Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Not bad for the price
Pros: Good Price Point.
Works Well Enough.
Looks very Server-ish.
Not as noisy as the other reviews would lead you to believe.
2012 R2 installation was easy - but see the other comments.
Cons: Slow bootup as others have complained about. It's pretty typical for Proliant servers.
Have to register an account on HP's website to download items like service packs.
Other Thoughts: I didn't have to install the service pack, although I might at some point.

You will definitely need the offline array setup utility to first create the RAID0 volume for the included 500GB SATA.
(link) http://h20564.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/detail?swItemId=MTX_61a46dea0eb1438ba0cf6deaba&lang=en-us&cc=us

You will probably need the B120i driver during OS setup.
(link) http://h20564.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/swd/public/readIndex?sp4ts.oid=5293150&swLangOid=8&swEnvOid=4139
Reviewed By:Christopher H.,2/15/2017 3:02:43 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Never again
Pros: Cheap (but for a reason)
Cons: Extremely difficult to impossible to configure for more than the simplest tasks (at least for me, and I've been doing this for quite a while).
Other Thoughts: I bought two of these a couple of weeks ago when they were even cheaper, and have been trying ever since to make them useful. I intended to buy more, given the price, once I had assured myself they were a worthwhile purchase. But no more. HPE seems to have decided their business model is to make their stuff as hard to use as possible so you'll buy their services to get things working. Or something -- I can only speculate. I've never had to deal with a machine that is so ornery/fussy about every little thing, particularly if you don't buy every bit from HPE (e.g. disk controllers). It doesn't help that it takes a very long time to try booting the d*mn thing up. And their web site has been little help. "Open" seems not to be in their vocabulary -- you can easily spend hours just reading and trying to understand all the legalese. The whole experience reminds me of dealing with vendors before the PC emerged. As for the two I already have, at this point I'll probably just keep the processors and memory and scrap the rest.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/12/2017 3:13:55 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fantastic Server Hardware
Pros: The price! This is a very nice storage server or a small business domain controller or a home entertainment server
Cons: You have to get familiar with HP Proliant line. You will need ML10 v2 RAID driver to install server os. You will need the Storage administrator program, and finally you will need the proliant service pack (latest) to get this running wide open. Maybe I should make a youtube video with a link to download :) The last thing is to have a advanced iLO key so the server can send you e-mails if anything happens to it, you will know about it right away. Very nice features
Other Thoughts: I have installed 32 GB of RAM. Running Windows Server 2016 bare metal and Windows Server 2016 domain controller in a VM.
Reviewed By:Andrew C.,2/2/2017 9:09:33 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant G7 N54L MicroServer Server System AMD Turion II Model Neo N54L 2GB DDR3 250GB LFF 704941-001

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great investment - UPDATED 01/22/2017
Pros: UPDATE: I have owned this unit now for about 4 years. I have upgraded to 4TB disks, and am running NAS4Free, WHS and Mint all-together via ESXi 6.1. All other specs remain the same. This box has run 24*7*365 with the only downtime being for hardware/software updates. Quite dependable and a solid performer. If I had to do it all over again with consideration to the current selling price of the unit, I'd build a little i3 server box and save a bunch of $$ that would run circles around this unit...but I have to give props to this one for the dependability.

Really nice touches are the screws and wrench inside the door. This is a really well built, solid rig and it replaced 3 old desktops running the referenced OS's. Kill-a-watt shows it's drawing just shy of 56w when all VM's are running and disks are being accessed. I consider that a good, economical trade to get the power bill down.
Cons: The MB and connections are pretty tight, but I don't expect to fiddle with them much anymore now that things are set up. Dual-nics and built in USB 3.0 would've been nice...but I can't complain considering the after-rebate price. As others have stated, the CD/DVD connections are a bit strange.
Other Thoughts: Have owned this rig for about 3 months now. Installed ESXi 5.1 on a 4Gb USB flash drive and ordered 1x8Gb stick of non-ECC memory (Mushkin 992017 from newegg) to pair with the included 1x2Gb stick of ECC....disables ECC, but running with no hiccups. Installed 2x1.5TB drives for my FreeNAS installation. Using the included 250Gb drive for all VM's. Running FreeNAS, XPPro, Ubuntu server, and Mint with ease. This was the perfect way to consolidate my "play" machines and my home NAS.
Reviewed By:MARC O.,1/22/2017 9:37:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not run Linux
Pros: Not a lot.
Cons: Bought this unit purely to run Ubuntu. Turns out it won't install Ubuntu or any other tried Linux distro.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/16/2017 1:54:56 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 ESXi
Pros: I bought this server to be the base of a home virtualization lab. Before I even turned it on I swapped out the 4GB RAM stick for 2x8GB Crucial ECC RAM and the power supply for a 550w SeaSonic (w/ a 24 to 14pin adapter). I added a cheap PNY 120GB SSD for the hypervisor and swap files, a 500GB 850 EVO for VMs, and a 1TB WD Black for datastore. Booted her up and installed ESXi 6.5 and everything works as expected. Great little (basically) silent server with a (fairly) current Xeon processor. I have multiple VMs running simultaneously and this thing doesn't even hiccup.
Cons: Downsides are the lack of hardware RAID, lack of remote management features, single network port, 32GB RAM limit, and limited drive space (max 4 3.5" drives). I was surprised to find the complete lack of mounting options for 2.5" drives, had to buy an adapter. The small form factor takes up little space, but also doesn't leave much room for expansion.
Other Thoughts: I plan to add an additional 16GB RAM, a 4 port network card, and a video card for passthrough soon. Overall I'm really happy with this server, the cons I listed aren't dealbreakers for me but might be for others. ESXi 6.5 runs smooth.
Reviewed By:Daniel L.,1/12/2017 7:46:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 70A4003AUX Tower Server - 1 x Intel Xeon E3-1226 v3 Quad-core 3.30 GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great start to a server build
Pros: After yet another consumer NAS box (thanks Western Digital) bit the dust, I decided to build a Linux file server for my home network central file storage. This is a great start to that system. I ordered two Seagate 4TB drives and additional 4GB memory. The drives are setup in a RAID 1 configuration. That was super easy to setup, as well as the BIOS.

