Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SSH-LN4F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent mid-range server motherboard
Pros: 4 case fan pin outs
Built-in IPMI (remote access controller)
Seems pretty stable
Support both Skylake and Kaby Lake processors (with a BIOS update - see below)
Cons: BIOS was on version 1.0b when I received it and would NOT boot up with my Kaby Lake based CPU (Xeon E3-1230 v6).
Had to buy a $20 IPMI license in order to update the BIOS to v 2.0 - which took TWO WEEKS to receive!!!
Can NOT control fan speeds.
Other Thoughts: My case fans are very quiet, so the fan speed control doesn't matter much for those. However, the CPU fan is quite loud. Had to buy a 4-pin fan resistor to slow down the fans from 3200 RPM down to a more reasonable 2100 RPM.

I submitted a support request with SuperMicro support on June 3 regarding the motherboard not booting past POST. On June 5 they wrote back that I needed to upgrade the BIOS, which would require purchasing an IPMI license from another vendor. I ordered the license that same day and it took TWO WEEKS and a dozen emails/phone calls for me to receive the activation code (partially the vendor's fault, partially Tech Data's fault, and partially SuperMicro's fault - it was like nobody knew what the IPMI license was).
My experience with purchasing the IPMI license has me very hesitant to purchase another SuperMicro product in the future.
Next time I'll probably stick with Asus or ASRock.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support again if you still have any issue with this motherboard. For BIOS updating service, feel free to contact our RMA department. The below technical support contact information is for your reference:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Justin B.,6/25/2017 9:08:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO X9SRA Single Socket R (LGA 2011) E5 ATX Workstation/Server Motherboard DDR3 1600 12xUSB, 2x PCI-E 3.0 x16

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Works
Pros: Board for older CPUs.
Cons: Sporadic readings from board sensors that cause fans to change speeds - and REMAIN there. What is particular BAD is when it force the CPU fan to idle when at 100% load! Then is continues to run while CPU is over 90C! It also reports voltage going high, or to 0v for no reason at all. or CPU going to 20C or 85C. all random at random times. I don't trust it at all.
Other Thoughts: I would look around at other board, but this one does work, sort of.
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Brent N.,6/24/2017 11:42:52 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Worked great until it died
Pros: - Great motherboard while it worked
- Lots of SATA ports
- Low power draw
Cons: Motherboard died in just over a year of use. 1 Year, 1 month and 14 days to be exact.
Other Thoughts: Exact same problem as everyone else. No VGA output, USB ports don't work, board won't POST.

I would not recommend anyone buy this board until Intel resolves the issue with this chip.

Hopefully the RMA process will run smoothly.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Adam,

Sorry for the inconvenience, your RMA service has been set up and we will replace the board for you.

Thank you

ASRock Rack Support
Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:Adam M.,6/22/2017 7:12:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE MW31-SP0 ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great board for server or workstation
Pros: Supports the latest Kaby Lake CPUs, supports ECC memory, Supports SLI and has on-board audio for workstation use.
Cons: It's more expensive than many of the other C236 boards.
The BIOS must be updated to use a Kaby Lake CPU. You will need a Skylake CPU to boot into DOS to update the BIOS.
Other Thoughts: It is also possible to update the bios from Linux or Windows, but I updated it from DOS. There is no means to update the BIOS from within the BIOS setup.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/17/2017 7:09:18 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-A1SAM-2550F-O uATX Server Motherboard FCBGA 1283 DDR3 1600/1333

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great low-power motherboard
Pros: This is a server motherboard, not a desktop PC board, which is why is has no sound card, only mediocre video, and no USB3. On the other hand, for use as a server it is superbly equipped with 64GB DDR3 memory capacity, 4 Gibabit NICs, and a NIC dedicated to IPMI, which allows remote reboot, system monitoring etc. It uses amazingly little power (14 watt max for CPU), and runs cool with NO CPU fan. This should greatly improve the motherboard life, since clogged heat sinks are one of the major reasons for CPU overheating and failure.
Cons: This board is perfect for a low power server or NAS. No cons.
Other Thoughts: I run this board as a Internet-facing server hosting websites and business email. On the LAN side it is also a NAS and media server loaded with 3 separate 2TB RAID storage arrays. It has PLENTY of speed and power for everything I have used it for. Furthermore, Supermicro support was exceptional when I had a question about remote wakeup.

