Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External DVD-Writer Model SDRW-08U5S-U/SIL/G/AS

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great product Awful Customer Service
Pros: works great
no vibration walking
volume is tolerable
Cons: Company
Other Thoughts: ASUS offered a rebate and lost the upc and denied my rebate coming up on 2 months now and still trying
Manufacturer Response:Dear Jeffrey,

Thank you for your feedback. We're sorry to hear of the difficulties you encountered with processing your rebate. Please keep in mind that all rebates are processed by a third party fulfillment center and not directly by the manufacturer. Please contact me at cc-eric@asus.com and i'll be happy to see what I can do to assist.


Regards,

Eric
Customer Loyalty
ASUS Computers
https://www.asus.com/us/support/

Reviewed By:Jeffrey W.,5/26/2017 4:02:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Piece of junk
Pros: Nothing - I don't care about size or weight, I need a drive that makes discs I can actually play.
Cons: Just got this drive and am finding that every single DVD it burns is bad; they all stutter, lock up, glitch out, on any player that I try to play them on. I bought this drive because it seemed like my old drive might be starting to go, creating about 2 or 3 bad discs out of about 10, but this drive is a solid 100% bad disc creator. Am glad I only paid $17 for this piece of junk.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2017 7:16:35 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Lite-On > Lite-On EBAU108 External DVD-Writer - Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just Works
Pros: I use it to install Operating systems and it works well.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: have not done any writing, so no comment on that.
Reviewed By:Beth S.,5/24/2017 12:20:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > Pioneer > Pioneer BDR-XU03 6x Slim Slot USB 3.0 BD/DVD/CD Burner, Magnesium Body

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Good, but can ruin some CD media
Pros: External, slim
Cons: Can ruin some DVD media
Other Thoughts: I have been using this device for a couple months now. I rip a lot of my movies for playback on a local media server. However, I just tried two DVDs and the device left ring scratches about a half inch from the external edge of the disc. It effectively ruined those two DVDs. The first one, I could not be sure was free of defect. I checked another and then tried to rip it. It spat it out before even reading it. No scratch evident (yet). I reinserted it and it spat it out again. This time a scratch in the same place was readily apparent. I am not sure why this drive choked on these two DVDs. Maybe they are a little ticker than others? I am speculating because it seemed to be fine up to now. If I find some other DVDs or Bluerays, that I don't mind ruining, I may try it again to see if it persists, but you cannot be certain that yours wont get ruined, which effectively makes this product worthless. I will be asking for a refund.
Reviewed By:Don N.,5/23/2017 7:49:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > LG Electronics > LG USB 3.0 External 16X Blu-ray Disc Rewriter Model BE16NU50

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Works Great
Pros: Fast Blu-ray disk burner in a semi compact external version. It's external so there will be some size to it but it's manageable.
Cons: haven't found one yet
Reviewed By:Michael L.,5/22/2017 10:47:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 External Blu-Ray 6X Writer with BDXL Support Model SBW-06D2X-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Hunk of Junk!
Pros: It's small and compact. While this thing was working it was great. But after only about 20 burns it completely quit working.
Cons: - You have to have two free USB ports in order to get enough power to turn it on.
- Since it was refurbished it didn't come with a user manual or any support software. I
- The mechanism that holds the discs was slightly too large, making it very difficult to get the discs into and out of the drive. --
- Poor quality; only lasted for about 20 burns before completely failing.
Other Thoughts: The first problem is that you have to have two free USB ports in order to get enough power to turn it on. Second, since it was refurbished it didn't come with a user manual or any support software. It took me over 30 minutes at the manufacturer's website in order to find a user guide. Third, the mechanism that holds the discs was slightly too large, making it very difficult to get the discs into and out of the drive. Finally, I plugged this in on Thursday evening and started to burn some discs for a presentation I had on Saturday. I burned about 20 discs when I received a message 'there was a mechanical error with the burner drive.' The drive was on, but would not burn. While I was trouble shooting another message popped up 'The drive and the disc are not ready.' I rebooted my computer a couple of times But nothing worked. After I rebooted a third time and then plugged the device in, it completely quit working. It wouldn't even turn on. I'm glad I didn't have a disc in it, because there was no way to open the drive to get one out, or in for that matter.
Reviewed By:Timothy W.,5/18/2017 4:57:44 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 Black External Slim CD / DVD Re-writer MacOS Compatible Model SDRW-08D2S-U

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Fast Reliable, and Gorgeous
Pros: -Very nice and easy to use
-Plug in and works
-Sleek design
Cons: -Glossy finish causes smudges and scratches to show up more. Clean with microfiber cloths and be careful when using.
Other Thoughts: -Overall this is a great, easy product and is exactly what it claims to be.
Reviewed By:Adam G.,5/17/2017 10:28:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 Black External Slim CD/DVD Writer Model SDRW-08D2S-U/BLK

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not very Good
Pros: Nice Looking will read CD's
Cons: Will not read or write DVD's
Other Thoughts: Nice for your desk without any good use.
Reviewed By:David W.,5/16/2017 12:07:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS USB 2.0 / USB 3.0 External 12X Blu-Ray Re-writer MacOS Cmpatible Model BW-12D1S-U LITE/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 worked good while it lasted
Pros: worked good for archiving photos.
Cons: Four months after warranty expired it can't read discs.
Other Thoughts: Used it about 6 times to backup photo files now it can't read discs. The power light comes on and I can hear the disc spin up but no recogition. Computer does not recognize the drive also. I took it out of the case and attached a SATA to USB cable and it seems to work although it only recognizes a 25gb disc as having 10gb. Now I have to look at this ugly burner with no case sitting on my desk next to my laptop. Will buy a new burner as soon as I can afford it, definitely not Asus.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/13/2017 5:51:26 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > External CD / DVD / Blu-Ray Drives > ASUS > ASUS ZenDrive Ultra-slim External DVD Re-writer MacOS Compatible Model SDRW-08U7M-U/BLK/G/AS

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Simple to Use Plug and Go
Pros: Plug and Go
Compact and quiet
Reads disks with ease
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: Definitely a good purchase for those who want a optical drive without getting and installing an internal one. Works great and have had no issues with it.
Reviewed By:Nicholas M.,5/10/2017 8:27:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.