Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WPA4530 KIT AV500 Powerline ac Wi-Fi Kit

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Poweline adapters = dependent on existing electrical wiring and ethernet ports
Pros: -Nice packaging
-Includes Ethernet Cat5e Cables
-Router power line has extra power slot
-Easy to Pair and log into we based settings using IP address in browser
-Unique feature in cloning and extending the WIFI network
Cons: -AC750 is outdated
-extender uses both AC slots
-As with all power line adapters - it depends on existing electrical wiring
-100mbps ethernet connections (problem if you have higher speed internet)
Other Thoughts: The concept sounds great but there are issues. One being that to achieve maximum internet/network speeds the physical connection (electrical wiring) needs to be at full strength. This is usually not the case as there is so much interference and degradation in electrical wiring. This is hindered by the 100mbps ethernet ports that it becomes a bottleneck. I have 200mbps Comcast and this was not able to achieve those speeds nor was it able to achieve 100mbps. It hovered around 90mbps as the limitations of the ethernet port and physical electrical signal degradation came into effect. The pairing was very easy and the wifi clone feature was too. But I expected this device to be able to handle much higher speeds. Overall if you have less than 100mbps and have trouble with wifi in far ends of the house then this might be a good purchase, but for now I can not recommend it for those who have higher than 100mbps internet speeds.
Reviewed By:Amennie T.,1/14/2017 6:30:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA8010P KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Gigabit Pass-through Powerline Starter Kit, up to 1200 Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Highly dependent on electrical wiring
Pros: -Nice packaging
-Very easy to use (plug and play)
-Cat5E cables included ~6' cable
-Uses only 1 power socket but has an extra on device
-1200 Mbps
-"Synthetic" Hardwired
Cons: -Highly dependent on distance
-Highly dependent on electrical wiring/circuit
-Was not able to achieve maximum internet speeds with power line adapter on first floor and one on the 2nd floor
Other Thoughts: This is a good device that is highly dependent on existing electrical wiring and distance. I normally hit around 150Mbps hard wired but only achieved around 120mbps downloads. I placed the power line adapter that was on the 2nd floor to the first floor and retested and got 150Mbps download. So the speed dramatically increased when both power line adapters were on the first floor. The distance changed only about 20ft but I would attribute it to being on the same circuit when both power lines were on the first floor. I did expect it to work better as the 2nd floor is only about 20extra ft. I would only recommend this if both power lines are on the same floor or you may experience lower speeds. Connection though was stable and I didn't experience any disconnects.
Reviewed By:Amennie T.,1/14/2017 5:53:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PL1200-100PAS HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Recommend
Pros: Quick and easy set up. Well designed, does not block second outlet and UI is simple color coded LED display. Relatively inexpensive, (150ft of Ethernet cable is $90.00US) Trusted manufacturer.
Cons: Direct Ethernet cable to modem is always going to be better. Speed tested around 53Mbps while direct Ethernet tested at 196Mbps.
Other Thoughts: I'm a renter so I can't drill holes and run cables. This was a great solution for getting an Ethernet connection for my upstairs PC.
I plugged one of the units into a socket by the modem and connected the unit to my modem. Went upstairs and plugged the other unit into the wall by my pc, connected the unit to a linksys e1200 router, plugged my pc into the router and presto!
Have not tried any online first person shooters but World of Warcraft ran as quick as it did on a LAN. Also have not tried speed tests without the router. I really don't need the router but I wanted a second wireless network for the upstairs as the signal from the downstairs modem was hideous.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/9/2017 11:18:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Incredibly easy to setup and use
Pros: I have FIOS and get 100 mbps own and 125 up. On the TP-Link device across the house I am getting 45 mbps down and 80 mbps up.
Cons: Don't have any cons... it works fantastic.
Reviewed By:Robert C.,1/9/2017 5:41:32 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear PLP1200-100PAS HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV1200 Powerline Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit with Pass-Thru, up to 1200Mbps

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not what expected
Pros: Plug and Plug (if working)
Cons: Resetting each individual plug is time consuming.
Other Thoughts: These never really worked and when they did the speeds were worse than my wireless connection. Waste of money I dont even use the devices!!!
Manufacturer Response:Hi Jonathan,

If you still have them please email us at netgearteam@netgear.com so we can help you get them working! We are always standing by, along with our support team, to help.
support.netgear.com

We apologize that the PLP1200 hasn't working so far and look forward to changing that.

