Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Rosewill > Rosewill RC-601 USB PCMCIA Card 2 x USB Type A ports, 1 x DC Jack

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Works reliably
Pros: Works. Tough. Does what it needs to do.
The power input can be a pro or a con. Pro if you use it, con if you don't want to buy the adaptor and have a random wire poking out of an awkwardly jutting out piece.
I bought this in 2008. I just now replaced it - it still works perfectly, I just wanted something that didn't stick out like a sore thumb. So this thing works forever, I guess.
Cheap!
Cons: Sticks out from laptops. I was always afraid to handle the laptop with this in. So...I bought another card that's approximately flush. That one doesn't seem to have the tough build quality or tight USB ports of this one, but way less annoying, so I can leave it in.
Other Thoughts: NEVER disconnect/reconnect this while USB drives are connected. I fried a controller that way. Of course, that goes for any PCMCIA USB card.
Reviewed By:Hunter H.,1/13/2017 2:13:05 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > BYTECC INC > BYTECC BT-C150E PCMCIA e-SATA 2 Port CardBus

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Not recommended for Linux; untested in windows as yet
Pros: esata ports seem of high quality compared to others I've used or tested and insert esata cables reasonably securely.
Cons: Incompatible with Ubuntu Linux 16.04 on an older 32-bit laptop afaict even though it should work in theory (per specs for this laptop outlined in its manual). I purchased solely to expedite the backup process for this laptop since would be much faster than USB 2.0 if was successful.

The Windows driver CD I received in the packaging doesn't seem to actually have drivers that are specific to this product, but rather other products w/in Bytecc's current range of similar laptop products so I would guess that Bytecc's quality control is severely lacking. None of the model numbers reflected in the driver CD matched those of this product.
Other Thoughts: I didn't know Linux support for this older interface type was not that great. Most of the hardware I have dealt with has been usable w/most Linux distros I've tried since about 3 years ago, as Linux has matured much more since then in my analysis. I may test in a Vista laptop that belongs to my sister which is slightly newer than this one given the chance but am doubtful it will result in a better outcome. Although I purchased this at a great sale price (& therefore not much of a financial loss), I knew it would be somewhat of a gamble. I find it impossible to consider purchasing another product with the Bytecc name at the present time.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,10/6/2016 10:09:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > BYTECC INC > BYTECC SATA3-EC200 6Gbps eSATA III 2 Ports ExpressCard

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Win 7 & Win 10!!!
Pros: I have two laptops: Dell 1537 (Win 10) and an HP 8470p (Win 7). Both serve me well and this card is a good addition for both.

Each has an eSATA port already onboard, but I have many external drives with eSATA capabilities (3 external HDD enclosures with USB 2.0 & eSATA.) I am currently upgrading to USB 3.0. This card helps me have all 3 external HDDs connected at SATA speeds. (I know; I know...eSATA and USB 3.0 are nearly the same speed.) I didn't want to do away with the old enclosures.

On the Dell running Win 10, it installed seamlessly. I didn't even have to fool with the driver CD that came with the card.

On the HP running Win 7, that was a different story. Basically, I got the BSOD (Blue Screen of Death for those who've never experienced it) when I inserted the card for the first time. Upon the ensuing reboot/restart, I went into the Device Manager and located the device that was having an issue. (There may be many, but the one you are looking for is the one labelled "Expresscard". I used the browse feature to point the updater to the CD drive that had the proper driver (I picked the WHOLE drive and checked the box that said "include subfolders".) The next thing I knew, I was up and running. So now I can have all 3 eSATA HDDs connected at the same time at way faster speed than USB 2.0!

Of the testing that I have done with this card thus far, I haven't noticed any problems with the transfer speeds.
Cons: None that I can think of at this moment.
Other Thoughts: I've only had this a couple of days and really only sunk my teeth into it for a few hours before writing this review. It would have been nice if they at least put an extender panel on the side (so you cannot accidentally knock it loose.) I guess that means I gotta get those EC Bracket2 Stabilizers for 34 mm expresscards!

