Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Raspberry Pi > Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Broadcom BCM2837 64bit ARMv8 QUAD Core 64bit Processor powered Single Board Computer running at 1.2GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Raspberry Pi
Pros: Works great. Small. Fast. Easy to use
Cons: Waiting for Pi 4 (2019 or later) :(
Reviewed By:Matthew B.,5/26/2017 7:47:19 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3150M Intel Quad-Core Processor N3150 (up to 2.08 GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard / CPU / VGA Combo

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 issues
Pros: nice looks
Cons: mouse and keyboard won't work
Other Thoughts: I'm going to call the manfature tomorrow Everytime I launch window mouse and keyboard shut off automatically.
Manufacturer Response:Dear Valued ASRock Customer,

Thank you for purchase and review.
If using Windows 7, please visit link below for instruction, installing Windows 7 with USB keyboard and mouse.
However, Windows 8.1 and 10 have no such issue.

Link: http://www.asrock.com/microsite/Win7Install/index.html

If you have any technical support inquiry, please contact us at http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp
We will assist you shortly.

Thank you

ASRock Support
Tech Support Email: http://www.ASRock.com/Support/tsd.asp

Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/25/2017 10:01:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5545 AMD A8-5545 (Quad core 1.7G, turbo 2.7G) Processor AMD A70M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good embeded solution, but not great.
Pros: Dual channel memory. Better graphics score then my AM1/5350 board. Seems snappier in everyday use then my AM1 rig.
Cons: No XP support. I know it states that, but I figured I would try as there is XP support for FM2/2+, but no AMD drivers worked for this board. Will not play back my GoPro footage smoothly, choppy and unbearable to endure, with 8G of dual channel ram and vid set to 2G.
Other Thoughts: I went back to my AM1 rig. I need to play my GoPro vids and dual boot XP (XP doesn't go online). This is a good low power board for everyday use, at a great price. Runs Windows 10 x64 Creators Edition nicely.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/14/2017 7:11:00 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3455M Intel Quad-Core Processor J3455 (up to 2.3GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: Very low power consumption CPU
Small form (Smaller than my previous Micro ATX which was 9x9)
Comes with 2 Sata Cables.
Super Quiet as the cpu has no fan just a heat sink.
Cons: ONLY HAS 2 sata ports!
The manual is not very in depth.
Other Thoughts: This board is very nice and basic for a budget build. I would get this again or recommend it to others. The only gripe I have this it is there are only 2 SATA connectors. I am using this for a backup system for my home PC's and would like to have a CD drive & at least 3 SSD/HDD installed but I'm currently looking for a PCI Express to SATA card that is compatible with Windows 10.
Reviewed By:JUL B.,5/12/2017 8:52:48 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASUS > ASUS N3050T Intel Celeron Dual-Core N3050 SoC onboard Processors Thin Mini-ITX Motherboard/CPU/VGA Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great, yet interesting, little board
Pros: Powerful enough for a little desktop (With a Lite OS).
Fair amount of options.
Overclockable (buy a fan if you do).
Very handy and easy to understand BIOS.
Works with many different laptop power supplies with variable outputs
Nice looking graphics.
Easy to flash the BIOS
Best embedded board I've ever purchased.
Cons: Installing Linux was ...interesting and a touch confusing but I'm going to give you directions in the comments.
Processor IS NOT fast, in fact it's rather slow, yet it's steady; It seems reliable so far.
I wish it had on-board WIFI, Bluetooth.
Other Thoughts: I gave this 5 eggs because it fits my exact needs right now. I shoved this little guy in an original Nintendo Entertainment System case and installed Lubuntu. I configured it to boot straight into EmulationStation and installed my entire collection of ROM and IOS games. Boot was taking a whole minute (partially due to the old laptop HD) so I'm installing a 120Gb SSD as I write this. Boot time should be greatly increases now.

Linux Installation:
1. By default, under the option Secure Boot (Advanced Menu), Windows OS is selected. This has to be switched to "Other OS" in order for you to start playing around with Linux.

2. ALSO by default, this mobo thinks it has a monitor built into it. This is called VLDS (it's for connecting an LCD screen directly to the mobo. Cool option!). If this function is enabled then it becomes your default screen...even though there really isn't a screen. This makes OS installation really difficult. Disabling this option will make your VGA or HDMI the main monitor output.

Comment on Linux and Drivers:
I was worried that Lubuntu wouldn't find all the drivers needed for smooth Linux operation. I was wrong! At first it wasnt booting very well so I flashed the motherboard's BIOS (really easy, BTW). That improved operation 10 fold. Only other thing I had to do was uninstall the default Lubuntu audio drivers and install Pulse Audio drivers because HDMI audio kept getting disabled every time I reset the machine. Pulse Audio drivers kept the default audio on HDMI.

Beyond that, MOST dell laptop adapters will work with this motherboard. I'm using an 75W adapter from a Dell Latitude E6400. The only downer is that I can not overclock with 75Ws (Not that I need to for what I'm doing). If you want more performance and overclocking, buy a 100W+ power supply with plug size 7.4x5.1 or 7.4x5.0. There are many cheap options out there for power. ASUS also gives the option for using a small ATX (FLex ATX or Pico-ITX) power supply as well by connecting the 4 pin up to the board's 2 pin power plug.