Regards,

NETGEAR Team

Reviewed By:Jonathan L.,1/9/2017 3:24:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-PA2010KIT AV200 Nano Powerline Adapter Starter Kit, up to 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product. Pretty much plug and play
Pros: - Great for adding ethernet to various devices
- Reasonable speed
- Most reliable ethernet over powerline adapters i have ever used
- Pricing is excellent
Cons: - Speeds aren't always as advertised but as long as you aren't trying to pump multiple HD videos through them, they should suffice for everyday usage.
Other Thoughts: I always keep a couple of these on hand. Never know when you or a friend is going to need an hardwired connection somewhere in the house!
Reviewed By:steven c.,1/9/2017 7:19:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > D-Link > D-Link PowerLine AV 4-Port Switch Mini Starter Kit (DHP-348AV) Adapter Included, Up To 200Mbps

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works as promised.
Pros: -Shipping was quick.
-Setup was easy
-Connection is stable and fast.
Cons: -Had to move a cabinet to fit the adapter into an outlet.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/8/2017 4:24:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > ZyXEL > ZyXEL PLA5456KIT HomePlug AV2 MIMO AV2000 Powerline Pass-Thru 2-Port Gigabit Ethernet Adapter Kit, up to 2000Mbps Transmit: up to 2000 Mbps, Receive: up to 2000 Mbps, Powerline Speeds: up to 2000 Mbps

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Good speeds, easy to pair, terrible security out of box.
Pros: Easy to pair, just plug in and both should recognize.
Units feel solid and well built
Pass through works well
Dual 1GB ports
Decent network speeds (YMMV)
Ability to run multiple pairs on different network segments in same house.
Ability to change QoS
Standby mode after 3 minutes kicks in to save power if no network activity detected.
Came with latest Firmware already installed (3.2.0)
Well packaged.
Cons: Security is inadequate out of the box, and included instructions are useless. (see other)
A little large, need to use small extension cord if you want to use both wall jack outlets.
Get's a little warm but not hot
Speed can vary (upwards of 150mbit)
QoS is set to "Low" by default.
Other Thoughts: The AES 128 security is set by default using the same adapter names. If the names are the same, they will connect "securely" via AES 128. The problem with this is these units all come pre-programmed with the same factory default name of "HomePlugAV". Therefore if you're a crafty hacker who plugs in to an external plug on your house, or someone at the power company you could theoretically plug one of these same ZyXEL PLA5456 units in nearby and it would happily connect "securely" to the victims (your) network as the the device names would match. It's imperative that anyone who buys these devices change the device names to something unique else you risk someone being able to jump on your network which leads to series of other attacks (Man In The Middle via PCAP to grab all non encrypted traffic, Denial of Service, Attacking your vulnerable hosts on your network, Using your internet bandwidth, Visiting nefarious sites or posting questionable material and it will appear as if you did this), Use your imagination, it could be bad.

Please download the full instructions here and read the instructions carefully. This will show you how to change the adapter names.

"ftp://ftp2.zyxel.com/PLA5456/user_guide/PLA5456_v7.0.2_Ed6.pdf

If they thought through the security better I would rate these units higher. Thankfully this can be mitigated by following instructions but I worry most people who buys these units will never change the adapter names.
Reviewed By:MR R.,1/7/2017 8:59:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-PA8010 KIT AV1200 Gigabit Powerline Starter Kit

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best Powerline tech
Pros: +Homeplug AV2 MIMO and compatible with AV
+ 128-bit AES Encryption
+easy to connect and pair devices, simple to tell with 3 leds
+Gigabit ports up to 1200 Mbps
Cons: -Really bulky for the size compared to other Powerlines
Other Thoughts: I really liked this unit, but the only con I will put up front is there size of the unit, but we can get over that as the unit is awesome, and these new Powerlines bring top line speeds that are comparable to gigabit ethernet, they do have the standard encryption as all the Homeplug standards do.

