Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi UAP-AC-PRO 802.11AC, 3x3 MIMO technology, 1300 Mbps 5 GHz POE+ Outdoor Managed Wireless Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Way better than consumer access points.
Pros: -Easy Setup
-Standard POE voltage (some of Ubiquiti's products use 24v this uses a more standard 48v)
-POE injector included
-UniFi server is not required to run all the time for basic setups
-Good speed
-No random drop-offs or rebooting required.
-Easy management
Cons: -UniFi server software requires Java on the server (not the computer accessing the web interface)
Other Thoughts: I bought this to go with a Ubiquiti EdgeRouter ER-X I am very happy with both products. I will never go back to consumer router/WiFi combos.
Reviewed By:George B.,2/20/2017 7:07:37 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi UAP-AC-PRO 802.11AC, 3x3 MIMO technology, 1300 Mbps 5 GHz POE+ Outdoor Managed Wireless Access Point

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid AP, but 5Ghz could be better
Pros: This access point is very reliable.
The management software is very good.
Exceptional 2.4Ghz performance.
Range meets my needs on 2.4Ghz band.
Advanced features like Band Steering are nice.
Good price for the features and quality.
The management software supports making maps and RF scans. It looks like it would be very easy to manage a large number of these.
Cons: The 5ghz band doesn't penetrate walls or ceilings very well, and unless you're in the same room as the access point, you're going to get speeds that are comparable to the 2.4Ghz band. The 5Ghz signal is so much weaker than the 2.4Ghz band, that the band steering sends most of the clients to the 2.4Ghz band even though they support 5Ghz. There's no other devices nearby operating on the 5Ghz band (RF scan feature is neat, btw). This means you aren't going to be able to get much better than 100MB/s without putting a lot of these in. Previously, I was using a consumer router installed in the exact same location and had better speeds and signal strength on the 5Ghz band.

There's no option to not use PoE, but it does come with an injector in case you don't already have PoE set up... so not a big deal.
Other Thoughts: I bought this for my house. I would feel comfortable installing these in an office building, but maybe they are not the best thing for a home office user with demands for high bandwidth or a high density application. (note that there is a high density version of this AP that would be better suited to for high density applications)
Reviewed By:Owen J.,2/14/2017 11:26:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link TL-WA901ND_RE Wireless N Access Point

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great access point
Pros: Cheap
Simple
Works great and is plenty fast for what I'm doing

Came with a PoE adapter (haven't needed to use yet, but a nice add on)
Cons: None that have come up yet

*Update* dropped a few eggs It doesn't seem to like staying connected. Got tired of power cycling it all the time and ended up getting a PCI wireless card for my PC and upgrading my main router.
Other Thoughts: I have this running in client mode connected to a Gigabit switch that connects 2 computers and my laser printer to my wireless network. It was easy to configure and this setup is faster than the cheap WIFI card that I had in one of the PC's
Reviewed By:Noah P.,2/11/2017 8:12:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UbiQuiTi NanoStation LOCOM2 N150 2.4 GHz Indoor/Outdoor AirMAX CPE

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product
Pros: Easy setup and great speeds.
Cons: Had communication problem with router. But their website had the answer ( plus tech support )
Other Thoughts: If you don't want to bury wire or run wire this is a great option.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/9/2017 6:10:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-LINK TL-WA801ND Wireless N300 Access Point, 300Mbps, Multifunction, Multiple SSID

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 works great
Pros: just what I needed
Cons: nothing
Reviewed By:walter c.,2/8/2017 5:17:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > TP-Link > TP-Link EAP320 AC1200 Wireless Dual Band Gigabit Ceiling Mount Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Mighty Fine!
Pros: This assess point blows the doors off of the two Cisco access points we have in our building. If I had this one I might not have needed the 2 Cisco points. This comes with a power adapter, is POE capable, has really neat mounting accessories for wall, SR ceiling, lay-in ceiling, and lay-in tee mounting - really cool. The effective range of this little dude is amazing. OK, it looks good, works good, is priced right - you should try it. Oh yea, I am NOT a paid employee of TP-Link, and I didn't get it for free if I would give a good review...I am an I.T. manager for real.
Cons: I haven't found a con yet.
Other Thoughts: I certainly recommend this product - I also recommend TP-Link routers (both wired and wireless) - I ma a convert - no more cheapo Linksys or high priced Cisco routers for my company. I
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/7/2017 11:08:12 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > UAP-AC-LITE - Ubiquiti UniFi 802.11ac LITE Indoor 2.4/5GHz AP US/CA

