Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Works......kinda
Pros: - Easy to set up (Windows 10)
- Small
- Indicator LED
Cons: - Need pliers to take out USB port
- Laughable range (3 feet)
- Issues connecting phone
Other Thoughts: Bought this to use a Xbox One S controller with PC. Installed drivers, and worked in minutes, controller was set up and good to go. However, when I paired my cell phone it blue screened my PC, tried it again and same results. I uninstalled drivers and the phone no longer crashes PC, but I'm only able to send files to phone, not vice-versa. If that was the only issues it would be 5 eggs, sadly it's not.
The specs claim 30 feet, there must be a typo cause it's only 3 feet range at best, if I recline in my chair the buttons don't register. The whole point of me getting this was to be rid of cables, so now I use my 4' cable to controller (better range and keys register)
What people say about the fit is true, I had to take a pliers to the thing to remove it from the USB port, for me it's no big deal cause I game on my PC and don't require it to be unplugged every time, for notebook users this will be a problem.

Overall I would not recommend this unit, small and easy to use is great, but pointless when you can't use it. The laughable range alone makes this a terrible purchase, and shame on the manufacturer for claiming false range specs when it drops at arms length.
Reviewed By:Marco B.,1/19/2017 5:27:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > Plugable Technologies > Plugable USB Bluetooth 4.0 Low Energy Micro Adapter (Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7, XP, Raspberry Pi, Linux Compatible; Classic Bluetooth, and Stereo Headset Compatible)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing bluetooth adapter
Pros: - extremely easy setup (plug and play)
- very low latency, my ps4 controller communicates faster with the PC than when I was using an 8ft usb cord
- works flawlessly with windows 10
Cons: - low gain antenna so the range isn't very large, but still usable and comfortable for my intended purposes.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/18/2017 5:30:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400/US USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter manufactured recertified

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good deal
Pros: I couldn't tell it was refurbished/recertified. I bought two and they looked brand new in packaging or repacked to look new.
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Range is relative...I have a laptop and range is great to a receiver 20+ feet line of sight(ish) and a bluetooth speaker outside of house 20+ feet depending on where speaker is placed. I have a set top box 6 feet away under tv, two routers, switch, sat box, NAS box, and wii with two large speaker between on side. The range/connection is terrible...lol. Switched the two that I bought with the same results. I blame my setup, not the bluetooth dongle. It's location of the device or the device. Both running different linux.
Reviewed By:George S.,1/14/2017 2:01:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works but.....
Pros: Small and out of the way USB plug in. Use their install disk or I downloaded and used some newer drivers--this is in Win 10 64 bit. If plugged in correctly it had no problem finding and pairing to the speakers--no need to make any changes in Win 10.
Cons: As others have mentioned it's ridiculously HARD to plug in a USB socket,I've never plugged anything into a USB port that's this hard. The dongle end will glow blue when it's fully seated,won't work if you don't see that color. Pretty short range. I can get a range of about 8 ft max on audio.
Other Thoughts: Eh..it'll do for now but I wouldn't buy this one again.
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for the inconvenience. The GBU521 is a 4.0 Bluetooth with a range up to 30 feet. The problem described could be related to the device you are connecting. We will have your comments about the size forwarded to the product engineers. To better service you and understand your set up, please feel to contact our customer support at 1-866-946-4327 or email us: support@iogear.com. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:David K.,1/14/2017 1:50:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 another junk BT dongle
Pros: none
Cons: WAY too much force required to push it in

No driver I could find worked.
generic broadcom driver failed
generic solei failed
drivers from iogear failed
Other Thoughts: why is getting a BT dongle to work so ridiculous?

