Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC (Next Unit of Computing) BOXNUC6CAYH Barebone Systems - Mini / Booksize

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 About a week of use...
Pros: After comparing specs and reviews of many mini computers, I ended up choosing this product.
I've bought it to use as a server to host many things like Mumble, Ark, GitLab, ..., and it does everything as I expect it to do.
Cons: It was harder for me to install Ubuntu server 16.04 than I expected. If I used only an USB key, the installation said it was not able to recognise the CD drive and if I tried to install the server with an SD card only, I got an another problem. The way I was able to get it working was to update the BIOS first and use both, an USB key and an SD card... Well, maybe I've done something wrong at the beginning but it ended working fine. Because it is not necessarily the NUC fault, I give it 5 stars anyways.
Reviewed By:DAVID S.,6/27/2017 5:26:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Shuttle Computer > Shuttle SZ170R6V2 Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel Z170 Black XPC CUBE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Powerful machine but Shuttle is sending out trojan infected driver disks
Pros: Has the latest BIOS to support for I7 Kaby. Newest drivers are online. Documentation is ok. Intel I7 Kaby is running at 69C (100C is max) with air cooling pipes.
Cons: Infected driver disk
Reviewed By:Ronald G.,6/25/2017 3:53:45 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASRock > ASRock Deskmini 110W Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM * Intel HD Graphics Built-in Visuals and the VGA outputs can be supported only with processors which are GPU integrated. - Supports M.2 PCIe Gen3 x4 only

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Awesome Linux Mint box
Pros: Kaby Lake ready.
You get a mobo, PSU, case, and wifi card for under $150.
More customizable, powerful, and better value than a NUC. The i3 deskmini builds benchmark better than i7 NUC processors just because it's a desktop chip versus a mobile chip.
It's tiny and cute. Like a tiny house.
Cons: Not an easy installation. Many parts are too small or not accessible enough.
Other Thoughts: My board came preinstalled with BIOS version P1.50 as indicated by the sticker on the board itself, meaning it is ready for a Kaby Lake processor out of the box.

My number one complaint with my entire build in this case is the screws. Thumb screws on the back of the case would have been nice, or at least some decent size ones. Instead, you get tiny screws with barely enough threading to stay in. The screws in this build either do not go in easily or do not hold up well to use. So give some good downward pressure as you turn.

In my opinion, the standard SSD installation is a PITA, mostly just until you figure out what to do. If you are installing two SSD's, one of them will only require two screws (with the other side staying in by aligning it with two little pins on the case that go in the side of the drive), and the other SSD will secure with four screws but requires removing the motherboard entirely. The SATA cables are very thin and have flat panel connectors that push down flat against the mmotherboard

The m.2 wifi module should not require much force to go in. It sits on springs and will stick up diagonally until you screw it down. Later you will connect tiny antennas connectors to it. The connectors and wires are really dang small. Needlenose pliers are an absolute requirement to snap the antennas onto the little circuit board. A flashlight or headlamp is also helpful. Later, you must use a screwdriver to push out the metal tabs on the case to make room for the coax style antenna connectors. This required some decent force.

Regarding CPU cooler compatibility, per the install documentation, the case allows a max CPU cooler height of 52mm. If you read the online forums, other people suggested a max height of 45mm. However, I measured all the spacing myself. I came up with 103 x 100 x 47mm CPU cooler space as follows:
47mm height, 103mm length (along the side with mobo ports, or from the mobo heatsink toward wifi module), and 100mm width (from RAM slots to ports). So that is why the 95x95x37 Noctua L9i fits. Unfortunately, it means the Evercool HPL-815 is just slightly too long in one dimension. I haven't tried it though.

For those curious about the AC adapter specs (for a backup or international travel for example), here they are:
Brand: AcBel (AcBel Polytech Inc.)
Input: 100-240V~ 1.8A 50-60Hz
Output: 19V 6.32A

I am running this setup:
i3-7350k (yes I know I can't overclock)
Stock intel cooler
G.skill DDR4 2400 2X8gb
Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB
Crucial MX300 750 GB
Linux Mint 18.1

Linux Mint 18.1 boot USB drive shows up no problem if you hold Shift during boot. Install was completed and Mint loaded in under 10 min if you sit and watch for the prompts. I updated all my packages using the built in wifi and everything seemed to download quite quickly. YouTube videos loaded in HD with no problem. The only driver I had to change was an intel one via the Driver Manager, it's great. Boot and load times are essentially non-existent.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/25/2017 2:37:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > GIGABYTE > GIGABYTE BRIX GB-BSI5HA-6200 Mini / Booksize Barebone System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Tiny machine with Big Tower chops.
Pros: This had to be the easiest PC I ever put together. I bought it for my wife as a second machine. She uses this for her email, videos, photos, and craft software.

