Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-6700K Skylake Quad-Core 4.0 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80662I76700K Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 530

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Gaming Unleashed
Pros: - Paired it with the Corsair hi115 to get a safe 10% overclock to 4.4GHz which then turbos to ~4.8GHz
Cons: - The substrate is thinner than previous models and will bend under not as much pressure, so make sure to use thumbscrews
Reviewed By:Austin B.,2/27/2017 6:37:57 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8300 Vishera 8-Core 3.3 GHz Socket AM3+ 95W FD8300WMHKBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Best $100 CPU
Pros: + Cheap
+ Fast, as it turbos to the same 4.2 GHz as my other FX-8350.
+ Cooler than the FX-8350 with a 30W lower TDP (same max. frequency) and 700 MHz lower base frequency.
+ Works great in games with a Radeon R9 390 card and is fast in scientific calculations.
+ If you pair it with the latest AM3 boards that have USB 3.1 type A + C and NVME (like GIGABYTE GA-990FX-Gaming), then you can still have a modern system that's both cheap and fast.
Cons: - No further upgrade possible; while the FX-9590 is cheap enough, it's not significantly faster, just more inconvenient.
- DDR3 RAM with maximum official specs being 32GB@1866MHz. I have 32GB@2400MHz RAM, but did not find it stable at more than 2133MHz. Did not try 64 GB as that's quite expensive, rare and obsolete.
- Poor single-threaded performance compared to newer chips, but at least this one is cheap.
- PCI express 2.0, not 3.0; most likely it does not matter that much, but it still counts as a minus.
Other Thoughts: The three ifs:
* If you are looking for a completely new system, wait for Ryzen.
* If you already have some compatible components like RAM, VGA card, SSD, HDD, etc. and run an older dual-core or first generation Phenom, then it's worth buying this CPU to get you back on the main-stream wave. Even if you need to buy a motherboard for it (I still recommend the GIGABYTE GA-990FX-Gaming) then the total is still under $250.
* If you already have a 3.0+ GHz quad-core or hexa-core Phenom II, then do not buy this CPU, as you will be disappointed by the marginal improvement.

Other notes:
* With this CPU I got Deus Ex Mankind Divided, but I think that now you get Ashes of the singularity.
* My motherboards for my FX-s are Asus Crosshair Formula Z and MSI 990fxa-gd80. They are good, but not worth getting anymore, that's why I recommend the GA-990FX-Gaming.
Reviewed By:Andrei N.,2/27/2017 2:40:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80677I77700K Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: The guy explaining how to get the temps down by switching settings you should make a YouTube video on how u did that
Cons: Idk yet
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/27/2017 1:21:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i5-4430 Haswell Quad-Core 3.0 GHz LGA 1150 84W BX80646I54430 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 4600

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Processor
Pros: still using it years later. I haven't had upgrade fever yet
Cons: none.
Reviewed By:Steven B.,2/27/2017 11:54:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8320 Vishera 8-Core 3.5 GHz (4.0 GHz Turbo) Socket AM3+ 125W FD8320FRHKBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Sweet Puppy
Pros: [2 YEAR EDIT: This thing has done everything i have ever asked it to, i even got it to clock up to 4.7ghz with my h100i and it does awesome. Sure its been slower than intel parts but I sure didn't pay intel premiums. I now have this paired with a evga gtx 1070sc that allows me to play Battlefield 1 @ 4k resolution with just under 60 fps.]

Just as fast as my 3630qm I7. I have it overclocked to 4.0 ghz with a corsair h100i cooler with max temps at 30c. Minimum temps are only 14.5c. Plays planetside 2 fairly well averaging a solid 60 fps outside of battles, and 40 fps in battles. I have this CPU paired with a r9 270x and together they scream.
Cons: Stock heat sink is stupid. I cant even think of the proper word for the stock heat sink because it infuriates me so badly..... i mean if you like a blender sitting on your desk going full speed 95% of the time than good for you. i even had turbo clock disabled and it was running at 65c. max.. and 50c. at idle.
Other Thoughts: great cpu for the money, i have heard the king of FX overclocking is an 8320, however i could be wrong.

This late in its lifespan I would recommend buying a different cpu as this guy is just now showing his age... but for everything i do it has been awesome. Im a huge multitask 'er by the way. I usually have a web browser opened on my second monitor, netflix or music going on the third and a game (usually war thunder, or BF1) on my primary
Reviewed By:Matt J.,2/27/2017 11:40:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > AMD > AMD FX-8300 Vishera 8-Core 3.3 GHz Socket AM3+ 95W FD8300WMHKBOX Desktop Processor

