Skip to: | |

Newegg.com - A great place to buy computers, computer parts, electronics, software, accessories, and DVDs online. With great prices, fast shipping, and top-rated customer service - once you know, you Newegg.

If you are reading this message, Please click this link to reload this page.(Do not use your browser's "Refresh" button). Please email us if you're running the latest version of your browser and you still see this message.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, Laptops, Electronics, HDTVs, Digital Cameras and More!

Home
Home > 
Review Center > 
Recent Reviews
Customer Reviews
Recent Customer Reviews
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Essentials - 1 Server, 2 CPU - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Excellent choice for a small office environment
Pros: - Easy installation
- Allows migration from 2012 R2 Essentials with no real snags
- Takes little disk space on system disk (~25GB)
- Recognizes most hardware-level RAID configurations without additional drivers
- Automatically creates functional forest/domain with minimal configuration
- Requires only entry-level to intermediate skill set to install and configure
- Windows 10 feel without the bloat
- Properly configures basic DNS and WINS server services automatically/easy to modify
- Allows you to enter the CoA after installation instead of forcing it prior to
- A Start button! How about that?
Cons: - Doesn't provide inherent ability to build/configure a non-GPT partition disk on the fly
- Should probably launch Server Manager instead of Essentials Dashboard after installation to simplify
- Cumulative Update KB4022715 hung on download/install a few times; had to reboot multiple times before it went
Other Thoughts: On a fairly complicated hardware-level raid setup (2-disk RAID-1 for a pair of 1TB SSDs, 4-disk RAID-10 system partition), the install was quite simple. As mentioned in the cons above, if your system is set to legacy/UEFI in the BIOS, it doesn't allow you to natively install the OS without cleaning and converting the partition table to GPT using diskpart (use Shift+F10 at any point during the configuration). This could, of course, be a BIOS limitation on the board I used, but it's a cutting-edge X99 chipset system. Installation otherwise is quite straightforward. It walks you through setting up a local administrator account, Windows Domain, Domain Admin account, etc.

The OS recognized virtually all of my hardware with relatively recent, stable drivers, so that's always a plus.

Shipping with a USB drive with the install would definitely be a plus to cut the installation time by about 80%.

I'd hesitated to give this a go based on reviews on the CoA peeling off characters, rendering it unusable, but this particular copy comes with a card rather than a peel-off sticker. CoA was simple to read.

All in all, I like it. Give it a try. Honestly, it has a more stable interface and feel than 2012.
Reviewed By:Benjamin B.,6/29/2017 9:27:35 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 day to 1 week.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Home Server 2011 64-bit - OEM

Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4Rating + 4 Another product Microsoft abandoned.
Pros: Required for all homes with more than one PC. Dashboard easy to understand.
Cons: Needs an upgrade that doesn't cost $1,500. As features not explained by online help or technical support. Microsoft support is a wiki resource.
Other Thoughts: The home server is excellent for backing up my PCs and providing share folder between the same. Microsoft replaced with an office-oriented version that's priced out of home consumer's means.
Reviewed By:Miguel C.,5/20/2017 6:19:47 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product more than 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Essentials - 1 Server, 2 CPU - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Having a lot of issues with Windows Server 2016 Essentials
Pros: With a lot of work, I was able to get it installed and configured to back up my PCs and be my domain controller for home.
Cons: Installation required a lot of troubleshooting. Several times during installation it appeared to hang. I search Google and found that I needed to start different services throughout the installation to get the installation to continue.
I've spent months trying to get the VPN connection and remote desktop through the web interface working. It's still not working. Both seem simple to install and configure but neither are working.
When I get these functions working, I'm going to tackle the WSUS functionality.
Other Thoughts: I did a clean installation after running Windows Server 2012 Essentials for a couple of years. I was able to get this server working fairly easily with VPN and remote desktop through the web interface fairly easily.
I may need to find a spare hard drive to reinstall 2016 to in order to configure VPN and get it working. Maybe I have a corrupt installation.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,5/9/2017 4:34:53 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Windows Server Standard 2016 - 16 Core - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Just like 2012
Pros: Works jus like server 2012
GUI setup easy
Cons: No cons for anyone with some knowledge of windows server
Other Thoughts: I would recommend their Windows Server for anyone who needs more security for their fles in a shared enviroment to grant access to specific files to users.
Reviewed By:FRANK D.,4/17/2017 12:26:09 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Essentials - 1 Server, 2 CPU - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5
Pros: -Setup was pretty easy
- Server 2016
-Solid, no hiccups
-Easy to attach other devices to the Domain.
-Works great as a host for other programs.
Cons: -Cost if want a MS server since they killed the Windows Home Server Line. But, you get more features.
Other Thoughts: With support for WHS2011 ending and wanting to stick with a MS server solution, this is the best bet. Meets all my home network backup and media needs. Final got to play around with active domain since it's required, but it wasn't to hard to set up.
Reviewed By:Robert S.,3/28/2017 5:17:07 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Windows Server Standard 2016 - 16 Core - OEM

Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2Rating + 2 Server 2016 - Not Thrilled
Pros: Great update to the OS for security. Otherwise, why bother with this?
Cons: Licensing is annoying; inappropriate for most of my clients who don't need or use anywhere close to 16 cores.
Scratch-off silver stuff is REALLY bad -- caused a return / replacement with first client installation.
Other Thoughts: Might be worth waiting for Microsoft to address the two issues above.
Reviewed By:ALAN A.,3/14/2017 3:26:44 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
5 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Datacenter - License - 4 Additional Core

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 I just used microsoft toolkit 2.6 from MDL forum (end of 2016)
Pros: Very powerful
Cons: price? LOL
Reviewed By:Anonymous,2/15/2017 5:52:14 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Windows Server Standard 2012 R2 2CPU/2VM - Base License - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Product as ordered easy to install
Pros: Great Price
Easy to use and install
Cons: I am happy with the purchase
Other Thoughts: Yes I recommend this product and would buy again
Reviewed By:Joanne K.,1/26/2017 9:09:25 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is High and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
Did you find this review helpful? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Microsoft Windows Server 2016 Essentials - 1 Server, 2 CPU - OEM

Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5Rating + 5 Stable and easy to install.
Pros: Installation process was easy and quick. This version seems really stable and responsive. Includes 25 User CALS
Cons: None.
-Only thing is it has to be the first version installed to create the domain and it limits you to 25 Users in your domain.
Other Thoughts: Installed this for a client with a small office, 10 users. They were using a desktop computer as a share/file server. This was the solution they needed to stabilize and secure their network.
Supermicro Mini Server X7SPA-H, 8GB RAM, ASUS U3S6 SATA3/USB3 Card. 2x 2TB WD RED
Reviewed By:Edwin E.,1/24/2017 9:31:42 AM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product 1 month to 1 year.
This user purchased this item from Newegg

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
ProductImage
Categories > Server Software > Microsoft > Windows Server Standard 2016 - 16 Core - OEM

Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1Rating + 1 Defective COA
Pros: Newegg is awesome :)
Cons: Microsoft switched to a silver scratch off material over their 25-character product key on July 19th, 2016. I scratched off the material as per the Microsoft website. This left 5 of the 25 digits illegible creating a massive delay.

Also the new core licensing in Server 2016 is overly aggressive.
Other Thoughts: I didn’t order this from Newegg however my issue is with the product so I’m leaving a review based on the product.
Reviewed By:Anonymous,1/17/2017 12:01:19 PM
This reviewer reports that his/her technical understanding of this type of product is and has owned this product .
6 out of 17 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No
Filter Results       apply changes
Newegg Purchasers   Video Reviews   Manufacturer Responses  
If the Adobe Reader does not appear when you click on a link for a PDF file, you can download Adobe Reader from the Adobe web site.