Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Raidmax > RAIDMAX HYBRID 2 RX-630SS 630W ATX12V V2.2/ EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Modular Power Supply, New Version with Build-in LED Fan On/Off Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great power supply!
Pros: Easy to install, lots of plugs, has a really nice look.
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:GARNET A.,3/1/2017 5:44:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Corsair > CORSAIR CX-M series CX750M 750W 80 PLUS BRONZE Haswell Ready ATX12V & EPS12V Modular Power Supply

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Budget price, well built
Pros: This is a CWT power supply, with narrow tolerance caps and an efficient, well-planned layout in its design.

It is Semi-Modular, not Modular as stated in the title description. In the small print, you see "Semi-Modular". I place this in the pros because the two most critical connectors are hard-wired, and this is good. All systems will always use these two connections, so there is no reason (other than appearance) for these to be modular. Each modular connector added to the chain adds resistance, and resistance equals heat and noise.

Clean appearance; no lights or screaming demon decals, so I can use this in a professional environment.

Voltage measurements on first boot were within tolerance, and 3 weeks later there was no change. Other than rebooting to verify these numbers in the BIOS, the system was on 24/7 and had no power-related issues.
Cons: I only have one con, and that is the slight discomfort I have deploying this particular model with so many reports of failure around the 2 year mark.
Other Thoughts: The system in which this power supply was tested - MSI Z170A gaming 3x Krait, MSI GeForce GTX 1060 GAMING X 6G, Corsair H1000i water cooling, Intel Core i7 6700k @ 4.7, etc.

Converting 2 Blu-Ray to mkv in parallel caused an audible squeal, which I feared was coil whine. My 57-yr-old ears weren't able to verify the source until I used a long plastic tube to identify the source - the pump in the heatsink housing of the water cooler. While relieved to know that it isn't the power supply, I did want to mention that another Corsair product was the source.
Reviewed By:Clayton P.,3/1/2017 5:24:48 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Raidmax > RAIDMAX Scorpio series RX-635AP-S 635W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does its job very well
Pros: Very clean looking (mine is installed with the fan facing down, the black finish is nice), runs quietly, has had no problems delivering its power reliably. Comes with plenty of extra cables to adapt to most builds that aren't over the top. Got a mail-in rebate on top of it being on sale, wound up being $25. Can't beat that
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Definitely recommended
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/1/2017 2:12:27 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Rosewill > Rosewill RD700-M - Stallion Series 700-Watt Modular Power Supply Unit - ATX12V, SLI & CrossFire-Ready

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Rosewill RD700-M
Pros: This power supply with the Antec GX700 case if you like black steel cases w/green accessories .
Cons: Has met or exceded all my needs.
Other Thoughts: It's gone up in value since I bought mine. 9/2014
Reviewed By:William M.,2/28/2017 8:14:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > EVGA > EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 PS 220-PS-1000-V1 80+ PLATINUM 1000W Fully Modular EVGA ECO Mode Includes FREE Power On Self Tester Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Top Notch Power Supply. Going Strong for 24/7 operation since June of 2015.
Pros: Great Looks
Clean Power
Silent

Highly Recommend this Product

Every Quality Build Needs a Backbone !
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Would Highly Recommend.
Reviewed By:HARLEY S.,2/28/2017 5:39:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > EVGA > EVGA 500 B1 100-B1-0500-KR 80+ BRONZE 500W Includes FREE Power On Self Tester Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Reasonably easy to set up if you have brain cells
Pros: it powers up all right
Cons: none but i need to work on cable management
Reviewed By:nicholas f.,2/28/2017 5:21:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Corsair > CORSAIR VS Series VS500 (CP-9020118-NA) 500W ATX12V / EPS12V 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Budget priced PSU with a lot of bang for the buck
Pros: + I think the best and most fair way to review the VS500 would be to compare it to the other budget PSU I have, an Antec VP450. Both PSU's are budget models, with the basic 80+ (white) certification and a somewhat standard assortment of plugs capable of powering any machine they're bought for, old or new. Ignoring the obvious wattage difference (500W vs 450W):
+ The VS500 is heavier than the VP450, and appears to have more to the 'innards' so it appears to be manufactured/'put well' together better.
+ The VS500 has a fan grill template punched out of the PSU case itself, whereas the VP450 has an actual fan grill installed. (Minor aesthetic difference.)
+ The VS500 has a 3 year warranty, whereas the VP450 is a 2 year warranty.
+ The VS500 has fully sleeved cables throughout, whereas the VP450 has the primary ATX cable sleeved, but none of the rest. In this regard, the VS500 is going to be a lot better on cable management and make a whole lot less 'cable spaghetti' in the case.
+ Corsair vs. Antec, either one is a solid PSU brand and I trust both.

