Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > Microsoft > Microsoft Office 365 Home 1 Year Product Key Card - 5 PC or 5 Mac

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Not Received Yet
Pros: Best quality thin piece of cardboard, if I ever get it.
Great for people who don't have an email account.
Also great for people who don't want to be rushed to use items they purchased.
Cons: Shipping from Indiana to Ohio via DHL. Less than 4 hour drive. Estimated delivery: one week.
Other Thoughts: Okay, I thought I was ordering the downloadable version. I assumed since I was only getting the product key it would be emailed to me. This version does not come with the program on disc, only a card with the key on it. Really NewEgg, why would you even offer this product?
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/27/2017 9:56:15 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > Quicken Inc. > Quicken 2017 Deluxe

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Great when it doesn't crash or corrupt data
Pros: - downloads data from bank effectively
- great bill scheduling and reminders
Cons: - painfully buggy
- constantly corrupting data
Other Thoughts: I work in IT support and I can't believe such a bug-riddled application shipped and for $70 to boot. I like the functionality and the software does what I need it to do but I should not have to restore from updates 3 times in the first week of ownership and reinstall the entire application suite twice.

I've gone through the application support forums and installed all the patches and updates but the problems remain. If you look at consumer affairs sites, you'll see many similar complaints. I now regret even getting entangled with this software. Do yourself a favor and use something else.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/19/2017 9:32:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > Intuit > Intuit TurboTax Premier 2016 Fed + State + Efile Tax Software

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Turbotax scam for state
Pros: Easy to use.
Cons: Charge you extra to e-file state. What a scam. Based on the description you would think it includes both federal and state.
Other Thoughts: Would not recommend. Almost as expensive as paying tax preparer.
Reviewed By:hussein k.,4/14/2017 2:02:15 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > Intuit > Intuit TurboTax Home & Business 2016 Fed + State + Efile Tax Software

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Own several years.
Pros: It works, and it fills things out. No bugs encountered during self employment filing (I don't have W2's, only 1099-MISC, so YMMV.)

This version asks you for "tax prep" in your business expenses as a specific question. 2015 didn't, that I can remember. I seem to recall tax prep being deductible if you're a business (call the IRS help line if you have the number and ASK QUESTIONS.) Speaking of questions and answers. Intuit seems to have a pretty good help desk, though most of your questions will be answered long before you reach a flesh and blood human.
Cons: Not a fan of the fact that we have to pay for software to help us with government imposed hardships upon businesses. At least the software seems to work well. I haven't had complaints of which I'm aware.
Other Thoughts: I'd say get it, unless you have a fantastic accountant and a very tricky situation. If 2016 had been my first tax software or accountant, I would have never complained about doing taxes.

2015 had a bug about a certain type of documentation, and I don't remember where it was (vehicle expenses on certain types of business vehicles, it asks you to check one box, but the box above has to be checked as well, if it didn't get checked, or you checked NO before digging up documentation, you ended up with a constant "Final Completion Check" loop on your finalization of your tax filings.

Hope that helps.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,4/9/2017 11:34:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > Intuit > Intuit TurboTax Premier 2016 Fed + State + Efile Tax Software

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Disappointed
Pros: Structured walk through every line item for accuracy and deductability. Nice brokerage account data transfer for select brokerages.
Cons: I bought the CD version because I am funny about leaving all my personal and tax information wherever Intuit stores my data. I did 4 sets of Federal and State Tax Returns. I had to data enter 5 of the 7 Employer W-2's and all data for the various 1099's and 1095's. I was lucky that all the data from the brokerage firm was transferred to Turbo Tax.

I was very disappointed with the amount of data I had to enter. It's 2017 and I expected some use of OCR. Unless your employer uses ADP for their payroll you're out of luck. I wasn't happy entering all those numbers and the possibility of errors was high.

I was surprised that what I bought as Efile Tax Software, I was required to pay an additional $25 for 3 of the 4 returns I filed.
Other Thoughts: I purchased this item because I wanted to Efile our joint return and the returns for each of our kids. I needed to file for 2 states and I was aware an additional fee was required for the second state. I didn't know how much. So far I paid $80 for the Premier version and $45 for the extra state, a total of $125. Then for each of the 3 remaining returns I filed, a $25 fee was charged for filing the state returns. I have now paid $200.

