Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-430 Black 4U Rackmount Super Short Depth 15.25" Server Case 6 Internal 3.5" Drive Bays

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No exactly as shown.
Pros: Short depth. Lots of drive bays. USB3 on the front panel.
Cons: Power/reset button is not as shown in the picture. I had ordered this case specifically because of the power button shown in the picture. The one on the case is a tiny dot, too difficult for my father to see. Very disappointing.

Also, the case is poorly designed and even worse built. But I knew that from the other reviews before I bought it. No surprise there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, if you need a case with short depth, this is one.
Reviewed By:Gregory H.,2/24/2017 6:32:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > SuperMicro > Superchassis Cse-505-203B 200W 1U Rackmount Server Chassis (Black)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 It's a case
Pros: It's a case, it's rackmount, the C2550 mobo (I bought it before the news came out) I bought fits perfectly. Since this case does not have a removable EMI shield thingy, be sure that the mobo you buy for this case matches the pattern.
Cons: There are no cons. It's a case. It has a 200W power supply as well.
Reviewed By:Kevin M.,2/19/2017 3:37:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-4216 4U Rackmount Server Case w/16 Hot-Swappable SATA/SAS Drive Bays

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great server chassis for the price!
Pros: -Easy to configure, met expectations
-Big fan of the hot swap bays, did not experience the issues with drive lights not lining up properly as other people in the reviews have mentioned
-Air flow is excellent and tbh more than I need with my current configuration, but I do intend to upgrade the Motherboard/RAM/CPU within the year so hopefully that aspect will become more relevant
-I had no issues using the Norco 26 inch heavy duty sliding rails with this as some others have mentioned in the comments.
Cons: -Requires minimum 9 Molex connections. Caught me off guard because my PSU only had cabling for 6.
-6x 80 mm fans are loud. If you have a server closet this won't be a problem, but I have mine in the basement of my house. I'm on newegg now looking at replacement quieter 80 mm fans to lower the noise.
-Lots of screws, this is not a server with any screw-less design considerations
Other Thoughts: -I'm very satisfied with my purchase, and my main reason for buying this was the 16 bay 3.5 inch configuration with at least 1 5.25 bay due to already owning a 5.25 inch 8 x 2.5 inch SSD holder. I'm using it with Freenas but will eventually upgrade hardware to run this with
-Make sure you have a way to connect to the 4 Mini SAS ports to use the hot swap bays!
Reviewed By:David N.,2/18/2017 5:47:06 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > Norco RPC-432 4U Short Depth Rackmount Support 13" Long Add-on Cards

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great for a Rack-Mount Gaming Machine
Pros: -Great build quality.
-Will fit any size GFX card.
Cons: - The grille for the 5.25 slot is ugly.
- The fans it comes with are garbage, they don't even have the right kind of connector. Plan on replacing them.
- It has one 3.0 and one 2.0 USB port on the front panel instead of just two 3.0.
- Didn't fit my old CPU cooler, max height is ~14 cm. (Although that's more a symptom of the form factor than an actual flaw.)
Other Thoughts: Note how I didn't mention the fans being in front of the drives? That's because they're mounted with quick-release rubber grommets, you just push in the lock lever above the fan, then slide them up, and they pull right out. I also didn't have any of the fit problems that others have mentioned, everything lined up with my rack just fine.

I've got this setup as a Wake-on-Lan gaming server for my Steam Link & Linux laptop, it's working great for that. I'm using a full ATX board, it fits just fine.
Reviewed By:Patrick B.,2/13/2017 3:21:50 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Solid 2U case at a great price
Pros: This is a very solid case. I am using a number of these for a small renderfarm. Once I figured them out, I found them easy to work with. Airflow is good.
Cons: a bit ugly, if that matters to you. The drive bays are awkward. I'm using M.2 drives so this is not an issue for me.
Other Thoughts: You need a PSU with front to back airflow (IE Antec EarthWatts Green EA-380D Green 380W). Swap out the cheap fans for nice quiet ones like the Noctua 80mm fans. The most difficult thing about building in this form factor is cooling. I went through a number of options and settled on the BeQuiet Shadowrock LP and swapped out the for a slim 15mm deep fan.
Reviewed By:justin s.,2/11/2017 8:23:10 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-230 2U Rackmount Server Case 1 External 5.25" Drive Bays