I would unhesitatingly recommend this board for low power server and/or NAS use. By the way, it has a PCI-E 2.0 x8 slot, which would allow installation of a graphics card for light gaming or HD media, if one wanted to do that.
Reviewed By:Lloyd S.,6/10/2017 8:32:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C2550D4I Mini ITX Server Motherboard FCBGA1283 DDR3 1600 / 1333

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Good while it lasted.
Pros: It's a great board and combo while it works.
Cons: It died after a little over a year.
Other Thoughts: Just like everyone else here that's posted their reviews, mine as well had the same problem where it wouldn't post, couldn't access BMC. I've setup my RMA and spoken with support in regards to this. If you've bought this board, be prepared to return it for another or just avoid it till Intel/Asrock can fix the issues.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Rack Customer,

You have made the right decision to contact ASRock Rack support to identify if the symptom of your board is related to the Intel CPU. Once we received your RMA return and confirmed that it is related to the CPU, we will replace the unit for you ASAP. We only provide the replacements we know has Intel solution. Thank you for contacting ASRock Rack.

ASRock Rack Support
Email: http://event.asrock.com/tsd.asp?ln=en

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/9/2017 12:01:34 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X11SSL-F-O Micro ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C232

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Superb Small Server or Exchange Server Board
Pros: I have used more than 15 of these boards in different Server builds for different applications. Never had one fail or require any customer support. In the past I have had other Supermicro boards go south on me but the RMA was very easy and fast.
Cons: Nothing
Other Thoughts: It is sad to see people with limited experience leaving negative reviews for great products.
Reviewed By:Khalil Z.,6/7/2017 8:55:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO MBD-X10SRA-O ATX Server Motherboard LGA 2011-3 Intel C612

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 work fine for 3 months
Pros: all i need
Cons: stop working after 3 months
Other Thoughts: i use this motherboard as gaming/Server pc, with a 6800k, 32gb of RAM, gtx 1080, raid controller.

today the motherboard no boot, show the post with a beep and try very slow but hang when the Windows login appears.

now i'm going to do the same things than others user have to do, rma to find a good motherboard
Manufacturer Response:We are sincerely apologize the issue you are experiencing with your motherboard. Windows login screen hanged may relate to the OS. Please kindly contact our technical support so that we can find out more about your configuration and work with you in finding a solution. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/7/2017 6:24:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock E3C236D2I Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for a FreeNAS build
Pros: ECC support with the right Processor and RAM. Requires i3-6100 Skylake for unbuffered ECC support, I contacted Crucial for the correct DIMM, as only the E3C236D4U board was mentioned. I bought Crucial CT16G4WFD824A 16GB DDR4 / ECC from Newegg and it works like a charm.
Did a bios update and the ECC status was shown. Ran the UEFI version of Passmark memtest86 on this board for over a day, and no errors found.
Cons: Haven't gotten the IPMI plugins to work, as the applets are NOT signed. Asrock just needs to buy a code signing certificate, and sign their applets. Maybe a better alternative is to work with the community to make OpenBMC work on their boards.
Other Thoughts: This works fine as a FreeNAS server in my home.
Reviewed By:Maurice S.,6/6/2017 8:32:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Motherboards > ASRock Rack > ASRock C236 WSI Mini ITX Server Motherboard LGA 1151 Intel C236

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good NAS board, might have problems with Kaby Lake
Pros: - Tiny size
- Lots of SATA ports
- After an expensive firmware update, no problems with Kaby Lake CPUs.
Cons: - It probably didn't support Kaby Lake out of the box: I got the board and a Kaby Lake processor, and it wouldn't POST. After a quick search, I found out the board needed a BIOS update, since Kaby Lake had just come out earlier this year, which could only be done with an older Skylake CPU. $45 later, I tried booting with the older CPU model, but it didn't boot; after I plugged in the 12V line I had missed both times, I could boot into the BIOS and flash a new firmware. Very unfortunately, I did not read the BIOS version it came with, and now I'll never know if I needed to spend that $45, or if it was an errant cable all that time. However, my hunch based on ASRock Rack's iffy commitment to quality would lead me to guess the firmware came un-updated.
- The I/O shield has a tab in front of the displayport, which really confused me for a while: was there no displayport? Was it really meant that I should bend this tab *all* the way back?
Other Thoughts: Works with:
CPU: Celeron G3950 (G3900 for the BIOS update)
RAM: KVR21E15D8/16 (Kingston, 16GB, UECC)
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/6/2017 7:43:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.