Overall, I really like this board. There are features that I would have liked to see built-in (Quad Core, WIFI, Bluetooth, etc.) but I understand that they wanted to make the board sell for around $80. For the price, It's totally worth it. Using this board, I can build an awesome retro gaming machine (Atari-Playstation2) for @200 or less. It's more expensive than a RaspberryPI but way more powerful.
Reviewed By:Brian M.,5/12/2017 8:44:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Raspberry Pi > Raspberry Pi 3 Model B Broadcom BCM2837 64bit ARMv8 QUAD Core 64bit Processor powered Single Board Computer running at 1.2GHz

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The Pi
Pros: Great little Device to use on 3d printer
Cons: none
Reviewed By:William B.,5/8/2017 5:56:58 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3355B-ITX Intel Dual-Core Processor J3355 (up to 2.5 GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great board if it works.. :(
Pros: Easy to setup and worked for all the things i needed it to do.
Cons: Unfortunately the board i received seemed to have some errors. It would randomly reboot at odd times. I had to run memory test and hdd tests to rule out the issues i faced on windows 10. It was a wonderful board when it worked and i can recommend it for running a small media server at home. It runs cool and performs well. Oh well, i guess there is low chance of manufacturing failures. That's life.
Reviewed By:Uday A.,5/1/2017 7:09:40 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > Biostar > BIOSTAR A68N-5545 AMD A8-5545 (Quad core 1.7G, turbo 2.7G) Processor AMD A70M Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 A good, inexpensive, basis for a basic computer
Pros: The biggest pro is low cost. Add in the simplicity of setup, the abundance of useful peripheral ports for the back panel, plenty of ports for storage drives, and headers to add even more ports to the front panel, and the low current draw. Throw in the ability to take more memory than I'm likely to want to install on it (32GB!), adequate embedded graphics processing for basic uses, a VGA port to use it with any older monitor you might have lying around as well as an HDMI port for connecting to newer monitors, support for every recent version of Windows (and at least some Linux builds, as well, as I have discovered), extremely quiet operation, the ability to use older PS/2 keyboards and mice if you have those among your spares ... it's an easy motherboard to love.
Cons: The PCIE slot has an x16 connector, but it only supports an x8 connection. This isn't really a problem if you're not planning to use it for an application that needs the addition of an x16 connected card, and as that isn't a likely scenario for a system using this motherboard it's only worth mentioning to make sure it is clear to prospective buyers.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this to a person who wanted to build a low cost, basic system for typical lightweight home use. It'll certainly work as a system for browsing the internet, or as a home theater system, or as a system for doing basic word processing or other "office" applications. It'll handle lightweight "casual" games, but I sure wouldn't use it as the basis for a serious gaming PC.

I've presently installed Linux Mint on mine. Using a modest-sized 120GB SSD for storage makes this thing boot fairly quickly and it is snappy and responsive with basic tasks. I'm using an old PS/2 connector Dell keyboard and mouse combo that I had in my spares, which saves me from having to buy USB connecting models, though this thing certainly has plenty of USB ports for folks who have newer keyboards they want to use. I installed it into an old Gateway case I had lying around that has front-panel USB 2.0 ports and a card reader that also connects to one of the USB 2.0 headers, and added a pair of front panel USB 3.0 ports that fit into an old 3.5" floppy-sized opening on the case.

One of the real strengths of this motherboard when coupled with an SSD is that it barely uses any power at all. If you need a system that is energy efficient, small and easy to set up, and if your needs are such that a basic system will suffice, then this is a motherboard to consider.

I'm giving it a 5 egg rating with the understanding that it gets that in the context of use in a system that won't be used for tasks that require more powerful CPUs or graphics cards.
Reviewed By:Michael H.,4/30/2017 7:16:51 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock N3050M Intel Dual-Core Processor N3050 (up to 2.16 GHz) Micro ATX Motherboard / CPU / VGA Combo

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 N3050
Pros: - Low power
- No heatsink, cpu power, etc, required.
- Good for a home-build NAS or x86 router to run 24/7
Cons: - N3050 is indeed too weak for most jobs. I wanted to use chromecast or miracast to cast videos onto my TV, but the lag was extremely severe. If you want to build a HTPC, probably you need go for something else.
Reviewed By:Xinyang L.,4/27/2017 3:19:39 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Embedded Solutions > ASRock > ASRock J3455-ITX Intel Quad-Core Processor J3455 (up to 2.3GHz) Mini ITX Motherboard/CPU Combo

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Amazing for Intel Based Linux router
Pros: Installed 4gb of ram and booted into AlpineLinux off of a USB 3.0 key. I am going fan-less for this build so as to not move air/dust. Linux detects everything on the board, including the Ethernet card and posts up video. Haven't dug too much yet into the performance, as this is a hobby project.

Runs from a Pico-PSU

The dimensions of the boards specific heights are:

Heat sink is 28mm tall from the top of the MB, the MB, including the bottom solder pins is 3-4mm. Total is about 32mm tall.

With pico-PSU installed, it is closer to a height of 40mm.

Those would have helped me choose a better chassis. I advise mounting it on a piece of 1/2" or 3/4" plywood in retrospect. Not kidding. It would look pretty as a naked board in a server cabinet.

Compared to a 150 buck router, this thing destroys it for processing loads, and if I verify that, I will post the results here.
Cons: You may need to find a PCIE 1x flex cable, quite an obscure part. I ordered mine direct from China. You can re-orient your add on card to fit parallel to the MB.

Add a pico-psu and a chassis from Minibox http://www.mini-box.com/M300-Enclosure-w-Bootable-CF-Reader_2 ,

and a 12v power brick from China (affordable) or an Xbox....

If you want to keep the project under 150 bucks, skip the chassis. Use plywood.
Other Thoughts: Tried using a USB wifi card and it was beyond my linuxing capabilities (not doing ubuntu or Mint), frustrating. Will update if I get a wifi card running.
Reviewed By:Jerald S.,4/24/2017 2:46:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.