Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-N66U Dual-Band Wireless-N900 Gigabit Router, DD-WRT Open Source support, IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n, IEEE 802.3/3u/3ab

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Too much of a hassle.
Pros: Not much. IT works when it wants to.
lasted 3ish years.
I think it kept up the speeds advertised.
Cons: - Had to reinstall the firmware way too much then i should have too. the firmware it came with was a bit buggy. I initially wanted to install DD-wrt which took a while because of the firmware install utility.
- Even with DD-wrt install every few to several months router would still crash and would need the firm ware installed.
- The Wifi Is a huge problem cutting out. sometimes the devices shows connected by wireless but internet would not work. This is a weekly issue, rebooting router usually fixes this.
Other Thoughts: -Installing 3rd party firmware is no longer possible due to FCC Decided they want to change the rules. not the routers fault.
- for what it was worth when i bought it-- wasn't worth it.
-recommend this product for any simplistic needs. (keep it on basic settings to prevent it from crashing.)
-would not buy again.
Reviewed By:WILLIAM B.,1/13/2017 2:52:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R6400-100NAS AC1750 Smart Wi-Fi Dual Band Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Screaming Fast
Pros: -Dead simple setup
-Genie app for easy maintenance/access
-Giant speed boost. My wifi speeds went from 1.28 Mbps to 120Mbps. Saints be praised!!
Cons: -Large footprint. Are all routers this big these days? It's like a space ship landed in my living room.
Reviewed By:Nathan O.,1/13/2017 9:16:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Tenda > Tenda FH1206 High Power Wireless AC1200 Dual-band Router 2.4 GHz / 5 GHz for Up to Super-fast 1200 Mbps Refurbished

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 not bad for this price
Pros: fast enough for home use
way too cheaper than other brands
it says refurbished but looks like brand new
Cons: it's not that easy to reset the router.
Other Thoughts: so far so good. let's see how long it lasts
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 4:53:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC87R Wireless-AC2400 Dual-band Gigabit Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 It breaks down very often
Pros: Newegg ships very quickly.
Initial setup is easy
Cons: For the past 3 months the wifi data transfer is very slow or sometimes not even working. If I unplug the router and let it seat for few minutes and turns back on, it will work normal for few hours and it will break up again. So I replace it with my old Asus AC900 router and it works well again. This unit is definitively a problem. I just noticed this unit is out of newegg RMA warranty. not sure what other options do I have to get a replacement.
Reviewed By:Kai B.,1/12/2017 12:27:20 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys AC3200 WRT3200ACM Open Source Ready Smart Wi-Fi Gigabit Router Supported by DD-WRT, eSATA / USB 3.0

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall - decent. Has some growing to do
Pros: - Maintains Linksys styling.
- Setup is reasonably easy and straightforward, most should be able to configure without issue.
- Performance shows that the packet processing potential for multiple devices is obviously present. No noticeable lag or buffering.
- Average range.
- eSATA port is a nice (and welcome) upgrade in contrast to many devices that offer USB. (eSATA, unlike USB - ensures speed, even if there are multiple devices present. USB operates at the speed of the slowest device).
- WiFi AP/Router with this performance capability being "open source ready" is a HUGE positive.
- A nice upgrade compared to some of the prior generation Linksys products.
Cons: - App needs more work before it's truly useful.
- Parental controls are marginal (given usability - they should have been omitted until a later firmware version, when more focus could have been given to them).
- Guest WiFi was enabled by default.
- Very pricey vs. feature set. (Existing features didn't seem "complete" - parental controls being the primary focus. If included, it should be more complete and usable - otherwise should have been excluded).
Other Thoughts: - Custom firmware for this unit is not "ready yet", therefore testing of ability to use 'open source' was not viable.
- Did some testing where if there are a number of APs/WiFi Routers in vicinity where channels would overlap (especially with some signal) that connections seem to be more apt to drop with this unit vs. other units/brands. (Too many folks turn up the transmission power, when they should be turning it *DOWN* in order to achieve optimal operation of wireless devices). Not sure why it appears to be more apt to drop, possibly an artifact of such a 'wide' channel set "VHT160" vs. "VHT80" and other APs creating 'just enough' interference?
- Given price point, would have liked to see the feature set having more 'fit and finish' of the included features.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/12/2017 12:22:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR WNDR4500-100PAS N900 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Router IEEE 802.11a/b/g/n

