Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips SHP9500S Over-Ear Headphone Exclusive - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 You get more than what you pay for even at full price, as long as you know what you are buying
Pros: Pretty much the pro's of all open headphones: they are light, they dont need to put pressure on your ears, more comfortable than closed headphones.
The sound has more resolution in the high range, you will hear sounds that you didnt know were there compared to closed headphones.
The lows dont pack a punch, they are not supposed to.
Overall a more natural sound feeling, and more relaxed compared to closed cans.
Cons: Again pretty much all the typical cons of all open headphones:
You need a strong preamplifier, its essential to draw any benefit from open headphones, without a preamp, all open cans have a mediocre sound.
Like all open cans i tried, you need to listen at an elevated volume for the sound to be really good, at low volumes it sounds a bit off.
Obviously you will hear the ambient noises more than closed cans and people around you will hear your music louder than with closed cans.
Other Thoughts: These are open headphones.
As such they have all the pros and cons of open headphones, its common sense.
What potential buyers should keep in mind is this one essential fact: these are open headphones.
Open headphones are most suited for music listening with a decently powerful preamp. No preamp, forget about it, waste of money.
Open cans are generally not the best for gaming, but these ones do pretty well.
The build quality of these cans didnt impress me, but its very decent given the price.
What did impress me, was the versatility and overall quality of the sound, which is hard to find in this price range.
Even at the full price of $100 cad, they are worth it, at the $60 cad i bought them for, they are a steal, so i cannot think of any valid reason to not give it a 5 star...i mean egg rating.
Reviewed By:Bogdan K.,7/26/2017 8:27:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips SHP9500S Over-Ear Headphone Exclusive - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Pair of Headphones under $200
Pros: Plug the headphones right out of the box and even when expecting good, it still surprises you. You can't get better headphones than these unless going above $200. This is not debatable. These headphones are insane and they make every other headphone in that price range obsolete. If you have looked at these headphones for a while and are willing to purchase something, get these. If you are someone who was about to go buy some sennheiser 598, or any headphone of similar quality in that price range, don't, save money and buy these and then get a DAC and amp if you don't have them. If you are randomly looking for headphones for inside use, and you were lucky enough to cross these, get them, you will not be disappointed. These headphones are the set of cans that every person who wants to game and listen to should try to destroy the "gaming headphones" market.
Cons: These aren't the most popular open pair of cans on the market. Philips did something amazing here for such a low price.
I am no audiophile and these are my first pair of serious headphones, so this is biased but the sound quality is not only amazing, but extremely CLEAR. It is very easy to listen to songs you've listened to hundreds of times and pick some sound up you've never heard before with the amount of clarity these headphones bring. I am putting this in cons because it is a con that s many people put that the headphones were a little "muddy" when I feel like the staple of this pair is how clear every sound it is. I am sure they would sound even more clear with a dac and much heavier with an amp.
Other Thoughts: Don't be held back from the 9500s, I cannot confirm that they are the same but even if the headphones themselves are different, they still sound amazing. The only thing that seems have changed is you don't get a carrying case, an adapter for 3.5 mm, and the cable is shorter and honestly not as bad of quality as everyone makes it out to be.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/26/2017 7:48:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > JBL > JBL J56BT Bluetooth On-Ear Headphone - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Would recommend
Pros: Comfortable
Easy to connect (I use on 4 different devices)
Sound is great to me personally
Cons: For the price...none
Other Thoughts: I would definitely recommend these headphones, I've purchased 2 more pairs since.
Reviewed By:Timothy C.,7/25/2017 1:57:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > JBL > JBL J33A Premium in-ear headphones with microphone Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good Project below average quality
Pros: Good base and treble
Cons: Does not fit into my ear well.
Constantly falls out of my ear at the gym.
Other Thoughts: Connection at the JBL plug to the cable is not connected/loose and pretty much useless now. Maybe that is because the plug falls out of my iphone at the gym and hit the side of the bench.
Would not purchase this product again. I Purchased this product back in April 2015.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2017 1:33:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips SHL3300 DJ Over-Ear Headphones - Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Decent sound, but nothing to write home about
Pros: Was inexpensive when on sale. Decent sound.
Cons: The pads don't do a ton, can get uncomfortable during extended use
Other Thoughts: Giving it 4 eggs because for the price I paid for them they are decent enough quality. Can't expect the world for under 15 bucks.
Reviewed By:Christopher B.,7/25/2017 11:43:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Beyerdynamic > Beyerdynamic 713457 Custom i On-Ear Headphones

