Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Avocent > Avocent DSR1020-001 KVM Switch

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of Junk
Pros: None
Cons: Requires ancient version of windows with old Java with old IE8. The company never bothered to issue software updates. Unit goes off line all the time and needs power restart to bring back, some times 3-4 reboots.
Reviewed By:David B.,5/22/2017 7:47:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Tek Republic > Tek Republic TUS-300 USB 3.0 Sharing Switch between two computers

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great for what it is
Pros: -Switch has a low profile.
-Included cables have different length (Haven't checked exact length).
Cons: -Blue light on the buttons is very bright with no adjustment.
-Would be nice to have mounting holes or something on the back to mount to the side of the desk
Other Thoughts: -I was originally looking for a switch that supports more than two computers, but this is a decent substitute.
-Overall a great component for what it is.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/21/2017 6:14:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Syba > SYBA SY-KVM20075 2-port KVM Switch (DVI/USB/Audio) Perfect for Windows and Mac Systems

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as it should.
Pros: none
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Works great. After hooking everything up. I was able to boot up both desktop computers and switch back and forth between them at will. Also have a wireless trackball/mouse connected. Each computer works with no difference. I have the switch hooked up between a regular computer and a performance/gaming desktop.
Reviewed By:Raymond R.,5/14/2017 8:26:36 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Coboc > Coboc KVM-4DVIUA 4-Ports 4K2K USB/DVI-D KVM Switch Kit w/ Audio &Mic -Dual-Link DVI 3840 x 2160

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: I I would like to thank the reviewer that gave some very helpful information that saved me the frustration that I see was a big problem with other reviewers. Let me confirm what he said. You DO NOT need a power supply. I do not know why there is a 9V jack on it this because it runs on the USB power from your computers. I am editing my earlier review. After checking out other KVMs This actually is the best value. All others that I looked at are much more expensive and require a power supply. This would mean I would have to run a long extension cord to my battery backup. Many others do not include cords. I am placing mine about 25 feet away so I don't need them, but the ones that come with this one are adequate length for most users. At some point I may buy another one, but for now this one serves my purpose despite the one defect.
Cons: There were no instructions. They could have at least included a quick start sheet that made it clear that no power supply was needed. On one channel USB does not work. I am putting it on the computer I rarely use and will use a separate keyboard for it. It does switch the video. This does not work with some keyboards. Apparently the ones I had were not USB 2 compliant so I had to buy a new keyboard. The defect showed up after 30 days and for no more than this cost I am not going to haggle with some manufacturer that would probably expect me to to pay shipping and wait weeks to get a new one. It will do for now. The manufacturer does not even have a web site that I could find.
Other Thoughts: If you are using multiple desktops with Linux when you switch back it will scramble your display configuration. I solved this problem by running it through a splitter and connecting to an unused port on the main monitor.
Reviewed By:John S.,5/14/2017 1:53:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Rosewill > Rosewill RKV-2UC 2-Port USB KVM Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as expected
Pros: Easy setup. Works well.
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/8/2017 11:19:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > IOGEAR > IOGEAR Z-GHDSW3 3-Port HDMI Switch

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 5 eggs (41% of a dozen)
Pros: Price ($9)
Neat look
Cons: not so fast
no usb ports
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/30/2017 5:00:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > Tripp Lite > Tripp Lite 2-Port DisplayPort KVM Switch with Audio, Cables & USB 3.0 Hub (B004-DPUA2-K)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Terrible and possibly dangerous to your hardware
Pros: It works sometimes.
Cons: Simply put, this product becomes electrically unstable after a few days. I nearly RMA'd my motherboard because of random restart loops which were actually being caused by phantom voltage being put on the Display Port via this box. The only way to reset the d*** thing is to unplug all every connection (3x DP, 5x USB, power) IN ORDER, or you're greeted with a screeching prolonged beep. There is some seriously funky wiring going on inside here.

Other gripes: the touch panel front never worked for me, until I tore off the plastic facia and replaced the whole thing with gaffer tape, they actually chose plastic that was too thick to register a finger press. The gaffer tape had the added benefit of blocking the lights, which are just obscenely bright.

Finally, this box will make Window's USB warnings go nuts. Constant energy and disconnection errors.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/27/2017 8:01:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > LINKSKEY > LINKSKEY LKU-S04ASK 4-port Slim Palmtop USB Audio & Mic KVM Switch w/ Cables

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great idea and implementation, abysmal build quality.
Pros: Handles the various OS variants in the house, switches without excessive latency, handles VGA well.
Cons: Poor quality control out of the box, poor life expectancy. I have encountered every problem I've read in these writeups.
Other Thoughts: I have owned two 4-port units and two 2-port units. One of the 4-port units black-screened at 4 months. The other one works so far, mostly, but port 2 injects annoying horizontal jitter into the video. One of the 2-port units has a dead audio path on one side out of the box. The other 2-port unit is fine. I would replace them altogether except for the nuisance of having to rewire my cable boards to accommodate some other unit that is just as bad.
Reviewed By:Jack B.,4/15/2017 10:26:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > STARTECH > StarTech SV431DPUA 4 Port USB DisplayPort KVM Switch with Audio

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Excellent device for the money.
Pros: I've owned this for several years now and it is a very nice and reliable KVM. It works very well and has more port connectivity options than I'll ever need. My rig consists of a triple head setup via MST, Xeon workstation, custom gaming PC, and my work laptop. I have a usb DAC, USB hub, and a Logitec KB/M combo in the KB port and a Razor mouse in the mouse port. So far it has been flawless except two things (see cons)
Cons: 1: This KVM does lack port emulation. This is something that I would love to have in this switch.

2: There seems to be a lack of support for some MST devices. I have three Dell ultra sharp displays and the EVGA MST which are flawless together, but there appears to be a compatibility issues. I will be getting the StarTech MST to see if this resolves my issue.

Fix these two issues and this switch would be perfect and would get a 5 egg rating.
Other Thoughts: I saw someone complaining about lack of cables. That's a blessing. Nearly every KVM I've had the factory cables were useless. I've always had to spend extra on the cables to get the lengths I needed. This unit is no exception.
Reviewed By:Jacob P.,4/15/2017 8:53:02 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > KVM Switches > TRENDnet > TRENDnet TK-1603R 16-Port USB + PS/2 Rack Mount KVM Switch

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Works, but with an awful picture
Pros: - Have all my servers connected to one monitor, keyboard, and mouse.
- a lot of ports
Cons: - Ghosting monitor: Hurts my eyes using this thing. I only use it for emergencies now and use RDP to connect to my servers so that I do not ruin my vision. Very disappointing.
Manufacturer Response:Hello,

We are sorry to hear that you are experiencing an issue with the 16-Port Rack Mount USB KVM Switch, TK-1603R. Please email me at adrian@trendnet.com and we will have a support representative assist you with warranty services. Please include a link to this review.

Regards,

Adrian
TRENDnet Support
http://www.trendnet.com/support

Reviewed By:Tom P.,4/14/2017 6:26:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.