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Overview
Pros: Functional
Better than expected in some ways
Well priced
Comes with all necessary screws and standoffs
Cons: Requires power supply with airflow that goes front to back
sharp edges
Noisy fans
Other Thoughts: Not sure if I'm giving any new information here, but I figured I might as well confirm some of the things others have said. First, even though the case in the picture only has a single USB port on the front, and even though the model number printed on the box I received matches the advertisement, it isn't quite the same front panel as what is pictured. The one I received has two USB ports - one USB2 and one USB3. A lot of the inside edges of the case really did seem quite sharp, though I did manage to assemble it without drawing blood, so could be worse. When I was reading about this case, I did hear that some people received a bracket so that they could install 3 1/2 inch drives in the CDROM bay. I received no such bracket. Just the normal four on top as pictured. The two front fans are very noisy - which is actually pretty normal for rackmount stuff from what I've seen, but still worth mentioning. I will be purchasing some quieter fans separately to try to mitigate the problem. Also, it does need these fans running in order to stay cool. The system that I built in to it was originally in a small case that only had one very small case fan and stayed cool enough, so I figured I'd try it in this case without the fans running. It started heating up more than I was comfortable with. I will be running it with the cover off until my quieter fans arrive. Seems to stay cool enough like that. My micro-atx board did fit in well enough, but it was a little snug. The edge of the motherboard closest to the front of the case goes slightly underneath the part of the chassis that the drive bays connect to which made it difficult to plug in the power supply connector on my board. In some cases you may find it easier to connect things on that side of the board first before putting the board in place. The power supply required for this case is standard ATX size, but you should definitely look for one that is designed to blow air front to back instead of the more modern and common type with a larger fan on the bottom/top (depending on how you look at it)
Requires low profile expansion cards.
My IT cabinet has not arrived yet, so I've yet to see if it will fit well or if it will require minor modification to the rack ears as I've read was sometimes necessary.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/5/2017 6:21:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Ark Technology Inc. > ARK IPC-1.5U1525 Black 1.2mm SGCC 1.5U Rackmount Server Case

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great case for building rack mount systems!
Pros: Shallow Depth
Quiet
Low Cost
Quality
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I use these to build rack mount computers to include in racks we place at customers locations. It allows us to program items in the rack remotely and to store configuration files on site. The shallow depth is very nice for the applications we have and it makes a great little package for our needs. Paired with a good mobo, i5 processor and16GB ram and a 500GB SSD this is also a low cost solution versus buying a name brand rack mount server. I will continue using this case!
Reviewed By:Chris C.,2/3/2017 11:19:47 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill Server Chassis / Server Case / Rackmount Case, 2U Metal Rack Mount Server Cases with 5 bays (RSV-Z2700)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good
Pros: good
Cons: no
Reviewed By:Christian D.,2/1/2017 2:23:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Rosewill > Rosewill Server Chassis / Server Case / Rackmount Case, 2U Metal Rack Mount Server Cases with 5 bays (RSV-Z2700)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 good 2u server case
Pros: It's a nice 2U server case to carry a lot of things and the size is perfect for my small server cabinet.
Cons: no
Reviewed By:Daniel W.,1/31/2017 5:27:16 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Chassis > Norco Technologies Inc. > NORCO RPC-430 Black 4U Rackmount Super Short Depth 15.25" Server Case 6 Internal 3.5" Drive Bays

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not exactly as shown..
Pros: Fits any size mobo..
looks ok in the rack..
easy to customize if the inside doesn't meet your needs..
only 16" deep so it will fit audio racks.. (not 15.25" it is 16" without handles)
Cons: The case you get DOES NOT have any of the extra screw holes like the one in the image..
If it had the extra screw holes as shown in the image the case would be much better and more configurable
The toolless drive bays are useless for SSD's or 2.5" disks.. I didn't put the drive bays back in..
The USB3 header does not work, might be my motherboard or win 10 but doubt it..
Other Thoughts: After removing the drive shelf and totally dismantling the case to do so I figured I'd leave it out and made my own drive assembly with some old cages and attached it inside the bottom of the chassis via some extra holes that were there..

That allowed me enough room to mount 2 120mm fans in the front to increase airflow..

The only reason I got this case was for the short depth to fit an audio raCK..
Reviewed By:Alexis K.,1/30/2017 3:51:03 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.