I'm running CentOS 7 and very pleased with the performance of the system. While it is supposed to serve as just a file server, I can't help but jump onto it every few days for a Linux fix. So, I ended up installing a bunch more on the system than just a standard Samba build and it handles everything great. The server is pretty quiet as well.
Cons: As noted in other reviews, only one angled SATA cable is provided and if you are using the other HD drive bay a standard cable will work, but is a tight fit. I would definitely recommend buying another angle cable.

While it might be caused by above (I am using one regular SATA cable), I was getting some annoying vibration that was emanating from the front fan. By removing the side panel screws the noise went away. Since it is likely from my janky install I'm not dropping an egg.
Other Thoughts: Overall very happy with the server and would definitely recommend it.
Reviewed By:Stephen T.,1/10/2017 11:30:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Lenovo > Lenovo ThinkServer TS150 Server System Intel Xeon E3-1245 v5 3.5 GHz 8GB DDR4-2133 70LV0032UX

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Diskless, power cable-less, PSU offers no options
Pros: Price, ability to add SSDs to a entry-priced server
Cons: The PSU doesn't expect you to EVER install disks! What no SATA power cables? Really? No SATA data cables. It's like someone from Lenovo handed a partially-made server over to a refurb place and they stuck in the most basic PSU they could find so that it would boot to the BIOS, but not much more. It's then as if someone forgot to include any cables for the server.
Other Thoughts: Unless you REALLY know what you are buying, I would warn potential users to what this "server" includes.
Reviewed By:Ken A.,1/9/2017 6:26:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Value Server
Pros: - Price
- Has all the bells and whistles you would expect from an enterprise class server, very well built.
Cons: - POST takes a very long time
- Getting drivers etc, is a bit more cumbersome than most. If you're used to HP servers this won't be much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: You can get an evaluation license for ILO at no cost if you're setting it up headless.
Reviewed By:Duane M.,1/6/2017 7:19:06 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server & Workstation Systems > Hewlett-Packard > HP ProLiant ML10 v2 Tower Server System i3-4150 3.5 GHz 8 GB RAM 500GB SATA 7.2K

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4
Pros: It's been running 24/7 for a few months solid so far with no issues.
It comes with a year warranty which includes access to HPE software updates.
Cons: good luck getting signed up for HPE and figuring out how to get the latest SPP. There's no 'New to HPE onboarding' - I probably googled it and followed someone's directions and it took a day+ I'm sure to navigate the site, figure out all the digital things I'd need and not need and get the ones I did. It's a pain but I'm sure it's a powerful tool for the IT staff at Enterprises stocked with boat loads of HP servers and various convoluted warranty and support service packages. The site is not setup with the home user in mind - someone who will buy one, never buy support, and will likely only ever interact with the site to get one or two updates that come through during their standard 1yr warranty.
Other Thoughts: It's a low cost server and for this price range HP is not giving you something that easily lends itself to other duties.
It ALWAYS makes noise - sometimes A LOT, mostly just a earnest and persistent one.
There's likely next to no airflow in the expansion card area. It's separated by a clear plastic divider and likely only really designed with NIC or SATA/SAS expansion cards in mind.
The 2 X 5.25" bays can accept hot-swap type dual-bay expansion boxes without modification (snipping alignment tabs) - but there are only two on board SATA ports in addition to the 4 SAS connections.
I would not place this in a room that you ever want to be silent - I bought an extra one for a home NAS, threw Freenas on it and considered dumping it in a corner of the TV room -- NOPE.
If you are running this 24/7 - a bustling office, a well ventilated closet, or at home, maybe a cool, low dust basement.
For home use, if I had to do it over with the hindsight of the price trends for the Dell T20 and the similar Lenovo workstation, I probably would have gotten one of those. But for as low as ~180, this is priced to sell.

For the right use case, I would recommend grabbing this when the price is right (like now).
But I would caution against assuming you can make it work as a gaming rig or do-everything setup at a steal of a price. It may save you dollars but you're going to have to accept planning and labor time (and maybe additional replacement parts and modifications) to get it setup for anything requiring graphics beyond a basic desktop environment. I wouldn't bother with if it was me.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/2/2017 4:48:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.