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Decent Price vs. Performance
Pros: Adequate Gaming Performance. Decent productivity performance. Straightforward overclocking.
Cons: Old architecture (dates back to 2011), low single core IPC, high power consumption vs. the competition.
Other Thoughts: It sounds like I'm bashing this CPU but it does serve a purpose. If you have an earlier Bulldozer or Vishera FX-4XXX or FX-6XXX its a decent upgrade - especially when overclocked. The extra threads will help in both gaming or productivity vs a 4 or 6 core AMD CPU. If you have a supported AM3+ motherboard and need a replacement CPU by all means get this. Its a much better value than an FX-8350, FX8370 or FX-9370. If you have a decent air cooler you can overclock it easily to their level or higher for much less money. And AM3+ 8 core CPU is an AM3+ 8 core CPU. The only difference is clock speed so why pay more? Its also a much better value than the FX-8320E. Both are 95W processors at almost the same clock speeds only the FX-8320E is substantially more expensive on Newegg. Really, for $100 you can do a lot worse than this CPU ... even for a new budget build if you catch a good 970 motherboard at a good price. Just realize its age and limitations when making the decision.
Reviewed By:Jeffrey M.,2/27/2017 10:42:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i3-6320 Skylake Dual-Core 3.9 GHz LGA 1151 65W BX80662I36320 Desktop Processor Intel HD Graphics 530

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 i3 7100?
Pros: :|
Cons: :|
Other Thoughts: Just wanted to point out the i3 7100 Kaby Lake is this processor, different architecture, but essentially the same. And cheaper.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/27/2017 9:53:36 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 4.2 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80677I77700K Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Best Performance/Price Point... As of now
Pros: -Fast
-Overclocking galore
Cons: -None
Other Thoughts: My build:
i7 7700k
MSI Z270 Gaming M7
32gb G.Skill Trident Z
2xMSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Evga Supernova 850 G2
Notua NH-D15 CPU Cooler
Samsung 840 Pro 256
Samsung 850 Evo 500
Reviewed By:Christiaan H.,2/27/2017 8:56:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i5-7600K Kaby Lake Quad-Core 3.8 GHz LGA 1151 91W BX80677I57600K Desktop Processor

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The absolute best bang-per-buck gaming processor. (and then some)
Pros: Paired this cpu with a Corsair H60 AIO cooler on an Asus Z270E alongside a GTX 1070 and 16gb Vengance LPX 3200mhz ram and I'm running every game title you can think of at 2560 x 1440p, with maxed out settings @ 60 fps, rock solid. This includes Dying Light, For Honor, Witcher 3 (no HW), Rise of the Tomb Raider, etc. I've had no trouble whatsoever pushing this processor to 5ghz and I suspect I could potentially hit a 24/7 5.4ghz stable overclock (perhaps more), albeit at a higher vcore than I personally would be comfortable with. Right now, I'm at 4.8ghz @ 1.294v and this puppy is blazing fast. I had strongly considered the i7-7700k but to be honest, I don't think I would have noticed the difference. I mean, this cpu is just so fast. I mean FAST. Steam opens in less than a second and chrome, iTunes, Office apps, Spotify, etc. are all, as far as I can tell, instantaneous. I've even recorded game-play at 1440p (while gaming at ultra settings at 1440p, 60fps) with literally no drop in performance. Both Adobe Photoshop and Illustrator run silky smooth while multi-tasking and that's saying something considering I have many projects open at once that are several GBs with 20 to 30 artboards each (in AI).
Cons: None. This is one impressive piece of silicon.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, only seriously consider the i7-7700k if you know, beyond any doubt, that you intend to leverage the hyper-threading capabilities in specific applications. Otherwise, go for this one as it is an overclocking champ and it runs quite cool - idling at 28 C and never hitting above 59 C @ 4.8ghz, while under load. *Edit: I had written 49C, it's actually 59C.

Final thoughts? Save on the CPU, overclock it, and spend the savings on a better GPU. Also, Corsair's H60 AIO water cooler is, according to their spec sheet, NOT compatible with an LGA 1151 socket. That's incorrect (or simply an omission) as it does fit straight out of the box, without a MacGyver solution, and it performs admirably (and quietly).
Reviewed By:David A.,2/27/2017 8:13:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Processors - Desktops > Intel > Intel Core i7-5820K Haswell-E 6-Core 3.3 GHz LGA 2011-v3 140W BX80648I75820K Desktop Processor

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overall great cpu
Pros: Paid $390, got what I paid for. Gaming is great on this thing. 144fps in DotA 2 and 100+ frames In most other games I play without being overclocked; I'll edit this in a few weeks when I overclock it. (Paired with my 1070 Seahawk)
Great cpu for rendering and editing.
Cons: Runs hot. (Expected)
2011-v3 makes for difficulty finding decent mobos at a good price point
Other Thoughts: Great chip recommended for people doing both editing/rendering AND gaming. There's other chips that do one OR the other better at more economic prices. I'd recommend getting a mid-high end water cooler if you plan on overclocking as the chip runs pretty hot as is.
Reviewed By:Jordan Butterfield,2/27/2017 6:31:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.