Cheers all!
Reviewed By:Mark H.,9/17/2016 4:12:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Does not work *2
Pros: Flush mount
Cons: Flush mount "cool" does not matter when your system does not recognize the device. Dell Studio XP 1645 Win 7 (64) is a 100% fail. I tried a replacement card in both this and a friend's netbook. Both cards failed.
Other Thoughts: I can keep the card in my PCI slot to prevent dust from entering.
Reviewed By:Michael B.,9/7/2016 6:16:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Addonics Technologies > Addonics ADEXSA6G-2E eSATA ExpressCard

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed
Pros: None
Cons: Not reliable. Failed 10 months of occasional use. Now hot swappable as advertised.
Reviewed By:Steven Y.,9/6/2016 2:38:30 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECESATA254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm eSATA II Controller Adapter Card

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 As advertised
Pros: Plugged it into my Linux laptop, and instantly two 3GB/s SATA ports appear. Works fine with all my external drives.
Cons: As mentioned in the instructions, you have to be careful plugging in the cable because the insertion force will push the card in enough to cause it to be ejected. That's bad news if you had operations in progress on the other drive. I don't see any easy way to avoid that problem on a flush mount card, though. And, it's not SATA III, but was never claimed to be.
Other Thoughts: Why the heck is an Express/34 filler/adapter included with an Express/54 card? That's just weird.
Reviewed By:Robert N.,8/11/2016 3:44:21 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product less than 1 day.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Transcend > Transcend PCMCIA ATA Adapter. Convert CompactFlash CF Card to PCMCIA slot. Model TS0MCF2PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Extremely compatible, reliable, and rugged
Pros: See my title! I've got quite a few of these units and have yet to have a failure. They spend their time in some pretty harsh conditions and they just work. What more could you ask for
Cons: They don't fly to our field sites on their own. Other than that, perfect.
Other Thoughts: We use these to record data from fairly antiquated equipment that we can't support any other way. Not all brands work for what we are doing but the Transcend brand has been extremely reliable for us. We will continue to buy these as long as we have the equipment to use them. Now if I could just find a PCMCIA to SD card that is as reliable.....
Reviewed By:James F.,7/11/2016 5:13:41 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > Transcend > Transcend PCMCIA ATA Adapter. Convert CompactFlash CF Card to PCMCIA slot. Model TS0MCF2PC

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Worked fine in an Allegro CX handheld field PC (along with a 4GB CF card)
Pros: works
Cons: Only used for a day, but no cons noticed.
Reviewed By:Karl B.,5/15/2016 7:03:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech ECUSB3S254F 2 Port Flush Mount ExpressCard 54mm SuperSpeed USB 3.0 Card Adapter

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Very reasonable upgrade for older machines.
Pros: USB 3 on an older laptop
Flushmount
Cons: Unseats when you detach drives (and pretty much anything else). Holding the edges of the expresscard while removing cables takes care of this.
Other Thoughts: Works on a 2010 Alienware M15x using Windows 10
W10 Microsoft driver does the job
Has enough power to drive a conventional slim external drive (tested 500GB Lacie Rikki) without using the aux power cable
Doesn't come with a power supply, just an adapter cable
Reviewed By:Craig H.,4/7/2016 6:11:11 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Laptop Add-on Cards > STARTECH > StarTech EC13942A2 2 Port ExpressCard 1394a FireWire Laptop Adapter Card - Retail

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 1394a Firewire ExpressCard Review
Pros: Excellent quality, worked flawlessly for my needs. It's nice that it came with a cable to transition from a 6 Pin to a 4 Pin. :-)
Cons: Have none, :-)
Other Thoughts: Wish they offered a card with both Firewire 400 and 800 in one card.
Reviewed By:Christopher W.,12/31/2015 1:30:24 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.