Pros: Extremely fast since it has an M.2-2280 SSD slot and a 2.5 9mm drive bay which I inserted another SSD in.
8 gigs of DDR4. Windows 10 installed quickly. Lightning fast boot and absolutely no video lag in 4k and that's with integrated graphics! It only takes up the space of a small stack of CDs.
Cons: At first, the ports, but, then USB 3.1 with both conventional and C ports, a hub solved that issue. The external power brick is bigger than the machine itself. Does it need to be that big?
Other Thoughts: Yes, I would recommend this to others. This is a great size for people in limited space such as a college dorm. It can mount on the back of a monitor with the included VESA plate.
Reviewed By:Alfred B.,6/25/2017 10:36:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC (Next Unit of Computing) BOXNUC7I5BNK Barebone Systems - Mini / Booksize

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great for me as a HTPC (for streaming, KODI and Karaoke)
Pros: - Compact, looked nice and blended well with my other home theater gears.
- The built-in IR receiver make it convenient to turn ON/OFF using a low cost universal remote control.
- Streaming 4K video for hours without excessive heat or loud noise from the fan.
- Easy BIOS setup with plenty of options to suit my needs, no issues with OS installation (Windows 10 Pro).
- Good support on Intel website (manual, spec, drivers, memory/drive compatibility/test database, forums and etc.).
- 3 years warranty.
Cons: None so far (1 month ownership).
Other Thoughts: - I now consider to buy the i7 version to replace my current desktop PC (Note, I am not a gamer).
Reviewed By:Jedsda K.,6/25/2017 10:00:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASRock > ASRock Deskmini 110W Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM * Intel HD Graphics Built-in Visuals and the VGA outputs can be supported only with processors which are GPU integrated. - Supports M.2 PCIe Gen3 x4 only

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The DeskMini 110W Rocks!
Pros: This little jewel makes for an excellent desktop or HTPC that is capable of meeting the computing needs of the average user in a package that is not much bigger than an ATX power supply. My build that includes Win 10, an inexpensive Intel Pentium G4560 Kaby Lake CPU, a 250 gig Samsung 850 EVO SSD and 8 gigs of G.Skill SO-Dimm Ram performs slightly better than an I3 Haswell 4150 with similar components. Most users would probably want to add at least a 500 gig 2.5” SATA 3 HDD for storing their data.

It took about 45 minutes to install the components, upgrade the BIOS, and load Windows 10 from a thumb drive. Once that was completed I hit the switch, and after it booted on the first try, I loaded the drivers from the included disk even though it was probably not necessary. If you don’t have an external DVD drive you can either copy the drivers to a thumb drive on a computer that has an optical drive or download them from the ASRock website. This box takes up very little space on the desktop, connects to wifi without any issues, and is so much fun to show to others who are amazed that it constitutes a complete conputer.
Cons: No digital or analog speaker jack on the back which isn’t a problem for HTPC’s that will get their sound over HDMI but may be an issue for those utilizing PC speakers that will need to be plugged into the jack located on the front of the case.
Other Thoughts: I had a hard time getting the wireless connectors attached to the card but that was probably due to never having done it before.

Used the stock Intel fan which I installed when the motherboard was out of the case for installation of the SSD.

Be careful with the SATA connectors, they are very delicate. I managed to break one and was extremely pleased that ASRock was nice enough to mail me a replacement.

Definitely not designed for gaming since it only supports on board video.

RealTemp idle 38 degrees C with fan set to normal
RealTemp after running Prime95 for 20 minutes 58 degrees C
RealTemp XS Bench Score = 1567 9.334 Seconds


I definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a full on computer in a 6” x 6” x 3” package.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey P.,6/23/2017 2:47:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ZOTAC > ZOTAC ZBOX C Series CI323 Nano Passive Cooling Mini PC with Intel Celeron N3150 Quad-Core CPU Intel HD Graphics Barebones System

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great low power home Linux server
Pros: Silent.
Low power.
Fast enough for encrypted backups.
Plenty of ports.
Low cost.
Cons: The USB3.0 Type C port might just as well have been Type A. I don't have any Type C cables.
Other Thoughts: I'm using this as a home server for DNS, Samba, DLNA server, and centralized backups. I've had no issues after upgrading the kernel (see below.) I installed from a flash drive with no trouble. I've tested video and it plays fine, but I don't use that. I also don't use wifi. The only real load it gets is encrypting backups but it is more than fast enough. I'm really happy with it for my application.

I added:
Crucial 8GB Kit (4GBx2) DDR3L 1600 MT/s (PC3L-12800) SODIMM 204-Pin 1.35V/1.5V Memory.
Crucial MX300 2.5" 525GB SATA III SSD.

