Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 6TB USB 3.0 Desktop Hard Drive WDBBGB0060HBK-NESN

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 So far so good
Pros: It holds a lot of data, fast for a mechanical drive, i have 2 of these and they have worked flawlessly.
Cons: Nothing so far
Reviewed By:MICHAEL C.,6/26/2017 4:12:51 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 4TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive STEL4000100 Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 New And Exciting
Pros: I bought an outstanding external hard drive, Works great and has a couple of charging ports on the front, I am having great results.
Cons: I was surprised to find that there are heat vents only on one edge, but I am not using this hard drive all the time. I use another one for that.
Other Thoughts: I am not having any problems, and I will have to wait some time to see if this unit holds up, but Seagates history is very good. I feel I was lucky to get this unit at such a good price, and right when I needed it, Thank You Newegg and Seagate.
Reviewed By:michael c.,6/24/2017 8:24:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 5TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB5000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Slow drive
Pros: Seems to work.
Cons: Very slow drive: 30 Mbps tops, dipping down below 1 Mbps on USB 3.0.
Other Thoughts: Makes you think something's wrong, but maybe it's just that it's an SMR drive.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Kirk,

There may be a variety of reasons for slow transfer performance, as it is not typical or expected for this drive to experience this problem. Please verify that the latest USB chipset drivers and Windows updates are installed for your system, as not having the latest drivers and updates can cause the symptoms described in your review. Please reference the following support article for more details:

http://goo.gl/t6ASqf

Also, reboot your computer and try the drive on a different USB 3.0 port, if available. Make sure the drive is used directly to a port on the computer and not on a USB hub.

If you are transferring many small files, this will take longer than transferring an equivalent capacity of larger size files.

If this does not help, or you have additional questions or concerns, please contact our support staff directly and we will be happy to assist further:

http://www.seagate.com/contacts/

Best Regards,
Seagate Support

Reviewed By:Kirk A.,6/22/2017 9:24:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 8TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB8000100 Black

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 ***LOADS OF SPACE FOR THE PRICE WORKING WITH A LINKSYS EA3500 BUT AN" EA6500 NOT NICE"***
Pros: This drive connected flawlessly with my Linksys EA3500 & worked as a home network storage once I updated the firmware. I've had no issues with file transfers from my Macs or PCs.

***Before we start this I'm aware that this External isn't on the list of approved drives by Linksys for the EA6500 Wireless Router (I wasn't aware of this list before I purchased it & my other device(s) + another Linksys router (EA3500) worked flawlessly with this Seagate Expansion Drive.***
Cons: This drive is giving me issues with my new router the Linksys EA6500. It keeps telling me that it's either an unsupported device or that the formatting or partitioning is unsupported. Me being who I am I've opted to troubleshoot this before I return the Linksys EA6500. The only issue is that to do this I must transfer a little less than 2TB of files to another source. Guess what? For some reason when I attempted to backup my files from the Seagate Expansion 8TB to one of my 3TB Internal HDDs it stated that I don't have enough space when my files are about a tad over 1.6TB in total??? I don't own another storage device with such a large capacity like 8TB! So now I've wiped one of my 3TB Internal HDDs clean and started to file copy utilizing Teracopy. Hopefully this process will go smoothly & then once I've completed the copying I can then backup my data to another Internal HDD.
Other Thoughts: Advice:

This Seagate Expansion 8TB External is not for a novice. A novice will be befuddled with attempting to calculate space requirements if they find themselves in a similar predicament. I have very large files saved on this Seagate 8TB Expansion drive -- files some are as large as 14 GB or larger because I store Recorded TV. It was a wonderful home networking solution with my Linksys EA3500; however, now I need to upgrade that router. I never considered that it would be incompatible with another Linksys Router of the EA series. But hey what do I know???

Do not purchase this device (thingy) if you don't have another drive that's equal in capacity to rely upon. I state this because if you get in a jam you may have to condense your files to remove them from the device. If you have files in the TBs it's no fun to sort through all of that manually. The automation is what you pay for when you purchase devices like this. Why is technology so backward that an older device will work with this Seagate Expansion 8TB External HDD you ask???

THE TRUTH:

It's about money for the industry there would be no need for "Personal Clouds" if they allowed us to attach storage of an 8TB capacity now would there??? It's not that Linksys can't make it work (it works fine on the EA3500) it's that they along with the HDD manufacturers are in cahoots to force people to purchase network storage or either look for other solutions. Solutions like purchasing a "Personal Cloud Device, NAS, or utilizing ONLINE STORAGE" the latter I'm personally against with perfectly good reasoning. Has anyone been paying attention to the various data breaches transpiring???

Well, I have I don't trust any of these online providers, ISP's or anyone else with my personal data! Every time the breach transpires they tell us that we've been compromised! Meanwhile, they reap the benefit & rewards such as data mining (selling your data to the highest bidder) while you suffer the consequences. One day there will no longer be any personal HDDs everything about us is online now.

*Imagine what it will be then.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/18/2017 12:27:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 8TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL8000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Update your USB drivers
Pros: Finally got it working.
Cons: Power plug is huge and takes a lot of space on the power bar. Can only be plugged at the extremity.
USB cable that connects to the drive is very thin and flimsy. Cannot be replaced by another random cable if damaged.
Doesn't work unless you upgrade your USB drivers. Assuming their is drivers available.
Cannot be opened easily to replace the HDD for another.
No power button.
Seems to have powered itself off when I left it connected overnight. Had to unplug and re-plug the power cable on the side of the wall.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/16/2017 1:59:05 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD Elements 1.5TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive WDBU6Y0015BBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 WD Elements 1.5TB USB 3.0 External Hard Drive
Pros: nice and compact . Lots of space
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: hooked this up to xbox one for extra storage works great
Reviewed By:Gerard B.,6/16/2017 5:10:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Backup Plus Hub 8TB USB 3.0 Hard Drives - Desktop External STEL8000100 Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Cannot use without software install and reboot
Pros: Don't know yet. Cannot reboot computer to try it. Not risking it...
Cons: Cannot use without installing software and rebooting. At least on Win7
Weird very thin USB connector at back. Probably un-replacable if you bent it or break it.
Other Thoughts: The whole point of getting external drives are for backups, including emergency ones...
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/15/2017 7:52:23 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > G-Technology > G-Technology G-DRIVE USB 6TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drive 0G03674 Silver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 VERY NICE DRIVE!
Pros: Construction/Build Quality
Price
Speed
Cons: The HDD light! Why so bright????
Other Thoughts: I bought this because I needed more storage for my Xbox One. This is an outstanding drive, and load times are still great with it. The build quality is awesome, with a very nice powder coated aluminum chassis.
The only downside? The "G" on the front is the power/activity light, and in a dark room, it's like a spotlight!
Reviewed By:Gary B.,6/15/2017 7:01:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Western Digital > WD My Book 3TB USB 3.0 Desktop External Hard Drives WDBFJK0030HBK Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Looks Brand new
Pros: Looks and works great. Came on time as promised. Great price. Nice and quiet too. All the software you need is on the HD.
Cons: The product claimed it would come with a CD with the software on it. It didn't. But no biggie though. It all came on the HD. If needed; just make a copy of the apps on one. For the price a small mishap.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/11/2017 5:09:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Desktop External Hard Drives > Seagate > Seagate Expansion 4TB USB 3.0 3.5" Desktop External Hard Drive STEB4000100 Black

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Worked Fine Until...
Pros: Price, capacity, performance.
Cons: Longevity. Died after 7 months. Completely, irrevocably. No recovery utilities worked. Shipping back to Seagate for replacement.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,6/10/2017 4:14:17 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.