Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX304-APU3-35B - External 3.5" SATA III 6 Gb/s Hard Drive Enclosure - USB 3.0 & eSATA Connection, Aluminum Body, 80 mm Variable Speed Fan with On / Off Switch, LED Display Panel

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Easy To Use-Xbox One
Pros: Keeps a 5 TB 7200RPM drive cool. Never gets above 85* F when in hard use. Stays at 64* F when idling. Fan is very quiet. No issues at all. LED panel is easily readable from 10-12 ft. away. Haven't tried this with eSATA on a PC, just with the Xbox.
Cons: Takes a little work to get the Xbox to recognize it but once it does, all is good. It may be the size of the drive that causes this, not the enclosure. If you turn it off it does revert back to Celsius instead of Fahrenheit. Not a deal breaker, just annoying if you need to turn it off.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the price. It's been running constantly since I bought it without an issue.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/22/2017 9:08:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2588US3 2.5in. SATA to USB 3.0 Hard Drive Disk HDD External Enclosure Case for 9.5mm 7mm SATA HDD and SSD up to 2TB - Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for the use I needed it for!
Pros: FAST! - drive cloning went from 95 minutes with a USB 2.0 to 25 minutes with this one
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/21/2017 7:09:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NST-366S3-BK 3.5-Inch SATA 6GB/s to USB 3.0 HDD Enclosure, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 This is a fantastic External bay. I have like 6 of them and this is the best.
Pros: Man I want another one of these. USB 3.0 hall but fast. I love the open front with the nice blue light. I also like the wall wart supply as opposed to the larger brick type of power supplies. I had a feeling this was the one to get.
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Michael B.,2/20/2017 9:42:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Thermaltake > Thermaltake AC ST0014U-D BlacX Duet 2.5 3.5 SATA USB 3.0 Docking Station RTL

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy to use, works great
Pros: Easy to set up, recognizes drives well reasonably fast, works for both notebook and desktop drives. Small.
Cons: No issues, and I've had it for quite a while now.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend. Great for re-accessing old drives you've pulled and have sitting in a closet somewhere.
Reviewed By:Mark G.,2/20/2017 11:51:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX-358 U3C BLK – External 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure – Aluminum & Plastic, Black, SATA I / II, USB 3.0 & eSATA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy installation and sturdy
Pros: Easy physical installation of a Seagate 2 GB (ST2000VN000) drive. this drive is 145mm long; the enclosure would easily allow another 5-7mm of drive length. As delivered, the case is disassembled, so you can immediately begin setting up your drive. It comes with a complete set of screws (4 for HDD, 2 for edge panels, 4 for metal cover.) The unit is sturdy and the fan is very quiet, especially compared to my system fans!

I tried both the USB3 and eSATA; both connections were immediately recognized by my computer using Win7-64 bit.

The included USB3 cable is about 1m long. Very thoughtful of Rosewill to include all needed cables.
Cons: Does not take advantage of the speed of newer drives that support SATA 6Gb/s.
Other Thoughts: I got this in February of 2017 at Newegg on sale for $36. This is a good value and I recommend this enclosure. The full price of $60 is no longer reasonable for an enclosure that does not support 6 Gb/s SATA.
Reviewed By:Heyward P.,2/19/2017 7:19:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech.com USB 3.0 to Slimline SATA ODD Enclosure for Blu-ray and DVD ROM Drives, Solid Aluminum (SLSODDU33B)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Better than expected
Pros: Nice and Solid. Easy to install the drive. USB 3.0 is nice, though I don't think it makes a huge difference in speed.
Cons: It would be nice if the back was solid aluminum, like the body, not plastic, but I'm nit-picking.
Other Thoughts: I am using as an external drive in our conference room, so we can insert disks (e.g. watch DVDs instead of work) If you're planing to use as a portable, it might be a bit heavy, as I said, very solid.
Reviewed By:Steven B.,2/19/2017 2:33:10 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX35-AT-IU BLK - Aluminum 3.5" Black IDE USB 2.0 External Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Soft screws
Pros: Does the job - was able to access my hard drives from 15 years ago and get the files I wanted
Cons: All the screws are low quality. On my first use screwing in the enclosure the screws lost their tread and got metallic dust all over the place making a huge mess. After swapping in hard drives a few times I can't even use the screws anymore and had to use tape to seal the enclosure.
Other Thoughts: I had the same problem of soft screws on a Rosewill case fan I purchased as well - made a huge mess in my computer case of metallic dust. Very disappointing after being satisfied with all my previous Rosewill purchases (that did not have any screws)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/18/2017 8:32:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX308 USB 3.0 Full Aluminum 25mm 3.5" Enclosure with LED indication

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, easy to setup, good price.
Pros: I am using this item to add an external backup drive to my laptop. I took the drive out of my old tower system and for $25 I now have a 2TB drive to store stuff I don't want taking up space on the laptop's SSD. I thought it might be slower than when it was in the tower, but with USB 3.0 on all connections it seems as fast as before.

