Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-2UC238 Black 1.0mm SECC 2U Rackmount Server Case PS3 Single 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Would've been great, except PSU size is not PS3 normal size.
Pros: - Minimal design
- Good airflow with 2x 80mm intake fans
- Side vents
Cons: - PSU is PS3, but it's not any other PS3. The size of the PS3 PSU MUST be 3.30in or below. I have a PS3 PSU that is 3.40in and it doesn't fit
Other Thoughts: As long as you have a PS3 PSU that fits, it's ok. I had different PSU that I tried:
1. SFX to PS3 ATX bracket - does not fit as it was 3.40in
2. Normal PS3 ATX PSU from a different vendor, didn't fit - again because it's 3.40in.

If you remove the metal at the bottom or top of the PSU socket it would have fitted. I don't have any ways to cut it out, so cannot do it.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
Thank you for posting user reviews of Athena Power RM-2UC238. In order to better assist you, we encourage you to contact with our Service team via calling +1-626-810-5008 or email service@athenapower.us. We will help you to solve the issue. Thank you and have a great day.

Reviewed By:Heinz R.,11/4/2017 10:09:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-1U102ITX22 Black 1.2mm Steel 1U Compact Workstation/Server Mini ITX Chassis w/ V 2.2 Flex ATX 220W Active PFC Power Supply

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Will not fit standard ITX Motherboards
Pros: None, Never got to use it.
Cons: It will tell you that you can use a 6.7 X 6.7 ITX motherboard, but in reality, it doesn't fit the newer motherboards.
Other Thoughts: Was charged 12 bucks to return the item that was advertised incorrectly.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Customer,
Thank you for posting the user reviews. According to your information, we encourage any user has the similar issue don't hesitate to contact our Customer Service/Tech Support team by calling +1-626-810-5008 or email to service@athenapower.us. We know there are many types of mini-ITX motherboard in the market, however, we can assist users to double checking the compatibility. Thank you and have a great day.

Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/3/2017 9:27:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4220 4U Rackmount Server Chassis w/ 20 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS 6G Drive Bays (Mini SAS Connector)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Thoughtful desgin, snug fits, loud rear fans
Pros: The folks at Norco clearly put a lot of thought into this design because even though the fits are snug (EEB form factor), the case is still pretty easy to work in
Cons: Rear fans are pretty loud, but hey, it's a server case.
Fans to cool the drive bays can conflict with the SAS cables (I'm using reverse SAS/SATA cables) but it's workable.
4 pin molex powers the drive bay fans, so there's no speed control, but hey, it's a server case.
Other Thoughts: I replaced the loud rear exhaust fans with 80mm Noctua fans which have rubber pads on them to absorb vibrations. Those rubber pads made it difficult to replace both rear fans because the tolerances are so tight on this case (read: no wiggle room), but with some finesse (read: brute force), I got the new fans on without needing to remove the rubber pads.
Reviewed By:Alastair D.,11/2/2017 11:53:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Logisys Computer > Logisys CS4802BK Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Good Case and worth the Price.
Pros: Roomy. I won't be using any of the interior hard drive bays so removed that portion and installed a 2" wide 120 mm super fan.
Case can be lightened considerably if you don't want the grab bars, sliding side trays, cross bars, etc. Mine after everything removed is only 11 lbs. Cheap price is a huge plus when comparing to Neweggs pricey Athena cases which are at least 3 times more expensive and no better made. Removable 4 bay (5.25 and 3.5) behind the lockable door is easy to install devices then bolt it back in place. Much preferred over welded in place bays as it's easier to install devices and screw solidly in place. With a 120mm, 2 80mm's and 2 60 mm fans in place cooling is adequate--especially if you buy tornado fans to push a lot of air.
Cons: Wish the door with key would stay closed without having to lock it.

Wish they had at least a couple exterior USB that are not inside the door.
Reviewed By:larry w.,10/26/2017 11:07:45 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK 3U390A Black 3U Rackmount Server Case w/o Power Supply 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice product but a real tight fit.
Pros: Fits what they say will fit in it
Cons: High wattage, modular or otherwise oversized power supplies fit, but there is no wiggle room as they back up against the CD rom power connector. If the case was just 1 inch deeper it would have been ideal for my 1200W modular PS.
Other Thoughts: I prefer real handles to the bent metal provided here
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/25/2017 5:44:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > iStarUSA Inc. > iStarUSA 3U Stylish Zinc-Coated Steel Rackmount Server Chassis Front-Mounted ATX Power Supply (D-300-PFS)