It is very difficult to find information about additional fees on the Turbo Tax website. I couldn't find it. It is impossible to send an email to customer support regarding an explanation of fees. I didn't want to send my question to the community for all to see. I didn't see the need nor did I want to wait around the phone to have them call me. Finally, I searched the entire website for a way to post a review and couldn't find a link.

I don't like to do business with a company that doesn't explain how fees and cost are applied. I also don't like to do business with a company that doesn't provide direct access to customer support, at least by email. This gives me a sneaky, greasy feeling.

I am very adamant about the security of my personal information. When I send a tax return to federal and state governments I expect they are the only ones that have access to the information. I don't want to allow any of my personal information to be retained by software providers such as Intuit.

The amount of data entry is beyond excess when compared to the cost I have paid for the software. I don't think it was worth my time and money to file with Turbo Tax.
Reviewed By:Chuck S.,3/23/2017 9:00:55 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK Tax Software Premium & Business 2016

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great product
Pros: It seems to have EVERY form I could ever need. It is walking me through my taxes and so far so good.
Cons: So far no cons.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this software.
Reviewed By:Charles B.,3/19/2017 5:00:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK Tax Software Premium 2016

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great deal on needed product
Pros: Does exactly what I need. Great price from Newegg.
Cons: none for me.
Reviewed By:Woo K.,3/13/2017 5:28:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > H&R Block > H&R BLOCK Tax Software Premium & Business 2016

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 The software works as advertised.
Pros: Great unlimited free telephone support. Unlimited business tax returns included in software package. 5 free e-file 1040 tax returns makes this software a good value. The best feature is the software will prepare all of the form 1040 tax forms and attachments. The software is easy to learn because of the question and answer approach .
Cons: There is a fee for state individual income tax returns. I would like the future editions to have 5 free state e-file returns.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,3/12/2017 6:25:29 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > NUANCE > NUANCE Power PDF Standard 2.0

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Nuance Just Plain Lies About Features
Pros: The ribbon interface is familiar, but frankly, Adobe's new user interface in Acrobat DC is easier to use and more efficient. Sadly, I can't think of any more pros.
Cons: The program loads pretty darned slowly, unlike Adobe's Acrobat DC Standard and Pro DC. I discovered that Nuance's program doesn't recognize watermarks in an existing PDF file as a watermark -- hence you cannot change or remove an existing watermark. Other features were awkward and unwieldly to use. I had high hope for this program, but using it for a few days quickly dashed them.

But most egregious is that Nuance's sales staff simply lies about this product's features. I specifically asked whether Power PDF 2 opened each PDF document in a single window with a tab for each document (like Adobe Reader does and the subscription version of Acrobat Pro does) rather than in a separate instance of Power PDF for each PDF document (which really clutters the computer screen). The sales staff insisted that it functions the former way, with one instance of Power PDF with a tab for each document open, much like a browser. I then downloaded the free 30-day trial and it did not have this feature. The sales staff then insisted that the free trial did not include all of the program's features (which seemed really odd).

They outright lied. Once I bought the program, I found that it does not open all PDF files in a single instance of the program and that each PDF appears in a different window on your screen. I talked to Nuance tech support which confirmed that this is the only way that Nuance Power PDF 2 works. I was able to obtain a full refund without much difficulty (Nuance offers a 30-day refund period). And my sales person insists that she was just repeating what she was told by her colleagues. I believe her -- but that still leaves her colleagues just plain lying about the program's features -- which does not instill much confidence in Nuance as a vendor.
Other Thoughts: Consequently, if you are remotely serious about creating and working on PDF files (not just reading them), you are far better off with Adobe's Acrobat DC, Standard or Pro -- and I imagine some other PDF programs. I stress I am no fan of Adobe and its customer-unfriendly policies, but my experience with Nuance is even worse. At least Adobe doesn't lie about the features of its products. Now if only they'd add tabbed windows to the purchased license version of Acrobat DC Standard and Pro like they did with the much more expensive subscription version and with the free Acrobat DC Reader.
Reviewed By:Daniel L.,3/9/2017 8:21:53 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Office & Accounting > Intuit > Intuit TurboTax Deluxe 2016 Fed + Efile Tax Software

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Money Grab
Pros: It prints the required forms
Cons: How can tax software that can not handle simple capital gains distributions be called deluxe??

A money grab by the folks at intuit!!
Reviewed By:Mr. s.,3/5/2017 5:32:07 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.