I also like the stand, which allows the drive to be placed vertical on the desk. I also like the on/off switch and led indicator on the front of the unit.
Cons: Rather cryptic setup instructions, but anyone with a little computer experience can get through it.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely buy another one.
Reviewed By:Ronald K.,2/18/2017 12:11:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > ICY DOCK > ICY DOCK MB174U3S-4SB Metal body with partial plastic 3.5" Black SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 & eSATA Black Vortex 4 Bay USB 3.0 & eSATA External HDD Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Pretty bad
Pros: None
Cons: Enthusiastically corrupted drives multiple times.
Other Thoughts: Okay, I ordered this over a year ago...in 2015 in fact, so maybe the model has been improved some. I didn't have the budget to buy drives for it, so it just sat until this year. When I got my tax refund, I got four HGST 4tb drives, same model, brand, etc. Because I've been desperately needing to back up my huge photo and video archives.

I've done the full format on every drive (takes the better part of a day), rather than the 'quick format'. And the first two drives seem to be doing okay (SO FAR), but my PC struggles to find and identify the third and fourth drive, and as soon as I start loading files to be backed up onto the third drive, in short order it starts telling me there's an error and my file system is corrupted and everything needs to be formatted again. I have a handful of external drive 'docks' and when I put these drives in one of them (if they haven't been corrupted yet, anyway) they work fine. But put them back in the Vortex and I might as well flush my data down the toilet.

This thing is horrible. And because I let it sit for so long, I don't imagine I can expect warranty or exchange, so I'm just going to have to recycle it. I'm buying a Mediasonic probox instead.
Reviewed By:charles d.,2/17/2017 10:55:16 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech SATDOCK2REU3 2.5" & 3.5" Black SATA II Hard Drive Docking Station and Standalone HDD / SSD Duplicator

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worst Possible Product and Customer Service Experience(StarTech)
Pros: None
Cons: I will never buy, nor recommend another StarTech product to anyone, not my worst enemy.

Customer service called me to follow up with me to see how they did, so here it is. Let me start by clarifying, I have the Satdock22RU3, the older model of this unit that has been discontinued and with very good reason. I bought this unit years ago, 7? maybe. At any rate, I never got the chance to use it and I finally understand why. It never worked. When I got the unit, I tried a few old drives and it appeared they all had voluminous bad sectors. Man was I glad I had this, as it appeared the read the good ones, and try to go back again until it got all the data and my files were safe, but boy was it time consuming. You have to tell windows to try to read the files again every 100mb maybe 50-500 something like that. So, I ran out of time, put the project of saving my old drives on hold. Fast forward some years, I finally have some free time. I'm going to save my drives. I lost the adapter, bad on me, I know. So I try to find a replacement online somewhere, but the power specifications (plug type) are not in the manual (they are now, thanks to yours truly). It's ok, I'll call the manufacturer, that's what you do. They were very helpful in offering to find a unit that would work. I said thanks and waited to use my $100 toy that I bought forever ago. It comes, whoops, wrong plug. It's ok, again customer service is very helpful, doesn't ask me to send back the bad unit until I get a working one. Again life is peachy. I wait and finally it arrives and it's the right plug! Excellent, now I'll get some use out of this thing. I have the same issue with reading very little data and encountering errors. This time I notice it's on multiple drives.... maybe ..... just maybe.... nah. Heck with it, maybe if I plug them in direct I'll get a little better read rate or have better luck repairing the sectors. Have you guessed what happens next yet? Yep, I'm an idiot. Product was defective from the start. When plugged in directly I can read all my data, no bad sectors, it's a miracle. So, I call customer service to follow up with them as they had asked. Very nicely I inform them the power adapter worked but the unit didn't (obviously I'm way out of warranty and state that). I also told the representative the rest of the story. She started out with the question "So would you like to return the power adapter?". Yes, yes I would, I'll send you the new one, the wrong one and the unit itself if you want to pay for shipping. "Can you please hold?", absolutely, take your time. She comes back with .... uh, thanks, we're glad the power adapter worked. Ok, so you asked me to follow up, I am. I'm not pleased, I'm not pleased in any way with the product, the company or the customer service. In a business sense, operating in the good old USA, they're absolutely right, I'm just out of luck and an idiot for ordering their product, not noticing it was defective and buying a power cord for a defective product. Do I think they could do things better? Yes, make products that work and when they're defective due to manufacturing or design, don't just stick to the warranty. If a customer orders a part they didn't realize they didn't need, take the return.

So yeah, you know what I think of StarTech, their products and their service. I don't know that this is what they wanted to hear, but they asked. So, I told them, and you, and anyone that will listen for the rest of my life in any way I can convey the message.
Other Thoughts: Hoping they make this right, but not holding my breath.
Reviewed By:Clinton R.,2/16/2017 3:36:41 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.