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Nice product but be warned...
Pros: Fits exactly what they say fits in it.
Cons: Doesn't fit what they neglect to mention.
Does not fit high wattage, modular or otherwise oversized power supplies. I had a modular 1200W PS, it was too big to fit the plug inside the case and even if you could, you cant get the internal cable to adapt it from C19-C20, they just dont make them.
Woulda been a really nice thing to know beforehand.
Other Thoughts: I'm going to buy more because they are a fairly nice box but I have to buy all new, low wattage power supplies..
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/25/2017 5:35:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Logisys Computer > Logisys CS4802BK Black 4U Rackmount Server Case 3 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Case
Pros: Solid construction
No sharp edges
Very modular to fit needs
Cons: This case is 22" long which makes it not fit in most cabinets and needs to go on a full-size rack.
Fans are loud. I would recommend new fans, a fan controller, and 2 exhaust fans depending on your rack set up. Also a dust screen for the top fans.
Other Thoughts: This case worked amazingly well. I was not cut once during the build (something I can't say for other more expensive cases). Atx board fit with no problems. I have the front bay configured with hot swap bay, cd drive, and fan controller display. With an SD card reader in the 3.5" bay. For me, this is the perfect set up for importing any data thrown my way. I believe this case has changed since some of the older negative reviews because I didn't have any of those problems.
Reviewed By:Benjamin P.,10/22/2017 10:01:59 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill RSV-L4500 - 4U Rackmount Server Case or Chassis - 15 Internal Bays, 8 Cooling Fans Included

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: Very large. 15 bays. Heavy duty construction. Lots of space for airflow.
Better quality construction than expected.
Cons: My only complaint were the screws used to secure the top cover. They are very cheap and were over tightened when it arrived. I had to be very careful not to strip them when removing.
Reviewed By:Eric S.,10/19/2017 12:00:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Athena Power > Athena Power RM-2UC238 Black 1.0mm SECC 2U Rackmount Server Case PS3 Single 2 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 High quality materials and cheap, would rate over 5 eggs if I could
Pros: - Made with thick steel so it is very rigid (I guess it did say 1mm, I guess I didn't realize how thick that really was). This case feels better built than my HP servers...
- The entire case is held together with screws instead of rivets which is nice, especially for modding.
- The design seems to be thought through pretty well.
- Overall, I am very very happy with this case and would recommend it to anyone which needs a small 2U case. I can't get over they used screws instead of rivets. I'll definitely be looking at this brand for server cases in the future.
Cons: - There are some sharp edges on some of the steel plates, but once you build the system its fine since there aren't any exposed to the outside.
- For some reason my ATX PSU (was a consumer EVGA one) didn't fit because of some steel along the bottom of the case. I just cut the piece off with a dremel and it was fine. Maybe if they didn't use such thick steel this wouldn't have been a problem.
- No vent where newer consumer PSUs have their intake. I also solved this with my dremel.
Other Thoughts: - I didn't even try the stock fans, with how cheap this case was I couldn't image they would be any good so I just replaced them with 2 Noctua fans. The fan mounting solution is nice.
- The 5.25" bays are nice for hot swap drives. I think this might actually be nicer than having the bays built in since it allows you to use whatever form factor drives you want. If you're going all SSD (or any other short height drive) you can get a total of 16 2.5" bays. Or a mix of whatever. I like this solution a lot more than I thought I would...
- Note there aren't any internal 2.5" or 3.5" drive mounts that you can use at the same time as a MicroATX board and both 5.25" bays used. This was not a problem since I'm just using hot swap drives in the 5.25" bays.
Reviewed By:Brian M.,10/18/2017 8:09:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > SUPERMICRO CSE-825TQ-563LPB Black 2U Rackmount Server Case 560W

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The cat's meow of 2U servers!
Pros: Love the 2U size!
Plenty of room for all the hardware you would need to deploy it as a server.
Great price and the S/H is not bad either!
Solid construction. This is my 3rd Supermicro server that I've deployed to my home setup.
I love the hot swap capability
Comes with everything you need. Well... almost! You will need 4 additional sata cables but if you are like me, if you keeps spares from previous builds, no need to buy 4 more.
hot swap on the fans.
Very quiet! Just bc is very quiet (by server stds) you need to place it in a closet or room away from a common area like the office or home theater. I have mine in the utility closet in the basement and it loves it there!
It comes with rails! No need to fuss with screws and nuts either!
Cons: I love SUPERMICRO but they could have included the reminder of the sata cables. Just sayin'... not everyone has a ton of sata cable spares...
Other Thoughts: I plan on buying another one for a cloud storage project in the future


You can't go wrong with SUPERMICRO! (No, I am not paid by SM, but I would love a sticker at least from them :))
Manufacturer Response:Thank you for your comment! Supermicro needs your comment to improve our quality and service. If you still have any question, feel free to contact us. Please see the below technical support contact information:

Phone: (408)503-8000
Hours: 9:00 a.m – 6:00 p.m. Pacific Time (Monday – Friday)

Email address: support@supermicro.com

You can also submit your issue online: https://webpr3.supermicro.com/Support/login.aspx?

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any question.

Thank you!
SM Technical Support

Reviewed By:Robert F.,10/12/2017 9:03:18 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.