Normally the CPU runs about 50C and the SSD about 57C. Under stress testing I can push that to 67C and 65C. Note that the CPU runs at a maximum of 1.6GHz under my configuration and I haven't investigated that. I think the system power draw was around 15W-20W.

I'm running Centos 7 which came with kernel 3.10.0-327. I had some issues with the Intel 915G graphics that were resolved by upgrading the kernel to 4.8.1-1.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/22/2017 3:58:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > Intel > Intel NUC (Next Unit of Computing) BOXNUC6CAYH Barebone Systems - Mini / Booksize

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 An expensive learning experience, but a nice looking box!
Pros: Trying to build these up as cheap Windows desktops for folks, so $150 for the low-end box, $100 for 8G RAM, and $100 for a SSD, and we should have a nice $350 PC.
Cons: I read here a week or so ago that they come with a Windows 10 licence. Not true, and another $100.

The spec says the BOXNUC6CAYH has M2/SATA, but the M2 slot is only 30mm long, so won't hold a SSD, and is taken up by the WiFi card anyway, so return the M2 SSD and order SATA SSD. more days go by.

As a 'loss leader' $450 is a bit much, when Dell boxes start at $270 with a Win10 license... Good thing my tim eis worth nothing.
Other Thoughts: I'll report back when I've got everything running, and the size can't be beat, so maybe this will become part of my available goods and services, but not as thrilled as I was hoping to be.
Reviewed By:William N.,6/20/2017 7:44:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASUS > ASUS Vivo Mini UN62-M036M, Intel Core i3 4010U, Supports 32GB/128GB/256GB mSATA SSD, Intel HD Graphics 4400, Black Color, No OS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great case size, but horrible power supply
Pros: Size
Cons: It would be nice if the WiFi compatible cards were a suggested item.
Horrible power supply stick 2.5" off the wall... Why would you design a power supply that way, so much for keeping it behind the TV... Now I need to buy another extension cable, so I can get this behind the tv...
Other Thoughts: I would have given it 3 out of 5 if the wifi was a suggested item, and 5 out of 5 it did the prior and had a better power cable.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Nathan,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your ASUS product experience. Please find our Qualified Vendors List (QVL) through the link below for the tested and approved wireless cards along with other SSD and Memory. Unfortunately we don't have an alternate power supply for the unit so an angled extension cord may be your best bet for a flush fit in your outlet. If you have additional questions or concerns, please contact me at cc-eric@asus.com and i'll be happy to help.

http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/Desktop/VivoMini/UN62/UN62_UN42_QVL_update_20151103.pdf?_ga=2.102119297.1016522527.1498061149-172062721.1497283920


Best Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:Nathan S.,6/20/2017 8:24:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Mini-PC Barebone > ASRock > ASRock Deskmini 110W Intel Socket LGA1151 Intel H110 2 x 260Pin SO-DIMM * Intel HD Graphics Built-in Visuals and the VGA outputs can be supported only with processors which are GPU integrated. - Supports M.2 PCIe Gen3 x4 only

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 System freezing combined with BAD service
Pros: - Small, compact - fits just about anywhere
- Relatively simple setup
- Runs smoothly
- Sturdy case with plenty of airflow
Cons: - Does not come with monitor adapter
- Have to take motherboard out to install HDD
- WiFi antennas can be a little tricky to get installed on case
- Could use a filter/screen over air holes above CPU fan as it sucks in a lot of air
Other Thoughts: This is a 1 star because I am not getting any service from ASRock due to the issues I am having. The system (Windows 10 Pro OS) freezes every time it goes to sleep, shuts down, or restarts. I have to manually force shut down and restart the machine any time it does the above on its own or when I tell it too. When the system is up and running, its great! I would leave 4-5 stars for sure if there were no issues but I have to force it to turn off and on every time I want to use it.

Got an initial response from tech support saying to install latest BIOS and I did but the problem remains and have not gotten a response back yet. Also, a wireless Logitech keyboard and mouse set doesn't run properly on the system. I got it to work properly with Logitech updates before the BIOS update but has since reverted since updating the BIOS. The mouse is intermittent and choppy while the keyboard doesn't always type when actually typing. This set worked perfectly on another computer before using it on the ASRock (without Logitech updates to boot). The keyboard set was purchased maybe a week before the ASRock.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Markus,

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
For the issue with sleep or shutdown/restart, please try below.
Test with single memory module, switching another memory if problem sill persist.
Load the BIOS setting default.
Uncheck the "Turn on fast startup" in Windows 8.1/10 power option refer to below link
Link: http://www.asrock.com/support/faq.asp?id=322

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Markus H.,6/20/2017 7:44:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.