Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1517+ (2GB) High Performance NAS Optimized for Encryption and Intensive Tasks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding NAS for large scale home use and small business tasks!
Pros: Simple setup
Plethora of features for the price in DSM (Disk Station Manager)
Quiet operation (Barely an audible hum at 10 feet away)
Very power efficient with five WD Red 4 TB
Outstanding reliability and support options from Synology
3 Year warranty
m.2 SSD or 10 gigabit add on card option
Cons: None so far.
Reviewed By:Bradley M.,5/22/2017 10:28:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS216+II Diskless System Network - Storage

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Very Disappointed with an advertised feature that doesn't work
Pros: Great on local LANs. Have used many and will continue to use them but forget about trying to back them up over the internet.
Cons: Purchased two of these with the goal of backing them up to each other over the internet from the office to the home office. I have used Synology devices before with great success on a local LAN. I had read where WAN backups were possible with HyperBackup. I got every thing connected and communicating fine over the Internet. Unfortunately, upload speeds are capped at around 1.5 MB which is terribly slow. I tried multiple locations and even uploading to a 3rd party cloud storage and always got capped at 1.5. (Uploads speeds are capable of up to 15.) Tech support has been terrible. Days to respond with no resolution in site. After researching on various forums, appears to be an issue with HyperBackup. Wish I would have known before spending all the cash on two. Was trying to eliminate daily offsite drive storage with this setup. Going to try to return one. Lost patience with support.
Other Thoughts: Disappointed in tech support. Have used these in the past and they are great overall, but I am really disappointed that Internet uploads with Hyperbackup are slow with no apparent resolution.
Reviewed By:Bruno R.,5/22/2017 7:32:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-473-16G-US 4-bay NAS/iSCSI IP-SAN, AMD R Series Quad-core 2.1 GHz, 16GB RAM, 10G-ready

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 slow file transfers
Pros: none don't work too good
Cons: file transfers are all over the place they start off at 113gb second then drops to 1 3 5 10gb after freezing up for 2 min most of the time I'm only getting 25 to 33gb seconds from or to my computer to a usb drive installed I'm getting 10 to 30 gb seconds
I tried on 2 computers all the same there file manager is a joke you need java and every time you use it the computer keeps asking for permission to use it and the use it is like you need to look for file transfers and all you can do is copy and paste
sometimes the usb connect don't work and you will need to reboot it I have a usb 3.1 case when I plug it into the usb 3.1 port on the back the qnap frezzing up so I have to use a older usb 3.0
Other Thoughts: I would not buy this again returning it not worth 10 dollars by the way I also installed a 256 gb ssd to speed file transfers it did nothing it seems to have slowing it down I had a 5 year old qnap ts-451 that was 5 times faster the file transfers on that was all the time 113gb from it and to it
Reviewed By:ROCKY V.,5/22/2017 4:03:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1817+ (8GB) Diskless System High Performance NAS Optimized for Encryption and Intensive tasks

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great product, but terrible service at Synology.
Pros: Great device and works well with my macs and other devices.
Cons: This was a bear to get set up if you are not a computer IT person. Since I take photographs and i'm not an IT person I mistakenly called Synology and they were down right rude telling me that they didn't help people with my level of knowledge in computers and that I would need to consult an IT person. This is interesting because their advertisement for this product mentions the ease of set up. It says nothing about needing IT knowledge. I was easily able to set up a WD cloud device but they only accept 4 drives and i needed more drives. I'll get over the fact they were not helpful at Synology, but put a damper on the amount of money they cost. I hope this helps someone with little IT knowledge.
Other Thoughts: Only folks with an IT background or mind calling an IT friend to set it up. Novices beware.
Reviewed By:James D.,5/22/2017 3:29:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1817+ (2GB) Diskless System High Performance NAS Optimized for Encryption and Intensive tasks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome NAS
Pros: -Web GUI is amzing
-Synology hybrid raid is the bees knees. Only started with 5 drives and threw in a 6th and synology did the rest after the click of a few buttons
Cons: -Expansion card M2D17 card isn't available yet to build the cache drive. Wish the card was distributed the same day the NAS was.
Other Thoughts: -This NAS is top notch and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone
Reviewed By:Marcus F.,5/21/2017 10:56:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Synology Inc. > Synology DS1817+ (2GB) Diskless System High Performance NAS Optimized for Encryption and Intensive tasks