+ The VS500 is a good PSU for basically any system that isn't a bleeding-edge overclocker or a mid-range (or better) gaming build. If you have either of those, you're not looking at the VS500 as a potential PSU anyway, so those of you who are still reading - I think you'll be happy with this PSU. It's built well, the quality is good, the cables are nice and sleeved, and there's plenty of plug ends on them to handle a dedicated graphics card (using up to 2 PCIe power cables), plus an assortment of SATA or IDE (molex) hard drives and optical drives.

+ If you need a reliable PSU for an office computer, either a new build or to replace an aging/dead PSU, this one fits the bill nicely. It's cheap enough to not raise eyebrows at the expense, but it's built well enough (and covered long enough by warranty) that it should last you for quite some time.

+ Corsair support & their RMA process is top notch. In the past, any time I've had to RMA a product, it's been a very quick turnaround.
Cons: - Cables aren't modular but you're not going to find a good modular PSU in this price range anyway.
Other Thoughts: * Comparing the VS500 to it's higher-priced cousin, the CX500, the only real selling point is the increased efficiency of the CX (80+ Bronze vs. 80+ White). Is that worth the $15 price premium (not factoring in any mail-in rebates)? That's debatable.

* Both the VS500 and the CX500 have 3 year warranties and a 100,000 MTBF (mean time before failure) rating. In other words - they'll both probably last the same length of time, warranty or not.

* For a budget build, a low-priced gaming system, or an office web/email workstation, either PSU is going to work and the efficiency is really going to be a wash. Most PSU's in this price range are either garbage, or ticking time bombs - the VS500 and the CX500 are both good, well-built models that will not disappoint you. Unless you can get a CX500 cheaper including a rebate, then I'd recommend the VS500 to anyone needing a solid budget PSU.
Reviewed By:Nick C.,2/28/2017 2:04:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Corsair > CORSAIR CX Series CX600 600W 80 PLUS BRONZE Active PFC ATX12V & EPS12V Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Running (Almost) 2 years strong
Pros: Pulls 600 watts from the wall
Near-silent fan
Pretty compact size considering how much power it takes in
Hasn't exploded yet
Price?
Cons: None?
Other Thoughts: I got this PSU back in early 2015 for my first actual build and I have to say it's held up pretty nicely.
Powers a 4790k and 970 in a ITX case and the only real noise coming out of it is the CPU and case fans.
Some reviews from 2014 and earlier listed coil whine as a major complaint but I've never noticed it on mine.

Overall a very reliable PSU, even for what would have been a higher-level system a few years ago this dandy little guy will be more than enough.
Reviewed By:Micah B.,2/28/2017 10:06:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Corsair > CORSAIR CX series CX430 430W 80 PLUS BRONZE Active PFC ATX12V & EPS12V Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Back up psu
Pros: I bought it for a back up, works fine. Got my rebate.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:John M.,2/28/2017 7:54:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Power Supplies > Corsair > CORSAIR CX-M Series CX450 450W 80 PLUS BRONZE Haswell Ready ATX12V & EPS12V Modular Power Supply

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great
Pros: Enough power for my needs. Quiet enough I can't hear it over my front cooler master radiator fan. Fits in a cooler master elite 130.
Cons: Only one sata power cable but I knew that before I bought it so not really a con.
Other Thoughts: Corsair sells power cables for this it takes type 4. All corsair cables are not the same. There are 2 "professional reviews out on this. They both say it's a good quality psu. Mostly Japanese caps.
Reviewed By:John M.,2/28/2017 7:53:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.