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 great AP
Pros: * no drop-off in signal
* its easy to set up
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Christopher M.,2/2/2017 10:02:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > EnGenius Technologies > EnGenius ENS1200 Dual Band AC1200 High-powered/Long-range Wireless Outdoor Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works great.
Pros: This device was easy to use right out of the box. It was easy enough to configure with basic network knowledge. We use this device to broadcast wireless across a very large area (2.4Ghz) and connect three outlying security camera systems (5Ghz) to our main network via EnstatioAC Outdoor wireless bridge stations (directional wireless bridges that are pointed back at this station from several hundred feet away). The outcome was exactly what we were looking for and the device has no issues with 9 5MP camera feeds all running at once over three separate bridges.
Cons: Mounting is a little limited but easy enough to figure out. Works best mounting to a pole.
Reviewed By:Ryan P.,2/1/2017 11:36:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi UAP-AC-PRO 802.11AC, 3x3 MIMO technology, 1300 Mbps 5 GHz POE+ Outdoor Managed Wireless Access Point

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great so far
Pros: Went right into the Unify Controller. 1st thing I noticed was the 2 new AC-PRO's that I installed in classrooms started picking up clients from other classrooms that already had Unify AP's in them. I don't have the model but they were the cheaper ones. Guess you get what you pay for.
Cons: None so far but I haven't mounted them yet.
Reviewed By:Darryl P.,1/30/2017 12:31:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Wireless AP > Ubiquiti Networks > Ubiquiti UniFi UAP-AC-PRO 802.11AC, 3x3 MIMO technology, 1300 Mbps 5 GHz POE+ Outdoor Managed Wireless Access Point

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Some Good Things and a lot of Frustrations
Pros: Keep in mind, this is the first time I've used anything from Ubiquiti. I've installed one of these APs for a client. My customers needs was wifi for 15 clients ranging from laptops, cell phones and wireless printers. The first time setup was easy and went sorta smooth. I installed the Ubiquiti software on my laptop and started the config process. I have to say, it was quite stable. I was able to setup the SSIDs and get the wireless network up and running with all the wifi enabled clients connected. My customer was happy. My customer and I both like how small and low profile this AP is. It blends in to the environment quite nicely and has great coverage for how small it is. It has Gigabit PoE so it makes installation quite fast and clean.
Cons: The Ubiquiti Control software is required to configure the AP and is Java-based. If you think you can configure this access point via a web browser, you can't, you just can't. After getting the AP and the software installed, there were a couple failed connection attempts but I overlooked that as the device was still booting. After getting past the requirement for their software and no direct access via web interface, I was able to get it up and running after a few tries.
Other Thoughts: Months later... I suffered from a dreaded hard drive failure on my laptop. I did not backup any settings from the AP not thinking it was really that important... You should be able to reinstall it, search and log back into an already configured device and nothing should go wrong, right?... Some time later, I had to login to my customers AP to see a wireless device that was using excess bandwidth so I reinstalled the software, re-entered the credentials and BAM! After the software had provisioned the AP, all settings were completely gone! SSIDs, radio settings, etc were all gone!! Wireless clients were all disconnected, the WiFi settings went WIDE OPEN with NO SECURITY! Its almost like the software determined this AP to be a new device and wiped out all config files. What the &%$#!!! SO I had to reconfigure the AP for the old settings and they didn't save!!! So, on the ladder I go to reset the AP. By this time, I'm quite aggravated, my customer is mad and ready to rip this thing off ceiling. After 3 tries and many many failed connection attempts by the software, I finally was able to get it to work. After all that, my customer determined that this access point is getting replaced with something other than Ubiquiti. I was able to reset to default and get it back up and running while we wait for a new device to come in.

I was about to order a bunch of these for a new client install but after this big problem, I cannot risk dealing with this software-dependent device and have something go wrong that takes out the entire wireless network.

After all this frustration, I cannot recommend this or any software-dependent access point, especially in a commercial application. If you don't back up the settings and restore them to a new installation of the software, you will be reconfiguring all the access points that you installed. This is a big problem for me and for this I give this device 1 Star.
Reviewed By:Kevin B.,1/30/2017 9:33:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.