Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V677 7.2 Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 RX-V677
Pros: 4k up converter, plenty of HDMI inputs, two zones audio,
Wi-Fi, ease to use and tuning. Good sound quality.
Cons: Remote has volume control in opposite location to all other remotes I own, why? Mute button is located between volume and program selector instead of being just below volume control.
Unit is extremely big so you better have a lot of room in your entertainment rack or shelve.
Other Thoughts: After 2 years and 9 mo. unit displays internal error. Need to send it for repair. Litlle short lived for $600.00.
My mistake, going back to Sony.
Reviewed By:Adam Z.,5/14/2017 4:19:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-531 5.1-Channel Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Its Just OK.... when it works without a screen flicker
Pros: easy to set up. several sound fields with unique qualities. setup now works in hdmi, no need for rca adapter and monitor.
Cons: No mic to setup eq for room. Bass reproduction lacking greatly compared to vsx521.
Other Thoughts: After 3 weeks of light use... less than 30 hours of use it has developed a nearly continuous screen flicker. When it started I figured bad cable and waited another week to replace those and the flicker became worse, new cables did not change the situation. now out of 30 day return window. Im hoping they will still exchange if not its off to service center 140 miles away.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/13/2017 10:55:04 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR656 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver, Black

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 My First Suround System
Pros: So many features is why I chose this receiver. Very upgrade-able in the near future as I only have a 5.1 setup now.
What I really like the most is the blue tooth. I can turn off the TV and be playing my music from my phone in seconds.
Bring my 1st real surround setup, This was very easy receiver to setup. If I can do this , anybody can!
I have all Polk speakers with a Klipsch 10" woofer. This sounds VERY nice.
Cons: My wife has an older Wii that uses RCA plugs (no HDMI) . The Wii will not work thru this receiver. But not that big a deal, it still plays, as I just hookup directly to the TV.
Other Thoughts: Love the easy setup. The receiver pretty much set itself up after you install all the connections.
Reviewed By:David N.,5/13/2017 9:24:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-524-K/B 5.1-Channel Receiver, Manufacturer recertified grade A

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Great Receiver but ...
Pros: 5,1 surround
HDMI input
140watt/channel
Cons: Shutting down randomly for no reason since day 1
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/13/2017 7:57:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-S5205 5.1-Channel Receivers

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed in the first hour of use - won't turn on
Pros: It was great when it worked. Setup was simple. 4 HDMI ports perfect for our needs.
Cons: Failed after one hour (powered off completely) and would not turn on. Started again the next day, but failed again after 5 minutes.
Other Thoughts: I will be returning it for replacement.
Reviewed By:John G.,4/29/2017 2:42:01 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman/Kardon AVR 1565 5.1-Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 I would look elswhere
Pros: - Easy enough to set up
- Speakers sound nice
Cons: - My lcd screen on the front doesn't work. I worked at first now is totally dead.

- It has a horrific time trying to pick the correct audio on the Auto setting and I lose my center channel 80% of the time when I initially turn it on. I have to then swap inputs back and forth to get it to work.
Other Thoughts: I got it on sale and it was a good deal but I would not purchase this again. I'm pretty disappointed in it honestly. I would look elsewhere as these issues are pretty bad.

No lcd... and having to switch surround inputs everytime I turn something on is a giant pain.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/29/2017 2:16:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Careful - Not HDCP 2.2 compatible
Pros: Great receiver. Plenty of sound. Lots of options and features at the price point.
Cons: NOT HDCP 2.2 Compatible so you will find problems playing newer 4K content. Greedy Hollywood has decided to punish consumers who enjoy 4K content to upgrade their home audio and video equipment just to play newer 4K content.
http://faq.yamaha.com/us/en/article/audio-visual/av-receivers-amps/rx/rx-v377_black_u/10790/8657

This is a huge problem for me but not everyone.
Other Thoughts: I would buy this again but not unless it is 2.2 compliant. The newer model is.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/28/2017 3:09:42 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1710S 7.2-Channel Network A/V Receiver with Bluetooth Connectivity

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective
Pros: Excited about price and up convert HDMI
Cons: On first start cycle it died. I went from reading the manual to hooking everything up carefully to it melting down on the first power up. I was very excited to replace a 12 year old sony i have but now i am giving it one more try with a replacement hoping this was a 1 off issue.
Reviewed By:joseph h.,4/26/2017 7:41:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Entry-level receiver with quirks...
Pros: Price is reasonable, has 4K capabilities, a lot of possible sound field settings.
Cons: This receiver is a lot smaller than any other I've owned in 40 years. The cooling fan is audibly noticeable when it kicks in. The depth of the bass response from my subwoofer is not great. Using it for 5.1 sound setup, I had 1 speaker(front left) that was noticeably louder than any of the others, even when I turned the level on it down to 0...strange. Volume wise, I had to turn it up to lvl 65(out of 90) to even hear sounds decently. I prefer the beefy sound of a Pioneer receiver over this.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this receiver, spend a few more dollars and get a Pioneer or Sony.
Reviewed By:Steve P.,4/25/2017 1:16:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1610S 5.1 Channel Network A/V Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 fantastic
Pros: I ordered this so that I can complete my little living room surround system. I was not disappointed as some of the other reviews state "can't handle power" or whatever it's handling 4 satellite speakers and a center speaker rated for 75/85 watts respectively. It's an easy setup with the provided mic and a little know how. This is my first AVR I've ever owned so I don't know the good quality vs bad but it's working perfectly and sounds amazing out of my speakers as I had hoped. Don't listen to the other reviews just do things correctly and check compatibility.
Cons: Turns my tv on when I could easily switch the menus on the display on the AVR when I want blutooth. Price? But that's negligible given its quality and features.
Other Thoughts: I ordered a klipsch quintet 5.0 system (center + 4 satellite) and when it came in my heart sank because it had no cables. I wasn't prepared for an adventure like this but I bit the bullet and tried my best. Ordered this for my AVR bought 14 gauge wire and some banana plugs and got to work. I'm super happy with the results and my wife just shakes her head at me for being so impulsive BUT you can see in her eye she loves it.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2017 6:56:13 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

0 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.