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Died after 4 years.
Pros: Very reliable until lightning ran in on it. I got good speed out of it. HD streamed good also.
Cons: Had to restart it every time the power fluctuated.
Other Thoughts: I bought another one to replace the old one. Would recommend it to anyone. It works the same as the last one I had. Not sure about when the power surges. Really like the Parental Controls, it works great.
Reviewed By:William C.,1/12/2017 10:20:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Netgear Inc. > NETGEAR R7000 Nighthawk AC1900 Dual Band Wireless Gigabit Smart Home Router

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Dont Listen to "Massive Security Hole" Guy
Pros: Solid Router that has worked for years
Cons: Web Interface is slow and clunky and frankly could be a bit more granular but then again it is just a home router.
Other Thoughts: In response to the guy who posted this thing as one egg because of one CVE listing he can get bent. The issue was fixed with a firmware update in a month. If you are not going to buy something based on a CVE you might as well not buy any electronics at all because they all have one. That guy probably still carries a smartphone around in his pocket all day while posting bad reviews.
Manufacturer Response:Hi Jeremy,

We thank you for your review. We are always listening for feedback and will be more than happy to hear anything else that you might have.
Email: netgearteam@netgear.com

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Jeremy R.,1/12/2017 6:45:30 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > TP-Link > TP-LINK Archer C2600 Wireless AC2600 Dual-Band MU-MIMO Gigabit Router

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Solid Performer
Pros: Good signal strength through out the house, a week in and no drops or need to reboot with 13 devices on both wireless and wired. WPS is fast and reliable in connecting devices. Firmware upgrade was easy right out of the box. TP Tether app on Android is a nice addition. Getting 130 mbs down on wireless within 30 to 40 ft of router. Useful buttons on side for WPS and WIFI off.
Cons: Big foot print and even bigger as I have it sitting on a cooler so have space for it. Both USB plugs on side (one one the rear would have been nice).
Reviewed By:Kenneth P.,1/12/2017 1:40:54 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > ASUS > ASUS RT-AC56U AC1200 Dual-Band Gigabit Wireless Router

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Edit to previous 1 star review
Pros: - Was on sale
- Seems to be complying
Cons: -Original cons: Constantly loses internet connectivity. By that, I mean you will be starting to go to a web site on your phone, only to have it hang on you for minutes at a time. The only way to finally get what you wanted is to turn wifi off on the phone and use your data. Happens on both N and AC bands. Perhaps I set it up poorly, but I did google what settings to choose so I don't think this was entirely user error.
Other Thoughts: - So after my original bad review, I got curious today if perhaps I had missed something. I decided to research every issue I can think of for internet connections being spotty via WiFi and wired but fine direct to my modem. Some folks on other routers had the same issue. I have two theories as to how this thing suddenly works after sitting in the box for 6 months. 1. A post mentioned installing new firmware which only solved the issues after the router was powered up and then turned off for a couple of hours. When it came back on, it suddenly worked just fine. Perhaps a bad setting persisted for me even after upgrading firmware that stayed in memory/cache. After I replaced it with my old router, it sat for months. Finally it powered back on today and worked. I upgraded firmware today again to latest Merlin and still works.
- 2: Another post mentioned that this problem can happen when switching routers but keeping the same modem. This time I unplugged the modem power, then connected the router to the modem and powered up only the router. Once it was fully booted, I powered back on the modem. Since then it works great. Apparently if you don't kill the modem first, it keeps thinking the new router is the old router because of some Mac address issue. When it gets unplugged all that stuff resets. When it comes back on, it sends something too the router and they bond or something.
Just to be sure, I turned off all unused featuresm. I killed wps, qos, firewall, and used a website specific to this router to set some other random lan and wan settings.

Bottom line: warming up to this router since it has worked for a whole evening.
Reviewed By:Drew T.,1/11/2017 9:24:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless Routers > Linksys > Linksys EA9500 MAX-STREAM AC5400 Next Gen MU-MIMO Tri-Band Smart Wi-Fi Router with 8 Gigabit Ports and Seamless Roaming

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Outstanding Linksys product
Pros: Super easy to install
Simple and fast setup
Powerful performance - solved my Wi-Fi issues
Cons: None - love this router
Other Thoughts: I needed a router that could handle all the growing number of devices that were accessing my WiFi network. This EA9500 is a beast and handles the job swiftly. I am no longer experiencing devices disconnecting randomly. Streaming even at extended distances is smooth and without interruption. This is a fantastic router and worth the price. I have a home office as well as several phones, TV's, and other devices that need wireless access. The Linksys EA9500 is handling the load like a champ. Im very pleased
Reviewed By:John M.,1/11/2017 4:34:08 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.