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Awesome NAS
Pros: I purchased the Synology DS1817+ to replace my 5 year old Synology DS1512+ NAS, I have been using Synology products for 10 years and always look forward to the innovative improvements to their DSM. The cloud applications are integral to my work and I used them daily. The backup solutions provide a peace of mind in the age of ransomware. All my computers and mobile devices are protected. I went from a 5 bay to 8 bay model to allow for plenty of storage expansion. The new SSD Cache card feature is something I'm looking forward to adding. The new Virtual Machine Manager application allows me to create multiple VM's (Windows, Linux and also DSM). I purchased the 2GB model and bought 2 8GB memory modules to upgrade the memory to 16GB. This will allow you to run multiple VM's simultaneously. I use the Web Station and Maria DB server to develop and test web applications. I bought 4 6T drives and used one as a hot spare. My DS1512+ is now used as a secondary backup using the Synology Folder Sync option. Yes, I'm paranoid about my data but with Synology, I feel safer.
Cons: None so far. Just waiting for the M2D17 card to become available so I can utilize the M.2 SSD caching without utilizing a drive slot.
Reviewed By:Paul d.,5/21/2017 7:58:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-131P 1-bay Personal Cloud NAS with DLNA, Mobile Apps and AirPlay Support. ARM Cortex A15 1.7 GHz Dual Core, Chromecast Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My TimeCapsule died, this works great as a TimeMachine backup
Pros: - Amazingly easy setup
- TimeMachine works flawlessly so far
Cons: - Even with only basics running, unit was out of RAM and swapping. Don't plan on using the ContainerStation option to run heavy processes.
Other Thoughts: - Be sure to disable cloud options if you aren't using them.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/14/2017 5:30:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-251-US Diskless System 2-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI output. DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great, cheap NAS with tons of features
Pros: Very easy to setup
Tons of features
PLEX support
Cons: There is a large number of available apps, but you really have to scour the net to see which are useful to you, and which you can forgo. The App center doesn't have very good descriptions or docs.

It takes a while to figure out what default options that come turned on, can be turned off without effecting anything. (I do NOT want remote access, if it's available via the internet, it will be hacked!) . And how to configure best for your use. The available docs for the product are rather rudimentary.
Other Thoughts: I easily stream 780p video, transcoding for subtitles on the fly, using Plex and the default 1GB of RAM to my Roku. The Plex Plugins for streaming work tolerably. I think that may require a memory upgrade to work without the occasional choppy video.

Copy rates avg 58-60 mbps over LAN using Raid 1 and two 4TB WD Red drives

This has easily replaced my older PC that was being used for file backup and a plex server, and just in time too. My secondary non-raid network drive that I use as my backup died after 3 years (I'm looking at you Seagate), and now I can breathe easier with a dedicated Raid-1 for all those photo's and videos.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/9/2017 6:39:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TS-251+-2G-US 2-Bay Personal Cloud NAS with HDMI Output. DLNA, AirPlay and PLEX Support Black Case, Remote Control Included

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product so far
Pros: Reliable
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Replaced a TrendNet TN-200 that was locking up. Had this a little over one month with no issues. Have Plex running on it including the DVR. Have not used Plex that much yet, but it seems to be an improvement over running the Plex server on a 2007 Mac Mini. Only down side is that NAS won't sleep due to Plex.
Reviewed By:Gary K.,5/9/2017 12:22:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop NAS > Qnap > QNAP TVS-873-8G-US 8-bay NAS/iSCSI IP-SAN, AMD R Series Quad-core 2.1 GHz, 8GB RAM, 10G-ready

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 High-end NAS!
Pros: Very Fast, reasonable setup for advanced settings (i.e.-link aggregation, SFS+ fiber capable, USB v3.1, very customizable!
Cons: Had some trouble chasing a non-boot issue, and it turned out to be a memory issue with different memory timings. I had some older sticks laying around, but had trouble chasing the true cause.
Other Thoughts: There is a BIG community of downloadable apps to further customize this unit!
Reviewed By:Jonathan L.,5/7/2017 10:58:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.