Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 2.5 inch Transparent External Hard Drive Disk Enclosure Box USB 3.0 High-Speed Case for 2.5" HDD SSD Case Support UASP protocol SATA III Tool Free

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Secret
Pros: Very good inexpensive case.
Cons: none.
Other Thoughts: I feel compelled to write this review primarily for those who are challenged in opening this case. Here is the secret to opening this case. For a right handed person: place the case in your left palm, finger tips at the top. Then put your right palm on top, also with finger tip at the top. (Picture hands in a prayer pose.) Then exert some pressure with your right hand and slide down, it will open amazingly easy....Promise. I believe another reviewer mentions a similar procedure. Helpful if you hands are not slippery.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/23/2017 8:55:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 6619US3-BK SuperSpeed USB 3.0 to SATA Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5" and 3.5" HDD, SSD [8TB Support]

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works well
Pros: used it on 3 drives in the last 2 days and works great as it should - very smooth
Cons: none
Reviewed By:scott h.,6/22/2017 8:39:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO USB 3.0 to SATA Dual Bay External Hard Drive Docking Station for 2.5 or 3.5 inch HDD, SSD with Clone Function (8TB Support) - Black (6629US3-C-V1-US-BK)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Easier to use than I expected
Pros: Good device. I cloned a 200GB drive in well under 1 hour to a new 1TB drive. Works great for back ups.
Cons: I did experience issues with cloning drives when both were in the Orico. I had better success cloning from internal drive to target in the Orico.
Other Thoughts: I would definitely buy the Orico again. Double duty to clone and back up.
Reviewed By:Elena P.,6/22/2017 11:28:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill Armer RX200-APU3-25B External 2.5" SATA Hard Drive Enclosure - SSDs / HDDs, USB 3.0 Connection, 100% Screw-less

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good for spare LapTop Drive
Pros: Worked as advertized. No extra cord to plug in.
Cons: Cord is short and may need an extension USB for lengthy connected status.
Other Thoughts: Best external 2.5 drive case I have ev er owned. It is worth the few dollors I invested.
Reviewed By:Paul H.,6/22/2017 4:36:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO Aluminum 3.5 inch USB3.0 to SATA3.0 Hard Drive HDD Enclosure Vertical Design 3.5 inch HDD Case Docking Station 5Gbps Support UASP 12V2A Power Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Drive alignment problem
Pros: Cheap
Cons: Reliability.
Other Thoughts: The first drive I put in this was kind of tight, but worked fine. I then wanted to upgrade and took the drive out, but new drives don't align with the connectors. Junk for another ORICO. Won't buy another.
Reviewed By:Stephan R.,6/21/2017 12:11:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Orico > ORICO 3519SUS3-BK Aluminum Alloy HDD External Enclosure with E-SATA and USB3.0 Interface

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Seemed well built, but didn't last
Pros: Price was low
Cons: Lasted a bit over a year then data errors. Tried multiple drives/cables and then eventually trashed it.
Reviewed By:Stephan R.,6/21/2017 12:08:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill 2.5" SATA III Stylish and Screwless HDD / SSD Enclosure RX203

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works pretty good for the $$$$
Pros: Sturdily made.
Cons: none so far.
Other Thoughts: A sticker with instructions on would be nice.
Reviewed By:RICHARD P.,6/18/2017 11:08:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Vantec > VANTEC NST-366S3-SV Aluminum / Plastic 3.5" Silver SATA I/II/III USB 3.0 ( Backwards compatible with USB 2.0 & 1.1 ) 3.5" SATA III 6 Gb/s to USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Suddenly stopped working for no clear reason
Pros: nothing to mention
Cons: It lasted for three months. The circuitry is cheap; it suddenly stopped working with no reason apparent.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/17/2017 4:41:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > Rosewill > Rosewill RX307-PU3-35B - 3.5" Hard Drive Enclosure - SATA III, USB 3.0, Energy Saving, UASP, Black Aluminum & ABS Plastic

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Sucks with Hard Drives > 2TB
Pros: On a positive note, the tech support guy at Rosewill was great: knowledgeable and courteous. Shame he has to support such junk.
Cons: Doesn't work with drives converted to GPT (they disappear). You need this for partitions > 2TB.
Construction was flimsy, cheap and not-going-to-last.
Other Thoughts: I bought this Rosewill RX307-PU3-35B enclosure with the intention of formatting a 4tb drive (WD40EZRX) to a single partition. The drive was originally two MBR partitions of 2tb and 1.6tb (ntfs), which I had formatted earlier with the drive inside my other ancient Rosewill enclosure. With the RX307-PU3-35B Rosewill enclosure I converted the drive to GPT and voila I was able to Quick Format the drive as 3.6tb ntfs. Success!
Not. That was the last time I saw that hard drive. Once I disconnected the external drive and reconnected I never saw the hard drive again when using the RX307-PU3-35B, in either the Logical Disk Manager or DiskPart. I placed the GPT converted drive into my old Rosewill enclosure and I could see the two original 2 MBR ntfs partitions. With an even older external hard drive enclosure I could see the 1st of the two MBR ntfs partitions.
But I never saw the drive again using the RX307-PU3-35B enclosure. I tried on three different computers, rebooting several times.
WARNING! If the RX307-PU3-35B is your only external enclosure and you convert a drive to GPT you risk not being able to use that drive at all.
With the RX307-PU3-35B I can see all my other MBR 2tb or less partition hard drives (including my other WD40EZRX drive). But just the 1st partitions. RX307-PU3-35B is blind to 2ndary partitions.
Boo!
Also, compared to my ancient Rosewill the construction of the RX307-PU3-35B is junk! The plastic guides for the hard drive are flimsy and sure to break off after any reasonable usage. The entire end piece holding the connectors and logic board just feels flimsy.
Too bad. I love my 10 year old Rosewill. It's a shame to see the quality of a brand name drop so precipitously.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------
I'm running Windows 7 Pro (32 bit) on an ancient Compaq Evo N410c (resource constrained 1200 MHz, 1.00 GB Ram, 80gb HD). USB Legacy Support is disabled in the BIOS. Win 7 Pro is the ONLY software installed on the computer (I intend to use the computer strictly to copy files to a 4tb drive).
Manufacturer Response:Dear Robert,

We greatly appreciate your purchase. We apologize for any problems this enclosure has caused and for your dissatisfaction with our product.

We strive to provide the best quality and service to you. Please contact our support team for your warranty options if your product is still within our warranty. Thank you.

Phone: 1- 800-575-9885
Email: rma@rosewill.com
Email2: techsupport@rosewill.com
Thanks,
Rosewill Customer Care

Reviewed By:Robert O.,6/17/2017 1:09:46 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Hard Drive Enclosures > STARTECH > StarTech S251BU31315 2.5" USB-C Hard Drive Enclosure - USB 3.1 Type C - with USB-C and USB-A Cable - USB 3.0 HDD Enclosure

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Unfortunately doesn't work with Seagate Constellation.2
Pros: Works with all of my other 2.5" SSDs and HHDs
Cons: The 15mm Seagate Constellation 2 fits in the case, but my guess is that the HDD draws too much power to be able to run off of USB power only. Now I'm in search of another enclosure that meets the height requirement and has an external power source as this enclosure does not have the ability to use an external DC power source.
Reviewed By:Mopus M.,6/16/2017 10:25:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.