cameras, you will need to update your modulator as well.
Support and firmware updates is yet to be seen...
Other Thoughts: There are better supported products, but all the external tuners I have received thus far have short comings
Reviewed By:Corey D.,3/14/2017 1:59:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > SiliconDust > SiliconDust HDHR3-CC HDHomeRun PRIME 3-Tuner US CableTV with CableCARD Stream Premium Channels and Cut the Cord

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Very Limited Usability and Difficult to Setup
Pros: Pretty packaging.
Cons: If negative ratings were possible, this would have earned them solely due to the horrible tech support.

Per support, "HDCP is not supported via VGA. DRM channels require the monitor be connected via HDMI." In other words, if you are on Windows 10 and don't connect to a HDMI monitor via an HDMI cable, this won't work on your device. Nowhere is that in the published specifications.

Also tech support is by text only, no phone support. In practice, this means that a minimum of 24 hours between question and response. I worked "continuously" with SD tech support for two and a half weeks before they finally admitted that their device and software has undocumented restrictions when using Windows 10. (They claim it works fine with Windows Media Center on Windows 7/8. I tried it with WMC on Windows 10 with no success. WMC worked fine. It just can't find the network tuner.)
Reviewed By:Lawrence G.,3/13/2017 7:01:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Video Devices & TV Tuners > Roku > Roku SE Streaming Media Player 2710SE - Certified Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Simple and inexpensive way to create an internet intertainment system
Pros: Extensive choice of online channels or streaming sites to play in real time.
Easy to set up and configure access thru Roku online.
Auto shut-off when TV is turned off.
Cons: For the price, there are no Cons that I've encountered
Reviewed By:ERIC H.,3/12/2017 5:44:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.