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sorry These Sound & Feel Fabulous!
Pros: Sounds and comfort!!
Cons: some plastic,so I will treat them with Love and Respect!! I did see there's a lot of how to care for in the manual. I am going to read it and do it well!!
Other Thoughts: Thanks for your help in getting the package to me. I am loving these.Also would love to sell them if the price comes down or I come into money.Thanks again
Reviewed By:Anonymous,7/25/2017 11:17:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > Philips M1MKIIBK/27 Fidelio On-Ear Headphones w / in-line Control and Mic - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good, affordable headphones
Pros: - Very good sound
- Affordable
- Sturdy
- I'm not big on listening to music however I do use them for watching movies and playing games, the sound is superb for both scenarios.
Cons: - The headphones include a spare cable attachment while its very convenient to be able to use smaller or larger cable depending on where you're using them, they will sometimes have a faulty contact (is that the word?) and the sound will only be present in one of the earphones. This isn't very common and can fix it by simply touching the cable slightly.
Other Thoughts: - The earphones are very warm on my ears, especially during summer but it's tolerable.
- The headphones appear much larger in the images, at least I expected them to be larger.
Reviewed By:Jorge T.,7/24/2017 9:44:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Monster Cable > Monster N-Tune On-Ear Headphones (Matte Green)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Monster N-Tune On-Ear Headphones (Matte Green)
Pros: Price is very low for a monster product.
Cons: The warning about the possible health affect from using them. It's bad enough from the air we breath and the foods we eat.
But whatever Monster is using to make these headphones they should stop selling them to protect the public!
Other Thoughts: Please Monster be a Good Corporate Citizen and stop sell these !
Reviewed By:William A.,7/24/2017 8:31:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Philips > PHILIPS SHL5800/28 3.5mm Stereo Connector Circumaural Headband Headphone

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Value in over-the-ear headphones you can buy
Pros: -great sound isolation.
-makes you forget you are wearing headphones. Sounds sound like they are coming from elsewhere in the room.
-Red and charcoal colors make these headphones look elegant.
-Not just for Music, these work excellent for gaming. Have great surround sound without seeming fake.
Cons: -Build quality of the headphones could be better. They seem fragile and can break easily if you rough-house them.
-Not recommended for on-the-go listening with your phone. Headphones don't seem to be very durable/strong.
-Better as stationary headphones while in the home.
-Even though the cord has a flat-wide design, they feel fragile.
Other Thoughts: I bought these because these had the best Sound Specifications and quality for the price. I use these for gaming on my PC. These are advertised to be used for listening to music, but their superb sound isolation works excellent for gaming as the surround sound is awesome. At first (as I wasn't used to them yet), I would often forget I had headphones on, as the sounds sounding like they were coming from far away in the room I was sitting in.
Reviewed By:Gregory M.,7/23/2017 4:03:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Headphones & Accessories > Rosewill > Rosewill Hi Fidelity In-ear Headphone with Microphone / Headset / Dual Drivers - EX-700

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than expected
Pros: Excellent overall sound. I've been using these with an Ipod touch 4th gen and an older Android phone that is now used only for music. No problems driving these buds from either. Sound is well balanced. Bass is NOT boomy (I despise sloppy, muddy bass). Highs are crisp and mids are clean. I've listened to music from rock to jazz to classical and I'm very satisfied with the performance. Fit is also on par and no issues with them working their way loose as I move around. . Solid construction on the buds. Like any headphone or earbuds that I buy, I always break them in for about 40 hours before I listen to them. Don't try them right out the package and make a decision whether or not you like them. Break them in and maybe try a little equalization. Everyone hears differently. With these being hi res, you'll probably notice more in your music than you heard before. Enjoy !!
Cons: None yet
Other Thoughts: My son and I both agree that these sound better than the Klipsch R6's. Hopefully, they'll last longer than the Klipsch's also as my sons and I have gone thru 7 pairs of their buds in the last 2 years and all have had one channel or the other stop working.
BTW, and I hope Rosewill sees this, the packaging is a pain. It's very tough to remove one of the buds from packaging without the fear of destroying the bud or tip. Try to rectify this. Overall I'm very happy with this product and I will be purchasing another set or 2.
Reviewed By:Ronald H.,7/23/2017 12:43:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.