Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha R-S201 Natural Sound Stereo Receiver (Black)

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Woudn' t recommend it for the world.
Pros: Good features on remote but that's just about it. The remote itself, from about 15 ft in our living room and an angle of 30-35 degrees won't work. You have to be in front of the receiver.
Cons: Lousy bass. Lousy treble. At 50% volume I have to up the bass to maximum +10 and same with treble +8-10, in order to listen not even adequately with lots of distortion. In an act of desperation, I connected this old slider-button equalizer from the 80's (12 frequencies/channel, +-12db) I have and the sound -that is web radio via bluetooth adaptor- improved dramatically. Yamaha's radio is still garbage. What can I say? It's the first and last time I buy Yamaha sound.
Other Thoughts: My speakers are 3-way old Technics towers from the 80's and coupled with an Akai am69 from the 90's produced sweet sound. I guess you have to spend lots of money to buy a decent receiver. This Yamaha though is not even adequate for the garage.
May this be a lesson to me and other friends that all these cheerful-positive reviews on Yamaha r-s201 around the globe are totally subjective. Trust only dedicated stereophile detailed reviews from sites that have been around a long time. And not even those. Some of them advertise this receiver as "unbeatable Yamaha quality?" Use your head, which I didn't.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/11/2017 12:41:28 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Quality item at a cheap price.
Pros: - Item was received as described, which is always a good.
- There are so many adjustments you can make from telling it how far you are from each speaker to how much bass and treble you send to each speaker.
- Very cheap to add signature confirmation to avoid porch thieves.
- I love the 4 HDMI in, 1 HDMI out (usually to a TV) way its configured. The 4 HDMI in's are in addition to the usual DVD, CD, AUX, etc, modes you usually get with any receiver.
Cons: Nope
Other Thoughts: This is the third Yamaha brand receiver I've ever bought. I have been absolutely happy with all three. You can't go wrong with their receiver. The HDMI pass-through on this one allows me to run Spotify through my PC onto my room speakers through this awesome black metal box.
Reviewed By:Craig L.,1/10/2017 8:06:22 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Pioneer > Pioneer VSX-831 5.2-Channel AV Receiver with MCACC, built-in Bluetooth and Wi-Fi

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Upgrade from 1993 VSX-502. I made a good choice.
Pros: Simplified remote. On the unit screen or with TV screen to make selections. Upgraded from the 502 and I have good speakers. The auto calibrate took only minutes with the supplied microphone that had a very long cable. Excellent results. My 5 existing high end speakers sound better than ever in my normal seat location. On the TV screen there are helpful and informative tips / explanation to every choice selected. Connected to WiFi fast. Then I tried the tuner, and listed all the stations in my area. Well, limited area, as I can get more stations in the car. For existing apps, I tried the tunein radio for my favorite station with the TV and then without an was able to find it.

I use a Logitech Touch programmable remote that quickly reprogrammed to the new AV. I should also be able to set it up for tuner only functions, something to play with more.

All functions so far perform very well or better. Looking forward to many years of service.
Cons: None found so far.

Compared to the old unit, I first noticed a lot more ventilation holes. Not a problem for me, but if you stack or confine the area around it heat could be an issue.

Instructions on how to navigate within apps using just the units display screen would be helpful. I am a techy and intuitive so it was easy for me, especially since I tried it on the TV before the unit display. I know people that would never get relations or differences.
Other Thoughts: Google cast and something else promised in future firmware updates. Hope they come through with stable apps.