Why can't they use the windows BT handler instead of adding a new icon?
Manufacturer Response:• Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. This device has been tested with Windows 7,8.1 and 10 . If you are having trouble with all the drivers listed the problem is mostly with your computer or operating system or Bluetooth stack. This devise is also plug and play with windows 8.1 and 10 . Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:wyndon e.,1/13/2017 9:03:46 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Lousy range
Pros: - small
- no install or pairing issues (windows 10)
Cons: Bought this to listen to the computer while riding the bike trainer. With unobstructed line of sight from headset to receiver, start getting drop-outs at about 7 feet
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend
Would not buy again
Reviewed By:Ronald S.,1/12/2017 6:39:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > Plugable Technologies > Plugable USB Bluetooth 4.0 Low Energy Micro Adapter (Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7, XP, Raspberry Pi, Linux Compatible; Classic Bluetooth, and Stereo Headset Compatible)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic product!!!!
Pros: Easy to setup plug and play done all my blue tooth devices work perfectly great instruction and follow by the manufacture with a great help line and email follow up and instructions
Cons: none they work great
Other Thoughts: Highly recommended I have 2 and bought one for a friend who purchased an older computer without Bluetooth. he bought a Microsoft Bluetooth designer keyboard and mouse because he liked so much and found it so dependable!!!
Reviewed By:Richard P.,1/8/2017 9:58:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > ASUS > ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 ASUS USB-BT400 USB 2.0 Bluetooth 4.0 Adapter. Does not like Windows 10. (OUTDATED HARDWARE)
Pros: Software compatibility issues. BLUE SCREEN OF DEATH. Sad face on screen with error code. Would no longer boot into windows. My computer was not responding at all. Unplugged everything and had to flash my BISO to change settings back to default. That allowed me to get back into safe mode and do a system restore. All my restore points were corrupted. Did not work but managed to run a file system repair to get me back up and running. However some of my OS system files seem to be still corrupted. Will probably need to reinstall windows at some point in the future.
Cons: None! Blue screened my Windows 10 system. Does not play well with 10. Corrupted OS system files. Spent hours trying to get my system back up and going. Well I got 99 problems but a tech ain't one. I was able to get my computer working again, but would not recommend this product to anyone running anything other than perhaps windows 7. If you want bluetooth spend the extra money on a plantronics or something better. At least you know that the hardware is not defective or the software is not broken. My advice.
Other Thoughts: Had a 8 year old adaptor that I wanted to upgrade with this one to pair to my new Onkyo stereo. Hoping that it would enhance my systems audio with bluetooth. NOT MAKE PROBLEMS! Even though I believe in ASUS and ROG products, there should of been better support for this with windows 10 as it says right on the box that its has "Windows 10 support". Obviously it does not...
Reviewed By:Stephen R.,1/5/2017 11:07:58 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > IOGEAR > IOGEAR GBU521 USB Bluetooth 4.0 Micro Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 You get what you pay for..
Pros: It was cheap, that is it.
Cons: The product is so hard to put in \ take out of USB slots I was concerned with the PC i was plugging it into.
The device has a range of 1ft, yes ONE foot, it will not function beyond that, and when it does, it chops up the audio terribly on my Sony MDR-Xb950bt headset (Windows 10, USB 3 Port)
Other Thoughts: Pass if you want a dongle that works.
Manufacturer Response:• Thank you for choosing IOGEAR and we apologize for your experience. The GBU521 is a class 2 device with a range of 33 feet. The problems you are describing could be related to your computer or OS since this device uses Widcom drivers built into your Windows operating system. The GBU521 has been tested with Windows 7, 8.1 and 10. The GBU521 is one of our highest selling class 2 devices. If there is a problem with the GBU521 , this is covered by IOGEARS 3 year warranty. Once again, thank you for choosing IOGEAR.

Reviewed By:David M.,1/5/2017 10:41:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Bluetooth Adapters > Plugable Technologies > Plugable USB Bluetooth 4.0 Low Energy Micro Adapter (Windows 10, 8.1, 8, 7, XP, Raspberry Pi, Linux Compatible; Classic Bluetooth, and Stereo Headset Compatible)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Perfect for people who dont have bluetooth capabilities
Pros: -easy plug and play and windows 10 was able to find drivers and installed bluetooth settings
-no hassle tucked away in a usb slot
-range is great
-work with all bluetooth devices
Cons: -none whatsoever
Other Thoughts: [half a year owned update]
i liked it so much no issues, plug and play that i just had to purchase another one for my backup pc. no regrets whatsoever i love the product. If i ever need another USB slim plug and forget doggle this is the item i will purchase.

[original review]
-mainly used for a DualShock 4 controller and works perfect
-easy installation
-plug and play set it and forget it
-comes new in plugable brand packaging
-package contents:
1 x bluetooth usb adapter
1 x CD-ROM (widcomm driver)
1 x quick start quide
Reviewed By:J.R. D.,12/31/2016 12:57:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.