These units cost a little more then there older AV first gens, but they are worth it, not sure how the network would be with 16 of them, but if we can run 6-8 with no issues then this would be pretty much the standard when wanting near gigabit ethernet connectivity. What I see is that even with 4 units of these, anyone can connect a router to each of these bad boys and get great high quality wired and wireless network, where with wifi there is a lot more fluctuation. Only things that could cause concerns in future is interference, power line cable quality and possibly the encryption part.

I really wish that the future of homeplug would go more wifi style standard that is to have your own passcode and encryption options, this would really secure these devices and give one a piece of mind with there data.

My tests with internet and other AV first gen (Netgear AV500 and TP-Link AV500) devices showed that when having this AV2 in the mix that the ping and throughout put would increase, meaning that chips in AV2 are better even when having one end be AV. Ping to router shows constant of 1ms or lower when having both AV1200, if mixing powerlines of AV first gen then ping goes up to AV first gen.


My other request for network manufactures is to somehow incorporate these powerlines into high end routers. Other then that I still recommend this product highly until something new and better comes along.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/6/2017 2:05:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Powerline Networking > Netgear Inc. > Netgear XAVB5221-100PAS AV500 1-Port Essentials Edition Powerline Kit, up to 500Mbps

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good Powerline but works better with other AV brans then own Pair?
Pros: +Works good with same brand units
+Small size
+ 128-bit AES Encryption (assuming)
+Homeplug AV compatibility
Cons: -It might be 500Mbps, but due to Ethernet you will see only 100Mbps
-to repair the device must reset it?
-encryption seems to slow down throughput
-difficult to pair with other brands
Other Thoughts: I have always been intrigued by the idea of Ethernet over powerlines, as I am sure many other people as well. What I have learned with a few units is that this tech is getting better every time, but not as fast as I would like it to, compared to other sectors of technology (semiconductor). The Netgear unit is nice that is in size, it is about the size and shape of regular wall plugin devices/accessories that you would see sticking out of the wall socket.

There was not much to test, the unit was solid, and I tested it on standby the energy saving is evident as the unit was running cool when inactive vs active (warm). My tests I would like to do regular things that every regular person would do, such as using the internet to test, because that is what the average person will do. Noticed a 5-15Mbps drop of max speed using more then one server and using my wifi to switch on/off to repeat test to make sure server is not dropping speed due to congestion. This is Netgear to Netgear test : Ping to router 3 ms constant. Netgear AV500 to TP-Link AV1200 (AV2 mimo) – ping avg between 2-3ms The max speed drop was reduced from 5-15Mbps to about 10Mbps.

Ok here is an interesting result Netgear AV500 at router and TP-Link AV500 (TL-WPA4220) got 3 ms ping few random up to 5ms but the through output nearly maxed of my internet 61-65Mbps (65Mbps max best) both units are AV first gen, but mixing these units yielded best performance while Netgear AV500 pair did not perform as well.

In conclusion I would this is a good unit though does seem to show slowdown of max throughout put even in 100Mbps setting, in which case a synthetic test would probably show higher loss of speed due to overhead of the encryption, and possibly the units chipset performance has something to do with it. With that said the major downfall of this unit is the need to reset when you want to change your Homeplug network or reset the auto encryption. When wanting to mix this unit with other brands that do not need reset or reset by simply pressing pair button for longer time, makes it easy to use those devices to add new ones into the network.

The irony is that Netgears single unit works better when paired up with different brand?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/6/2017 12:28:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.