Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > SonicWall > SonicWall 01-SSC-0439 TZ500 High Availability - Security Appliance

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 powerful and reliable but overpriced.
Pros: tons of features .
Cons: many features need extra pay.
overall overpriced.
buggy firmware.
Other Thoughts: due to slow update of buggy firmware, vendor should offer unlimited free update firmware.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/19/2017 11:13:24 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL USG40W Security Firewall w/13 Months UTM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 I now remember why I don't purchase ZyXEL products
Pros: - When it works, it does the job.
- The casing is pretty sturdy.
- Presumably, feature rich.
Cons: - Unit had a defective WAN port and I spent the better part of a week troubleshooting with ZyXEL technical support.
- Bad customer satisfaction.
- Confusing interface, poorly structured menus.
- Expensive annual licensing agreements (you're better off purchasing a new unit each year).
Other Thoughts: I honestly cannot recommend this product or company. The device I ordered arrived with a faulty port and after a week's worth of communication with ZyXEL technical support, I was finally given an RMA.

The problem is, rather than send me a new replacement unit, they sent me a used refurbished unit with a bent console port. If I wanted a refurbished unit I would have simply purchased one in the first place (remember, I just sent back a unit that was barely a week old).

I contacted ZyXEL to let them know I was displeased with the replacement unit. Rather than offer me a complementary extension on my security license (which I would have accepted -- and would have been a minimal cost to them) or a new replacement unit, they had the audacity to lie and blame me for an exchange policy that they did not disclose (and I have email proof). They did, however, offer to exchange my unit with a lesser-used refurbished unit (no thanks).

In a nutshell, if you're device is DOA like mine, return it to Newegg and get a refund or a replacement. Otherwise, if you go through ZyXEL's RMA channel they will send you a refurbished unit.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/2/2017 7:25:09 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL UAG5100 Guest Hotspot Gateway Firewall

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not as impressed as I thought I would be
Pros: Gives a few more options than cheaper gateway's.
Cons: Not user friendly. Features that should be included are available for a yearly subscription $$$$$. Requires SP-350 printer so if you own a previous version you are out of luck.
Other Thoughts: Unit replaced a VSG 1000 which was in use for about 15 years and was a bit more easy to use and customize. I decided to replace the VSG as I was having to reboot it to allow new devices to log in as well as newer Apple products were very difficult if not impossible to log in.

The UAG5100 focus on the dynamic guest much more and has very little features for a static guest of which I have more of. The bandwidth control is not exact as it would peak above the limit I set. You can set dynamic guests at a level of priority and not the static guests. The VSG allowed pass through MAC addresses but the UAG does not. It was much easier to use a network printer with the VSG and I was told by support (after I bought the unit) that it would only work with the SP-350. I have a SP-100 I bought for the VSG and never could get to work so I thought it might work with the UAG, nope. I did find a way to print dynamic guest log in's using a network printer but it is very complicated.

Had a power outage and even though all the dynamic users are set not to log out everyone had to log back in even though I have the lease and reauthorization time set to unlimited. VSG did not do this. Firewall is tricky to use and not user friendly to a normal user. Most annoying is the fact if you want to block web addresses you have to purchase a yearly subscription for this.

I emailed customer support with a couple of questions, of which one I was sent back better written documentation that what was listed in the manual. I am not a network engineer or a IT person and while I found the VSG a little difficult to understand and set up the UAG was a nightmare.

I decided on the UAG 5100 for two reasons. The first was the durability and long lasting VSG 1000 that it was to replace. The second was the well written sales information for the UAG 5100 that sold me on it is what I needed for my business but has turned out less rosy than written.
Reviewed By:Randall D.,1/29/2017 1:32:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard Firebox T10-W - security appliance with 1 year LiveSecurity Service

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great Firewall at a great price
Pros: Tech Support and does it all, easy to deploy
Cons: None so far
Reviewed By:Todd M.,12/29/2016 11:33:52 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL ZWUSG20 Internet Security Firewall with 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 2 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN , and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Updated Review
Pros: Cheap unit. Interfaces with bluecoat. Works well.
Cons: Not very intuitive.
Support is M-F 8-5
Online documentation is just about non-existent.
Youtube is where you get your help.
Other Thoughts: This was my first foray into Zyxel and I was a bit uninformed when I wrote my last review. After working with this unit for a couple of years, I have now purchased 4 for different users I support. It's still not super intuitive, but once you get used to their object based approach, it takes care of what you need it to do.
Reviewed By:Paul B.,12/22/2016 7:16:49 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco ASA5505-50-BUN-K9 ASA 5505 50-User Bundle includes 8-port Fast Ethernet switch, 10 IPsec VPN peers, 2 Premium VPN peers, 3DES/AES license

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent Product
Pros: I'm sure it worked great, but I sold it because I wanted a 55xx-X series firewall instead.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/6/2016 12:34:00 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Cisco Systems, Inc. > Cisco Small Business RV320-K9-NA Dual Gigabit WAN VPN Routers

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Great features but still has few issues
Pros: Lots of features
Easy to configure
Easy to use
Cons: DHCP for some reason is very slow. It takes more than a minute to acquire an IP address on some devices.
Unable to manually force ports to 1Gb. Max it allows is 100Mb Full duplex.
Hopefully Cisco can fix these issues asap in new firmware updates.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,11/24/2016 10:42:28 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > ZyXEL > ZyXEL ZyWALL USG50 Internet Security Firewall with Dual-WAN, 4 Gigabit LAN / DMZ Ports, 5 IPSec VPN, SSL VPN, and 3G WAN Support

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Waste of money
Pros: - Quick and easy first setup;
- Nice look.
Cons: There are few things that made this product a big disappointment for me:
- This product is coming to EOL! (end-of-life). Zyxel announced that support for signatures will be stopped in 2019. Now they don't sell 2-years licenses anymore.
- After activation of trial 30-days licenses the appliance failed to update the signature database. It was not able to communicate to the Zyxel portal. Ridiculous.
- It is unstable! My home network has view segments are connected via few switches and one of the segments have been disconnecting from the router (cannot ping, no Internet access) on regular basis. I put back the old router (DLInk DIR-655) - the problem has gone.
- Zyxel support is responsive but they did not fix the issue.
Other Thoughts: - Because of the issues are described above I was not able to test how VPN access works - the main reason why I bough this appliance.
Reviewed By:Alexander M.,11/3/2016 6:11:50 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > Netgear Inc. > Netgear FVS318G ProSafe 8-Port Gigabit VPN Firewall, 9 Port - 10/100/1000Base-T Gigabit Ethernet

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Good home office firewall VPN
Pros: Easy to setup, has a internet light beside the WAN port to let you know it is connected. Boot up time is improved of the v1 of the product. Has good throughput on the VPN.
Cons: Sometimes the device stops working when you first turn it on. I give it a few minutes to finish loading then I log in and use the reboot icon under the diagnostics page. Since then it has worked fine. That was a few weeks ago.
Other Thoughts: Hopefully they will fix the boot up problem, other than that it is a good device.
Reviewed By:Carolyn J.,10/6/2016 10:52:38 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Firewalls / Security Appliances > WatchGuard > WatchGuard Firebox T10 Network Security/Firewall Appliance (3 YR LiveSecurity)

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Great
Pros: It does what it's supposed to. If you know your way around their web gui or software it is pretty self explanatory as to what to do. Good logs. Good Support. All around great product, you can download the software after you activate the product online.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Daniel N.,9/27/2016 10:05:37 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.