Upgraded from the old 502 to get HDMI support as the old unit was composite R/L/V only. So I chose this unit for the 2.2 compliant for the 4K and 3D support for upgrade resistance. Hoping to get another 20+ years of service.
Reviewed By:David D.,1/6/2017 5:06:49 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V777BT 7.2-Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver with Bluetooth adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Lasted about 6 months
Pros: When it works, no complaints
Cons: Video feeds are epiplectic triggers of static, picture, and random flashes. Purchased the extended warranty still says ineligible for return. Real dung heap. Don't waste your money on this Horrible product or buy an extended warranty for anything from Newegg. I've shopped for decades from this site and they have deteriorated to skid stains.
Other Thoughts: Would never recommend this product to anyone but people I secretly want to see suffer. Will never recommend NewEgg again for any products due to extended warranty not working.
Reviewed By:Dustin W.,1/6/2017 3:08:25 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > HARMAN KARDON > Harman Kardon AVR-1710S 7.2 Channel Network A/V Receiver with Bluetooth connectivity

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 DOA
Pros: None as the unit was defective and never stays on. Unit turns on and goes right into sleep mode. Upon reset and looking on AV forums this is a known defective issue with this receiver.
Cons: Device was DOA.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/4/2017 6:33:04 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > ONKYO TX-NR515 7.2-Channel Network 3D Ready A/V Receiver

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Updated again - 1/3/17
Pros: Multiple HDMI ports, internet connected
Cons: Outdated UI, apparently not durable.
Other Thoughts: My receiver made it 1 month over 2 years and now experiencing frequent internet connectivity issues and intermittent sound output issues. Up until this point it was a good receiver that met expectations. Now I may have to wait upward of an hour for sound to be output, meanwhile the video signal to the TV is still functional. The UI seems outdated and is reflected in the Android remote app. Have sent 2 unanswered emails to Onkyo customer service, through their website, and just spent 15 minutes listening to hold music attempting to call customer service only to finally receive a message saying no agents available and to leave a message. Not satisfied.

1/3/17
This update is many months over due. The connectivity issues identified above were due to a known issue which is documented in Onkyo's forums, a faulty network adapter. Onkyo pays for the receiver to be shipped and repaired. Post repair it works like a charm. The Net interface, for streaming music, is still out of date with services that no longer exist/work on the device but what are you going to do...Its primary function as a receiver works great.
Reviewed By:Richard G.,1/3/2017 9:04:20 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V377 5.1 Channel AV Receiver

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Expected longer life
Pros: Good sound
Cons: After approximately 16 months receiver will no longer connect Aynet devices such as roku and firestick.
Other Thoughts: Spent a lot of time trouble shooting as found on internet such as receiver rest, powering off for several hours, high speed HDMI cable etc to no avail
Reviewed By:joseph g.,12/30/2016 7:09:43 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Yamaha > Yamaha RX-V777BT 7.2-Channel Wi-Fi Network AV Receiver with Bluetooth adapter

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Failed After 10 months
Pros: Excellent system when it worked.
Cons: Warranty worthless. Went into "Protector" mode after 10 Months. Took to local service center. Blown output transistors. Claimed my speakers were shorted so not covered by warranty. Replaced with my old HTR-5740 that this V-RX777 was supposed to replace. Speakers work fine. Just like impedance tests indicated. And VOM short circuit tests said was ok. Separate wired on plugs. I expect the output blows for another reason. Like maybe overheating due to design. Whatever. I'm out the cost of the receiver plus $310 in repairs. Repairs that didn't work.
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend Yamaha products at all.
Reviewed By:Robert F.,12/26/2016 12:32:02 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX-NR747 7.2 Ch THX Certified A/V Receiver with Wi-fi & Bluetooth

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: great
Cons: none
Reviewed By:Ronald L.,12/23/2016 5:10:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Receivers > Onkyo > Onkyo TX NR555 7.2 Channel AV Network Receiver, Black

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 User friendly controls
Pros: - Very easy hardware setup
- Super easy software setup
- Powerful tuner for the price range
Cons: - Stock indoor antenna (AM/FM) is really cheap. Probably best to purchase a better one while ordering this tuner
- Since I have had it (less than a month) it turned off for no reason.
- As I am not savvy on tuners, I had to Google some of the settings.
Other Thoughts: For the price, it is a steal. I would definitely recommend this tuner.
Reviewed By:Donald E.,12/12/2016 5:40:11 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.