Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice UHD Blu-ray player
Pros: Slim nice looking design, 90 degree power plug-in in back, nice snappy interface and fast loading of discs, plenty of internet smart apps and the ability to stream video from your network or a physically attached hard drive or thumb drive(works well). The higher resolution is great and all but the real upgrade is HDR(High Dynamic Range). If your TV doesn't support HDR you are missing out.
Cons: I would say that there's only one con and that would be the price. I do recognize however that if you buy this player you are entering as an early adopter of the tech. UHD Blu-ray is a relatively new animal with only a few players out there and therefore explains the price.
Other Thoughts: Love the player and would definitely recommend.
Reviewed By:Joseph S.,2/24/2017 10:55:23 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Sony > Sony WiFi Ready Blu-ray Player BDP-BX37

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Happy as a Monkey in a Banana Tree with this Unit
Pros: The built in apps allow access to free music and free movies too, plus can connect to tv shows and movies on paid subscription sites and more... when connected to internet! When playing regular DVD, it upgrades the quality to near high def.
Cons: Some apps that came with it no longer function (such as YouTube) because the conract between SONY and YouTube ended, but other apps were added to take their place so it's all good!
Other Thoughts: I defininitely recommend this player if you are after Blu-Ray or like to view regular DVD at optimum quality. I've had mine for years though only played it a few dozen times since I watch most movies online through my desktop. But have never had problems and am about to sell it ONLY because I want to upgrade to 3D.
Reviewed By:Douglas S.,2/19/2017 11:42:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > Philips > Philips 3D Blu-ray & DVD Player BDP2385/F7B

Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3Rating + 3 Not super happy , but I'll keep it.
Pros: Plays blue rays discs great. Compact size. Quick response. You can breeze through the previews quickly and get right to the menu.
Cons: No owners manual or quick start guide are provided. It's online only. I thought there were two L's in Philips so I had problems finding the site, Battery's for remote not included. The only real problem was You Tube access does not work gives error message. Says "please report this ID number so we can fix this problem" gives long ID number but doesn't give any other information such as WHO to report the error message to. There are only two manual buttons on the unit so don't break the remote.
Other Thoughts: If I had bought this from a store I would return it based on the defective You Tube button/function. Other than that one thing I am satisfied.
Reviewed By:jeffery j.,2/16/2017 6:19:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-J7500 4K Upscaling 3D Wi-Fi Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Stopped working after 6 months
Pros: Worked fine
Cons: Then stopped reading discs
Reviewed By:Pavel V.,1/29/2017 10:07:31 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung BD-J5100 Blu-Ray Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 why would you say this is good?
Pros: The picture looks okay. The remote looks like it's probably okay.
Cons: The unit is loud when the media is spinning. Annoyingly loud. I am shocked no one else seemed to report this in the reviews here. If the unit was not otherwise junky I would suspect I got a defective unit.

As others have noted, there is no display or even an LED to indicate when the unit is on. How much cheaper can you get than not having an LED to indicate the unit is powered on?

It screams cheap. 100% plastic casing, flimsy. The buttons are cheap and do not always register a click.
Other Thoughts: It's junk. If you want to save a few bucks by buying junk, have at it. The A/V seems okay but honestly I don't care to check it out any more thoroughly given how flimsy and noisy it is.
Reviewed By:Matthew S.,1/16/2017 11:06:21 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Didn't work
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The 4k settings put static bars across the screen. When I switched it to 720p, 1080p, etc. the static went away.

Samsung customer service told me to just keep it on 1080p, since that solved the problem, lol...
Reviewed By:Justin T.,1/12/2017 2:37:27 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Great product!
Pros: -Loads Blu-Ray discs fast!!
-Nice choices e.g. apps, access to files, wi-fi, auto-updates
-Quiet function...no loud churning sounds
Cons: -Remote is too small for me
-Lacks Audio/Video bitrate values in Info
Reviewed By:DAVID F.,1/2/2017 11:23:54 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 No Cables inside to connect device.
Pros: I can't submit this without a comment in this area so... it looks okay
Cons: I was Very disappointed that there was no way to connect the player to anything.
I bought this as a present so I either pass the problem on to the gift receiver or I have to go out and buy one.
This was purchased mainly for Netflix and DVDs. I have a Samsung TV and DVD plyer of my own.
Which had there own disappointments including the ability to the surf the internet but no ability to play flash content.
I mean really !!. Anyway I don't think I will be buying anything Samsung again.
I would like to comment on playback etc. but I can't I have to wait until I can get and HDMI cable.
Other Thoughts: I don't think I would recommend this to anyone because in keeping with modern corporate policies they pass off as much cost to the users as possible .Ever heard of plug and play ? Next time I will try to shop smarter. Shame on me for not paying closer attention.
Reviewed By:KEVIN L.,12/26/2016 10:08:03 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

1 out of 8 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Does a perfect job
Pros: I bought this DVD player as a complement to my LG OLED TV. I am mainly interested in its 3D capability. The first movie I tried was "Life of PI" in 3D and I am absolutely impressed!
The installation is simple - just connect power and an HDMI cable. The TV screen interface is very nice. Many people seem to consider the remote control too small, but I think it is just right and very nicely laid out.
It can interface with the TV controls ("anynet?") so when I turn the DVD player ON, the TV turns ON also, when I turn the TV OFF, the DVD turns OFF with it.
Cons: The only thing I would improve is the cheap plastic cover of the front USB port. It does not snap in and tends to stay partially open, No big deal, though. I think I will just remove it.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recommend this product. And the price is right!
Reviewed By:George J.,12/26/2016 6:07:56 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Blu-Ray Players > SAMSUNG > Samsung UBD-K8500/ZA 4K Ultra HD Blu-ray Player

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Nice
Pros: Works well.Just switched over to all 4K.Updated itself the first time I turned it on.Will be great when more 4K video becomes available.
Cons: None
Reviewed By:Anonymous,12/25/2016 8:09:39 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 week to 1 month.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.