Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius EnStation2 N300 Long-Range Wireless 2.4GHz Outdoor Access Point/Bridge

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Long term dependable, don't wait too long to test out of the box
Pros: -Dependable
-Little Maintenance
-Interface straightforward
-Long lasting
Cons: -The indicator lights are impossible to see when in the sunlight for power, lan, and wireless
-Hardware issues out of the box with difficult return
Other Thoughts: We have two sets of these, the first set went together flawlessly, the second set was difficult. Out of the box the POE port one one of them would not allow any network connections, but the secondary port for daisy chaining did. So we had to run a cable for power, and a cable for the network connection, which was a pain. When I called support I got the runaround and got nowhere, but in reality these things are so cheap that it would have cost more for my time to push for a replacement than to just buy another one. We've been using the first set for about 2 years and the second set for about 6 months both at distances of about 600 yards networking three buildings together.
Reviewed By:Blake W.,7/20/2017 7:57:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UAP-AC-M-US Unifi Mesh Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Phenomenal Outdoor 5 GHz coverage
Pros: Provides 5 GHz 802.11ac connectivity with great speeds in our backyard. Can connect anywhere on our 1/2 acre lot with zero issues. Can connect 2 houses over on 2.4 GHz. This little AP is amazing. I'm using it in normal AP mode, not mesh. Operates stand-alone without controller software or Cloud Key, but features are limited. Initially configured via smart phone app. Obtained a Cloud Key and really got this thing configured perfectly. Powering this via a Cisco 2960X PoE switch.
Cons: Not a con, but completed multiple surveys to determine the exact placement to provide the best 802.11ac coverage in my back yard. I wasn't too concerned with 2.4 GHz coverage as you could place this thing anywhere on our 1/2 acre lot and connect via 2.4 GHz.
Other Thoughts: I'm a wireless engineer by day with 13 years of 802.11 Enterprise experience. I have ran Enterprise gear at home for almost a decade. I used this indoors for about a week before finding time to install outdoors. I was impressed, so I have two UAP-AC-HD and a single UAP-AC-IW-US coming in the mail from NewEgg. This implementation will be replacing my aging Cisco 2504 WLC and two Cisco 2802i AP's. I wanted to replace my Cisco 2504 WLC with a new Cisco 3504 and continue using my Cisco 2802i AP's, but it is unfortunately cost prohibitive. My Cisco 2504 WLC will make a place in my home lab instead.
Reviewed By:Daniel F.,7/14/2017 11:11:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti PicoStation M2HP 2.4GHz 802.11g/n High Power Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Very Stable
Pros: Great range, Set and forget. Good bit of online documentation and troubleshooting help.
Cons: airMAX enabled by default. A little difficult to understand what settings are REQUIRED for the mode you select. Unit gets hot.
Other Thoughts: The Ubiquiti line has proved to be rock solid on my installs. I definitely recommend their products for small business as well as home use. The only failures I've encountered so far have been due to VERY close proximity lightning strikes. For most users I doubt the airMAX feature is needed and I suspect many purchasers will struggle to connect devices until it is turned off. This device as an Access Point with WDS mode enabled in conjunction with a NanoBeam M5 WDS Bridge setup works perfectly and generally solves users problems with remote site access for shared devices. Ubiquiti regularly updates firmware and the airOS setup software is simple to navigate although it's multitude of features may cause confusion. Online forums exist and the setup examples are extremely informative. Unlike the very cool running NanoBeam M5, the heat from the PicoStation is quite high although in an open environment this shouldn't matter. I'm sure defective units slip by control and into the sales arena but I've yet to receive one. Set up correctly these units are very stable and reliable.
Reviewed By:John P.,7/12/2017 7:26:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB1750 AC1750 802.11ac 3x3 Dual Band High-Powered Gigabit Access Point/CB

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Junk! do NOT buy.
Pros: works great when it is working!
Cons: AP will intermittently drop users and not allow them to reconnect. Requires power reset to restore service to user devices. Tech Support was NO help and then told me it was out of warranty one year and 7 days after purchasing from Newegg; despite the fact I first reported the problem last September, 2 months after purchasing it.
Reviewed By:Joseph M.,7/12/2017 12:10:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UAP-AC-LITE - Ubiquiti UniFi 802.11ac LITE Indoor 2.4/5GHz AP US/CA

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I want to burn this and fling it to the moon
Pros: Supposedly people who get this working like it, I have no idea because it doesn't work. The POE worked fine. The white look with blue light is nice.
Cons: - The setup requires software to be installed on your computer which I found odd for a wifi AP. Strike 1
- Any default user name and password I could fine in tech support documentation does not work at all
- Factory reset button is designed to frustrate you further. Press it for 10 seconds and watch the lights change just like tech support indicates but you will still end up with Access Denied messages for ever.
Other Thoughts: I thought I had a win win here. Lots of nice reviews and a wifi access point that's nice looking enough the wife will allow me to hang on a wall were good reception can be had. But the problem is a cannot even configure the thing. No matter what user name and password I enter or how many customer support forums I look up it makes no difference. It keeps turning on to that blue light and an access denied message. No matter that computer, no matter how many times I factory reset, no matter the cables and connections, this device will not allow itself to be configured.

