Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PCI40010 PCI SATA II (3.0 Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Too slow to boot.
Pros: Adds extra hard drives when I need them.
Cons: It adds about 60 seconds to my boot time because it is spinning up every drive looking for a boot sector. I don't trust the thing to boot an OS, it is just to add a bunch of drives and there is no ability to tell it to shove off until windows boots.
Other Thoughts: Not worth the hassle. I am just going to replace two of my hard drives with 5TB drives and give away the old 2TB and smaller drives.
Reviewed By:John S.,1/17/2017 2:32:40 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Areca > areca ARC-1284Ml-24 PCI-Express 2.0 x8 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Product
Pros: Easy to configure, it had Raid + Spare , Great Performance.
Cons: No Heatsink Fan installed.
also this company Manager refuse to talk to customer. But couple Supervisors are GREAT.
NO Tech Support, Inadequate Technical Info
Other Thoughts: I would not buy this Brand again.
Reviewed By:Jacky T.,1/15/2017 10:50:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX40054 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) HyperDuo 4-port RAID Controller Card

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Why did I buy a RAID card??
Pros: Works
Fast
Has internal ports
The Price Is Right
Cons: Every single time the computer boots, this "darn" thing wants to throw its own boot process into the mix, so it does take several seconds per boot. I never use RAID, I just wanted a SATA controller, but I was dumb and had to get a RAID card "just in case..."

This thing's HDD light output is broken. I don't know what the problem is, but the pins for that light don't do anything, and I've tried swapping wires every which way to get it going.

When I connected two drives (not RAID) I started getting major file corruption issues and stop errors, which terrified me. Seems to happen even if I use the motherboard for one older disk and this card for the main one. So...either use RAID or just one SATA disk, or else. I have to take out an egg for that.
Other Thoughts: So, this is PCI-E x2. You can put it in a x2 slot. You can put it in a x4 slot. Or wherever. But, know this. Any modern SSD will saturate the PCI-E bus completely. It's kind of dumb to have to use a PCI-E bus for this. So you will get the best performance if you put this in a 16x slot even though it's a 2x card (it will use the extra bandwidth). Actually, your SSD performance will be bottlenecked therefrom. 390MB read, 330MB write, on my SSD that's capable of over 500MBps, but that's the limit of the 2x PCI-E slot.

But, if you have a graphics card on a neighboring 16x slot, guess what? Your graphics card will fight your hard drive controller for bandwidth! So, less FPS if you do that. Plus, idiotically, there's a "faster" 16x slot and a slower one. So choose your device locations with care...

My advice is to avoid this if you can by using a SATA III motherboard. I mean, it's not the card's fault this happens, PCI-E is just what is available and this is just what happens when you dump all that data onto the bus.

That said, it's way faster than (over 100MB/s) SATA II.
Reviewed By:Hunter H.,1/14/2017 4:47:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SY-PEX40039 SATA III (6.0Gb/s) PCI-e 2.0 x1 Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product, easy install and good price
Pros: great transfer speed, read / write speed is excellent
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: try it, you'll like it
Reviewed By:Wayne L.,1/14/2017 8:33:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SD-PEX20212 PCI-Express 2.0 x1 USB 3.0 4 Port Card

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Misalignment to install for two cases
Pros: Manufacturer response were not too slow. One e-mail was replied in 36 hours and another one in 10 hours.
Cons: I showed the pictures the manufacturer CSR how the card was installed. It was misalignment and no way for the thumb drive to be plugged into the card. I told them it was done even after I adjust the screw mount the motherboard of my DELL Studio XPS 8100 Desktop PC.

The CSR blame the DELL's case and suggest to change a case. Even I dislike the suggestion since this card is intend to install for the DELL PC. However, I tried another case IN-WIN a 360 but have same alignment issue.
Reviewed By:Lei L.,1/11/2017 10:55:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40057 PCI-Express 2.0 x2 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) 4-ports RAID Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Hardware RAID 0, 1 and 10
Pros: Hardware Raid for Linux!
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Using for openSuSE 42.2 RAID 0 - Hardware RAID. Two drives just show as one drive in OS and also has SMART reporting for the virtual drive!
Up to 350MBs with two Toshiba 2TB drives from 2014 in RAID 0.
Reviewed By:DYSON S.,1/11/2017 7:14:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Syba > SYBA SI-PEX40071 8 Internal SATA III Ports PCI-Express Card, PCI-e x2 Slot, Specification V2.0 Plus Low Profile Bracket

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works
Pros: Not the fastest card out there but it works out of the box. I've x8 4TB HDD attached and they all work. If it were faster I'd give it a 5.
Cons: Slow transfers. Its attached to a PCIe3 slot and the drives are SATA III. Getting 1/2 speed of my old controller card with the same gear.
Other Thoughts: 8 drives on 1 controller card and I didn't have to use SAS cables. Worked out of the box on Windows 10 and all for for $100. Can't complain.
Reviewed By:Terry T.,1/10/2017 5:30:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > HighPoint Technologies, Inc. > HighPoint 600 Lite Series Rocket 640L PCI-Express 2.0 x4 Low Profile SATA III (6.0Gb/s) RAID Controller Card

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Never Again
Pros: Low profile and simple. Historically a good brand.
Cons: I put a pair of these cards in my new build and had a lot of system instability. I've used HighPoint controller cards for several builds without issue. Support has changed in ten years. No help whatsoever other than to blame everything but their product. Anyway, I replaced them with another brand and all is well. I probably won't buy their products again after dealing with their tech support this time around.
Other Thoughts: Despite all of the trouble I would recommend a single card because a single card works flawlessly. But I'll leave it at that
Reviewed By:Terry T.,1/10/2017 5:11:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > 3ware > 3ware 9550SX-4LP 64-bit/133MHz PCI-X SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Raid Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 prompt shipping and worked as it should
Pros: - arrived on time packaged safely
- worked as advertised
Cons: -none
Reviewed By:Andrew D.,1/9/2017 10:21:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Controllers / RAID Cards > Promise Tech. > PROMISE SuperTrak EX8350 PCI-Express x 4 SATA II (3.0Gb/s) Controller Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Still working after over ten years of service.
Pros: Unbelievably reliable.
Cons: You can't buy it anymore.
Other Thoughts: This card was installed in August 2006; It is now January 2017. With the exception of minimal downtime to replace more motherboards, CPU's, power supplies, and other components than I can count or remember it has been in continuous use for over ten years. You can't buy one today and this review is mostly pointless because of that. Fortunately I have a spare in case of failure, but I can't help but think that the only thing that will stop this thing is the eventual inevitable obsolescence of either the drives or the data bus it relies on to provide its service. Notably, the Areca 1220, which is still available, is based on nearly identical hardware, albeit running somewhat inferior software.
Reviewed By:Jason S.,1/9/2017 9:12:32 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.