All my "ugly" looking tech access points work just fine. I can connect with a web browser and configure away. not this beast. I can factory reset and start the configuration process all over. And it's not like I am a tech newbie. I manage million dollar servers at work. I think I received a returned item and I am stuck with the previous owners user name and password what ever that is. I will just paint my trusty old wifi routers white and stick a blue sticker on them for the wife.
Reviewed By:Jeff C.,6/27/2017 6:46:17 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti Networks UAP-AC-IW-US 802.11AC Dual-Radio Access Points

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: + Looks good / subtly blends in
+ No messy power cords to deal with
+ Easy to install in existing Ethernet wall jacks
+ Excellent customizable guest portal
+ Easy management from Unifi Controller
Cons: - Requires a separate PoE switch (not really a con, just a new way of doing things if you're used to your wifi device having its own wall wart power supply)
- Requires Unifi Controller software on a separate device for full feature support (again, not a true con in this class of wifi device)
Other Thoughts: I installed this in my house along with the 8-port 60-watt Unifi Switch, which has 4 PoE ports. I also installed the Unifi Controller on a Raspberry Pi device. Coverage is great in my 2-story 3500 square foot house, but I have ordered a second AP for stronger coverage and redundancy for when I make network changes and need to restart an AP.

My house was pre-wired with Cat5e throughout and structured wiring to a closet. I have a battery UPS powering my broadband modem, router, and switch, which in turn powers my wireless access points.

The Guest Portal is great. I configured a guest wireless network that can accept limited-time vouchers.

I have a technical network background (CCNP/CCDP), so I was glad to find an "enterprise" solution that is inexpensive enough to deploy at home. I really like the niche that Ubiquiti has found between the consumer-grade stuff that has to be rebooted once a week and the "big name" enterprise stuff that can cost as much as a small car.

Although I'm using this for home use, the Ubiquiti gear seems like it's quite suitable for business deployment.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/27/2017 8:07:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti NSM5 NanoStation M5 5GHz Outdoor airMAX CPE 150+ Mbps 15+ km

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Super easy, and solid
Pros: Very simple
reliable (so far)
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: Bought 2 of these, pointed them at each other, and boom, magical networkness. Config took like 5 min, and I'd never done it before.
About 3000' between them, maybe 20' off the ground, good line of sight
The speed test utility and our own tests say we're getting about 150 Mbps total throughput. Which is exactly what it says we can do so yeah, pretty cool.
Been installed 2 weeks now and not a hiccup in the link. I will be buying more.

Edit: coming back to update. That link has been installed 8 months now and NEVER ONCE have I had to restart either radio. They have been turned off once or twice due to being moved, or a power outage, but still. I'm super happy with them. Since then I've used several other similar ubiquiti products and I've loved them all. I'm still installing them.
Reviewed By:Justin V.,6/26/2017 9:27:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > STARTECH > StarTech Outdoor 150 Mbps 1T1R Wireless-N Access Point - 2.4GHz 802.11b/g/n PoE-Powered WiFi AP

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Problems right out of the gate
Pros: Easy setup and good options.
Cons: Lived one day indoors.
Other Thoughts: Quality is clearly questionable. It had issues from the jump and died completely a day later. It never even made it outside because I wasn't done with setup.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/24/2017 11:21:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi UAP-AC-PRO 802.11AC, 3x3 MIMO technology, 1300 Mbps 5 GHz POE+ Outdoor Managed Wireless Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Easy upgrade from the N
Pros: -I could just remove my old N ubiquiti AP and plug this in.
-As I already had other Ubiquiti ap's in my house the software adopted it automatically and I just clicked prevision and it was up and running.
Cons: Requires Java to setup via their software, different power injector then the non-AC models
Other Thoughts: As I already had a Ubiquiti Ap's in my house the software adopted it and I just clicked prevision and it was up and running.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/19/2017 1:23:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ECB1200 2x2 802.11ac Desktop Dual Band AC1200 High-powered Long-range Wireless Indoor Access Point/Client Bridge

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Runs Hot, No Channel Selection, Poor Documentation
Pros: It's pretty, not expensive, and runs on POE.
Cons: First problem, the manual is for a previous firmware version, and does not reflect the actual gui for the unit. The current firmware does not allow the selection of a single channel. It's auto, or none.

The second issue, however minor, is the housing of the unit gets up to 105 F when running in an air conditioned room.

Third issue, the box says it work with the EZ Controller Software, yet the same software says it doesn't support this model
Other Thoughts: I would steer clear of this manufacturer, this is the second item I've purchased that didn't work as advertised from this company
Reviewed By:JEREMY M.,6/15/2017 4:23:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product less than 1 day.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.